Fatdog64-800 Alpha / Beta [20 Dec 2018] [CLOSED]

A home for all kinds of Puppy related projects
Message
Author
User avatar
don570
Posts: 5528
Joined: Wed 10 Mar 2010, 19:58
Location: Ontario

#161 Post by don570 »

-----------------------------------------------------------------
Latest Gimp appimage works in fatdog64 (several versions) and Easy 0.9.10

https://github.com/aferrero2707/gimp-ap ... 4.AppImage
___________________________________________
Attachments
screenshot-gimp210.png
(48.87 KiB) Downloaded 464 times

User avatar
don570
Posts: 5528
Joined: Wed 10 Mar 2010, 19:58
Location: Ontario

#162 Post by don570 »

To James ---> I saw your blog mention that there was a problem with font.config
Bug #1: fontconfig doesn't like its cache to be tampered with.

This bug happens only when running with the RAM layer (savefile=ram:device:xxx, in Puppy's parlance this is pupmode=13). When anything that uses fontconfig starts (e.g X, gtk2, etc), fontconfig will be initialised and its first action is to scan all the font directories and makes its cache.
____________________________________________

I have been running fatdog64 800 alpha with no savefile to test it
and I came across this strange warning message when I was using the
gmic plugins in GIMP 2.10.9 appimage (I mentioned above).


Code: Select all

 
Fontconfig warning: "/etc/fonts/fonts.conf", line 146: blank doesn't take any effect anymore. please remove it from your fonts.conf
I checked the file and found....

