YaPI (yet another Puppy Installer) install any Puppy iso

Core libraries and systems
Message
Author
User avatar
bigpup
Posts: 13886
Joined: Sun 11 Oct 2009, 18:15
Location: S.C. USA

#21 Post by bigpup »

OK!

I will do some install testing to make sure the new code is working OK.
If it all checks out.
Your code change will be the latest Yapi.

To show your work on Yapi.
I will add a info statement, to the start of the code, to reflect your input to the program code.

Example:
This is at the start of code, for info, at this time.

Code: Select all

#!/bin/sh
# Yet another Puppy Installer
#
# written from scratch 2015-Dec - 2016-Mar by L18L
# initiated and kept alive by puppy forum member bigpup
# http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=101127
#
#################################################################################
# This installer is trying to offer working solutions for existing hardware only.
#################################################################################
#
#151220a start again from square 1; bugs fixed thanks mavrothal
#151221 find this iso in all devices
#151222 input parameter: iso device partition
#151229 frugal full
#160101 delete tmp; right click: Open with puppyinstaller
#160102 sort entire list; use blkid, umount revised, frugal/full fixed 
#160105 some bugs fixed, V for verbous 
#160106 text changes. replace for guess_fstype, more functions
#160107 looptext changes. replace for guess_fstype, more functions
#160110 bug fix
#160217 extra button for superfloppy only for removable drives less than 8 GiB
#160218 use entire drive with Superfloppy (partition 3); msg before grub4dosconfig; no full install on removable device
#160227 update right click link; "please wait..."s without OK; bigpup's help text updates; mkisofs
#160228 re-generate isohybrid ISOs (add psavemark=3 to isolinux.cfg)
#160229 Help for re-generate superfloppy to normal drive, superfloppy for isohybrids only.
#160303 try to make all ISOs isohybrid; superfloppy limit 16 GiB; gettext revised.
#160304 fix for http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=892502#892502
#160308 fix for http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=101127&start=269 ff.
#160311 160308a + refresh button for list of isos
#160312 bug fix
#160325 close if superfloppy No.
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected :shock:
YaPI(any iso installer)

User avatar
Argolance
Posts: 3767
Joined: Sun 06 Jan 2008, 22:57
Location: PORT-BRILLET (Mayenne - France)
Contact:

#22 Post by Argolance »

Hi,
Thanks!
I obviously made a test but only one and ToOpPY was properly installed from an iso file to a 4 Gb USB stick.

Cordialement.

User avatar
bigpup
Posts: 13886
Joined: Sun 11 Oct 2009, 18:15
Location: S.C. USA

#23 Post by bigpup »

Argolance,

I am still testing all of your code changes.
Life got in the way and have had little time to work on this.

Seems to be testing OK, but still checking some stuff.
Trying to make sure it still works on a lot of Puppy versions.
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected :shock:
YaPI(any iso installer)

User avatar
Argolance
Posts: 3767
Joined: Sun 06 Jan 2008, 22:57
Location: PORT-BRILLET (Mayenne - France)
Contact:

#24 Post by Argolance »

Bonjour,
bigpup wrote:I am still testing all of your code changes.
Life got in the way and have had little time to work on this.
Changes are cosmetic and should not influence the operation of the program, but we just never know!
Anyway, there's no rush.
In one of the private messages I sent you, I told you that on my laptop, YaPI takes time (4 ou 5 seconds, but on older PCs it might be much more!) to check several stuffs before displaying the main welcome window, and this is also the case when I directly right click an iso file and use the "OpenWith" command. This is why I added an animated gif that is only displayed during this time and closed when checking is done, no matter how long it takes. I also added such animated gifs for other operations that need a bit time, and, to clearly let user know what operation is currently done, I changed Xdialog windows to yaf-splash windows placed at the top of the desktop (the text color is black and the background is white, according to your suggestion).
Some users are lucky enough to have a very fast computer and I admit this may not really useful in that case.

I improved the French translation too (some strings were missing), completed the desktop file (fr, de, es, it, nl, pl) and other little stuffs.
All the changes are noted at the head and can be identified in the body of the script (#180903).

Cordialement.
Attachments
fr-po_pot_files.tar.gz
(9.13 KiB) Downloaded 391 times
yapi-180903.pet
(25.39 KiB) Downloaded 401 times
180903_165018_317x74_easyshot.png
(4.66 KiB) Downloaded 507 times
180903_164629_804x75_easyshot.png
(19.39 KiB) Downloaded 519 times

User avatar
bigpup
Posts: 13886
Joined: Sun 11 Oct 2009, 18:15
Location: S.C. USA

#25 Post by bigpup »

Using in Xenialpup64 7.5
I also added such animated gifs for other operations that need a bit time, and, to clearly let user know what operation is currently done,
A quick test of Yapi script 180903 and the pet package.

