Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 10 Dec 2018, 15:28
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Bionicpup64 7.9.7 CE beta
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 28 of 28 [420 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 26, 27, 28
Author Message
666philb


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 3220
Location: wales

PostPosted: Thu 06 Dec 2018, 16:08    Post subject:  

double post
_________________
Tahrpup, built with trusty tahr packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=96178
Xenialpup64, built with xenial xerus packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107331
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1916
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Thu 06 Dec 2018, 18:51    Post subject: Re: Pupsave selection problem  

666philb wrote:
this happens because of a missing builtin keyboard module in the kernel.
it'l hopefully be added in the next build

Thanks for the explanation. My workaround for this is to add another type of file before the first pupsave in the directory. Then pupsave selection works normally.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 3632
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Thu 06 Dec 2018, 21:00    Post subject: Bionicpup64 7.9.7 CE beta  

I changed kernels, (compiled 4.14.86 with woof-ce kernel kit, from my
bionicpup64 7.9.6 install)

root# sh VulnChecker
l1tf Mitigation: PTE Inversion
meltdown Mitigation: PTI
spec_store_bypass Vulnerable
spectre_v1 Mitigation: __user pointer sanitization
spectre_v2 Mitigation: Full generic retpoline, STIBP: disabled, RSB filling
root#

The WM-Switcher still doesn't work, but CTRL-Backspace to get to the
commandline then doing "xwin xfce4-session" no quotes get me there
after doing a couple of other steps.

I've forgotten all that I tried to get xfce4 working but it's useable now Smile

Thanks.
screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   36.88 KB
 Viewed   601 Time(s)

screenshot.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 3632
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Fri 07 Dec 2018, 14:21    Post subject:  

After hammering on my previous bionicpup64 7.9.7 install I decided to
do a fresh install:

System: Host: puppypc25869 Kernel: 4.14.86 x86_64 (64 bit) Desktop: JWM 2.3.7 Distro: bionicpup64 7.9.7
Machine: Device: desktop System: Compaq-Presario product: AU194AA-A2L CQ5123F serial: MXX9300M0F
Mobo: MSI model: Boston v: 1.0 BIOS: Phoenix v: 5.24 date: 06/19/2009
CPU: Dual core Pentium E5200 (-MCP-) speed/max: 1350/2500 MHz
Graphics: Card: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD/ATI] RV530 [Radeon X1600 PRO]
Display Server: X.org 1.19.6 driver: radeon tty size: 147x28 Advanced Data: N/A for root
Network: Card: Realtek RTL8101/2/6E PCI Express Fast/Gigabit Ethernet controller driver: r8169
Drives: HDD Total Size: 626.4GB (1.1% used)
Weather: Conditions: 21 F (-6 C) - Scattered Clouds Time: December 7, 1:03 PM EST
Info: Processes: 97 Uptime: 14 min Memory: 172.8/3952.0MB Client: Shell (bash) inxi: 2.3.8

I added all the same applications including xfce4, changed the kernel
first.
Still have problems getting xfce4 to run, it will but the first mouse
click gives a screen with jwm background and nothing else.

Thanks.

EDIT: I left it for a few hours, booted up again to JWM, used the WM switcher to xfce4, rebooted 4 times and xfce4 comes up each time, it healed itself Smile yippee
screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   42.92 KB
 Viewed   472 Time(s)

screenshot.jpg

screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   103.3 KB
 Viewed   520 Time(s)

screenshot.jpg


Last edited by Billtoo on Fri 07 Dec 2018, 21:40; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gyro

Joined: 28 Oct 2008
Posts: 1558
Location: Brisbane, Australia

PostPosted: Fri 07 Dec 2018, 20:50    Post subject: Re: Pupsave selection problem  

rerwin wrote:
666philb wrote:
this happens because of a missing builtin keyboard module in the kernel.
it'l hopefully be added in the next build

Thanks for the explanation. My workaround for this is to add another type of file before the first pupsave in the directory. Then pupsave selection works normally.
This doesn't make sense.
If the problem is a missing module, it can't be fixed by adding an extra file.
And if there is a missing module, it should be fixed by "initmodules" during first-boot, so the keyboard should work on second boot.

[later edit]
Sorry rerwin, I can't replicate the problem, with a fresh install.

gyro
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ITSMERSH


Joined: 02 May 2018
Posts: 562

PostPosted: Sat 08 Dec 2018, 23:21    Post subject:  

Hi.

Just for your interest.

I have created a short 3m50s video showing BionicPup64 7.9.6, Qtractor 0.8.5 plus some u-he VST plugins in action.

The Video

_________________
RSH
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 11366
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Yesterday, at 14:31    Post subject:  

This is still a problem in v7.9.7
I know you said you reported this to Woof-CE, but!

bigpup wrote:
bigpup wrote:
Bionicpup64 7.9.7
Frugal using save folder.
HP 14 Chromebook

Menu>Setup>Mouse/Keyboard Wizard>Advanced Configuration>Keyboard Model

When I click on Keyboard Model
I get this error message
see attached image


I fixed this by editing xorg.conf.
/etc/X11/xorg.conf
In this section of xorg.conf several items are blocked by using # at start of entry line.
Remove the # and save changes.

This section of xorg.conf now looks like this:
Code:
Section "InputClass"
   Identifier "keyboard-all"
   MatchIsKeyboard "on"
   MatchDevicePath "/dev/input/event*"
   Driver      "evdev"
   Option     "XkbRules" "evdev"
   Option     "XkbModel" "pc104" #xkbmodel0
   Option      "XkbLayout" "us"
   Option     "XkbVariant" "" #xkbvariant0
   Option      "XkbOptions" "terminate:ctrl_alt_bksp" #xkboptions0
capture17457.png
 Description   
 Filesize   29.38 KB
 Viewed   273 Time(s)

capture17457.png


_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ITSMERSH


Joined: 02 May 2018
Posts: 562

PostPosted: Yesterday, at 16:46    Post subject:  

Hi.

