Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 14 Dec 2018, 01:06
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
EasyOS Pyro 0.9.10, December 5, 2018
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 72 of 78 [1170 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78 Next
Author Message
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 3634
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Fri 16 Nov 2018, 14:33    Post subject:  

I added the xenial container and was able to install and setup kodi.

That's nice Smile
screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   56.06 KB
 Viewed   963 Time(s)

screenshot.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 8743
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sat 17 Nov 2018, 05:42    Post subject:  

Billtoo wrote:
I added the xenial container and was able to install and setup kodi.

That's nice Smile


Great!

One of the nice things about Xenialpup is that it has a collection of SFS packages, that can be installed via the "install" icon on the desktop.

I plan to offer some of these in the EasyOS SFS repo, I think LibreOffice, Krita and TeXstudio would be nice.

A couple of details to work out, hopefully will have it sorted tomorrow, then when you click on "sfsget" on the desktop, and go to path "puppy/ubuntu/xenial", you will be offered these extra SFSs.

Interesting thing about them, they won't have to run inside the "xenialpup" desktop container, though they could, but they can also run as inidividual apps on the main desktop.

...which is very interesting, apps of a different distro running just as though they are EasyOS apps.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 8743
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sat 17 Nov 2018, 05:43    Post subject:  

accidental duplicate post.
_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 3634
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Sun 18 Nov 2018, 19:07    Post subject: EasyOS Pyro 0.9.8, November 14, 2018  

I did a new EasyOS Pyro-0.9.8 install to 32gb usb-3.0 flash drive:

System: Host: puppypc Kernel: 4.14.79 x86_64 (64 bit) Desktop: JWM 2.3.7 Distro: xenialpup64 7.5
Machine: Device: desktop System: HP product: 260-p029 serial: CNV6240BWP
Mobo: HP model: 81B4 v: 01 serial: PFPSK0BWJ301LW UEFI [Legacy]: AMI v: F.04 date: 05/10/2016
CPU: Dual core Intel Core i3-6100T (-HT-MCP-) speed/max: 1447/3101 MHz
Graphics: Card: Intel Sky Lake Integrated Graphics
Display Server: X.org 1.18.4 driver: N/A tty size: 160x28 Advanced Data: N/A for root
Network: Card-1: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller driver: r8169
Card-2: Realtek RTL8723BE PCIe Wireless Network Adapter driver: rtl8723be
Drives: HDD Total Size: 1157.3GB (0.9% used)
Weather: Conditions: 32 F (0 C) - Overcast Time: November 18, 5:45 PM EST
Info: Processes: 15 Uptime: 1:37 Memory: 425.2/3873.6MB Client: Shell (bash) inxi: 2.3.8

Some applications must be started from the terminal (kodi,kpat,kshisen)
while firefox,smtube,vlc start by clicking on the their icon in the
tray.
The processor works harder than normal and gets warmer than it normally
does when running an application.

I will erase this and start again when 0.9.9 is released Smile
Thanks
screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   105.46 KB
 Viewed   727 Time(s)

screenshot.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 8743
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sat 24 Nov 2018, 01:17    Post subject:  

Version 0.9.9 is out:

http://bkhome.org/news/201811/easyos-version-099-released.html

Have fun!

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 3634
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Sat 24 Nov 2018, 02:43    Post subject: EasyOS Pyro 0.9.9, November 24, 2018  

I installed to a 32gb sandisk flash drive:

System: Host: puppypc Kernel: 4.14.81 x86_64 (64 bit) Desktop: JWM 2.3.7 Distro: xenialpup64 7.5
Machine: Device: desktop Mobo: Acer model: Aspire X3950 serial: U02C120500059
BIOS: American Megatrends v: P01-A3 date: 05/05/2010
CPU: Dual core Intel Core i3 540 (-HT-MCP-) speed/max: 1196/3067 MHz
Graphics: Card: Intel Core Processor Integrated Graphics Controller
Display Server: X.org 1.18.4 driver: N/A tty size: 165x29 Advanced Data: N/A for root
Network: Card: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller driver: r8169
Drives: HDD Total Size: 563.0GB (1.9% used)
Weather: Conditions: 32 F (0 C) - Overcast Time: November 24, 1:30 AM EST
Info: Processes: 17 Uptime: 36 min Memory: 551.2/5884.1MB Client: Shell (bash) inxi: 2.3.8

I downloaded the kodi sfs + xenial sfs each in it's own container.
I'm typing this in the xenial container while enjoying a music stream
from the kodi container Smile

I had to activate the ethernet connection, works well now.

Working well so far,
Thanks.
screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   71.92 KB
 Viewed   489 Time(s)

screenshot.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 8743
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sat 24 Nov 2018, 07:38    Post subject:  

@Billtoo,
Ah, you avoided the bug! By downloading xenailpup SFS separately. If you had chosen to download Kodi SFS first, it would have attempted to also download Xenialpup SFS, then reported a hash error.

See fix here:

http://bkhome.org/news/201811/aargh-sfsget-bug-in-easy-099.html

ATTENTION EVERYONE!

Please apply this fix, it is just a simple edit in Geany text editor.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Rodney Byne

Joined: 31 Jan 2014
Posts: 183

PostPosted: Sat 24 Nov 2018, 17:04    Post subject: kodi & xenial  

I first fixed the "a" bug and like billtoo, installed
kodi which works.
Following on I then installed xenial which also works.

