Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 10 Dec 2018, 04:21
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
TazPuppy Beta 11
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 43 of 49 [727 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49 Next
Author Message
s243a

Joined: 02 Sep 2014
Posts: 1305

PostPosted: Fri 14 Sep 2018, 04:30    Post subject:  

I'm not sure if we do it or not in the devX, but I wonder if we should be including a few things from the kernal sources like limits.h into the devX package. Even the python tools pip and easy_install won't work right if this c header can't be found in the cpp (c pre processor) search path.

As I mentioned in my previous post the cpp expents to find it at ./linux/limits.h where "." is one of the directories included in the cpp search path. In my previous post I did this by modifying the CPPFLAGS from where it apeared due to mounting the kernal sources:

Code:

export CPPFLAGS="-I/usr/include -I/usr/src/linux/usr/include"


however, we could probably simply just copy this file to /usr/include/linux and then it wouldn't depend on someone having the kernal sources mounted.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mistfire

Joined: 04 Nov 2008
Posts: 1000
Location: PH

PostPosted: Fri 14 Sep 2018, 20:51    Post subject:  

Hello can you please test the On-Demand Features in TazPuppy?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
s243a

Joined: 02 Sep 2014
Posts: 1305

PostPosted: Fri 14 Sep 2018, 22:36    Post subject:  

mistfire wrote:
Hello can you please test the On-Demand Features in TazPuppy?


What are the On-Demand features?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Terry H

Joined: 29 Mar 2009
Posts: 487
Location: The Heart of Muskoka, ON Canada

PostPosted: Fri 14 Sep 2018, 23:43    Post subject:  

mistfire wrote:
Hello can you please test the On-Demand Features in TazPuppy?


I saw this feature the other day and had been intending to try it. I just ran a few tests. System Tools > On-Demand Features

When clicked on as Tux, brings up root password prompt, but nothing happens, so presumed security error.

When run from terminal as Tux, same thing, prompt for root password, then security error shown. It can't be run with sudo, as gives security error for user Tux.

When run from terminal following 'su', the selection list is displayed and will install applications. I also was able to run following gksu pcmanfm and then clicking '/usr/bin/tazpup-ondemand'

The issue I had is that it doesn't identify what is going to be installed, it's a Lucky Dip.

i.e. Full Media Player

i.e. Email Client

You have to run it to know what is going to be installed.


I installed Email Client, it appears to have successfully installed Thunderbird. The problem I had is that so many errors flashed by so quickly on the terminal, I don't know what happened, the errors were related to getcwd. I couldn't finde getcwd in Package Manager. Thunderbird seems to be functioning OK, email account successfully accessed.

I installed Full Media Player. VLC was installed, only tested playing mp3. Don't have any videos on laptop to check.

I attempted to install IM Client and IRC Client at same time. Everything in the terminal flashed by so quick I'm not sure what was attempted to be installed. Pidgin IM Client appears to be successfully installed. I have no idea what the IRC Client may have been.

I rebooted without saving and then installed IRC Client individually. I saw that it was installing xchat. Application runs when clicked, can't advise any further.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
musher0

Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 13146
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Sat 15 Sep 2018, 02:34    Post subject:  

Hello mistfire and all.

I could not find the devx for tazpup. Where is it, please?

TIA.