Code: Select all

  These are the default Unicode chars that are expected to be blank
  in fonts.  All other blank chars are assumed to be broken and
  won't appear in the resulting charsets
 -->
		<blank>
			<int>0x0020</int>	<!-- SPACE -->
			<int>0x00A0</int>	<!-- NO-BREAK SPACE -->
			<int>0x00AD</int>	<!-- SOFT HYPHEN -->
			<int>0x034F</int>	<!-- COMBINING GRAPHEME JOINER -->
			<int>0x0600</int>	<!-- ARABIC NUMBER SIGN -->
			<int>0x0601</int>	<!-- ARABIC SIGN SANAH -->
			<int>0x0602</int>	<!-- ARABIC FOOTNOTE MARKER -->
			<int>0x0603</int>	<!-- ARABIC SIGN SAFHA -->
			<int>0x06DD</int>	<!-- ARABIC END OF AYAH -->
			<int>0x070F</int>	<!-- SYRIAC ABBREVIATION MARK -->
			<int>0x115F</int>	<!-- HANGUL CHOSEONG FILLER -->
			<int>0x1160</int>	<!-- HANGUL JUNGSEONG FILLER -->
			<int>0x1680</int>	<!-- OGHAM SPACE MARK -->
			<int>0x17B4</int>	<!-- KHMER VOWEL INHERENT AQ -->
			<int>0x17B5</int>	<!-- KHMER VOWEL INHERENT AA -->
			<int>0x180E</int>	<!-- MONGOLIAN VOWEL SEPARATOR -->
			<int>0x2000</int>	<!-- EN QUAD -->
			<int>0x2001</int>	<!-- EM QUAD -->
			<int>0x2002</int>	<!-- EN SPACE -->
			<int>0x2003</int>	<!-- EM SPACE -->
			<int>0x2004</int>	<!-- THREE-PER-EM SPACE -->
			<int>0x2005</int>	<!-- FOUR-PER-EM SPACE -->
			<int>0x2006</int>	<!-- SIX-PER-EM SPACE -->
			<int>0x2007</int>	<!-- FIGURE SPACE -->
			<int>0x2008</int>	<!-- PUNCTUATION SPACE -->
			<int>0x2009</int>	<!-- THIN SPACE -->
			<int>0x200A</int>	<!-- HAIR SPACE -->
			<int>0x200B</int>	<!-- ZERO WIDTH SPACE -->
			<int>0x200C</int>	<!-- ZERO WIDTH NON-JOINER -->
			<int>0x200D</int>	<!-- ZERO WIDTH JOINER -->
			<int>0x200E</int>	<!-- LEFT-TO-RIGHT MARK -->
			<int>0x200F</int>	<!-- RIGHT-TO-LEFT MARK -->
			<int>0x2028</int>	<!-- LINE SEPARATOR -->
			<int>0x2029</int>	<!-- PARAGRAPH SEPARATOR -->
			<int>0x202A</int>	<!-- LEFT-TO-RIGHT EMBEDDING -->
			<int>0x202B</int>	<!-- RIGHT-TO-LEFT EMBEDDING -->
			<int>0x202C</int>	<!-- POP DIRECTIONAL FORMATTING -->
			<int>0x202D</int>	<!-- LEFT-TO-RIGHT OVERRIDE -->
			<int>0x202E</int>	<!-- RIGHT-TO-LEFT OVERRIDE -->
			<int>0x202F</int>	<!-- NARROW NO-BREAK SPACE -->
			<int>0x205F</int>	<!-- MEDIUM MATHEMATICAL SPACE -->
			<int>0x2060</int>	<!-- WORD JOINER -->
			<int>0x2061</int>	<!-- FUNCTION APPLICATION -->
			<int>0x2062</int>	<!-- INVISIBLE TIMES -->
			<int>0x2063</int>	<!-- INVISIBLE SEPARATOR -->
			<int>0x206A</int>	<!-- INHIBIT SYMMETRIC SWAPPING -->
			<int>0x206B</int>	<!-- ACTIVATE SYMMETRIC SWAPPING -->
			<int>0x206C</int>	<!-- INHIBIT ARABIC FORM SHAPING -->
			<int>0x206D</int>	<!-- ACTIVATE ARABIC FORM SHAPING -->
			<int>0x206E</int>	<!-- NATIONAL DIGIT SHAPES -->
			<int>0x206F</int>	<!-- NOMINAL DIGIT SHAPES -->
			<int>0x2800</int>	<!-- BRAILLE PATTERN BLANK -->
			<int>0x3000</int>	<!-- IDEOGRAPHIC SPACE -->
			<int>0x3164</int>	<!-- HANGUL FILLER -->
			<int>0xFEFF</int>	<!-- ZERO WIDTH NO-BREAK SPACE -->
			<int>0xFFA0</int>	<!-- HALFWIDTH HANGUL FILLER -->
			<int>0xFFF9</int>	<!-- INTERLINEAR ANNOTATION ANCHOR -->
			<int>0xFFFA</int>	<!-- INTERLINEAR ANNOTATION SEPARATOR -->
			<int>0xFFFB</int>	<!-- INTERLINEAR ANNOTATION TERMINATOR -->
		</blank>
_________________________

By the way I could still use most of gmic plugins.
___________________________________________

User avatar
WB7ODYFred
Posts: 169
Joined: Sun 14 Dec 2008, 02:15
Location: Oregon & Washington

BUG REPORT for Kernel 800A 4.19.1

#163 Post by WB7ODYFred »

Using SeaMonkey Browser, CPU Load goes to %100, other tasks freeze out

Included bug report with more information. renamed bugreport.tar.xz to bugreport.tar for attachment below.

I need some different terminal commands to isolate the problem area.
Have used HTOP and PS AX to see what is happening. Don't see anything using %100 CPU time from those two commands. But look at lower right corner green ICON CPU time and it always goes to %100 CPU time. ANd the TASK window shows %100 CPU Load, too. Other GTK windows opening (like a right click on a HTML URL Link in a webpage) are blocked until the CPU Load Icon goes back down to idle %7 or so. So you are stuck waiting after clicking on something on a web page in Seamonkey is the problem.

Is there some driver problem or kernel problem I am not seeing? Is it forget to turn on swap memory? Is it using a file as a swap partition instead of a read spinning hard disk drive? Is memory allocated wrong. I did up my savefile szie from 512 megabytes to 1538 megabytes, because I was low on file save space.
Have I too many AUFS mounted loop files?