Make choice which Puppy to install window.
Select actual running Puppy.
animated gif pops up (scanning for iso file), but does not go away when next window comes up (choose which one to take).

The idea is a good one to add these animated gifs.

The menu entry for yapi does not have a icon.
The yapi.desktop file in /usr/share/applications had no icon
I edited the yapi.desktop file.
changed the icon line from this:

Code: Select all

Icon=yapi
To this:

Code: Select all

Icon=/usr/share/pixmaps/yapi.gif
That got the icon to show on the yapi.desktop file.
Still no icon in the menu entry.
Could this be because this yapi.gif is an animated gif? :idea:

Tried a different edit to the yapi.desktop file.
changed the icon line to this:

Code: Select all

Icon=/usr/share/icons/hicolor/48x48/apps/yapi.png
That worked.
menu entry for yapi now has an icon.

So, the yapi.desktop file needs changed to using the yapi.png for the icon.
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected :shock:
YaPI(any iso installer)

User avatar
Argolance
Posts: 3767
Joined: Sun 06 Jan 2008, 22:57
Location: PORT-BRILLET (Mayenne - France)
Contact:

#26 Post by Argolance »

bigpup wrote:Using in Xenialpup64 7.5
A quick test of Yapi script 180903

Make choice which Puppy to install window.
Select actual running Puppy.
animated gif pops up (scanning for iso file), but does not go away when next window comes up (choose which one to take).
I noticed this malfunction in the previous 180828 version but I corrected this in the 180903 and I have not this issue here! :oops:
The menu entry for yapi does not have a icon.
The yapi.desktop file had no icon in /usr/share/applications
I edited the yapi.desktop file.
changed the icon line from this:

Code: Select all

Icon=yapi
To this:

Code: Select all

Icon=/usr/share/pixmaps/yapi.gif
That got the icon to show on the yapi.desktop file.
Still no icon in the menu entry.
Could this be because this yapi.gif is an animated gif? :idea:
The icon path is /usr/share/icons/hicolor/48x48/apps/yapi.png.
So:

Code: Select all

Icon=/usr/share/icons/hicolor/48x48/apps/yapi.png
(EDIT]: Our messages crossed paths... :wink:

Cordialement.
Attachments
180903_192204_2646x1024_easyshot.png
(98.28 KiB) Downloaded 486 times

User avatar
bigpup
Posts: 13886
Joined: Sun 11 Oct 2009, 18:15
Location: S.C. USA

#27 Post by bigpup »

When Yapi first starts.
The first animated gif not showing long enough to read.
On line 51 of yapi script I added

Code: Select all

sleep 2

Code: Select all

#180903
yaf-splash -icon /usr/share/pixmaps/yapi.gif -bg white -text "$(gettext 'Please wait...')
YaPI (Yet another Puppy Installer)
$(gettext 'is checking your configuration!')" -close never &
sleep 2
X1PID=$!
I think that is the correct place to put the sleep command?

That now seems to show long enough.

I have a fast computer. Not sure what affect this would have on a slow computer. Should not be too long, I hope!
Attachments
180903_165018_317x74_easyshot.png
(4.66 KiB) Downloaded 481 times
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected :shock:
YaPI(any iso installer)

User avatar
Argolance
Posts: 3767
Joined: Sun 06 Jan 2008, 22:57
Location: PORT-BRILLET (Mayenne - France)
Contact:

#28 Post by Argolance »

bigpup wrote:When Yapi first starts.
The first animated gif not showing long enough to read.
As said above:
Some users are lucky enough to have a very fast computer and I admit this may not really useful in that case.
It seems you're one of those lucky ones! :)
If these lucky guys want to see the pretty image too, yes, it is the correct place to put the sleep command! :D

User avatar
bigpup
Posts: 13886
Joined: Sun 11 Oct 2009, 18:15
Location: S.C. USA

#29 Post by bigpup »

Argolance wrote:
bigpup wrote:Using in Xenialpup64 7.5
A quick test of Yapi script 180903

Make choice which Puppy to install window.
Select actual running Puppy.
animated gif pops up (scanning for iso file), but does not go away when next window comes up (choose which one to take).
I noticed this malfunction in the previous 180828 version but I corrected this in the 180903 and I have not this issue here!
Could you post what you changed in 180828 version of yapi?