_________________
musher0
~~~~~~~~~~
Je suis né pour aimer et non pas pour haïr. (Sophocle) /
I was born to love and not to hate. (Sophocles)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
s243a

Joined: 02 Sep 2014
Posts: 1305

PostPosted: Sat 15 Sep 2018, 04:01    Post subject:  

musher0 wrote:
Hello mistfire and all.

I could not find the devx for tazpup. Where is it, please?

TIA.


I think that there is a script to build devX as part of her build tools -- at least there was in a prior release.

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=1004477#1004477
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mistfire

Joined: 04 Nov 2008
Posts: 1000
Location: PH

PostPosted: Sat 15 Sep 2018, 06:12    Post subject:  

@s243a ah yes the tazwoof. It has script for creating devx of TazPuppy. Someone here created a precompiled devx of tazpup. @musher0 just read back on the posts of this thread and you will find the download link of precompiled devx of TazPuppy and the Tazwoof
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 5195
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 15 Sep 2018, 12:39    Post subject:  

A note about an unusual bug in scripts ( bash or sh)

In the following script the entry box is supposed to be invisible
however when running tazpup, the box is visible.
I have noticed this on another distro as well. (Precise NOP)

For a practical example try copyfast.sh -->
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=86674

I use this technique to add folder names to a list.


Code:
#! /bin/sh

export MAIN_DIALOG='
 <vbox width-request="350">
<hbox> <text>
      <label>invisible</label>
    </text>
<entry accept="directory" visible="false">
          <variable>SELECTION</variable>
</entry>
<button>
         <input file stock="gtk-add"></input>
          <action type="fileselect">SELECTION</action>
          <action>refresh:SELECTION</action>
          <action type="exit">SEARCH</action>
</button>
</hbox>
 
 </vbox>
'

gtkdialog --program=MAIN_DIALOG
screenshot-invisible.png
 Description   Screenshot shows invisible entry is visible
 Filesize   3.55 KB
 Viewed   542 Time(s)

screenshot-invisible.png

screenshot-copy-fast_zps5484d948.png
 Description   
 Filesize   9.85 KB
 Viewed   551 Time(s)

screenshot-copy-fast_zps5484d948.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Terry H

Joined: 29 Mar 2009
Posts: 487
Location: The Heart of Muskoka, ON Canada

PostPosted: Sat 15 Sep 2018, 20:45    Post subject:  

I installed Full Web Browser using Tazpup Ondemand Features. This installed Firefox 17 ESR + 7 Add-ons. Five of the add-ons were disabled on first running, as being incompatible.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mistfire

Joined: 04 Nov 2008
Posts: 1000
Location: PH

PostPosted: Mon 17 Sep 2018, 01:05    Post subject:  

It seems On-demand features working nice. I wonder if printers, networking, and scanners work on using On-Demand script.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
s243a

Joined: 02 Sep 2014
Posts: 1305

PostPosted: Tue 18 Sep 2018, 16:46    Post subject:  

This is on an older version of TazPup, but I notice that the memory usage icon on the task bar shows most of my memory is used but if I check, none of my swap memory is being used

Code:

sh-4.4# free -t
             total       used       free     shared    buffers     cached
Mem:       3876576    3589476     287100          0      54460    1174572
-/+ buffers/cache:    2360444    1516132
Swap:      6458948          0    6458948
Total:    10335524    3589476    6746048

https://www.tecmint.com/commands-to-monitor-swap-space-usage-in-linux/

Should I be configuring my stem to swap more?

Edit I might try this:

How to configure swappiness in puppy
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=100219

Maybe I'll first try a swappiness value about 20 and go from there.

Edit 2 Some differences for tazpup:
1. Put the "set-swapiness" script in /etc/init.d instead of /root/Statup
2. Edit /etc/rcS.conf to have the set-swapiness script as a start-up script. (see the /etc/init.d/README) file

Last edited by s243a on Tue 18 Sep 2018, 21:54; edited 4 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 5195
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Tue 18 Sep 2018, 20:30    Post subject:  

I suggest that first post contain...
User: root
default password: root
___________________________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
s243a

Joined: 02 Sep 2014
Posts: 1305

PostPosted: Fri 21 Sep 2018, 01:06    Post subject:  

Anyone know how to set the log live in chrond?

I'm using cron to periodically clear my file cache due to a program that seems to cache a lot of files in memory (see thread).

I tried the following
Code:

/etc/init.d/crod start -l 8

and
Code:

/etc/init.d/crod start -- -l 8

The latter gave me the following error:
Code:

h-4.4# ./crond restart -- -l 0
/lib/libtaz.sh: line 36: export: `=yes': not a valid identifier


and the offending line of code is in the last part of the case structure of:

Code:

# Parse cmdline options and store values in a variable.
for opt in "$@"; do
   opt_name="${opt%%=*}"; opt_name="$(echo -n "${opt_name#--}" | tr -c 'a-zA-Z0-9' '_')"
   case "$opt" in
      --[0-9]*=*)   export _$opt_name="${opt#*=}" ;;
      --[0-9]*)   export _$opt_name=yes ;;
      --*=*)      export  $opt_name="${opt#*=}" ;;
      --*)      export  $opt_name=yes ;;
   esac
done


I'll put it on my to-do list to try to figure this out but if anyone knows, please let me know.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mistfire

Joined: 04 Nov 2008
Posts: 1000
Location: PH

PostPosted: Fri 21 Sep 2018, 19:50    Post subject:  

@s243a I will try to edit that file. Right now Im struggling how to run lxdm on TazPuppy. I noticed that reboot, poweroff, and shutdown commands dont work after I login from lxdm. Those commands will work after if the lxdm was killed. But the shutdown and reboot on login screen of lxdm works, that was weird.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
s243a

Joined: 02 Sep 2014
Posts: 1305

PostPosted: Sun 23 Sep 2018, 00:00    Post subject:  

mistfire wrote:
@s243a I will try to edit that file. Right now Im struggling how to run lxdm on TazPuppy. I noticed that reboot, poweroff, and shutdown commands dont work after I login from lxdm. Those commands will work after if the lxdm was killed. But the shutdown and reboot on login screen of lxdm works, that was weird.


It's probably not that big a priority because I was able to change the log level by calling the chrond utillity directly rather than using the start-up script.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 43 of 49 [727 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1652s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0228s) ][ GZIP on ]