Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 14 Dec 2018, 14:58
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Fatdog64-720 and 721 Final [11 Jan 2018]
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 28 of 29 [428 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 26, 27, 28, 29 Next
Author Message
stemsee

Joined: 27 Jun 2013
Posts: 2275
Location: In The Way

PostPosted: Fri 19 Oct 2018, 19:28    Post subject:  

I use this script on FatDog to create an sfs of ram (snapshot), but if sfs files are also loaded then there is the option to add those, one by one in order that they were loaded, to the snapshot. I am on a system where a savefile is unfindable!

There is a floating save icon all that is required is to input the partition to save to eg 'sdb1'. If sfs files are loaded in aufs then a y/n dialogue opens for each dir (pup_ro10-44) that is to be included.

Any pointers appreciated.

Code:
#!/bin/sh
# sfs-direct-save by stemsee copyright (c) 2017 Marcos Contant
# gpl 3.0
# no warranty use at own risk,
#
res=`xwininfo -root | grep 'geometry' | awk '{printf $2}' | cut -f1 -d'+'`
XX=`echo $res | cut -f1 -d'x'`
YY=`echo $res | cut -f2 -d'x'`
is=`mount | grep -e '/aufs/pup_rw'`
svd=`mount | grep -e '/aufs/pup_save'`
pos="+20+$((YY - 80))"
export pos
export is
export svd
ln -s /usr/sbin/sfs-direct-save /root/Startup/sfs-direct-save &> /dev/null
savefn () {
   yad --geometry=200x20+0+0 --undecorated --no-border --on-top --no-focus --skip-taskbar --no-buttons --text "Saving" --progress --pulsate &
   pid=$!
if [[ -d /aufs ]]; then
   . /etc/DISTRO_SPECS
   name=S_${DISTRO_FILE_PREFIX}_S.sfs
   path=mnt
fi
savede=`yad --on-top --entry`
[[ -z "$savede" ]] && kill $pid && exit
   echo "Proceeding with '$name' save on '/$path/$savede' with '$comp'"
   yad --geometry=+0+0 --undecorated --skip-taskbar --no-buttons --text "Proceeding with '$name' saved on /$path/$savede" --timeout 1
   [[ ! -d /mnt/$savede ]] && mkdir -p /mnt/$savede
   mount -f /dev/$savede /mnt/$saved
   [[ -f /mnt/$savede/"$name" ]] && rm -f /mnt/$savede/"$name"
   sfs=`ls /aufs | grep 'pup_ro[0-4][0-9]'`
   if [[ ! -z "$sfs" ]]; then
      for i in $sfs
      do
      answer=`yad --text="include $i ... y or n?" --entry`
      case $answer in
      y|Y|yes|Yes|YES) rsync -aXxrtv --update /aufs/$i/* /mnt/$savede/"$name"-include;;
      *) continue;;
      esac
      done
      if [[ -z "$is" ]]; then
         rsync -aXxrtv --update /aufs/pup_save/* /mnt/$savede/"$name"-include
         mksquashfs /mnt/$savede/$name-include/* /$path/$savede/$name -keep-as-directory -noappend
      else
         rsync -aXxrtv --update /aufs/pup_rw/* /mnt/$savede/"$name"-include
         mksquashfs /mnt/$savede/$name-include/* /$path/$savede/$name -keep-as-directory -noappend
      fi
   else
      if [[ -z "$is" ]]; then
         mksquashfs /aufs/pup_save/* /$path/$savede/$name -keep-as-directory -noappend
      else
         mksquashfs /aufs/pup_rw/* /$path/$savede/$name -keep-as-directory -noappend
      fi
   fi
   kill $pid
   yad --geometry=+0+0 --undecorated --skip-taskbar --no-buttons --text "Finished" --timeout 1
   exit 0
}
export -f savefn
if [ -z "$svd" ]; then
   ok=`yad --geometry="$pos" --on-top --no-focus --no-buttons --skip-taskbar \
   --undecorated --form --field=SAVE:BTN "bash -c savefn"`
fi
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
s243a

Joined: 02 Sep 2014
Posts: 1316

PostPosted: Fri 19 Oct 2018, 21:14    Post subject:  

stemsee wrote:
I use this script on FatDog to create an sfs of ram (snapshot), but if sfs files are also loaded then there is the option to add those, one by one in order that they were loaded, to the snapshot. I am on a system where a savefile is unfindable!