Like Barry I haven't seen or used kodi before and without
user guidance also find it difficult to understand, so couldn't
make anything play.

Googling, I read the advice in this article:
https://www.addictivetips.com/media-streaming/kodi/browse-web-kodi-chrome-launcher/
but the old chrome link shown is now 404 dead.

Add-on equipment mentioned I don't possess, so
all-in-all is an impossibility for me, unless billtoo
can enlighten me in simple steps on what to do
next to help make something magic happen in kodi.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
I have success running a text 40-station radio playlist
with Easy/xine and with vlc in other distros.

When running xenial as a discrete distro on usb,
Mpv and the mentioned playlist also work fine together.

But Mpv hangs on launch in Easy/xenial mode Barry,
so I assume vital dependencies and other things are missing.

Best regards to all.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 3634
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Sat 24 Nov 2018, 18:05    Post subject: EasyOS Pyro 0.9.9, November 24, 2018  

@Rodney

I'm pretty terrible at communicating instructions but I'll give it a try.

1.On the first screen in the upper left corner you'll see a cog
wheel,click on that.
2.On the second screen choose system setting.
3.Click on display and for display mode I choose windowed.
4.Move down audio and select the audio output device and number of
channels.
5.Once finished with that hitting the escape key returns to the
second screen, select "Interface settings" middle row left.
6.Select "Regional" then timezone country and timezone.
7.Hitting escape key twice brings a screen with "Add-ons" on the left
side of the screen.
8.On this screen you install video addons from the repository,then
return to this screen and select audio addons from the repository.

This section can be confusing but experimenting with the different
options will get you what you want eventually Smile

I hope this helps.
Bill
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
FeodorF


Joined: 07 Jul 2010
Posts: 241
Location: Heidelberg, Germany

PostPosted: Sat 24 Nov 2018, 18:41    Post subject:  

At very first boot you'll see the message *Easy $[DISTR_VERSION] instead of "0.9.9".

At power-off there are two lines about [ModemManager...] - they never showed up before.

The second line is o.k.; it's saying that the [ModemManager is going to shut down...] but the first line is an error message. It doesn't show up at every power down . just from time to time.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rufwoof

Joined: 24 Feb 2014
Posts: 2711

PostPosted: Sat 24 Nov 2018, 20:03    Post subject:  

FeodorF wrote:
At very first boot you'll see the message *Easy $[DISTR_VERSION] instead of "0.9.9".

I had the same in a earlier version. Subsequent boots were fine.

_________________
( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°) :wq
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 8743
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sat 24 Nov 2018, 20:29    Post subject:  

rufwoof wrote:
FeodorF wrote:
At very first boot you'll see the message *Easy $[DISTR_VERSION] instead of "0.9.9".

I had the same in a earlier version. Subsequent boots were fine.


I am not sure where this is. Do you mean the little popup message that appears briefly, just before the QuickSetup window?

.. that one disappears so fast, I never read it.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Rodney Byne

Joined: 31 Jan 2014
Posts: 183

PostPosted: Sun 25 Nov 2018, 01:09    Post subject: Kodi setup  

@Billtoo
Thanks for your Kodi setup instructions & well presented Bill.
After experimenting, I got into a few American news organisations
and found Fox very informative - eg the Tech category on computing
is gripping stuff although their presenters speak too fast for
us brits.
Fox video clips suggest we need to avoid the attention of hackers
and snoopers, so perhaps it's a good idea we are surfing the web
from the relative protection of a containerized OS.

That's why I went a stage further earlier and installed Tor-Browser 64sfs
into a container of Easy 0.9.4 usb which I still keep,
as it was the only version I could get it to work in.
The best combination really for anonymity and security.
With a little work maybe Barry could include Tor into the
repository for the newer versions?
Best regards.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 3634
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Sun 25 Nov 2018, 01:40    Post subject: Re: Kodi setup  

Rodney Byne wrote:
@Billtoo
Thanks for your Kodi setup instructions & well presented Bill.


@Rodney

You're welcome.
Unlimited internet is needed if you stream a lot of video, it adds up pretty quickly.
Streaming audio doesn't use much, 27 bps or so I think.
I watch the CBC news channel a lot and it broadcasts at 1080p, that adds up fast.

Bill
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 8743
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sun 25 Nov 2018, 05:53    Post subject:  

I have just gone through the exercise of doing a frugal install on my "workhorse" laptop, and discovered a couple of bugs.

This laptop is an Asus Aspire 5742G, 4GB RAM, i3 CPU 640GB HDD, that I have had for many years. Really like this laptop. When did I buy this? ...it was 2011 I think, so 7 years old. Yeah, here, July 16, 2011:

http://bkhome.org/archive/blog2/201107/new-acer-aspire-as574g-374g64mn.html

Anyway, the frugal install. Went well, but discovered a couple of gotchas.

When click on the 'initrd.q' file, it causes /usr/sbin/edit-initramfs script to run, which is supposed to auto-detect if the 'BOOT_SPECS' file needs fixing, and do it for you.

In my case, it didn't auto-detect, so had to edit BOOT_SPECS manually. Which is easy enough.

If it had auto-detected and fixed BOOT_SPECS, it wouldn't have done it properly. There are now some more variables in that file, which the script leaves out. So manually editing BOOT_SPECS is the way to go for now.

I will fix these issues, and do a blog report soon.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 72 of 78 [1170 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0621s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0088s) ][ GZIP on ]