Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 21 Oct 2018, 01:49
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Off-Topic Area » Security
How to solve this security lack? (Solved)
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [9 Posts]  
Author Message
pp4mnklinux


Joined: 23 Aug 2013
Posts: 224

PostPosted: Thu 11 Oct 2018, 07:21    Post subject:  How to solve this security lack? (Solved)
Subject description: Firefox warning that website is misconfigured
 

When I visit this site:

https://cifes.aragon.es/modulos/unaactividad.php?id_actividad=17468

with Firefox, this message appears:

Quote:
Your connection is not secure

The owner of cifes.aragon.es has configured their web site improperly. To protect your information from being stolen, Firefox has not connected to this web site.

Learn more…

Report errors like this to help Mozilla identify and block malicious sites


what can I tell to the owner of this site to solve this problem FOREVER?

Thanks a lot....

_________________
Kernel : Linux 4.9.58 (x86_64)
Version : #1 SMP PREEMPT Mon Nov 13 15:54:01 GMT 2017
C Library : GNU C Library version 2.23 (stable)

Distribution: xenial pup 7.5 x64


http://www.protopage.com/pp4mnkt3am#puPPy_Linux
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 13046
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Thu 11 Oct 2018, 10:51    Post subject:  

I think it's trying to tell you something. I get the same warning, using 32-bit Firefox Quantum (62.0.3). Which version of Firefox are you using?

When you get the warning, you should check the box that tells Firefox to report the warning to Mozilla so it can be checked out, so see if the site is a malicious one.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
s243a

Joined: 02 Sep 2014
Posts: 1220

PostPosted: Thu 11 Oct 2018, 11:52    Post subject:  

Flash wrote:
I think it's trying to tell you something. I get the same warning, using 32-bit Firefox Quantum (62.0.3). Which version of Firefox are you using?

When you get the warning, you should check the box that tells Firefox to report the warning to Mozilla so it can be checked out, so see if the site is a malicious one.


I often get warnings about expired certificates to sites and the only way to view them is to add a security exception. I don't like this because I think that security exceptions should automatically expire in about a day. I don't believe this is the case.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
8Geee


Joined: 12 May 2008
Posts: 1700
Location: N.E. USA

PostPosted: Thu 11 Oct 2018, 14:06    Post subject:  

the main page of aragon.es is not encrypted.
Therefore there is transmission of encrypted data through unencrypted pathways.

Every page accessible must be encrypted.

Regards
8Geee

_________________
Linux user #498913

Some people need to reimagine their thinking.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Burn_IT


Joined: 12 Aug 2006
Posts: 3234
Location: Tamworth UK

PostPosted: Thu 11 Oct 2018, 14:22    Post subject:  

That reminds me of the time the security people at one of the places I worked sent for a "protected" device to be specially delivered by Securicor.
It was delivered and left on the counter in reception when no-one was around at that moment.
I spotted it and told our security people it was there. It was still there 4 hours later when I went home.

Heads did roll.

_________________
"Just think of it as leaving early to avoid the rush" - T Pratchett
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
musher0

Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 12829
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Thu 11 Oct 2018, 22:46    Post subject:  

Hello all.

That's what you get when you delegate too many tasks to robots: stupid
evaluations. Sorry for being so frank.

I do not know Spanish. But it's close enough to Latin and to French that I can
recognize some words. Plus everyone can now access DeepL Translator.

If I'm not mistaken, that is the site for the Dep't of Education of the gov't of
the province (to use a Canadian comparison) of Aragon in Spain.

I doubt that such a site would present a danger. If it does, all kids in Aragon
are in deep trouble.

Maybe the Mozilla devs should send an e-mail to double-check? The
coordinates are all there at the top left of the page.

Also the prof in charge of this course is named. It should be easy enough
to send him an e-mail asking if his page is going to steal any info for his
"Basic Course on Localisation". Twisted Evil

My 2¢.

_________________
musher0
~~~~~~~~~~
Fidèle elle commença, ainsi elle restera. (Prov. canadien) /
Faithful she began, so will she stay. (Canadian prov.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
musher0

Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 12829
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Fri 12 Oct 2018, 01:11    Post subject: Re: How to solve this security lack?
Subject description: Firefox warning that website is misconfigured
 

pp4mnklinux wrote:
When I visit this site:

https://cifes.aragon.es/modulos/unaactividad.php?id_actividad=17468
(...)

what can I tell to the owner of this site to solve this problem FOREVER?

Thanks a lot....
Hi, pp4mnklinux.

In direct answer to your question (i.e. what I'm trying to say in my
previous post):
-- don't tell anything to the owner of the site; Wink
-- give a mouthful to the Mozilla devs, though.
Tell the world if necessary that the Mozilla code is NOT doing a thorough
job double-checking the sites they robotically block. Their code is not
seeing what even a human who does not know the language the site is
written in can see.

Other notes, if it may help:
-- the old opera 12.16 and the new Vivaldi 1.14 take their own sweet time
to load the page, but do not mention an invalid certificate;

-- links2 stops to mention the invalid certificate, but if you allow it, it
loads the page in a wink.

BFN.

_________________
musher0
~~~~~~~~~~
Fidèle elle commença, ainsi elle restera. (Prov. canadien) /
Faithful she began, so will she stay. (Canadian prov.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pp4mnklinux


Joined: 23 Aug 2013
Posts: 224

PostPosted: Fri 12 Oct 2018, 03:41    Post subject: Thanks a lot  

Hello everybody and THANKS.

The problem must be with my FF version cos I can open this site with others (FF 6.0.3 X64) although some friends have the same problem with his/her Iphone BROWSER.


THANKS A LOT FOR YOUR HELP.

_________________
Kernel : Linux 4.9.58 (x86_64)
Version : #1 SMP PREEMPT Mon Nov 13 15:54:01 GMT 2017
C Library : GNU C Library version 2.23 (stable)

Distribution: xenial pup 7.5 x64


http://www.protopage.com/pp4mnkt3am#puPPy_Linux
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
purple379

Joined: 04 Oct 2014
Posts: 95

PostPosted: Fri 12 Oct 2018, 08:15    Post subject: What location are you logged in at?
Subject description: Is your browser working at other webpages?
 

I see the same message while trying to use public WiFi and needing to get to the privacy screen or garden wall, login screen of the public WiFi provider.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [9 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Off-Topic Area » Security
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1960s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0775s) ][ GZIP on ]