Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 22 Sep 2018, 03:06
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
How to boot ISO file directly (not from CD)?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 2 [19 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Author Message
patrick21

Joined: 09 Aug 2014
Posts: 43

PostPosted: Sun 19 Aug 2018, 02:12    Post subject:  

I think I have missed something because for the moment, I can't do it. I'll try again...

Anyway, thank you!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
patrick21

Joined: 09 Aug 2014
Posts: 43

PostPosted: Sun 19 Aug 2018, 21:02    Post subject:  

Hello,

I found out that Legacy Grub 2013 is installed on my puppy precise. It works, but the syntax of the menu is similar to Grub4dos

(near to this)
Code:
title Puppy precise 5.7.3
  uuid C060-52D4
  kernel /Puppy_precise_5.7.3/vmlinuz  pmedia=usbflash psubdir=Puppy_precise_5.7.3 pfix=fsck
  initrd /Puppy_precise_5.7.3/initrd.gz

with this syntax, in order to boot on an iso, I don't know how to enter the menu given by Watchdog, which syntax is different. In my case, it should be:

Code:
menuentry "Puppy Precise ISO" {
set root=(hd0,1)
loopback loop /Puppy_precise.iso
linux (loop)/vmlinuz pmedia=atahd psubdir=wary55 pfix=fsck
initrd (loop)/initrd.gz
}

which is the syntax of Grub 2 installed from the pet. But even doing about all that was written here, I only manage to get the message (dos I presume)

Code:
grub>


without any menu.

I guess that legacy grub installed is giving some problem to use Grub 2. I'll try to uninstall it before to go on.

I read the thread of rcsn about isobooter. It is a possibility. But I thought that watchdog's method was simpler (when it works, of course).

I'll continue my experiments.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
watchdog

Joined: 28 Sep 2012
Posts: 1661
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Mon 20 Aug 2018, 01:16    Post subject:  

Grug legacy and grub4dos use a different syntax: grub2 (I provided a grub-1.98 pet package to install it in your puppy) has its own syntax. I suggest the following steps to build a usb stick which boots the iso of precise puppy by grub2:

1-Install grub-1.98-i486.pet in a working precise puppy install.

2-Attach a usb stick sdb1 to your pc. In console:

Code:
gparted


Pay attention to select the correct device sdb and format it say ext2 with boot flag. If you have trouble to understand "gparted" do not do anything and STOP HERE.

3-Mount sdb1 and copy the iso file of precise puppy to the usb stick.

4-Type in console:

Code:
grub-install --force --no-floppy --root-directory=/mnt/sdb1 /dev/sdb


5-Move /root/grub.cfg in /mnt/sdb1/boot/grub/grub.cfg.

6-Edit /mnt/sdb1/boot/grub/grub.cfg to show only:

Code:
set timeout=10
set default=0

menuentry "Precise puppy ISO" {
 set root=(hd0,1)
 loopback loop /precise-5.7.1.iso
 linux (loop)/vmlinuz pmedia=usbflash pfix=fsck
 initrd (loop)/initrd.gz
}


7-Mount precise-5.7.1.iso by clicking on it and copy the main sfs standing alone to /mnt/sdb1/

8-Boot the usb stick.

**************

If you use a freshly formatted usb stick you can copy the iso file of precise puppy to it so that it is "contiguous", install grub4dos to it and use something like:

Code:
title Puppy precise ISO on sdb1
    map (hd1,0)/precise-5.7.1.iso (hd32)
    map --hook
    root (hd32)
    chainloader (hd32)
    boot


More informations about isobooter by this way in rcrsn51's HowTo:

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=67235
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
patrick21

Joined: 09 Aug 2014
Posts: 43

PostPosted: Tue 21 Aug 2018, 16:25    Post subject:  

Hello,

watchdog, thank you.

For a mysterious reason, the entry for my puppy precise iso (I copied from your post) in the grub menu does not appear (the others, Ubuntu, mint etc I left appear).

There is a progress, because before, the whole menu of grub was not appearing (but I put only the entry for precise. It might be the reason).

watchdog, I don't want to take your time with this. From time to time I'll continue searching what is wrong in my case. Maybe I'll find out. If not, no problem

Thanks.

By the way, I don't have any problem with gparted. I am used also to mount isos and copy the files on usb sticks in order to install new puppies. I just thought interesting to know how to boot on an sole iso.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 2 [19 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0428s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0138s) ][ GZIP on ]