Sorry, life is calling.
Have to go now!

Just a little tweaking needed!
Not bad so far!
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected :shock:
YaPI(any iso installer)

User avatar
Argolance
Posts: 3767
Joined: Sun 06 Jan 2008, 22:57
Location: PORT-BRILLET (Mayenne - France)
Contact:

#30 Post by Argolance »

bigpup wrote:Could you post what you changed in 180828 version of yapi?
This is the one I posted in my message above (Posted: Sat Aug 25, 2018 10:11 am) as "yapi.gz". I dated it for my own usage as the 180828 one but didn't write it inside this first sent version of the yapi script.
This yaf-splash window that seems "immortal" :) replaces a Xdialog one which is originally killed with its own PID (i. e. the same unchanged XPID).
I was mistaken: what I corrected compared to the previous version is the fact that the main welcome yaf-splash was not killed when using the:

Code: Select all

yapi -h 
... command in console.
Just a little tweaking needed!
See line 329 (and all further similar code lines)

Code: Select all

disown $PID && sleep 2 && kill -9 $XPID
Try this instead:

Code: Select all

sleep 2
disown $PID && kill -9 $XPID
Cordialement!

User avatar
bigpup
Posts: 13886
Joined: Sun 11 Oct 2009, 18:15
Location: S.C. USA

#31 Post by bigpup »

Did this change.

Code: Select all

sleep 2
disown $PID && kill -9 $XPID
Did not help.
Still get:
Make choice which Puppy to install window.
Select actual running Puppy.
animated gif pops up (scanning for iso file), but does not go away when next window comes up (choose which one to take).
It is only this one animated gif that does this.
All the other ones, pop up and close, when they should.
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected :shock:
YaPI(any iso installer)

User avatar
Argolance
Posts: 3767
Joined: Sun 06 Jan 2008, 22:57
Location: PORT-BRILLET (Mayenne - France)
Contact:

#32 Post by Argolance »

Bonsoir,
bigpup wrote:It is only this one animated gif that does this.
Sorry mate, I cannot reproduce this. Running ToOpPy/Puppy Precise, this issue doesn't happen... pop up 2 and 3 are displayed one after the other as it should, and the 3rd one is properly closed when the 4th window appears.

[EDIT]: did you try the original yapi, to see if this also happens with Xdialog windows? Note that with a fast PC, they should only be displayed for a fraction of a second.

Cordialement.
Attachments
180904_204604_636x224_easyshot.jpg
(66.65 KiB) Downloaded 728 times

User avatar
Argolance
Posts: 3767
Joined: Sun 06 Jan 2008, 22:57
Location: PORT-BRILLET (Mayenne - France)
Contact:

#33 Post by Argolance »

I think I found what's wrong: :roll:
Line 326:

Code: Select all

    for PATTERN in pu sla ta precise
    do
     find / -iname *${PATTERN}*[0-9]*.iso -type f >> ${my_pupISOs}
    done
You say you are running Xenialpup64 7.5? In the code lines above, a pattern for xenial should probably be added (pu for puppy, sla for slacko, ta for tahr)
Something like:

Code: Select all

    for PATTERN in pu sla ta precise xen
    do
     find / -iname *${PATTERN}*[0-9]*.iso -type f >> ${my_pupISOs}
    done
(xen for xenial).

Ditto at line 348 and a corresponding pattern for any other new puppies published since...

User avatar
bigpup
Posts: 13886
Joined: Sun 11 Oct 2009, 18:15
Location: S.C. USA

#34 Post by bigpup »

[EDIT]: did you try the original yapi, to see if this also happens with Xdialog windows?
Yes, I checked.
It works correctly in original Yapi.

Did the above code change.

No help.

That code is for doing a search for iso's, on all the storage devices, to get a list of all available iso's.
But, probably a good idea to add the xen.

As shown in your above post.
pop up 2 stays until 3 is shown.
Then 2 goes away.

