Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 20 Sep 2018, 17:58
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
How do you install Puppy on a second HDD?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [6 Posts]  
Author Message
jacatone

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 380

PostPosted: Mon 26 Feb 2007, 05:36    Post subject:  How do you install Puppy on a second HDD?
Subject description: newbie to Puppy
 

I'm new to Puppy. I'd like to install it on an older HP Pavilion 6730 that has two HDDs. The first drive has crappy old Win98SE that likes to freeze all the time even though I've updated all the drivers. Would be nice to install Puppy on the second drive so I can learn it at my leisure. Anyone have any instructions? Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
muggins

Joined: 20 Jan 2006
Posts: 6749
Location: hobart

PostPosted: Mon 26 Feb 2007, 07:50    Post subject:  

the simplest solution is to boot puppy from cdrom, then to run puppy's Universal Installer
, select install to hard disk, then see if it detects your 2nd disk. if yes, then select co-exist, follow all the defaults, install grub to the mbr, then reboot.

if it doesn't detect your 2nd disk...no, lets not think such negative thoughts!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 5409
Location: GB

PostPosted: Mon 26 Feb 2007, 10:35    Post subject:  

It's going to be advantageous in the longer term to fix your W98SE first. It needs scandisk daily on the partition carrying the OS, and Diskeeper (Lite version is gratis) at least once a week (the M$ defragger is rubbish). Then you can clean out the registry with eg Regheal and run SFC, occasionally. Never, ever visit any M$ site, including 'upgrades' and MSN/hotmail - they will reinstall Alexa and a bunch of other spyware, adjust settings, etc. that you just cleared out with Ad-aware, etc. Be sure you don't overload your memory if using W98 - it is incapable of handling it properly; stick to 256Mb despite what you read and live with the limiting consequences - at least you won't be suffering XP/Vista bloat and worse. Puppy will be happy with 256Mb, even Muppy.
You can then do a frugal install of Puppy to any partition or disc, or do a full install to your second disc. Frugal is best if you assiduously back-up and save and intend to manually upgrade to every new version. If GRUB breaks - it does that sometimes, just run <fdisk /mbr> from a DOS floppy, which will recover your access to your 'dozey stuff. You can then reinstall GRUB, alone, from the Puppy menu and recover access to everything.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Otter

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 23
Location: MO, USA

PostPosted: Mon 26 Feb 2007, 17:58    Post subject:  Install on ext3 SATA drive
Subject description: additional info for the manual
 

The Puppy 2.14 manual available at: http://www.puppy-linux.info/en/main.html has a lot of useful information. Section 4.3 covers installing to a FAT32 partition.

I did the install to an ext3 partition on a SATA drive and it works great. The only changes for the directions are to modify the GRUB settings. The book has:
title = Puppy
rootnoverify (hd0,1)
kernel /boot/vmlinuz root=/dev/ram0 loglevel=3 PMEDIA=idehd
initrd /boot/initrd.gz

In my case I changed (hd0,1) to (hd0,Cool and PMEDIA=idehd to PMEDIA=idesd.

I'm new to this so I hope my directions make sense. Puppy is a lot of fun. I'm enjoying learning how it works.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
CatmanDru

Joined: 07 Sep 2006
Posts: 91
Location: OR, USA

PostPosted: Mon 26 Feb 2007, 19:46    Post subject:  

Are familiar with moving hard drives around and changing the jumpers (if needed) on the hard drives?

Also, what are the computers specs: the processor speed, RAM quantity, sizes of hard drives, CDROM speeds (if known), and maybe computer brand?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 5409
Location: GB

PostPosted: Tue 27 Feb 2007, 03:51    Post subject:  

Hope he's not using a proprietary box?! Is he American?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [6 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0346s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0069s) ][ GZIP on ]