Is my setup wrong? No installed hard drive, Just one 16GB Verbatim USB Flash drive. The swap file is just a file on the USB flash drive and not in physical DRAM memory.

The bottom line is the 100% CPU Load is not being shown in the PS AX commands or the HTOP Gui lines of output, yet the Task Manager window shows %100 CPU Load.

Still learning after 30 years with UNIX. 20 years using Linux
Fred

Await your replies on CLI terminal commands to implement to give more visibility too the problem.

Edit December 15, 2018
Here is the patch from Jens A for SCSI driver bug.tested on Kernel 4.19.6

https://bugzilla.kernel.org/attachment. ... ction=edit
So I await, a modified Fatdog64 800A 4.19.6 kernel to test and see if problem goes away (ie fixed)
Thanks for pointing me to that interesting discussion Norgo from Germany.

https://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=201685
Attachments
bugreport.tar
(91.91 KiB) Downloaded 156 times
Last edited by WB7ODYFred on Fri 14 Dec 2018, 11:08, edited 4 times in total.

User avatar
don570
Posts: 5528
Joined: Wed 10 Mar 2010, 19:58
Location: Ontario

#164 Post by don570 »

Is this icon button working correctly??
I find it hard to display the files according to date in 800 alpha.


_____________________________________________________
Attachments
Rox-filer.jpg
(10.26 KiB) Downloaded 354 times

User avatar
WB7ODYFred
Posts: 169
Joined: Sun 14 Dec 2008, 02:15
Location: Oregon & Washington

Left Clicking on ICON for sort criteria

#165 Post by WB7ODYFred »

Left Clicking on Sort ICON for sort criteria goes through several choices,
Name ascending, Type ascending, Date ascending, size ascending, permissions ascending, owner ascending, group ascending.
Name descending, Type descending, Date descending, Size descending, permissions descending, owner descending, group descending

Middle Clicking on Sort ICON
Sorts Type descending, then Name descending , Type ascending, then Name ascending

Right Clicking on Sort ICON
Sorts Type descending, then Name descending , Type ascending, then Name ascending

Don570, How do you click on that Sort ICON today? Have it your way ;>)

Wb7odyFred.
I am using a HP laptop with touch pad and three buttons just below the touch pad. Left, Middle, and Right buttons.

I also have the SVEN multimedia keyboard app running from FatDog64 800 A.

Did you SVEN keyboard get setup wrong for the left mouse button?
# lsmod | grep key
sparse_keymap 16384 1 hp_wmi

How else can I test this for you and give you good feedback?
Can you help me understand my 100% cpu LOAD problem in SeaMonkey operation?

User avatar
norgo
Posts: 388
Joined: Fri 13 Nov 2015, 17:19
Location: Germany
Contact:

#166 Post by norgo »

