Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 12 Nov 2019, 09:10
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
XenialDog 64bit (Ubuntu 'Xenial Xerus' LTS, 64-bit)
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 28 of 29 [423 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 26, 27, 28, 29 Next
Author Message
d_vineet


Joined: 06 Aug 2018
Posts: 116
Location: Bharat

PostPosted: Sat 18 Aug 2018, 12:47    Post subject:  

I will retry and post about the result.
Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
d_vineet


Joined: 06 Aug 2018
Posts: 116
Location: Bharat

PostPosted: Sat 18 Aug 2018, 13:07    Post subject:  

Third time reboot to xenialdog64.
This time, neither eth0 nor wlan0 could be set.
Same messages saying 'ip address request failed for eth0'.

(writing this reply by booting back to xenialpup). Internet works ok in puppy.

Last edited by d_vineet on Sun 19 Aug 2018, 04:23; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fredx181


Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 4157
Location: holland

PostPosted: Sat 18 Aug 2018, 13:20    Post subject:  

d_vineet wrote:
Third time reboot to xenialdog64.
This time, neither eth0 nor wlan0 could be set.
Same messages saying 'could not acquire ip address'.

(writing this reply by booting back to xenialpup). Internet works ok in puppy.


Sorry to hear, works for me switching between wired and wireless, but don't know what exactly you did.
Third time reboot is with saving changes ?
Maybe start fresh (with clean/empty save) and try again ?

EDIT: Or install frisbee, it uses dhcpcd, which may work better for you.
From Synaptic or with apt-get:
Code:
apt-get update
apt-get install frisbee


Fred

_________________
Dog Linux website
Tinylinux blog by wiak
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
d_vineet


Joined: 06 Aug 2018
Posts: 116
Location: Bharat

PostPosted: Sun 19 Aug 2018, 03:00    Post subject:  

fredx181 wrote:

Sorry to hear, works for me switching between wired and wireless, but don't know what exactly you did.
For disconnecting wifi, I clicked the 'disconnect' button in 'wireless network setup' tool.
It flashed the msg 'wlan0 disabled. Then I connected LAN wire.
it asked me to 'wait while eth0 is being configured'.
But lastly it flashed ''ip address request failed for eth0'.

Quote:

Third time reboot is with saving changes ?
Maybe start fresh (with clean/empty save) and try again ?
without saving changes. Fresh always.

Quote:

EDIT: Or install frisbee, it uses dhcpcd, which may work better for you.
From Synaptic or with apt-get:
Code:
apt-get update
apt-get install frisbee


Fred
OK.
Still better, can you pl help me reg how do I install Barry's SNS in xenialDog?
It rocks.
Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fredx181


Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 4157
Location: holland

PostPosted: Sun 19 Aug 2018, 06:32    Post subject:  

d_vineet wrote:
For disconnecting wifi, I clicked the 'disconnect' button in 'wireless network setup' tool.


I'm confused ! Can't see a 'disconnect' button in XenialDog64 wireless setup .
Are we talking about the same OS ?
I use frugal install from XenialDog_64bit-openbox_jwm-2017-01-22-firmware-all.iso (latest)
https://github.com/DebianDog/xenialdog/releases/download/v0.2/XenialDog_64bit-openbox_jwm-2017-01-22-firmware-all.iso

Fred

_________________
Dog Linux website
Tinylinux blog by wiak
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
d_vineet


Joined: 06 Aug 2018
Posts: 116
Location: Bharat

PostPosted: Sun 19 Aug 2018, 09:58    Post subject:  

@fredx181,
I apologize for saying 'disconnect' button.
I meant to say 'stop wi-fi' button.

Again, sorry for the inconvenience.
And yes, I confirm that we are talking about the same OS.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fredx181


Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 4157
Location: holland

PostPosted: Sun 19 Aug 2018, 12:59    Post subject:  

d_vineet wrote:
I apologize for saying 'disconnect' button.
I meant to say 'stop wi-fi' button.


Apology accepted ! Smile
(I was thinking for a while you were talking about Bionicdog, since you wrote about that earlier)
Btw, BionicDog may be a better choice for you, some bugs fixed that existed in Xenialdog (and has peasywifi as network-manager, which may work better for you)
I had a look already at "simple network setup", won't be easy to package it for Xenialdog, but I'll try, will get back later about it.

Fred

_________________
Dog Linux website
Tinylinux blog by wiak
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
d_vineet


Joined: 06 Aug 2018
Posts: 116
Location: Bharat

PostPosted: Mon 20 Aug 2018, 00:44    Post subject:  

fredx181 wrote:
Btw, BionicDog may be a better choice for you, some bugs fixed that existed in Xenialdog (and has peasywifi as network-manager, which may work better for you)
Thanks for your advise.
Accordingly, I downloaded & tried BionicDog 64bit.
Peasy WiFi works OK. I could now switch between eth0 & wlan0.
But in tray, it always shows 5 vertical lines as icon (which is normally shown for wifi). Can't figure out whether eth0 is connected or wlan0 is connected. On mouse hover, it shows just 'peasy wifi'. (and not how much inbound/outbound traffic, which i/f is connected, etc.).

Quote:
I had a look already at "simple network setup", won't be easy to package it for Xenialdog, but I'll try, will get back later about it.

Fred
'Wish to have' is SNS in BionicDog.
As per your convenient free time, request you to try n configure SNS for BionicDog 64bit.
Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fredx181


Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 4157
Location: holland

PostPosted: Mon 20 Aug 2018, 16:06    Post subject:  

d_vineet wrote:
'Wish to have' is SNS in BionicDog.
As per your convenient free time, request you to try n configure SNS for BionicDog 64bit.