There is a floating save icon all that is required is to input the partition to save to eg 'sdb1'. If sfs files are loaded in aufs then a y/n dialogue opens for each dir (pup_ro10-44) that is to be included.

Any pointers appreciated.

Code:
#!/bin/sh
# sfs-direct-save by stemsee copyright (c) 2017 Marcos Contant
# gpl 3.0
# no warranty use at own risk,
#
res=`xwininfo -root | grep 'geometry' | awk '{printf $2}' | cut -f1 -d'+'`
XX=`echo $res | cut -f1 -d'x'`
YY=`echo $res | cut -f2 -d'x'`
is=`mount | grep -e '/aufs/pup_rw'`
svd=`mount | grep -e '/aufs/pup_save'`
pos="+20+$((YY - 80))"
export pos
export is
export svd
ln -s /usr/sbin/sfs-direct-save /root/Startup/sfs-direct-save &> /dev/null
savefn () {
   yad --geometry=200x20+0+0 --undecorated --no-border --on-top --no-focus --skip-taskbar --no-buttons --text "Saving" --progress --pulsate &
   pid=$!
if [[ -d /aufs ]]; then
   . /etc/DISTRO_SPECS
   name=S_${DISTRO_FILE_PREFIX}_S.sfs
   path=mnt
fi
savede=`yad --on-top --entry`
[[ -z "$savede" ]] && kill $pid && exit
   echo "Proceeding with '$name' save on '/$path/$savede' with '$comp'"
   yad --geometry=+0+0 --undecorated --skip-taskbar --no-buttons --text "Proceeding with '$name' saved on /$path/$savede" --timeout 1
   [[ ! -d /mnt/$savede ]] && mkdir -p /mnt/$savede
   mount -f /dev/$savede /mnt/$saved
   [[ -f /mnt/$savede/"$name" ]] && rm -f /mnt/$savede/"$name"
   sfs=`ls /aufs | grep 'pup_ro[0-4][0-9]'`
   if [[ ! -z "$sfs" ]]; then
      for i in $sfs
      do
      answer=`yad --text="include $i ... y or n?" --entry`
      case $answer in
      y|Y|yes|Yes|YES) rsync -aXxrtv --update /aufs/$i/* /mnt/$savede/"$name"-include;;
      *) continue;;
      esac
      done
      if [[ -z "$is" ]]; then
         rsync -aXxrtv --update /aufs/pup_save/* /mnt/$savede/"$name"-include
         mksquashfs /mnt/$savede/$name-include/* /$path/$savede/$name -keep-as-directory -noappend
      else
         rsync -aXxrtv --update /aufs/pup_rw/* /mnt/$savede/"$name"-include
         mksquashfs /mnt/$savede/$name-include/* /$path/$savede/$name -keep-as-directory -noappend
      fi
   else
      if [[ -z "$is" ]]; then
         mksquashfs /aufs/pup_save/* /$path/$savede/$name -keep-as-directory -noappend
      else
         mksquashfs /aufs/pup_rw/* /$path/$savede/$name -keep-as-directory -noappend
      fi
   fi
   kill $pid
   yad --geometry=+0+0 --undecorated --skip-taskbar --no-buttons --text "Finished" --timeout 1
   exit 0
}
export -f savefn
if [ -z "$svd" ]; then
   ok=`yad --geometry="$pos" --on-top --no-focus --no-buttons --skip-taskbar \
   --undecorated --form --field=SAVE:BTN "bash -c savefn"`
fi


I've done something like this before with tahrpup
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=989599&sid=26ddcf36a0e84ae1a34bad5a97774c5c

I have a suspicion that there might be some memory management advantages to using bind. Maybe it helps the OS know what to swap but this just a guess.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rufwoof

Joined: 24 Feb 2014
Posts: 2711

PostPosted: Sun 21 Oct 2018, 14:34    Post subject:  

Hoping the setfont big option carries over to the 800's. Makes Fatdog's console/cli one of the nicest around IMO.