@WB7ODYFred

I wouldn't blame it on Seamonkey
sniped of your dmesg
[74970.320292] usb 2-1: reset high-speed USB device number 2 using ehci-pci
[74970.484464] sd 6:0:0:0: [sda] tag#0 FAILED Result: hostbyte=DID_OK driverbyte=DRIVER_SENSE
[74970.484468] sd 6:0:0:0: [sda] tag#0 Sense Key : Unit Attention [current]
[74970.484471] sd 6:0:0:0: [sda] tag#0 Add. Sense: Not ready to ready change, medium may have changed
[74970.484474] sd 6:0:0:0: [sda] tag#0 CDB: Write(10) 2a 00 00 30 13 58 00 00 08 00
[74970.484477] print_req_error: I/O error, dev sda, sector 3150680
[74970.484481] EXT4-fs warning (device sda3): ext4_end_bio:323: I/O error 10 writing to inode 13 (offset 0 size 0 starting block 393836)
[74970.484484] Buffer I/O error on device sda3, logical block 262763
[74970.484747] EXT4-fs warning (device sda3): ext4_end_bio:323: I/O error 10 writing to inode 13 (offset 0 size 0 starting block 393845)
[74970.484748] Buffer I/O error on device sda3, logical block 262768
[74970.484750] Buffer I/O error on device sda3, logical block 262769
[74970.484751] Buffer I/O error on device sda3, logical block 262770
[74970.484752] Buffer I/O error on device sda3, logical block 262771
[74970.484753] Buffer I/O error on device sda3, logical block 262772
[74970.484766] EXT4-fs warning (device sda3): ext4_end_bio:323: I/O error 10 writing to inode 13 (offset 0 size 0 starting block 393850)
[74970.484767] Buffer I/O error on device sda3, logical block 262775
[74970.484768] Buffer I/O error on device sda3, logical block 262776
[74970.484769] Buffer I/O error on device sda3, logical block 262777
[74970.484781] EXT4-fs warning (device sda3): ext4_end_bio:323: I/O error 10 writing to inode 13 (offset 0 size 0 starting block 393854)
[74970.484782] Buffer I/O error on device sda3, logical block 262779
[74970.484794] EXT4-fs warning (device sda3): ext4_end_bio:323: I/O error 10 writing to inode 13 (offset 0 size 0 starting block 393860)
[74970.484808] EXT4-fs warning (device sda3): ext4_end_bio:323: I/O error 10 writing to inode 13 (offset 0 size 0 starting block 394437)
[74970.484822] EXT4-fs warning (device sda3): ext4_end_bio:323: I/O error 10 writing to inode 13 (offset 0 size 0 starting block 394440)
[74970.484834] EXT4-fs warning (device sda3): ext4_end_bio:323: I/O error 10 writing to inode 13 (offset 0 size 0 starting block 394453)
[74970.484845] EXT4-fs warning (device sda3): ext4_end_bio:323: I/O error 10 writing to inode 13 (offset 0 size 0 starting block 394830)
[74970.484857] EXT4-fs warning (device sda3): ext4_end_bio:323: I/O error 10 writing to inode 13 (offset 0 size 0 starting block 394837)
[74970.487352] print_req_error: I/O error, dev loop2, sector 0
there is a known Kernel bug
https://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=201685#c174
Change Kernel and check whether errors are still present.

Additional there are really a lot of libevent and device/input/event error messages

User avatar
don570
Posts: 5528
Joined: Wed 10 Mar 2010, 19:58
Location: Ontario

#167 Post by don570 »

WB7ODYFred wrote:Don570, How do you click on that Sort ICON today?
Thanks for testing.
There does appear to be a difference in the mouse buttons.
This is something new that I've never seen.

Previous puppies --> the left and right buttons went in opposite directions.
_________________________________________________

chiefengineer
Posts: 65
Joined: Mon 25 Mar 2013, 08:48

Realtek Wireless Drivers

#168 Post by chiefengineer »

I have a need for both of these. I have compiled and run them happily
under other Linuxes but always prefer Fatdog (of course). One is internal and
the other a USB dongle...the GIT repositories I used required DKMS.

I must admit I am a little hesitant to just start blindly compiling for this
distro, especially if someone has either already done it, or if someone
can just instruct me to install kernel headers, BC, etc., and go for it?

In particular this helps a Dell Netbook and a Lenovo IdeaPad that have
become mine in the last year.

kirk
Posts: 1553
Joined: Fri 11 Nov 2005, 19:04
Location: florida

#169 Post by kirk »

chiefengineer,

There is a 8812au driver included. There's several 8812au drivers out there. The one we included worked the best for the folks on team Fatdog that have that device, hopefully it works for you too. We don't have the 8821ce, if you post a link to the source we may include it if it builds and isn't too huge. If you want to compile your own you'll need the devx and kernel source sfs installed.

http://distro.ibiblio.org/fatdog/pre-re ... x_800a.sfs

http://distro.ibiblio.org/fatdog/sfs/80 ... 4.19.1.sfs

BTW, we will be upgrading the kernel to the latest 4.19.x for the next release. Any kernel modules (drivers) that you compile will have to be recompiled for the new kernel in the next release.