See for SNS deb package and info in BionicDog thread:
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=1002581#1002581
From what I tested, it works on Xenialdog64 also, btw.

Fred

_________________
Dog Linux website
Tinylinux blog by wiak
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
d_vineet


Joined: 06 Aug 2018
Posts: 116
Location: Bharat

PostPosted: Tue 21 Aug 2018, 01:02    Post subject:  

Thanks. Posted my detailed reply on BionicDog thread.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
wiak

Joined: 11 Dec 2007
Posts: 1828
Location: not Bulgaria

PostPosted: Thu 03 Jan 2019, 05:40    Post subject:  

Hi Fred,

My about to turn seven year old son's XenialDog64 system, which is installed on an SD card has finally, after a year or more of use developed a fault. I believe the SD card simply got over-filled up and became corrupted. I've used fsck to clean up the boot errors however their is an obmenu pipe error message: something like /usr/bin/perl /usr/local/bin/obmenu -? (I forget the switch, maybe it's -i and maybe its obmenu-generator or somesuch - I can't check now cos he is buy using it...) not providing valid menu (I think it results in segfault). All else working fine. I don't want to make fresh install because he has so many minetest game mods and tons of other additions in the changes folder so would be big loss for him. Any suggestion on method to get menu pipe working okay again (e.g. can I uninstall something, obmenu?, and then reinstall it?). Not really a huge problem since it proves possible to keep using the system as before, just that menu issue (so he isn't using Startup Menu at all now).

wiak
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fredx181


Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 4157
Location: holland

PostPosted: Thu 03 Jan 2019, 09:12    Post subject:  

Hi wiak,

Not sure, but I think I had similar problem once and what worked for me was to remove all the cache:
~/.cache
~/.config/obmenu-generator/cache.db
~/.config/obmenu-generator/icons.db

And then restart X (the cache will rebuild then)

Should be enough, but if still the Menu doesn't show, indeed you can try:
Code:
obmenu-generator -i

Or:
Code:
obmenu-generator -p -i

(to be honest I don't know which it should be, probably the last one)

Fred

_________________
Dog Linux website
Tinylinux blog by wiak
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
wiak

Joined: 11 Dec 2007
Posts: 1828
Location: not Bulgaria

PostPosted: Thu 03 Jan 2019, 19:28    Post subject:  

fredx181 wrote:
Hi wiak,

Not sure, but I think I had similar problem once and what worked for me was to remove all the cache:
~/.cache
~/.config/obmenu-generator/cache.db
~/.config/obmenu-generator/icons.db


Thanks greatly Fred, the above, followed by restart X, worked.

wiak
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
wiak

Joined: 11 Dec 2007
Posts: 1828
Location: not Bulgaria

PostPosted: Tue 15 Jan 2019, 19:50    Post subject:  

I've had another issue for a longtime but haven't bothered looking into. My kids computers both have ethernet connection, but I didn't realise that the machines were always (via PeasyWifi) actually connecting to Internet via Wifi. I quickly tried, via PeasyWifi, to get them to connect via ethernet (with wifi physically switched off) but couldn't get that to work at all. I'm wondering if the PeasyWifi in XenialDog64 is an old one that perhaps has issues with ethernet connection, and, if so, is there an updated one. I'm not on my kids machines so can't check anything just now hence just asking in case situation is already well-known.

I use wifi anyway on my own machine. I 'believe' its the same XenialDog64 as my kids and note that PeasyWifi here is v4.6. Perhaps I just don't know how to use PeasyWifi to connect to Ethernet - I certainly haven't as yet spent much, if any, time reading how to do that but if anyone could let me know that would save me the effort! Wink

wiak
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fredx181


Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 4157
Location: holland

PostPosted: Wed 16 Jan 2019, 10:46    Post subject:  

wiak wrote:
I've had another issue for a longtime but haven't bothered looking into. My kids computers both have ethernet connection, but I didn't realise that the machines were always (via PeasyWifi) actually connecting to Internet via Wifi. I quickly tried, via PeasyWifi, to get them to connect via ethernet (with wifi physically switched off) but couldn't get that to work at all. I'm wondering if the PeasyWifi in XenialDog64 is an old one that perhaps has issues with ethernet connection, and, if so, is there an updated one. I'm not on my kids machines so can't check anything just now hence just asking in case situation is already well-known.

I use wifi anyway on my own machine. I 'believe' its the same XenialDog64 as my kids and note that PeasyWifi here is v4.6. Perhaps I just don't know how to use PeasyWifi to connect to Ethernet - I certainly haven't as yet spent much, if any, time reading how to do that but if anyone could let me know that would save me the effort! Wink

wiak


Hi wiak, the Peasywifi package in XD repo version 4.6-2 is the latest.
I tested on a pristine XD64, after install the ethernet connected automatically and also after reboot, so... I don't know why it doesn't connect for you.
Did you try the "Reconnect" button on the Ethernet tab ?
Or maybe your interface isn't "eth0" (then for example eth1 needs to be configured)
It could help maybe to disconnect Wifi first (at Connect tab) and then try the "Reconnect" button on the Ethernet tab.
I remember that connection to both Wifi and Ethernet at the same time could be not possible in some cases (because udhcpc not supporting that, but it depends on your router setup)
But rcrsn51 knows more about that (possible) issue. (I had conversation about that with rcrsn51, but cannot find it right now)

Fred

_________________
Dog Linux website
Tinylinux blog by wiak
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 28 of 29 [423 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 26, 27, 28, 29 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0932s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0411s) ][ GZIP on ]