Yes the attached is a image of the actual console (running tmux/mc and making a backup copy of fd64save), not a xterm.
fb.png
Description 
png

 Download 
Filename  fb.png 
Filesize  17.6 KB 
Downloaded  100 Time(s) 

_________________
( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°) :wq
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
chiron²

Joined: 21 Jan 2014
Posts: 69

PostPosted: Wed 31 Oct 2018, 03:02    Post subject:  

I just recently stumbled upon a problem with FD721. I have an older hanvon Artmaster graphics tablet, not used for a while, and now wanted to pass it on to the kids. They run FD721. I downloaded the driver for the hanvon, compiled it, copied the module to ..../drivers/input/tablet/hanvon.ko but it did not work. It still works fine in FD710, though. The tablet is recognized, driver is loaded and then exits with an error. dmesg gives the following

Code:
[   75.670067] usb 6-2: new full-speed USB device number 3 using uhci_hcd
[   75.857468] usb 6-2: New USB device found, idVendor=0b57, idProduct=8502
[   75.857473] usb 6-2: New USB device strings: Mfr=1, Product=2, SerialNumber=3
[   75.857477] usb 6-2: Product: Tablet
[   75.857480] usb 6-2: Manufacturer: Hanvon
[   75.857483] usb 6-2: SerialNumber: V3.2
[   75.862601] input: Hanvon tablet as /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:1d.0/usb6/6-2/6-2:1.0/input/input15
[   75.875418] hanvon_irq - urb shutting down with status: -2
[   75.911432] hanvon_irq - urb shutting down with status: -2


I suspect it's the kernel's USB handling, right?

For the time being, I will just migrate them back to710, but is there hope it will work again in 800?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mn110

Joined: 23 May 2016
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Thu 01 Nov 2018, 23:56    Post subject: SOLVED.........Chrome and Firefox with Bluetooth Audio
Subject description: SOLVED
 

SOLVED

I figured out a path to get my BT speakers working with Chrome and it's Audio. It involves removing the device from my BT application, then hard resetting my BT device (speaker). Then re-booting....then establishing a new connection with a new search ..etc etc......then and only then will BT audio route from Chrome to the BT speaker.........This is not the case with Firefox, but you gotta choose your battles..FF just started supporting Youtube TV afterall.

So I say Solved...but not sure if this is really solved, however, the 800 ver of Fatdog may minimize all this BT reset and reboot churn....so disregard the Bug Report please and hope I didn't waste anybody's time........


*******************************************************************
Hello, I've noted some problems with both Chrome and Firefox when attempting to use BT Audio. I'm not sure what's going on with Youtube TV, but things seem to get real finicky with that website....

Any info would be appreciated.

INFO Follows:


FATDOG64 721
DELL LAPTOP INSPIRION 15 5570

Bluetooth Speaker - UE Megaboom, Speaker Ver. 2.2.9, Firmware updated today.

libapulse and libapulse32 are both installed.

While troubleshooting to document the below results, I removed libpulse32 and it resulted in instant crashing of both FireFox and Chrome upon opening no matter what the sound was configured to.
It was ugly. This was with a BT speaker connected and enabled. When I disabled BT, the crashes stopped......

*****************************************************************************
Chrome Version 70.0.3538.77 (Official Build) (64-bit)

Chrome will not route any web based audio to anything other than the laptop's internal speakers.
Additionally, Chrome may crash when attempting to watch Youtube TV. The crash occurrence is more random than FF.



*****************************************************************************


FireFox Version 63.0.1 Quantum

Observations:

With the system configured to use BT as a default sound output, Firefox will play all Web Audio to the laptop's internal speakers OR in many cases will just crash. This is always true for Youtube TV. In the case of Youtube TV, FF will simply ALWAYS crash if the output sound device is a BT speaker.

