Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 15 Nov 2018, 09:10
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Bionicpup64 7.9.6 CE beta
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 14 of 23 [333 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, ..., 21, 22, 23 Next
Author Message
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 11257
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sun 21 Oct 2018, 14:30    Post subject:  

Bionicpup64 7.9.5

Pupsys-info:
Quote:
Bus=0018 Vendor=04f3 Product=0048 Version=0000
Name="Elan Touchpad"
Connected to:


Kernel modules loaded shows module elan_i2c loaded.

On my laptop computer (HP Chromebook 14) the touchpad is working.
However, mouse/keyboard wizard>Touchpad
Get message
Quote:
couldn't find synaptics properties. No synaptics driver loaded

So, I can make no touchpad adjustments.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Revolverve

Joined: 08 Nov 2008
Posts: 153
Location: 45°17'28.8"N 72°16'08.8"W

PostPosted: Mon 22 Oct 2018, 12:25    Post subject:  

phil,

Both jackd1/libjackserver.so.0.0.28 and jackd2/libjackserver.so.0.1.0 are installed ,jackd does not like that.
else
qjackctl from ppm ..
QStandardPaths: xdg_runtime_dir not set defaulting to '/tmp/runtime-root
freeze x..does fit with the weather here...
or may i have to learn how to create XDG user directories?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
corvus


Joined: 12 Jun 2015
Posts: 128
Location: In the peninsula shaped like a boot.

PostPosted: Mon 22 Oct 2018, 15:24    Post subject:  

Good evening to everyone,
first of all thanks to 666philb for this new version of Puppy, great job.

Manual install to a usb-2.0 stick.
Code:

root# inxi -Fxx
System:    Host: puppypc10861 Kernel: 4.14.71 x86_64 bits: 64 gcc: 7.3.0
           Desktop: JWM 2.3.7 dm: N/A Distro: bionicpup64 7.9.5
Machine:   Device: laptop System: ASUSTeK product: X555LB v: 1.0
           Mobo: ASUSTeK model: X555LB v: 1.0
           UEFI [Legacy]: American Megatrends v: X555LB.204 date: 01/13/2015
Battery    BAT0: charge: 19.1 Wh 93.6% condition: 20.4/37.3 Wh (55%)
           volts: 7.6/7.6
           model: ASUSTeK X555-50 serial: N/A status: Discharging
CPU:       Dual core Intel Core i7-5500U (-MT-MCP-)
           arch: Broadwell rev.4 cache: 4096 KB
           flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3 vmx) bmips: 9586
           clock speeds: min/max: 500/2401 MHz 1: 1186 MHz 2: 1255 MHz
           3: 1177 MHz 4: 1244 MHz
Graphics:  Card-1: Intel HD Graphics 5500 bus-ID: 00:02.0 chip-ID: 8086:1616
           Card-2: NVIDIA GM108M [GeForce 940M]
           bus-ID: 04:00.0 chip-ID: 10de:1347
           Display Server: X.Org 1.19.6
           drivers: modesetting (unloaded: fbdev,vesa)
           Resolution: 1366x768@60.03hz
           OpenGL: renderer: llvmpipe (LLVM 6.0, 256 bits)
           version: 3.3 Mesa 18.0.5 (compat-v: 3.0) Direct Render: Yes
Audio:     Card-1 Intel Broadwell-U Audio Controller
           driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:03.0 chip-ID: 8086:160c
           Card-2 Intel Wildcat Point-LP High Def. Audio Controller
           driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:1b.0 chip-ID: 8086:9ca0
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k4.14.71
Network:   Card-1: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCIE Gigabit Ethernet Controller
           driver: r8169 v: 2.3LK-NAPI port: e000
           bus-ID: 02:00.0 chip-ID: 10ec:8168
           IF: eth0 state: down
           Card-2: Qualcomm Atheros QCA9565 / AR9565 Wireless Network Adapter
           driver: ath9k bus-ID: 03:00.0 chip-ID: 168c:0036
           IF: wlan0 state: up
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 1015.9GB (1.1% used)
           ID-1: /dev/sda model: TOSHIBA_MQ01ABD1 size: 1000.2GB serial: N/A
           ID-2: /dev/sdb model: Cruzer_Edge size: 15.7GB serial: N/A
RAID:      System: supported: linear raid0 raid1 raid10 raid6 raid5 raid4
           No RAID devices: /proc/mdstat, md_mod kernel module present
           Unused Devices: none
Sensors:   None detected - is lm-sensors installed and configured?
Info:      Processes: 148 Uptime: 2 min Memory: 647.2/11974.0MB
           Init: SysVinit v: N/A runlevel: 5 Gcc sys: N/A
           Client: Shell (bash 4.4.191 running in urxvt) inxi: 2.3.56