I'm still using 7.9.6 but I didn't download the 7.9.6 devx. Later I downloaded the 7.9.7 devx, but this has lots of dead symbolic links.

I tried to compile Xournal, but had to fix 3 of those dead symbolic links before my attempt of compiling Xournal was successful.

Is this caused by the devx itself or by the use of 7.9.6?

Thanks

_________________
RSH
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 3632
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Yesterday, at 16:59    Post subject: Bionicpup64 7.9.7 CE beta  

I installed to the hard drive of my Acer laptop:

I changed the kernel and installed applications with PPM:

root# inxi -bw
System: Host: puppypc30856 Kernel: 4.14.87 x86_64 bits: 64 Desktop: Xfce 4.12.3 Distro: bionicpup64 7.9.7
Machine: Device: laptop System: Acer product: Aspire V5-571P v: V2.17 serial: NXM49AA03531512EC36600
Mobo: Acer model: Aspire V5-571P v: V2.17 serial: NBM491100831501E946600
UEFI [Legacy]: Phoenix v: V2.17 date: 02/27/2013
Battery BAT0: charge: 27.3 Wh 98.1% condition: 27.8/37.0 Wh (75%)
CPU: Dual core Intel Core i3-3227U (-MT-MCP-) speed/max: 1033/1901 MHz
Graphics: Card: Intel 3rd Gen Core processor Graphics Controller
Display Server: X.Org 1.19.6 driver: intel Resolution: 1366x768@60.10hz
OpenGL: renderer: Mesa DRI Intel Ivybridge Mobile version: 4.2 Mesa 18.0.5
Network: Card-1: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller driver: r8169
Card-2: Broadcom Limited BCM43228 802.11a/b/g/n driver: bcma-pci-bridge
Drives: HDD Total Size: 500.1GB (1.1% used)
Weather: Conditions: 34 F (1 C) - Partly Cloudy Time: December 9, 3:19 PM EST
Info: Processes: 142 Uptime: 35 min Memory: 622.3/5764.8MB Client: Shell (bash) inxi: 2.3.56
root#

The touchscreen is working.
I have another partition waiting for bionicpup64 final when it comes
out Smile

Thanks.
screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   40.92 KB
 Viewed   235 Time(s)

screenshot.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Revolverve

Joined: 08 Nov 2008
Posts: 178
Location: 45°17'28.8"N 72°16'08.8"W

PostPosted: Yesterday, at 19:51    Post subject:  

An sfs of synthesizer-v-technical-preview for plain pure fun.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ITSMERSH


Joined: 02 May 2018
Posts: 562

PostPosted: Today, at 00:58    Post subject:  

Hi.

Is there a working pngtopam package, so icon_switcher would work with pngoverlay.sh instead of pngoverlay (which needs X running)?

_________________
RSH
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
torgo

Joined: 09 Sep 2011
Posts: 70

PostPosted: Today, at 01:30    Post subject: looking good so far...  

Great stuff as always, Phil.

Bionic64 is working great, even on a Socket AM1-based system (Asrock AM1H-ITX motherboard) where Xenial64 couldn't find a graphics driver.

(Tahr64 worked on that machine and chose the ati driver by default. Bionic64 chooses the radeon driver.)

I had been using Ubuntu rather than Puppy for the last couple of years but am migrating back to frugal installations of Puppy. This Bionic64 already looks like it's going to be an outstanding OS for many, many years to come.


One quirk I found: when using Quickpet to try to download the 32-bit compatibility SFS, it fails saying the link is broken and the file isn't found at any of the mirror sites. I downloaded it from ibiblio via the web, so it's there - just something odd with the link.



Other item that might be of interest to someone out there: the pet for Waterfox in the Xenial64 repository works fine in Bionic64. But it's an older version, and it won't quite update all the way to the most recent version (56.2.5). Instead it goes to a slightly earlier version (56.2.3) and then claims it's fully up to date. There were comments on the Waterfox blog from people having auto-update problems with 56.2.4, so it's a known issue. Seamonkey also tells you up front that older versions won't automatically update to the new one, so maybe it's a related (or intentional) thing.

But you can download the latest Waterfox tar.bz2 file and simply replace everything in /opt/waterfox with the contents of the downloaded archive file. It works just fine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ally


Joined: 19 May 2012
Posts: 1860
Location: lincoln, uk

PostPosted: Today, at 06:32    Post subject:  

I've reverted back to xenial64 as I cannot live with the font tearing when running chrome 57 (to avoid spot), chrome 70 does not exhibit this problem but the bulk downloading I do through the browser is a pain with spot enebaled

also, the mouse speed on my lenovo thinkpads goes berserk, hyper sensitive

the settings are the same as xenial and even with the values reduced to 1 in pupx it's almost unusable

Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
artsown

Joined: 12 Sep 2012
Posts: 297

PostPosted: Today, at 09:19    Post subject:  

@torgo
I'm glad you mentioned that waterfox sticks at 56.2.3
Since it's my default browser on six pups, I did a bit of work this morning
manually updating to 56.2.5 Smile BTW, Basilisk is another very capable
alternative.

Art
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 11366
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Today, at 13:12    Post subject:  

Quote:
One quirk I found: when using Quickpet to try to download the 32-bit compatibility SFS, it fails saying the link is broken and the file isn't found at any of the mirror sites. I downloaded it from ibiblio via the web, so it's there - just something odd with the link.

Same for me.
Bionicpup64 7.9.7

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 28 of 28 [420 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 26, 27, 28
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0939s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0125s) ][ GZIP on ]