Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 13 Nov 2019, 23:14
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » System
YaPI (yet another Puppy Installer) install any Puppy iso
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 5 [69 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 Next
Author Message
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 12829
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Fri 22 Jul 2016, 07:56    Post subject:  YaPI (yet another Puppy Installer) install any Puppy iso
Subject description: Works in all Puppies series 5 or newer
 

FULL credit for this code goes to (Developer/coder L18L)
Well, I bugged him to do it. Laughing

Argolance has recently done some work on YaPI to improve ability to translate, improved message pop- ups, better understandable information statements, and overall look of YaPI. Along with some minor needed tweaking for how YaPI works.
Now has right click menu entry for iso's.
(right click on an iso, choose YaPI from the menu)

The problem with the Puppy Universal Installer.
It will only install the Puppy version you are running the installer in.
It will not do an install from any other Puppy version.iso file.

Puppy Linux needs a program, running in Puppy, that will do an install using any Puppy version.iso file.

YaPI solves this problem.

Note:
The boot loader that will be installed, will not boot a UEFI bios, without making some setting changes to the UEFI setup.
Secure boot disabled and or legacy boot enabled has to be selected in the UEFI bios settings
.


Note:
This is for official Puppy iso's.
It is not for other Linux OS iso's.

The Puppy like OS (Fatdog, Debiandog, and others) may or may not install correctly.
However, you can try and see what happens.

Puppy derivatives, based on an official Puppy, should install OK.


This is what should be possible with YaPI

Which Puppy to install
3 options.
1.This actual running Puppy
2. Any other Puppy iso from all storage locations (choose from a list of iso's found on any storage devices attached to computer)
3. Navigate to an iso.
Right click on iso and choose YaPI or "open with... or send to... YAPI"

Type of installs on different storage devices
USB flash drive
( Can have Fat 32 or NTFS Windows format or any Linux format).
1. Frugal install
Installs Grub4dos bootloader on drive.

2. SuperFloppy install (Careful it uses all of the drive) Limited to 16GB or less drive size. Does not need a boot loader
Read the help for SuperFloppy before using.

External USB hard drive
(Can have Fat 32 or NTFS Windows format or any Linux format).
1. Frugal install
2. Full install (partition must use a Linux format)
Installs Grub4dos bootloader on drive.

Internal hard drive or any other type internal drive
(Can have Fat 32 or NTFS Windows format or any Linux format).
1. Frugal install
2. Full install (partition must use a Linux format)
Installs Grub4dos bootloader on drive.

Note:
YAPI does use Grub4dos as the bootloader.
However, this does allow the install of several Puppies to the same location and a way to boot each one, separately.
Example:
You can have one or many Puppies on one USB flash drive.

YAPI seems to work OK when run on the newest Puppy versions, made with Woof-CE.
Other Puppy versions may not offer all options.
Frugal and full installs should work.


Made pet package in Precise 5.7.1
It seems to be able to install in any Puppy series 5 or newer.
So, should work in a lot of Puppy versions.

Some older Puppies will not offer SuperFloppy install option or have the refresh button in the iso list.
They have too old a xdialog and not the proper SuperFloppy support files.
Frugal and full installs should work.

The pet will put YAPI menu entry in Setup.
The menu entry may not work in very old Puppy series 5 versions. However, run yapi from the console should work.
yapi file is in /usr/sbin

Note about SuperFloppy installs:
SuperFloppy installs will put the USB flash drive in a non-normal partition/format condition.
If you wish to no longer use the USB flash drive this way.
To get the USB flash drive back to a normal partition/format condition do the following things.

To do this the USB flash drive can not be in use. Only accessed. Not booted from. Not being used to run Puppy.
In a console type this code and hit enter.
Important
(The code of=/dev/sdb sdb is the flash drive, yours could be sdc, sdd, etc.... adjust to match yours)
Code:
dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/sdb bs=1M count=1

This will remove all partitions, format, and data from USB flash drive.

Use Gparted to get back to normal setup.
1. Make a partition table:
GParted > Device > Create Partition Table > MS-DOS default.
2. Partition and format as you like.