Installed the following packages from PPM and not only:
- gkrellm-2.3.10
- wbar-2.3.4
- nano-3.1 (compiled on Bionicpup)
- bleachbit-2.0
- gsmartcontrol-1.1.3
- tlp-1.1
- EditSFS-2.1.3 (downloaded from this forum)
- RamdiskV2 (downloaded from this forum)
- redshift_gtk-1.11

the only problem encountered until now, is the "Psync not available" warning if I try to synchronize the time using PupClockset but, obviously, Psync is installed and running fine.


bigpup wrote:

On my laptop computer (HP Chromebook 14) the touchpad is working.
However, mouse/keyboard wizard>Touchpad
Get message
Quote:
couldn't find synaptics properties. No synaptics driver loaded

So, I can make no touchpad adjustments.

Some time ago I found the following solution on our forum but I do not remember exactly where. Edit the file /etc/X11/xorg.conf removing the # symbol from the beginning of the following lines:
Quote:

Section "Module"
# Load "synaptics" #loadsynaptics

and
Quote:

Section "ServerLayout"
# InputDevice "Synaptics Mouse" "AlwaysCore" #serverlayoutsynaptics

add the following section:
Quote:

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Synaptics Mouse"
Driver "synaptics"
Option "SHMConfig" "on"
EndSection

Restart.

_________________
Hoc unum scio, me nihil scire. Socrate
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
torgo

Joined: 09 Sep 2011
Posts: 69

PostPosted: Mon 22 Oct 2018, 19:53    Post subject:  

Anyone else having problems with Grub4Dos?

I had done some testing of Ubuntu Mate 18.4.1, so I had it installed all by itself on a SSD drive. With no other hard drives on the system, I tried a frugal install of 7.9.5 on this same drive.

At first I thought I'd try to use the GRUB from Ubuntu and add Bionic to it, so I did NOT run Grub4Dos while running the frugal install process. But after that was done, I changed my mind so I went back and ran the Grub4Dos config tool from the Puppy menu.

It seemed to run fine. But when rebooting the system, it won't even come up with the menu. Apparently it can't find or can't run grldr.

The screen shows:

wee 0> find --set-root /grldr
(0x80,0)
wee 0> /grldr
wee 13>


I haven't used all this stuff as much as the rest of you, but I haven't seen this from Grub4Dos before. Everyone else seems to have set up their frugal installs just fine. Any ideas on what might be going wrong here?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 11257
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Mon 22 Oct 2018, 20:20    Post subject:  

Quote:
I had done some testing of Ubuntu Mate 18.4.1, so I had it installed all by itself on a SSD drive. With no other hard drives on the system, I tried a frugal install of 7.9.5 on this same drive.
The screen shows:

wee 0> find --set-root /grldr
(0x80,0)
wee 0> /grldr
wee 13>

This is a bug in Grub4dos not being able to handle ext4 64bit format.
Ubuntu Mate 18.4.1 probably formatted the SSD drive partition ext4 64bit.
Ext4 64bit is used now by a lot of newer Linux OS's.

Here is more info and some info on ways to get around this:
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=111376
If you change the format of the drive partition to ext4 32bit, Grub4dos should work.
The Gparted in Puppy only makes ext4 32bit format.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 11257
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Mon 22 Oct 2018, 20:57    Post subject:  

corvus wrote:
bigpup wrote:

On my laptop computer (HP Chromebook 14) the touchpad is working.
However, mouse/keyboard wizard>Touchpad
Get message
Quote:
couldn't find synaptics properties. No synaptics driver loaded

So, I can make no touchpad adjustments.

Some time ago I found the following solution on our forum but I do not remember exactly where. Edit the file /etc/X11/xorg.conf removing the # symbol from the beginning of the following lines:
Quote:

Section "Module"
# Load "synaptics" #loadsynaptics

and
Quote:

Section "ServerLayout"
# InputDevice "Synaptics Mouse" "AlwaysCore" #serverlayoutsynaptics

add the following section:
Quote:

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Synaptics Mouse"
Driver "synaptics"
Option "SHMConfig" "on"
EndSection

Restart.

