Page 1 of 1 [15 Posts]  
Author Message
slavvo67
PostPosted: Thu 14 Dec 2017, 14:06    Post subject:

RU Xerus64 always has PhotoRec and Testdisk. Also has Comodo for virus check.
charlie6
PostPosted: Thu 14 Dec 2017, 08:34    Post subject: successfull use of Testdisk

Hi,
used the forum member disciple's testdisk link above
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/posting.php?p=437089&mode=topicreview&postorder=DESC#437089
+ followed the howto on the related web page;

Took me ca 15min to install testdisk and UNDELETE Very Happy 2 gnumeric sheets which I have spent the whole morning to complete; and half a second to unvoluntary delete ... Surprised Embarassed Sad

a really awesome tool !

HTH Charlie
disciple
PostPosted: Tue 24 Aug 2010, 02:10    Post subject:

edoc wrote:
Is there a reason that an undelete app is not routinely included either in pups or in the repository?

Because Puppy doesn't have a proper repository which lots of people can contribute to... this forum is kind of our repository by default.

Jemimah's got the right idea... when compiled dynamically (the .pet on the forum is statically compiled) Testdisk is small enough that I would certainly include it in the iso if I was making a distro.
jemimah
PostPosted: Mon 23 Aug 2010, 23:04    Post subject:

It's not a pet, Fluppy is a puplet.

But you can download all of those separately as pets.
edoc
PostPosted: Mon 23 Aug 2010, 22:38    Post subject:

jemimah,

Those sound great!

Will your PET work in Lucid 5.1 or Fatdog64, please?
jemimah
PostPosted: Mon 23 Aug 2010, 12:03    Post subject:

Fluppy comes with:

GsmartControl - hard drive diagnostics
Testdisk - undelete and partitiion table repair
Photorec - recover images/videos from damaged media
ddrescue - recover data from failing drive
Xfprot - antivirus

If anyone has any other suggestions I'll add them. Unfortunately most Linux rescue tools are low level, text-based, and do require expertise.
grimoire
PostPosted: Mon 23 Aug 2010, 11:46    Post subject: Re: Recover Tool Puppy Linux?

P123 wrote:
Is there a puplet of Puppy Linux which focuses on recovering lost/deleted files/folders, have an easy to use GUI with antivirsus scanner/destroyer. MyWolfe 019 has an antivirsus program in the menu so why don't others have similar utilities.

I did a quick search of this forum - most were off topic & the rest related to Windows.

Please note that I am not just looking for tools for Windows systems but Linux as well & can be used to recover sd cards (used in cameras for example) as well as hard drives.

I have downloaded various distros which claim to do this but they have no GUI & are difficult to you when you are panicking about losing 6 months of work because of a crash.

Thanking you in advance for your assistance.

Note to moderator if this post does not belong in this part of the forum could you move it to where it belongs or tell me where to repost. Thank you.


We don't have one here. Sad
edoc
PostPosted: Mon 23 Aug 2010, 10:13    Post subject:

Thanks!

Is there a reason that an undelete app is not routinely included either in pups or in the repository?

It sure seems like a handy and valuable app to have quick access to.
disciple
PostPosted: Mon 26 Jul 2010, 07:00    Post subject:

Quote:
A forum member named oui created a quirky based puplet that has testdisk recovery tools installed.

You shouldn't need to download a whole new puppy - the generic linux binary packages of Testdisk run fine in any puppy... I guess we could even make a puppy compiled .pet if people want it.
Quote:
testdisk has photorec included. Photorec is run via the CLI but has easily understood instructions, is fast and efficient in recovering files.

Try testdisk itself before photorec. It is much better if there are specific files that you want to undelete, and they haven't been (partially) overwritten yet.
http://www.cgsecurity.org/wiki/TestDisk:_undelete_file_for_NTFS
http://www.cgsecurity.org/wiki/TestDisk:_undelete_file_for_FAT
http://www.cgsecurity.org/wiki/TestDisk:_undelete_file_for_ext2
P123
PostPosted: Sun 25 Jul 2010, 08:57    Post subject: RIP Linux video

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=60wiQltfUhw

This is the link for sneaky linux's video on R.I.P. Linux.
P123
PostPosted: Sun 25 Jul 2010, 07:02    Post subject:  Thank you

Thank you for your help.

I have just downloaded Hirens Very Happy - the only problem so far has been finding there download button on there download page, but I will email them later about that. I am currently playing with it in Virtual Box. I had downloaded RIP Linux before but it would only boot to the text but in Hiren it booted to the GUI & I will watch sneekylinux's YouTube videos on this again.

I have an old copy of Parted Magic some where but I will download the latest version soon.

The other tools mention above I will try later because if I try to download them all at once it would take tell me it will be 10 hours instead of just 10 to 20 minutes each or about an hour.

Spup was 0.4 was mention in Barry's blog (see link above) anybody know more about it?
Iguleder
PostPosted: Sat 24 Jul 2010, 05:23    Post subject:

Try Parted Magic. It has many extensions, I'm sure you'll find your way in their forums.