FireFox Crash Details - Youtube TV to BT Audio




Add-ons: aushelper%40mozilla.org:2.0,firefox%40getpocket.com:1.0.5,formautofill%40mozilla.org:1.0,onboarding%40mozilla.org:1.0,screenshots%40mozilla.org:33.0.0,
webcompat-reporter%40mozilla.org:1.0.0,webcompat%40mozilla.org:2.0.1
BuildID: 20181030165643
ContentSandboxCapabilities: 119
ContentSandboxCapable: 1
ContentSandboxLevel: 4
CrashTime: 1541126073
DOMIPCEnabled: 1
EventLoopNestingLevel: 1
FramePoisonBase: 9223372036600930304
FramePoisonSize: 4096
InstallTime: 1541041464
Notes: FP(D00-L1000-W00000000-T000) OpenGL: Intel Open Source Technology Center -- Mesa DRI Intel(R) Kabylake GT1.5 -- 3.0 Mesa 17.2.8 -- texture_from_pixmap
WR? WR- OMTP? OMTP+4
ProductID: {ec8030f7-c20a-464f-9b0e-13a3a9e97384}
ProductName: Firefox
ReleaseChannel: release
SafeMode: 0
SecondsSinceLastCrash: 83545
StartupCrash: 0
StartupTime: 1541126051
TelemetryEnvironment: {"build":{"applicationId":"{ec8030f7-c20a-464f-9b0e-13a3a9e97384}","applicationName":"Firefox","architecture":"x86-64","buildId":"20181030165643",
"version":"63.0.1","vendor":"Mozilla","displayVersion":"63.0.1","platformVersion":"63.0.1","xpcomAbi":"x86_64-gcc3","updaterAvailable":true},
"partner":"distributionId":null,"distributionVersion":null,"partnerId":null,"distributor":null,"distributorChannel":null,"partnerNames":[]},"system":{"memoryMB":7878,"virtualMaxMB":null,"cpu":"count":8,"cores":4,"vendor":"GenuineIntel","family":6,"model":142,"stepping":10,"l2cacheKB":256,
"l3cacheKB":8192,"speedMHz":4000,"extensions":"hasMMX","hasSSE","hasSSE2","hasSSE3","hasSSSE3","hasSSE4_1","hasSSE4_2","hasAVX","hasAVX2","hasAES"]},"os":{"name":"Linux","version":"4.14.12","locale":"en-US"},"hdd":{"profile":"model":null,"revision":null},"binary":"model":null,"revision":null},
"system":"model":null,"revision":null}},"gfx":"D2DEnabled":null,"DWriteEnabled":null,"ContentBackend":"Skia","adapters":[{"description":"Intel Open Source Technology Center -- Mesa DRI Intel(R) Kabylake GT1.5 ,"vendorID":"Intel Open Source Technology Center","deviceID":"Mesa DRI Intel(R) Kabylake GT1.5 ,"subsysID":null,"RAM":null,"driver":null,"driverVersion":"3.0 Mesa 7.2.8","driverDate":null,"GPUActive":true}],"monitors":[],"features":{"compositor":"basic","gpuProcess":{"status":"unused"},"wrQualified":{"status":"blocked"},"webrender":"status":"unavailable"}}},"appleModelId":null},"settings":"blocklistEnabled":true,"e10sEnabled":true,"e10sMultiProcesses":4,"telemetryEnabled":false,"locale":"en-S","update":"channel":"release","enabled":true,"autoDownload":true},"userPrefs":{"browser.cache.disk.capacity":419840,
"browser.shell.checkDefaultBrowser":false,"browser.search.region":"US","browser.search.widget.inNavBar":false,"general.config.filename":"<set>"},"sandbox":"effectiveContentProcessLevel":4},"addonCompatibilityCheckEnabled":true,"isDefaultBrowser":false,"defaultSearchEngine":"google-2018","defaultSearchEngineData":{"name":"Google","loadPath":"jar:[app]/omni.ja!/google-018.xml","origin":"default","submissionURL":"https://www.google.com/search?q=&ie=utf-8&oe=utf-8&client=firefox-b-1"},"searchCohort":"nov17-2"},
"profile":{"creationDate":17836},"addons":{"activeAddons":{"aushelper@mozilla.org":{"version":"2.0","scope":1,"type":"extension",
"updateDay":17834,"isSystem":true,"isWebExtension":false,"multiprocessCompatible":true,"blocklisted":false,"description":"Sets value(s)
in the update url based on custom checks.","name":"Application Update Service Helper","userDisabled":false,"appDisabled":false,"foreignInstall"
:false,"hasBinaryComponents":false,"installDay":17834},"firefox@getpocket.com":{"version":"1.0.5","scope":1,"type":"extension","updateDay":17834,
"isSystem":true,"isWebExtension":false,"multiprocessCompatible":true,"blocklisted":false,"description": "When you find something you want to view later, put it in pocket.","name":"Pocket","userDisabled":false,"appDisabled":false,
"foreignInstall":false,"hasBinaryComponents":false,"installDay":17834},"formautofill@mozilla.org":{"version":"1.0","scope":1, "type":"extension","updateDay":17834,"isSystem":true,"isWebExtension":true,"multiprocessCompatible":true,"blocklisted":false, "description":null,"name":"Form Autofill","userDisabled":false,"appDisabled":false,"foreignInstall":false,"hasBinaryComponents"