Thanks for this!
That worked very well.
mouse/keyboard wizard>Touchpad now working!!

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
666philb


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 3201
Location: wales

PostPosted: Wed 24 Oct 2018, 16:00    Post subject:  

thanks for all the reports, new iso uploaded on first post

changes...

latest woof fixes ...wdlkmpx
kernel updated to 4.18.15
roxfiler updated... woodenshoe-wi
eudev now populates xorg.conf so touchscreens will hopefully work ...Revolverve
modesetting driver now has glamour acceleration (still rubbish though)
drive icons should hopefully now line up properly & also refreshed on reboot
pmcputemp fix ...ozsouth
remaster should now work properly ....fixed in woofce by wdlkmpx
fdisk added ...etp
ubuntus hardinfo added ...etp
mpv starts centered ...etp
removed ninvaders game
added sunfish chess (always wanted a tiny chess game)
added sfrs yahtzeez
added primrose puzzle game
mhwavedit updated
quickpet fixes
clawsmail tray icon on as default
xsane help fixed
Florence removed & xvkbd added .... Revolverve
added Realtek RTL8821CE wifi kernel module ....zigbert

_________________
Tahrpup, built with trusty tahr packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=96178
Xenialpup64, built with xenial xerus packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107331
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sheldonisaac

Joined: 21 Jun 2009
Posts: 768
Location: Philadelphia, PA

PostPosted: Wed 24 Oct 2018, 18:03    Post subject:  

666philb (in part) wrote:
thanks for all the reports, new iso uploaded on first post
Many thanks, 666philb!
Boots and saves perfectly. It was easy to make the little changes I like, to the tray, etc.
Thanks again,
Sheldon

_________________
Dell E6410: Xenial, Bionicpup64, etc
Dell Mini 9, Acer Aspire One, EeePC 1018P, PowerBook G4
Intel D865GBF, Intel DQ35JOE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ozsouth

Joined: 01 Jan 2010
Posts: 392
Location: S.E Australia

PostPosted: Wed 24 Oct 2018, 18:50    Post subject:  

excellent.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 3599
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Wed 24 Oct 2018, 19:01    Post subject: Bionicpup64 7.9.6 CE beta  

I installed to a 32GB SDHC card, pc is an Acer desktop:

Did basic setup and created save file.
Compiled proprietary Nvidia driver, it complained of an incomplete file (forget name) and gave
options to abort or overwrite and continue, I chose overwrite and continue.
Updated PPM and installed some applications.
Installed Chromium Browser with Quickpet, works well.
Compiled MC-4.8.21

video-info-glx 1.5.3 Wed 24 Oct 2018 on bionicpup64 7.9.6 Linux 4.18.15 x86_64
0.0 VGA compatible controller: NVIDIA Corporation GF108 [GeForce GT 430] (rev a1)
oem: NVIDIA
product: GF108 Board - 1071v1p1 Chip Rev

X Server: Xorg Driver: nvidia
X.Org version: 1.19.6
dimensions: 1920x1080 pixels (707x392 millimeters)
depth of root window: 24 planes

direct rendering: Yes
server glx vendor string: NVIDIA Corporation
server glx version string: 1.4
OpenGL vendor string: NVIDIA Corporation
OpenGL renderer string: GeForce GT 430/PCIe/SSE2
OpenGL core profile version string: 4.6.0 NVIDIA 390.87

Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad CPU Q6600 @ 2.40GHz
Core 0: @1596 1: @1596 2: @1606 3: @1608 MHz

Haven't got Smplayer working properly yet so using Vlc with Smtube.
Kodi works well.

That's it so far,
Thanks for the new beta.
---------------------------------------------------
EDIT: I got smtube working with mpv.
Also: Using 32" TV as monitor, audio+video via HDMI
screenshot2.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   117.01 KB
 Viewed   317 Time(s)

screenshot2.jpg

screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   123.65 KB
 Viewed   361 Time(s)

screenshot.jpg


Last edited by Billtoo on Wed 24 Oct 2018, 22:06; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 11257
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Wed 24 Oct 2018, 20:22    Post subject:  

This is a problem with Puppy Universal Installer in all Puppy latest versions and probably older ones, too.

I have a USB hard drive that the Universal Installer cannot see.

Pup-sysinfo shows it as a SCSI drive.
Quote:
Host=scsi4 Channel=00 Id=00 Lun=00
Vendor=Seagate
Model=Expansion+, Rev=0706
Type=Direct-Access


Not listed in USB drives.