I use it for heavy partitioning jobs, it's wonderful.
ragaman
PostPosted: Sat 24 Jul 2010, 05:22    Post subject:

A forum member named oui created a quirky based puplet that has testdisk recovery tools installed. It's here:

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?search_id=1097864917&t=55708

testdisk has photorec included. Photorec is run via the CLI but has easily understood instructions, is fast and efficient in recovering files.

it also has xfprot.
cthisbear
PostPosted: Fri 23 Jul 2010, 19:58    Post subject:

" but they have no GUI & are difficult to you when you are panicking
about losing 6 months of work because of a crash. "

Exactly. Tried quite a few 2 months ago.

"""""""""""""""

Not Puppy but Hirens is probably the best.

" Recovery Tools

- Partition Find and Mount 2.31:
Partition Find and Mount software is designed to find lost or deleted partitions (Windows Freeware).

- PhotoRec 6.12b:
Tool to Recover File and pictures from Dos/Windows/Linux
(Windows/Dos Freeware).

- PartitionRecovery 1.0:
A freeware tool to recover accidentally deleted partitions
(Windows Freeware).

- Recuva 1.37.488:
Restore deleted files from Hard Drive, Digital Camera Memory Card,
usb mp3 player... (Windows Freeware).

- Restoration 3.2.13:
a tool to recover deleted files
(Windows Freeware).

- Smart Partition Recovery 3.3:
Find Lost NTFS partitions and restore them back.
(Windows Freeware).

- SoftPerfect File
Recovery 1.2: to restore accidentally deleted files from hard drive,
USB flash drives, CF and SD memory cards
(Windows Freeware).

- TestDisk 6.12b:
Tool to check and undelete partition from Dos/Windows/Linux (Windows/Dos Freeware).

- Unstoppable Copier 4.4:
Allows you to copy files from disks with problems such as bad
sectors, scratches or that just give errors when reading data.
(Windows Freeware).

- Active Undelete 5.5:
a tool to recover deleted files
(Windows Commercial).

- Active Partition Recovery 3.0:
To Recover a Deleted partition.
(Dos Commercial).

- DiyDataRecovery Diskpatch 2.1.100:
An excellent data recovery software.
(Dos Commercial).

- GetDataBack for FAT/NTFS 4.0:
Data recovery software for FAT/NTFS file systems
(Windows Commercial).

- Prosoft Media Tools 5.0 v1.1.2.64:
Another excellent data recovery software with many other options.
(Dos Commercial).

"""

Antivirus Tools

- ComboFix (2606):
Designed to cleanup malware infections and restore settings modified
by malware
(Windows Freeware).

- CWShredder 2.19:
Popular CoolWebSearch Trojan Remover tool
(Windows Freeware).

- Dr.Web CureIt!
Antivirus (2606): a free standalone anti-virus and anti-spyware on-demand scanner
(Windows Freeware).

- GMER 1.0.15:
Hidden services, hidden registry, hidden file scanner,
Rootkit Detector and Remover (Windows Freeware).

- Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware 1.46 (2606):
"Installs only from the cd when in Windows.
To stop viruses stopping MWB when it installs."

anti-malware application that can thoroughly remove even
themost advanced malware.
(Windows Freeware). Great program.

- RootkitRevealer 1.7.1:
Rootkit Revealer is an advanced patent-pending root kit detection
utility.
(Windows Freeware).

- SmitFraudFix 2.424:
This removes Some of the popular Desktop Hijack malware
(Windows Freeware).

- Spybot Search & Destroy 1.6.2 (2606):
Application to scan for spyware, adware, hijackers and
other malicious software.
(Windows Freeware).

- SpywareBlaster 4.3 (2606):
Prevent the installation of spyware and other potentially unwanted software.
(Windows Freeware).

- SuperAntispyware 4.39.1002 (2606):
Remove Malware, Rootkits, Spyware, Adware, Worms, Parasites
(a must have tool) Yes agree with that.
(Windows Freeware).

If someone copuld redo Hirens with Puuppy 4.3.1
instead of RIP Linux ...or plus RIP that would be good.

Barrys blog...first post.

http://bkhome.org/blog/?viewDetailed=01736

Has Whirlpool hints.

""""""""""

Shardana is good.

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=52027&sid=65643a94691fbdd12ec5de0b6ab1ed98

Avira boot cd is very easy to use.

""""""""""

Personally 4 Windows >> Recover my files
worked the fastest and quickest.
But it costs you.

http://www.recovermyfiles.com/

""""""""""

Just put this here 4 others...

http://data-recovery-software-review.toptenreviews.com/

Chris.
P123
PostPosted: Fri 23 Jul 2010, 12:33    Post subject:  Is there a 'Recover Tool' Puppy Linux?

Is there a puplet of Puppy Linux which focuses on recovering lost/deleted files/folders, have an easy to use GUI with antivirsus scanner/destroyer. MyWolfe 019 has an antivirsus program in the menu so why don't others have similar utilities.

I did a quick search of this forum - most were off topic & the rest related to Windows.

Please note that I am not just looking for tools for Windows systems but Linux as well & can be used to recover sd cards (used in cameras for example) as well as hard drives.

I have downloaded various distros which claim to do this but they have no GUI & are difficult to you when you are panicking about losing 6 months of work because of a crash.

Thanking you in advance for your assistance.

Note to moderator if this post does not belong in this part of the forum could you move it to where it belongs or tell me where to repost. Thank you.
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [15 Posts]  

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group