Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 19 Nov 2018, 09:12
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
How I run Opera Mini on desktop/laptop
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 4 of 4 [56 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4
Author Message
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 4381
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Thu 08 Nov 2018, 07:28    Post subject:  

@ Nic:-

A query - if I may?

Can't quite figure out how you zoom a page in or out. Is there a way to do it.....and if there is, what's the trick? I've tried every combo I can think of; nothing seems to work.

(Of course, it's possible there's no mechanism to do this, I suppose...)


Mike. Wink

_________________
MY PUPPY PACKAGES | 'Thanks' are always appreciated!
--------------------------------------

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
nic007


Joined: 13 Nov 2011
Posts: 2677
Location: Cradle of Humankind

PostPosted: Thu 08 Nov 2018, 08:26    Post subject:  

I don't think there is a zoom feature. I just set fonts to large and maximize the screen to my laptop's native resolution and select fullscreen in settings. Evenso - the print is still rather small (remember this is for mobile devices). However, you can of course set your screen to a lower resolution like 800x600 which will make everything bigger. Takes a bit of time to adjust to the look but I'm so used to it by now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 4381
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Thu 08 Nov 2018, 09:38    Post subject:  

@ Nick:-

No, that's fair enough. Setting the fonts to large has done the trick. It's much easier to read now.

Cheers. Oh, while I think of it; is that config.xml file the only config file it uses? If so, I'll probably place that remotely, then sym-link it into each Pup where I use this.....I have JRE in all Pups anyway, so will probably install this in 'em all. It's not exactly large, is it? Smile

Thanks again for this.


Mike. Wink

_________________
MY PUPPY PACKAGES | 'Thanks' are always appreciated!
--------------------------------------

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
nic007


Joined: 13 Nov 2011
Posts: 2677
Location: Cradle of Humankind

PostPosted: Thu 08 Nov 2018, 11:34    Post subject:  

Well, that's mostly the configuration file. Some things are saved in the suite- Opera Mini folder also in .microemulator
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
perdido


Joined: 09 Dec 2013
Posts: 1049
Location: ¿Altair IV , Just north of Eeyore Junction.?

PostPosted: Thu 08 Nov 2018, 13:12    Post subject:  

nic007 wrote:
I have no problem logging into the forum running Opera Mini with Tahr 605. I also had no problems logging in with Precise and the standard browser (seamonkey).


Which version of JRE is loaded when you can login with the Opera Mini?

.Just having it fail in Opera Mini, nothing else.

Thanks

.

_________________
Giving with an expectation for return brings misery.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 4381
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Thu 08 Nov 2018, 13:52    Post subject:  

@ perdido:-

I'm running this across a kennel-full of mixed 32- and 64-bit Pups, with a single ~/.microemulator directory sym-linked into all from a remote partition. No problems logging into the forum n any way.

The version of JRE in use is the current version 8, update 181. You can find SFS packages, both 32- and 64-bit, from my GoogleDrive, here:-

https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/18y31muQvN3cDY42G1ChIKA3bGfYS6P0i?usp=sharing

You'll also need the Control Panel for it; it's the 'javaif' .pet in the same folder.

(That's if you can bring yourself to interact with Google, however briefly! Laughing)


Mike. Wink

_________________
MY PUPPY PACKAGES | 'Thanks' are always appreciated!
--------------------------------------

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Dorothée


Joined: 27 Nov 2012
Posts: 240

PostPosted: Thu 08 Nov 2018, 22:27    Post subject:  

Mike Walsh, Thank you,
your pet is mush better than my sfs. I could log in without updating java.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nic007


Joined: 13 Nov 2011
Posts: 2677
Location: Cradle of Humankind

PostPosted: Fri 09 Nov 2018, 00:40    Post subject:  

perdido wrote:
nic007 wrote:
I have no problem logging into the forum running Opera Mini with Tahr 605. I also had no problems logging in with Precise and the standard browser (seamonkey).


Which version of JRE is loaded when you can login with the Opera Mini?

.Just having it fail in Opera Mini, nothing else.

Thanks

.

I use jre-6u26-1-i386.pet which I converted to an sfs file. I'm almost certain your login problems is not related to JRE as I have used numerous versions of JRE before with Opera Mini.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
perdido


Joined: 09 Dec 2013
Posts: 1049
Location: ¿Altair IV , Just north of Eeyore Junction.?

PostPosted: Fri 09 Nov 2018, 00:59    Post subject:  

nic007 wrote:
perdido wrote:
nic007 wrote:
I have no problem logging into the forum running Opera Mini with Tahr 605. I also had no problems logging in with Precise and the standard browser (seamonkey).


Which version of JRE is loaded when you can login with the Opera Mini?

.Just having it fail in Opera Mini, nothing else.

Thanks

.

I use jre-6u26-1-i386.pet which I converted to an sfs file. I'm almost certain your login problems is not related to JRE as I have used numerous versions of JRE before with Opera Mini.


You are right about the JRE version not being the cause, just operator headspace needed adjusting.
Was advancing from the login to password box by hitting enter, tried it with mouse only and it works and posting with it now.


:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nic007


Joined: 13 Nov 2011
Posts: 2677
Location: Cradle of Humankind

PostPosted: Sun 11 Nov 2018, 03:03    Post subject:  

BTW - there are useful shortcut keys for browsing. Probably the most used: press 2 on keyboard for page up ; 8 for page down.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
GusCE6

Joined: 01 Oct 2018
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Wed 14 Nov 2018, 19:17    Post subject:  

I've gotten Opera Mini 8 and two other JAR files (games) running this way.

I'm wondering, can APK files be run with this, or is there an equivalent SFS setup that can?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 4 of 4 [56 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0864s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0211s) ][ GZIP on ]