Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 23 Sep 2018, 00:09
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
acpitool -s only sleeps for a moment (Solved)
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 2 [24 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Author Message
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 11022
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sat 11 Aug 2018, 08:43    Post subject:  

Well, just testing how stuff works and finding problems, is a big help to Puppy.
_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
PeteAir


Joined: 01 May 2009
Posts: 29
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Tue 14 Aug 2018, 18:47    Post subject: acpitool -s only sleeps for a moment  

I have the same problem. xenial64, and tahrpup64- Frugal install on HP g60-235dx lappy. Vista, slacko64-frugal, Mint18-fullinstall all suspend as they should, but xenial and tahrpup64 will not, they just blank the screen kill eth0, fan and drive for a second.
I have tried all the suggestions in this thread, any other ideas?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
d_vineet


Joined: 06 Aug 2018
Posts: 74
Location: Bharat

PostPosted: Wed 15 Aug 2018, 00:46    Post subject: Re: acpitool -s only sleeps for a moment  

PeteAir wrote:
I have the same problem. xenial64, and tahrpup64- Frugal install on HP g60-235dx lappy. Vista, slacko64-frugal, Mint18-fullinstall all suspend as they should, but xenial and tahrpup64 will not, they just blank the screen kill eth0, fan and drive for a second.
I have tried all the suggestions in this thread, any other ideas?

@PeteAir,
re-check it while the laptop is NOT charging.
In my case, while the battery is NOT charging, the script works.
While charging, it does not.
For your convenience, 3 scripts are as under. Try them separately in cli.
Code:

acpitool -s|read
OR
echo -n mem > /sys/power/state
OR
sleep 1 && xset dpms force off

The third would just make the screen blank.
If you wish, you may put one of the above commands in a bash script, make it executable, place it on the desktop, and run it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
PeteAir


Joined: 01 May 2009
Posts: 29
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Wed 15 Aug 2018, 06:52    Post subject: acpitool -s only sleeps for a moment  

d_vineet
Thanks, With ac unplugged script 1 & 2 worked for 1 sec, number 3 blanked the screen until I moved the mouse.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
d_vineet


Joined: 06 Aug 2018
Posts: 74
Location: Bharat

PostPosted: Wed 15 Aug 2018, 07:34    Post subject:  

@PeteAir :-
what happens if you close the lid?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
PeteAir


Joined: 01 May 2009
Posts: 29
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Wed 15 Aug 2018, 07:55    Post subject: acpitool -s only sleeps for a moment  

d_vineet
Closing the lid with ac plugged in = nothing
Closing the lid on battery fan goes off, power light stays strong.
There is something not in the buntu puppies for this to work. Slacko64 which is much older and has older kernel handles suspend perfectly.
thanks, pete
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
PeteAir


Joined: 01 May 2009
Posts: 29
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Wed 15 Aug 2018, 10:47    Post subject: acpitool -s only sleeps for a moment (Solved for me)  

d_vineet
I fixed it!
The problem was that when I ran acpitool -s, the machine would power down, but immediately power up again. Frustrating.

The solution lay with the file /proc/acpi/wakeup.

You can't create or delete files in /proc without writing a module for the kernel, but you can view and manipulate them.

On my freshly booted (frugal) Xenialpup64, /proc/acpi/wakeup looks like this:
Code:

Device S-state Status Sysfs node
P32 S4 *enabled pci:0000:00:1e.0
UHC1 S3 *enabled pci:0000:00:1d.0
UHC2 S3 *enabled pci:0000:00:1d.1
UHC3 S3 *enabled pci:0000:00:1d.2
UHC4 S3 *enabled pci:0000:00:1d.3
ECHI S3 *enabled pci:0000:00:1d.7
EXP1 S4 *enabled pci:0000:00:1c.0
EXP2 S4 *enabled pci:0000:00:1c.1
EXP3 S4 *enabled pci:0000:00:1c.2
EXP4 S4 *enabled pci:0000:00:1c.3
AZAL S0 *enabled pci:0000:00:1b.0
MODM S0 *disabled


Where S-state = S3, we have to reset *enabled to *disabled.

Adding the following lines to a file and call it profile.local and save it to the folder ect/profile.d and REBOOT dont just reatart x.

Code:

echo "UHC1 S3 *disabled" > /proc/acpi/wakeup
echo "UHC2 S3 *disabled" > /proc/acpi/wakeup
echo "UHC3 S3 *disabled" > /proc/acpi/wakeup
echo "UHC4 S3 *disabled" > /proc/acpi/wakeup
echo "ECHI S3 *disabled" > /proc/acpi/wakeup

Make changes according to YOUR wakeup file!!! Yours will be slightly different.

Now it sleeps when the lid is closed and wakes when open.

This was not my solution, it was from paulh177.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
d_vineet


Joined: 06 Aug 2018
Posts: 74
Location: Bharat

PostPosted: Thu 16 Aug 2018, 04:08    Post subject:  

Yes. It worked. Thanks.
Just one interesting observation---
The script
Code:
echo -n mem > /sys/power/state

reverts the status from 'disabled' to 'enabled' which we had changed.
So again one more reboot is required if this script is run.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
PeteAir


Joined: 01 May 2009
Posts: 29
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Thu 16 Aug 2018, 06:00    Post subject:  

d_vineet

Interesting, I didn't try that script, I just rebooted and closed the lid and it went sleepy pie. Open lid it awoke, I clicked on ect/acpi/actions/suspend.sh and it went to sleep, hit space bar and awoke. All is good.
pete
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 2 [24 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0575s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0235s) ][ GZIP on ]