:false,"installDay":17834},"onboarding@mozilla.org":{"version":"1.0","scope":1,"type":"extension","updateDay":17834,"isSystem":true,
"isWebExtension":false,"multiprocessCompatible":true,"blocklisted":false,"description":"Photon onboarding","name":"Photon onboarding",
"userDisabled":false,"appDisabled":false,"foreignInstall":false,"hasBinaryComponents":false,"installDay":17834},"screenshots@mozilla.org"
:{"version":"33.0.0","scope":1,"type":"extension","updateDay":17834,"isSystem":true,"isWebExtension":false,"multiprocessCompatible":true,
"blocklisted":false,"description":null,"name":"Firefox Screenshots","userDisabled":false,"appDisabled":false,"foreignInstall":false,
"hasBinaryComponents":false,"installDay":17834},"webcompat-reporter@mozilla.org":{"version":"1.0.0","scope":1,"type":"extension","updateDay"
:17834,"isSystem":true,"isWebExtension":false,"multiprocessCompatible":true,"blocklisted":false,"description":"Report site compatibility
issues on webcompat.com.","name":"WebCompat Reporter","userDisabled":false,"appDisabled":false,"foreignInstall":false,"hasBinaryComponents"
:false,"installDay":17834},"webcompat@mozilla.org":{"version":"2.0.1","scope":1,"type":"extension","updateDay":17834,"isSystem":true,"isWebExtension"
:false,"multiprocessCompatible":true,"blocklisted":false,"description":"Urgent post-release fixes for web compatibility.","name":"Web Compat",
"userDisabled":false,"appDisabled":false,"foreignInstall":false,"hasBinaryComponents":false,"installDay":17834}},"theme":{"id":"default-
theme@mozilla.org","blocklisted":false,"description":"The default theme.","name":"Default","userDisabled":false,"appDisabled":false,"version":"",
"scope":1,"foreignInstall":false,"hasBinaryComponents":false,"installDay":0,"updateDay":0},"activePlugins":[{"name":"Shockwave Flash","version":
"11.2.202.644","description":"Shockwave Flash 11.2 r202","blocklisted":false,"disabled":false,"clicktoplay":true,"mimeTypes":["application
/x-shockwave-flash","application/futuresplash"],"updateDay":17136}],"activeGMPlugins":{"gmp-gmpopenh264":{"version":"1.7.1","userDisabled":
false,"applyBackgroundUpdates":1},"gmp-widevinecdm":{"version":"1.4.9.1088","userDisabled":false,"applyBackgroundUpdates":1}},"persona":"default
-theme@mozilla.org"},"experiments":{"searchCohort":{"branch":"nov17-2"},"pref-rollout-activity-stream-search-shortucts-1495577":{"branch":"active",
"type":"normandy-prefrollout"},"prefflip-push-performance-1491171":{"branch":"enabled","type":"normandy-exp"}}}
ThreadIdNameMapping: 2174:"Gecko_IOThread",2175:"Timer",2176:"Link Monitor",2177:"Socket Thread",2178:"JS Watchdog",2180:"JS Helper",2179:
"JS Helper",2181:"JS Helper",2182:"JS Helper",2186:"JS Helper",2185:"JS Helper",2184:"JS Helper",2183:"JS Helper",2193:"Cache2 I/O",2194:
"Cookie",2197:"GMPThread",2199:"SoftwareVsyncThread",2200:"Compositor",2201:"VRListener",2202:"ImgDecoder #1",2203:"ImageIO",2204:"IPDL Background"
,2206:"DOM Worker",2210:"HTML5 Parser",2222:"StyleThread#0",2223:"StyleThread#1",2224:"StyleThread#2",2226:"StyleThread#4",2225:"StyleThread#3"
,2227:"StyleThread#5",2251:"ImageBridgeChild",2252:"FS Broker 2249",2253:"ProcessHangMon",2264:"ImgDecoder #2",2287:"DataStorage",2293:
"URL Classifier",2294:"Classifier Update",2296:"DNS Resolver #1",2299:"Cache I/O",2305:"mozStorage #1",2314:"mozStorage #2"
,2315:"mozStorage #3",2316:"mozStorage #4",2324:"FS Broker 2322",2325:"DOM Worker",2345:"localStorage DB",2348:"QuotaManager IO"
,2354:"IndexedDB #2",2355:"IndexedDB #3",2366:"Lazy Idle",2368:"DOM Worker",2384:"DNS Resolver #2",2388:"DNS Resolver #3",2394:
"SSL Cert #2",2396:"SSL Cert #3",2399:"FS Broker 2397",2427:"SSL Cert #4",2428:"SSL Cert #5",2439:"SaveScripts",2442:"FS Broker 2440"
,2525:"mozStorage #5",2527:"StreamTrans #64",2534:"DNS Resolver #4",
Throttleable: 1
URL: https://tv.youtube.com/watch/ZKgmBxA2VxE
UptimeTS: 22.1557971
Vendor: Mozilla
Version: 63.0.1
useragent_locale: en-US