It is only a minor bug, but what is causing this and only on this pop up 2 :?: :idea: :?
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected :shock:
YaPI(any iso installer)

User avatar
Argolance
Posts: 3767
Joined: Sun 06 Jan 2008, 22:57
Location: PORT-BRILLET (Mayenne - France)
Contact:

#35 Post by Argolance »

Bonjour,
:(
bigpup wrote:That code is for doing a search for iso's, on all the storage devices, to get a list of all available iso's.
This is indeed what I understood while looking at the code lines and I was wondering if not being able to find the puppy iso whose name and version are previously identified by the values extracted from etc/DISTRO_SPECS file might be the cause of the issue?
I think that if it's not that issue, it's possibly the cause of another one anyway, though "xen" may not be necessary because "xenialpup" includes "pu" whereas "stretch" certainly needs an additional search parameter.
But, probably a good idea to add the xen.
Yes, this problem will have let us to find a stuff which has its importance. :wink:
It is only a minor bug, but what is causing this and only on this pop up 2
And not with Puppy Precise... or a less fast PC/laptop? 8)
Little odd story!
Perhaps there is confusion between 2 values of XPID, so it might be useful to name them differently (XPID1 and XPID2) and anyway kill both to be sure?
Example:

Code: Select all

yaf-splash -placement top -icon /usr/share/pixmaps/yapi_wait.gif -text "TEST 1" -close never &
XPID1=$!
yaf-splash -placement top -icon /usr/share/pixmaps/yapi_wait.gif -text "TEST 2" -close never &
XPID2=$!
sleep 3
kill $XPID1
sleep 3
kill $XPID2
Cordialement.

User avatar
bigpup
Posts: 13886
Joined: Sun 11 Oct 2009, 18:15
Location: S.C. USA

#36 Post by bigpup »

I am going to do some testing on other Puppy versions and see if this is just a Xenialpup64 7.5 problem with this one pop up.
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected :shock:
YaPI(any iso installer)

User avatar
bigpup
Posts: 13886
Joined: Sun 11 Oct 2009, 18:15
Location: S.C. USA

#37 Post by bigpup »

Argolance,

I tried using the 180903 Yapi in Tahrpup64 6.0.6.
I did not have the problem with that second pop up not going away.

This may be why.
I selected to use this running Puppy as the one I wanted to install. The pop up comes up saying "searching for the iso of Tahrpup64 6.0.6"
It finds the iso and goes to the window to select where to install it. The pop up did not stay and went away when it should.

On Xenialpup64 7.5, when running Yapi, doing the same thing. The pop up hangs.
However, there is an iso of Xenialpup64 7.5 in several locations. So, I get a window that asks which one of the XEnialpup64 7.5 iso's do I want to use.
The pop up is still showing and does not go away until I select a specific iso and the next window opens, asking where to install it.

So, having more than one copy of the running Puppy iso, seems to be the thing that causes this.

Edit:
Checked this setup in other Puppies and the same problem. iIf you choose to install this running Puppy, and there is more than one iso of that Puppy.
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected :shock:
YaPI(any iso installer)

User avatar
Argolance
Posts: 3767
Joined: Sun 06 Jan 2008, 22:57
Location: PORT-BRILLET (Mayenne - France)
Contact:

#38 Post by Argolance »

Bonsoir,
bigpup wrote:Checked this setup in other Puppies and the same problem. iIf you choose to install this running Puppy, and there is more than one iso of that Puppy.
Try adding:

Code: Select all

kill $XPID >/dev/null
at the line 250.
Should sound like:

Code: Select all

   [ -s ${ISOS} ] && break # first one only 
  done
  kill $XPID >/dev/null
  N=$(wc -l ${ISOS} | cut -d' ' -f1) #  zero or number of lines
Cordialement.

User avatar
bigpup
Posts: 13886
Joined: Sun 11 Oct 2009, 18:15
Location: S.C. USA

#39 Post by bigpup »

You got it!!! :D :D :D

That fixed it!!
#2 pop up goes away when it should.

Did the above change:
Line 250

Code: Select all

kill $XPID >/dev/null
At this time, that seems to be the last bug to fix.
So, everything in Yapi should now be working correctly.

I made a pet with all the working code changes that have been posted.

I am now testing it on everything.

Give me a few days to get it all tested!!

Argolance,
Thanks very much for the code tweaks and added improvements to YaPI!!
When I post this new pet as the new release version of YaPI.
I will add your name to the developers listed in the first post of this topic!!

We may get a Hurricane, in a few days, in my area of the East coast of the US.
Probably going to loose electrical power in a few days. :roll:
Last edited by bigpup on Mon 10 Sep 2018, 00:24, edited 1 time in total.
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected :shock:
YaPI(any iso installer)

User avatar
bigpup
Posts: 13886
Joined: Sun 11 Oct 2009, 18:15
Location: S.C. USA

#40 Post by bigpup »

Argolance,

What do you think about a minor change to the placement of these pop up messages?
You have them all showing at the top center of the desktop.

Seems to me, any message should show at eye level, which is usually the center of the desktop.
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected :shock:
YaPI(any iso installer)

Post Reply