Note:
When YaPI is searching for iso's.
Partitions that have Windows on them, will take longer to search and yapi may seem to be stopped and not working.
Give it time to search........

YaPI is a 32bit program.
It will run OK in a 64bit Puppy version.
if any problems. The Puppy versions 32bit compatibility libs sfs package may need loaded/installed.

Update:
The 180921 YaPI now offers some improvements, but not sure how well it will work in older series 5 Puppies.
The older release of YaPI may be better for them.
For translating use the newest YaPI 180921.

Also, read next post about installing problems
.
.
yapi-180921.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  yapi-180921.pet 
Filesize  27.2 KB 
Downloaded  613 Time(s) 
yapi.pet
Description  YAPI 2016-03-25
This may work better on older series 5 Puppies
pet

 Download 
Filename  yapi.pet 
Filesize  12.26 KB 
Downloaded  679 Time(s) 
yapi.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   37.64 KB
 Viewed   4076 Time(s)

yapi.jpg

yapi2.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   13.76 KB
 Viewed   4052 Time(s)

yapi2.jpg

yapi3.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   31.6 KB
 Viewed   4075 Time(s)

yapi3.jpg

yapi3(1).jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   19.19 KB
 Viewed   4087 Time(s)

yapi3(1).jpg

yapi3(2).jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   16.6 KB
 Viewed   4059 Time(s)

yapi3(2).jpg


_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer) http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107601

Last edited by bigpup on Sun 13 Oct 2019, 13:46; edited 35 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 12829
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Fri 22 Jul 2016, 08:19    Post subject:  

If Yapi seems to complete, but does not actually do the install.

This sometimes happens with some hardware.

Things that will help.

1. Have the iso on a different device from the one you are installing to.
Yapi can directly read from one device and directly write to the other device. Nothing has to go into RAM.

If iso and install location is the same device.
This seems to be a problem on some USB flash drives or if computer has low amount of RAM.
It has to read and copy into RAM before it can write to the USB flash drive. Cannot read and write exactly at the same time.

2. Have both locations mounted before you run Yapi.
Access both locations with Rox file manager, just to make sure they are fully mounted.
Even the drive that has been partially mounted, by booting from it.
Open Rox windows will not bother Yapi.

_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer) http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107601

Last edited by bigpup on Wed 15 May 2019, 20:42; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 12829
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Fri 19 May 2017, 03:10    Post subject:  

This program seems to be working OK on the newest Puppy versions.
Xenialpup
Slacko 700 beta3

_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer) http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107601
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
s243a

Joined: 02 Sep 2014
Posts: 2144

PostPosted: Mon 27 Nov 2017, 03:40    Post subject:  

Can we add a feature so that we can install from a CD drive or folder instead of an ISO?

The reason being is that in virtualbox I can set the CD drive to an iso. Getting the iso file into virtualbox takes a bit more work. To do the latter I would have to either copy it to a usb drive or set up a shared folder.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 12829
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Tue 28 Nov 2017, 07:05    Post subject:  

Just download the iso to a directory(folder).
Have that directory(folder) on some device that Puppy sees as mounted.

In Rox file manager
Navigate to the iso location.
Right click on the iso
Select open with... or send to... yapi

_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer) http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107601

Last edited by bigpup on Tue 28 Nov 2017, 07:20; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 12829
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Tue 28 Nov 2017, 07:18    Post subject:  

reserved.
_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer) http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107601
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
johnywhy


Joined: 20 Aug 2011
Posts: 882

PostPosted: Thu 01 Mar 2018, 02:35    Post subject:  

awesome!

if possible, plz allow to browse to the iso.
i have large drives, so your search process takes forever

Smile

thx

_________________
Now: X-Tahr 2.0! StretchDog! DevuanDog!
Tops: TarhNOP Vlina-R2 Racy
Used: Puppeee Precise Lucid Wary Tahrpup Quirky Slacko MacPup Saluki Puppy Studio LxPupTarh Lina-Lite Lina
i ♥ Puppy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 12829
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Thu 01 Mar 2018, 11:39    Post subject:  

Just do this:

In Rox file manager
Navigate to the iso location.
Right click on the iso
Select open with... or send to... yapi

Yapi will start at the point of asking where you want to install the iso.
capture14461.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   30.82 KB
 Viewed   3658 Time(s)

capture14461.jpg


_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer) http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107601
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
johnywhy


Joined: 20 Aug 2011
Posts: 882

PostPosted: Thu 01 Mar 2018, 12:38    Post subject:  

bigpup wrote:
In Rox file manager
Navigate to the iso location.
Right click on the iso
Select open with... or send to... yapi
Yapi will start at the point of asking where you want to install the iso.