This report also contains technical information about the state of the application when it crashed.






*****************************************************************************************
Seamonkey

Seamonkey will play all web based audio to a connected BT speaker without issues. Unable to test using Youtube TV because Seamonkey doesn't support it.

*****************************************************************************************

VLC will consistently play audio to whatever is selected in the control panel with no issues.

Any help will be greatly appreciated and forgive me in advance if I violated protocol by pasting in the entire crash report.....

Thanks

Mike

Last edited by Mn110 on Sun 04 Nov 2018, 00:43; edited 3 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 3186
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Fri 02 Nov 2018, 07:19    Post subject:  

@stemsee: I don't understand the question, sorry.

@rufwoof: setfont big will be in 800.

@chiron: We will use Linux kernel 4.18.x (or more recent, depending on actual date of release). Whether or not the driver will work depends on driver. Proprietary driver (out-of-tree) driver is always at disadvantage.

An illustration: some TP-Link uses rtl8188eu chipset. This chipset is supported internally by the kernel but the driver has been buggy for years, so many people uses a 3rd-party maintained out-of-tree driver. There are many version of these out-of-tree drivers, with varying quality. When we last upgraded the kernel for 721, one of the favorite driver used by step, didn't work; it was no longer maintained for 4.14.x kernel. It builds, but it recognises the adapter, but it doesn't work properly (sounds familiar yet?). In 800 which we're working on, this version of the driver was broken completely as in, it doesn't even build. We were forced to find alternative, and fortunately step found one (the "quickreflex" driver, so named according the the nickname of the maintainer).

In-tree driver (i.e. driver that is included in the linux kernel) will always build and will most likely (but not always) work; because there is always somebody who maintains them (it's one of the requirement for a driver to be included in the kernel). And out-of-tree driver (a tarball you downloaded from somewhere, or from github), has more chance to rot, unless somebody is actively updating them to support new kernel.

@Mn110: 1. Launch Control Panel, choose Utilities tab, scroll down, click "Bug Report Info Collector", send file.

2. Does your bluetooth work? Can you pair a mouse to it? Outside FF/Chrome, can you pair your BT speaker? Can your speaker make sound when you test with "Fatdog Speaker Test"? (Control Panel -> Sound tab).

_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13.
Contributed Fatdog64 packages thread.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
chiron²

Joined: 21 Jan 2014
Posts: 69

PostPosted: Fri 02 Nov 2018, 13:05    Post subject:  

Thanks for the reply, jamesbond. The in-tree driver for the hanvon graphics tablets unfortunately is known not to work since it is included in the kernel, so there is this Github-version, and yes, it does rot quite a bit. I suppose the URB part in the kernel changed and the driver cannot handle it. Some kernel driver developers here? I don't dare to fiddle with it right now.

Or, is there a way to use an older kernel? Probably too much hassle for an old graphics tablet.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mn110

Joined: 23 May 2016
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Fri 02 Nov 2018, 23:17    Post subject:  

Quote:
@Mn110: 1. Launch Control Panel, choose Utilities tab, scroll down, click "Bug Report Info Collector", send file.

2. Does your bluetooth work? Can you pair a mouse to it? Outside FF/Chrome, can you pair your BT speaker? Can your speaker make sound when you test with "Fatdog Speaker Test"? (Control Panel -> Sound tab).
[/quote]


Bluetooth works outside of FF and Chrome. I can pair the speaker and play music using VLC and Seamonkey....

I've made a Bug Report and sent it via pm. I had to rename the file without the .xz file extension in order for the forum platform to accept it.

