acpitool -s only sleeps for a moment (Solved)

Booting, installing, newbie
Message
Author
User avatar
PeteAir
Posts: 47
Joined: Fri 01 May 2009, 19:03
Location: Texas

acpitool -s only sleeps for a moment

#21 Post by PeteAir »

d_vineet
Closing the lid with ac plugged in = nothing
Closing the lid on battery fan goes off, power light stays strong.
There is something not in the buntu puppies for this to work. Slacko64 which is much older and has older kernel handles suspend perfectly.
thanks, pete

User avatar
PeteAir
Posts: 47
Joined: Fri 01 May 2009, 19:03
Location: Texas

acpitool -s only sleeps for a moment (Solved for me)

#22 Post by PeteAir »

d_vineet
I fixed it!
The problem was that when I ran acpitool -s, the machine would power down, but immediately power up again. Frustrating.

The solution lay with the file /proc/acpi/wakeup.

You can't create or delete files in /proc without writing a module for the kernel, but you can view and manipulate them.

On my freshly booted (frugal) Xenialpup64, /proc/acpi/wakeup looks like this:
Code:

Device S-state Status Sysfs node
P32 S4 *enabled pci:0000:00:1e.0
UHC1 S3 *enabled pci:0000:00:1d.0
UHC2 S3 *enabled pci:0000:00:1d.1
UHC3 S3 *enabled pci:0000:00:1d.2
UHC4 S3 *enabled pci:0000:00:1d.3
ECHI S3 *enabled pci:0000:00:1d.7
EXP1 S4 *enabled pci:0000:00:1c.0
EXP2 S4 *enabled pci:0000:00:1c.1
EXP3 S4 *enabled pci:0000:00:1c.2
EXP4 S4 *enabled pci:0000:00:1c.3
AZAL S0 *enabled pci:0000:00:1b.0
MODM S0 *disabled


Where S-state = S3, we have to reset *enabled to *disabled.

Adding the following lines to a file and call it profile.local and save it to the folder ect/profile.d and REBOOT dont just reatart x.

Code:

echo "UHC1 S3 *disabled" > /proc/acpi/wakeup
echo "UHC2 S3 *disabled" > /proc/acpi/wakeup
echo "UHC3 S3 *disabled" > /proc/acpi/wakeup
echo "UHC4 S3 *disabled" > /proc/acpi/wakeup
echo "ECHI S3 *disabled" > /proc/acpi/wakeup

Make changes according to YOUR wakeup file!!! Yours will be slightly different.

Now it sleeps when the lid is closed and wakes when open.

This was not my solution, it was from paulh177.

User avatar
d_vineet
Posts: 116
Joined: Mon 06 Aug 2018, 05:32
Location: Bharat

#23 Post by d_vineet »

Yes. It worked. Thanks.
Just one interesting observation---
The script

Code: Select all

echo -n mem > /sys/power/state
reverts the status from 'disabled' to 'enabled' which we had changed.
So again one more reboot is required if this script is run.

User avatar
PeteAir
Posts: 47
Joined: Fri 01 May 2009, 19:03
Location: Texas

#24 Post by PeteAir »

d_vineet

Interesting, I didn't try that script, I just rebooted and closed the lid and it went sleepy pie. Open lid it awoke, I clicked on ect/acpi/actions/suspend.sh and it went to sleep, hit space bar and awoke. All is good.
pete

Post Reply