Thx!

_________________
Now: X-Tahr 2.0! StretchDog! DevuanDog!
Tops: TarhNOP Vlina-R2 Racy
Used: Puppeee Precise Lucid Wary Tahrpup Quirky Slacko MacPup Saluki Puppy Studio LxPupTarh Lina-Lite Lina
i ♥ Puppy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Argolance


Joined: 06 Jan 2008
Posts: 3689
Location: PORT-BRILLET (Mayenne - France)

PostPosted: Fri 24 Aug 2018, 14:33    Post subject:  

Bonjour,
I have started to translate this very useful program into French, but I have a problem with the display of the welcome window. The last paragraph is incomplete despite all possible attempts. I wonder if the apostrophes ' in the French sentences would not be the cause? Moreover, like other Latin languages, the translated sentences are much longer than English sentences and Xdialog windows are often too narrow... or too large!
Perhaps this could be taken into account?
[EDIT] : "French_pot_po_mo.tar.gz" attached file deleted (was obsolete. See further).

Cordialement.
180824_201121_1018x410_easyshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   73.23 KB
 Viewed   3495 Time(s)

180824_201121_1018x410_easyshot.jpg


_________________

A second life for your PCs...

Last edited by Argolance on Sat 25 Aug 2018, 10:16; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 12829
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Fri 24 Aug 2018, 16:05    Post subject:  

If the statements are actually being changed in the Yapi exec script file, that info window should self adjust as needed.

Sorry, I know nothing about translating.

_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer) http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107601
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Argolance


Joined: 06 Jan 2008
Posts: 3689
Location: PORT-BRILLET (Mayenne - France)

PostPosted: Fri 24 Aug 2018, 20:15    Post subject:  

Bonsoir,
Thank you for your answer.
bigpup wrote:
If the statements are actually being changed in the Yapi exec script file, that info window should self adjust as needed.

This is the weak point of Xdialog when sentences are without line breaks and in one piece. In French for example, the sentences are almost twice as long and this makes windows that can sometimes go out of the screen.
Quote:
Sorry, I know nothing about translating.

It is a pity because something is quite wrong with the implementation of gettext: some chains are not properly formed and therefore not or badly taken into account. This prevents a clean translation and I bet the problem arises with other languages having accented characters. Obviously, the script works perfectly in English, but can't with these kind of languages.

Cordialement.

_________________

A second life for your PCs...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 12829
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Fri 24 Aug 2018, 22:17    Post subject:  

Are you using MoManager to do the translation?

The latest version of MoManager is here:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=81259
Maybe using it will help you.

_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer) http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107601
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
musher0

Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 14457
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Sat 25 Aug 2018, 00:43    Post subject:  

Salut, Argolance.

Have you tried to contact L18L to get him to lengthen the window? Or to tell
you how to do it?

Just a thought. / Une idée comme ça.

_________________
musher0
~~~~~~~~~~
Je suis né pour aimer et non pas pour haïr. (Sophocle) /
I was born to love and not to hate. (Sophocles)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 12829
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sat 25 Aug 2018, 01:17    Post subject:  

I tried to modify the info statements in that window and make them longer and more of them.
The window self adjusted to a bigger size and showed all.
So, the code is there to self adjust the window.

Making the translated statements lines not so long may help.
Use more lines that are shorter in length.

I know this is probably going to be something in the wrong place in the translation, but again I know nothing about translating.
I thought MoManager was suppose to handle everything correctly.

_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer) http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107601
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 5 [69 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » System
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0630s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0080s) ][ GZIP on ]