Thanks a bunch...R/MIke
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
number77

Joined: 22 Oct 2010
Posts: 707

PostPosted: Sat 03 Nov 2018, 12:06    Post subject:  

Could anyone tell me how to find the config file for the touchpad in Fatdog64 721.
P.S. Sorry if this is the wrong place or I am breaking in to a thread.
Thanks
number77
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
SFR


Joined: 26 Oct 2011
Posts: 1685

PostPosted: Sat 03 Nov 2018, 12:37    Post subject:  

number77 wrote:
Could anyone tell me how to find the config file for the touchpad in Fatdog64 721.
P.S. Sorry if this is the wrong place or I am breaking in to a thread.
Thanks
number77

This one? /usr/share/X11/xorg.conf.d/50-touchpad-gui.conf.

Greetings!

_________________
[O]bdurate [R]ules [D]estroy [E]nthusiastic [R]ebels => [C]reative [H]umans [A]lways [O]pen [S]ource
Omnia mea mecum porto.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
number77

Joined: 22 Oct 2010
Posts: 707

PostPosted: Sat 03 Nov 2018, 13:50    Post subject:  

Thanks SFR, I have been searching for that.
number77
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dr. Dan


Joined: 20 Apr 2015
Posts: 66
Location: Oregon, U.S.A.

PostPosted: Mon 05 Nov 2018, 21:15    Post subject: touchpad  

When 720 was released, I was hopeful about libinput, as I have had minor frustrations with synaptics and flSynclient, but I found it to be less configurable, so I followed the help instructions and switched back to the earlier setup. While I enjoyed the benefits, like I had before, I noticed that every time I restarted (or just restarted X), my settings were lost. I don't know whether this is the solution, but the original flSynclient .pet thread mentioned
Quote:
"a script to /root/Startup that loads your saved touchpad configuration each time you login"
, a script that is not in the current package, so I added that script to my system, and will watch for better results.

The file is "load-touchpad-settings", consisting of
Code:
#!/bin/bash
flsynclient -s
in case it helps anyone.

Dan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
PappyPuppy

Joined: 30 Sep 2016
Posts: 409

PostPosted: Fri 09 Nov 2018, 16:18    Post subject: Just curious how to adminster busybox
Subject description: I notice Openbox running in my Task Manager
 

I'm sorry I (had initially) posted this to the wrong thread by clicking New Topic as I thought it was a forum
I hadn't realized I needed to post a reply, my fault.

I've decided to try to get the version of dpkg to work that's not in busybox as it has --root command. Of course it's not working yet so I may need busybox's version. I've used busybox once but I don't remember how to administer it - start, log in, stop, etc.. I am auto-logged in each time I guess for now. It is not something to just stop and kill or it might crash the system. I am looking for where the initialization is that keeps starting it but I can't find it. It all must have started when I installed dpkg - perhaps I need to find some script somewhere?

I realize that busybox's executables are in the directory /bin. And there is a shell script that starts bb ... .sh in there. But I don't know where it is getting started - I assume that it is an executable but I don't see it listed under services and I don't know whether or not I need to replace it with something. Has it replaced something else that I will need to restore in it's stead?

Update: I now realize that my init in /sbin is pointing to busybox. It's pointing to busybox-init, an application in the /bin directory. I will need to replace this - but I don't know if there is a backup of that symbolic link somewhere so I don't know what to replace it with?

Update 2: I just checked another system, and I now realize that busybox is always started by the init symbolic link so no problem there. I guess when I noticed my hosts file under etc and one or two other files had been written to, I thought it was more than just (perhaps dpkg?) initializing itself. So I guess I'm ok to have busybox run each time on startup. And I should leave it running.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mn110

Joined: 23 May 2016
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Tue 13 Nov 2018, 02:40    Post subject: I agree FD64 Forum is confusing  

I went through the same thing.....then I realized the distribution's entire forum and community was buried deep inside a Puppy Linux forum as one long conversation.........and you just reply to the last reply....

I will say this, if it works for the developers, it works for me....because FD64 is my daily driver and I love it.........
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
FanDog

Joined: 25 May 2017
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Wed 21 Nov 2018, 13:44    Post subject: Busybox  

@PappyPuppy

AFAIK, Busybox is *a single* executable and ALL binaries it replaces (configurable at compile time), not just init, are such links to it. To "admin" it would be to edit said configuration. I could be wrong, but hopefully this helps somehow.

@Mn110

".because FD64 is my daily driver and I love it........."

[2] to that (=
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 28 of 29 [428 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 26, 27, 28, 29 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1687s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0672s) ][ GZIP on ]