chiefengineer
Posts: 65
Joined: Mon 25 Mar 2013, 08:48

Thanks for the response

#170 Post by chiefengineer »

kirk wrote:chiefengineer,

There is a 8812au driver included. There's several 8812au drivers out there. The one we included worked the best for the folks on team Fatdog that have that device, hopefully it works for you too. We don't have the 8821ce, if you post a link to the source we may include it if it builds and isn't too huge. If you want to compile your own you'll need the devx and kernel source sfs installed.

http://distro.ibiblio.org/fatdog/pre-re ... x_800a.sfs

http://distro.ibiblio.org/fatdog/sfs/80 ... 4.19.1.sfs

BTW, we will be upgrading the kernel to the latest 4.19.x for the next release. Any kernel modules (drivers) that you compile will have to be recompiled for the new kernel in the next release.

...I couldn't get the 8812AU to show up in WPA_GUI and it didn't light so
I assumed it wasn't recognized. After you said this I manually brought it
up and restarted the connection with same result...maybe I have to put the internal down first or something (I'll play with it...I can do an iwlist scan with it so it is up but unlit).

The files I cloned/compiled were for Arch but they cross-compiled for the kernel
4.18.0-kali2-amd64 without error after I installed BC:
https://github.com/tomaspinho/rtl8821ce

When researching these files I noticed there were a lot of vendors making this
their internal laptop card now. If you guys don't do it I'll have a hand at it...but I
live in a quick and dirty world where compiling is concerned.

spotted
Posts: 43
Joined: Thu 25 Jan 2018, 07:33

#171 Post by spotted »

@ WB7ODYFred Hello Fred
A couple of us here have a odroid XU4 'sitting on the shelf' and a couple of us also have a Pi B3+
If you could convert FD 800 to arm64 that can be then converted to Berryboot image and there would a application at Berryboot for your Nano and our Pi's as well.

Here is a Quirky that works with berryboot
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=108132

Here is easy 0.9.3 arm64 from BK that berryboot dont know what to do with.

http://bkhome.org/news/201809/easyos-09 ... ry-pi.html

Don570 has a Fatdog headless from odroid xu4 converted to Pi b3+ using berryboot. err, it looks like its from berryboot.
But its two years old and needs a lot of work, best you work with 800.

Do a trial run with Quirky 6 arm with berryboot to see what you have to do to FD 800 to make an image.

https://www.berryterminal.com/doku.php/berryboot

User avatar
WB7ODYFred
Posts: 169
Joined: Sun 14 Dec 2008, 02:15
Location: Oregon & Washington

Replacement Kernel vmlinuz file. 4.19.6+ or greater

#172 Post by WB7ODYFred »

Hello, I am patient, but this kernel error is making it difficult to use and test Fatdog64 800a version. I only have a usb flash drive that is loaded with Fatdog64 800a. This laptop has no hard disk drive and no battery.

This kernel error keeps putting the CPU into %100 load and making it wait (puts many pauses into the work flow).

https://bugzilla.kernel.org/attachment. ... ction=edit
https://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=201685

So, I am asking if someone can make a newer version of the kernel that fixes this problem I detailed out on the previous page 11 of this forum thread. I would like to just replace the kernel file vmlinuz ?? (Dont' always know what that entails. Or if I am asking for the correct method to fix my useage problem)I have the kernel source SFS files 4.19.1 that is mounted in the /mnt/home directory. I was just change directory to /usr/src/linux-4.19.1/ directory and issuing a make command to see if I could build the exact same vmlinuz file. Then patch the source to fix my one problem and rebuild the newer vmlinuz kernel file. I am learning but have encountered some errors, that I am researching how to fix.

If James Bond, or Kirk or someone else, can create a replacement vmlinuz file that can make my useage flow. I would use that vmlinuz.
I am not asking much. I will continue to learn and move forward on fixing it myself. Just post a tarred replacement vmlinuz kernel. and I will ftp or wget download it and end up with a more usefull FD800A, that I can use as a base development system to work on porting FD800A to Arm64 64bit quad core NanoPi2 or maybe a ASUS Tinkerboard.