However, I have another installer program that has no problem doing installs on this drive.
YaPI
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107601

Just another optional program if you are having the same problem doing installs.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeslr


Joined: 16 Jun 2008
Posts: 2773
Location: 500 seconds from Sol

PostPosted: Wed 24 Oct 2018, 22:53    Post subject: Upgraded from prior beta, working well  

Hi All,

After checking that nothing installed into the SaveFile under the prior beta wasn't duplicated or would conflict with changes, I moved the system files and copied the SaveFile into a folder --you never know if you'll have to revert-- mounted the new ISO and copied its system files into the Bionicpup64 folder identified on grub4dos' menu.lst. Booted into it, consenting to upgrade the SaveFile. All went well. The only adjustment I had to make was the default Wallpaper was displayed rather than the one I prefer.

Of special note: Only after moving the prior beta's system files did I realize I was still running the prior beta. I had intended to boot into it only to check for possible conflicts. My practice has been to boot into a different Puppy before making system file replacements, i.e. upgrades. It should be noted that my computer has 8 Gbs of RAM and I had copied rather than moved the SaveFile. In other words, my "operating system in RAM" did not have to access files in storage, other than perhaps those in the SaveFile during the upgrade process.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Terry H

Joined: 29 Mar 2009
Posts: 473
Location: The Heart of Muskoka, ON Canada

PostPosted: Wed 24 Oct 2018, 23:23    Post subject:    

New frugal install on Dell Core i3-5005U on SanDisk USB Flash Drive.

Battery Percentage is now shown as 100% rather than incorrect 123%.

CPU Temp is now displayed more accurately on this laptop than previous default setting, however on my desktop with AMD FX 6100 CPU, the Temp is shown incorrectly as fluctuating around 10 deg C, the ambient indoor temp is 20 C. The desktop had previously displayed correct CPU temperature on the previous bionicpup64 release. I don't know whether changing from pmcputemp to pcmpucurt, is a positive move at present.

Sound took some extra playing with to get working. I got the Sound card wizard to play the sound after getting the default to be PCH, but still had no sound from deadbeef with local mp3 files or palemoon. Sound worked playing mp3 with mpv. I changed the deadbeef preferences from default audio device to the second entry in the list for HDA Intel PCH, ALC3234 Analog Default Audio device. After changing the deadbeef setting, somehow sound decided to also work in palemoon also. The Function Keys F1, F2, F3 which previously worked for sound, no longer work in the current beta release.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ozsouth

Joined: 01 Jan 2010
Posts: 392
Location: S.E Australia

PostPosted: Thu 25 Oct 2018, 01:01    Post subject:  

@Terry H - your AMD cpu probably just a bit old for the k10temp module. If you edit /usr/bin/pmcpucurt.sh, replacing all (3) k10temp with k8temp, then restart window manager, will probably work. Would love you to test that, as I don't have many machines to test with.
Last edited by ozsouth on Thu 25 Oct 2018, 07:43; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 11257
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Thu 25 Oct 2018, 06:29    Post subject:  

Bionicpup64 7.9.6

666philb wrote:
added sunfish chess (always wanted a tiny chess game)

That is a little too simple.
In Puppy Package Manager(PPM)
Downloaded and installed Brutalchess
PPM showed it as a 2mb download.

It is 3d and click and point to make a move.
You play the computer.
Quote:
ESC key will bring up the main menu. From here you can set different options, start a new
game or exit the application. To navigate back from submenus and return to the
game just use ESC.

it is possible to rotate the camera angle with the right mouse
button. When you don't already have a piece selected, press and hold the right
mouse button and move the camera to rotate the view and then release it.


This is what gets installed.
It is not much.
Code:
/usr/games/brutalchess
/usr/share/applications/brutalchess.desktop
/usr/share/doc/brutalchess
/usr/share/games/brutalchess
/usr/share/games/brutalchess/art/brutalchesslogo.png
/usr/share/man/man6/brutalchess.6.gz
/usr/share/menu/brutalchess
/usr/share/pixmaps/brutalchess.xpm
/var/packages/brutalchess_0.5.2+dfsg-7.files
capture6216.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   64.83 KB
 Viewed   227 Time(s)

capture6216.jpg


_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 14 of 23 [333 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, ..., 21, 22, 23 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1182s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0414s) ][ GZIP on ]