Barrys https://EasyOS.org is looking good to test out an ARM64 hardware.

Thanks for read. Really enjoy FD64800A, for its operational ability.
The MTP browser app lets me connect to a Motorola E5 smart phone.
Good Job
Yes I will be patient until a new beta .ISO comes out like Fatdog64 800b. I appreciate what you have already provided.
Fred Finster wb7ody

I am reading and studying James Bonds entries for help in building FatdogArm for myself for the learning experience and direction to build with Arm64..
http://lightofdawn.org/wiki/wiki.cgi/Fa ... gFatdogArm
http://lightofdawn.org/wiki/wiki.cgi/-w ... -WikiIndex

kirk
Posts: 1553
Joined: Fri 11 Nov 2005, 19:04
Location: florida

#173 Post by kirk »

Yes I will be patient until a new beta .ISO comes out like Fatdog64 800b.
Fatdog64 beta will be out soon and it has linux-4.19.10.

kirk
Posts: 1553
Joined: Fri 11 Nov 2005, 19:04
Location: florida

#174 Post by kirk »

That will be included in beta.

fatdog
Posts: 104
Joined: Wed 17 Apr 2013, 03:12

#175 Post by fatdog »

Beta released. See first post.

Merry Christmas everyone :D
-= The Fatdog Team (kirk, jamesbond, SFR and step) =-
[url=http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=794748#794748]Contributed Fatdog64 packages thread[/url]
This account is used for announcements only. Send PM directly to members' handle.

Illutorium
Posts: 170
Joined: Wed 06 Aug 2014, 07:12

ACEPC T5 (18/12/2018)

#176 Post by Illutorium »

1. Web Browser playback lags on "ACEPC T5": I tried to configuration at Sound (3rd - sound instead of 1st/2nd - mutes) then in a YouTube will be strongly lags of sounds...
2. Beside in Wi-Fi configuration it's a fail of a "SIOCSIFFLAGS: Operation not permitted"
-----
Beside: Better than Windows 10 - <1GB RAM use {FatDog64} ">" >1GB RAM use {Windows 10}

jake29
Posts: 253
Joined: Fri 24 Jul 2015, 17:47

#177 Post by jake29 »

Thanks for the Beta version. Merry Christmas Team Fatdog64.

User avatar
SFR
Posts: 1800
Joined: Wed 26 Oct 2011, 21:52

Re: ACEPC T5 (18/12/2018)

#178 Post by SFR »

Illutorium wrote:2. Beside in Wi-Fi configuration it's a fail of a "SIOCSIFFLAGS: Operation not permitted"
Maybe your WiFi card is off?
Check this in Control Panel -> Network -> Wireless Antenna.
Or in terminal:

Code: Select all

rfkill list all
Greetings!
[color=red][size=75][O]bdurate [R]ules [D]estroy [E]nthusiastic [R]ebels => [C]reative [H]umans [A]lways [O]pen [S]ource[/size][/color]
[b][color=green]Omnia mea mecum porto.[/color][/b]

p310don
Posts: 1492
Joined: Tue 19 May 2009, 23:11
Location: Brisbane, Australia

#179 Post by p310don »

Booted into Beta

Found the save folder from Alpha.

I still have the slow initrd & grub4dos setup. Beta boots much faster than alpha in this setup. Fast enough to not bother changing (for me)

Everything is working fine otherwise so far.

User avatar
Revolverve
Posts: 255
Joined: Sat 08 Nov 2008, 21:01
Location: 45°17'28.8"N 72°16'08.8"W_avatar/ mira.ca

#180 Post by Revolverve »

Take it as a "no fancy satin ribbon recycle newpaper wrapped Xmas gift",a test of a Freecad-daily-fatdog800b-tahr sfs(read more), a test that it can be done the ubuntu way,it come with free imperfections ...i had to try once.

Post Reply