Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 18 Nov 2019, 10:10
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
EasyOS Pyro 1.2.8, Buster 2.1.8 November 6, 2019
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 79 of 133 [1992 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, ..., 131, 132, 133 Next
Author Message
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 3680
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Fri 14 Dec 2018, 02:05    Post subject:  

Google-Earth for Xenialpup64 runs well in Bionicpup64 (and is available in Bionic64 quickpet.
The pet is downloadable from

http://distro.ibiblio.org/puppylinux/pet_packages-xenial64/

Should work in the xenialpup container in Easyos I'd think.

Works well with nvidia and radeon cards but not intel graphics.
gepro.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   92.33 KB
 Viewed   1272 Time(s)

gepro.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
davids45


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 1237
Location: Chatswood, NSW

PostPosted: Fri 14 Dec 2018, 19:06    Post subject: Troublesome applications sfs with Easy
Subject description: test sfs attached
 

G'day Barry,

You wrote:
Quote:
BootManager is filtering them out for some reason.

Are any of them online, so I can download it?


None on line - all 'home-grown' I'm afraid Shocked ; so I picked one 'full-version' that may be small enough to be attachable to a forum post (ace of penguins card games).

For test purposes, I've attached also some links-only sfs ('-links' in each file-name) I now use for all my Pups - very small file-size, made of links back to my mounted-at-boot data partition which holds the large original files of each sfs. These will not run for you (your data partition won't have the link targets) but I hope you can at least get them loaded with Boot manager.
Or more likely, see where I'm going wrong.

Speaking of 'on-line', is there a test application sfs I could try that works in Easy? I now prefer .sfs to .pet for ease of sharing applications - just the one version shared out to Pups from my data partition.

Thanks.

David S.
64vivaldi1981844-links.sfs.gz
Description  remove the fake '.gz' suffix to get the links-only sfs of this browser; the links point to my Puppy archive on my data partition so won't actually run, but I hope should load?
gz

 Download 
Filename  64vivaldi1981844-links.sfs.gz 
Filesize  4 KB 
Downloaded  108 Time(s) 
64acepenguincards-links.sfs.gz
Description  another sfs of links to my data partition (sda5); runs in other 64-bit Pups on my computer
gz

 Download 
Filename  64acepenguincards-links.sfs.gz 
Filesize  4 KB 
Downloaded  120 Time(s) 
64acepenguincards.sfs.gz
Description  remove the fake '.gz' suffix; it is a full version sfs.
gz

 Download 
Filename  64acepenguincards.sfs.gz 
Filesize  220 KB 
Downloaded  123 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
belham2

Joined: 15 Aug 2016
Posts: 1696

PostPosted: Sat 15 Dec 2018, 09:29    Post subject:  

Hi Barry,

Thought you'd get a kick out of this:

So, I install the latest Fedora 29, which comes stock with a container program, basically a QEMU-frontend GUI, called Boxes. Boxes leans heavily on virt-manager, but with everything automated except the hitting of the start button for a vm session of whatever ISO chosen.

I figure what the heck. I downloaded Easy-0.9.10 into the downloads folder, clicked open with "Boxes" and sat back watching what would happen as Boxes set everything up for me automatically, from ram, to disk space, etc, etc.

To my astonishment, things went fast and the next thing I know I am staring at a Boxes-session VM of Easy-0.9.10.

****THIS IS WHY THIS IS INTERESTING--I am on a mini Asus Laptop, with a struggling 2012 Celeron processor and only 1.8GB of RAM, all running from a USB 3.0 stick (no hard drive in the laptop)************************************************


Well, as I am staring at this VM of Easy-0.9.10 in Boxes, I am thinking there is no way on this Earth that there was enough ram allocated to this VM for me to do anything, even move the mouse. After all, I am running Fedora, the latest, Fedora 29, and it can be a ram hog at times.

I then start clicking around in the Boxes' Easy VM, the mouse is moving and little stuff seems to work. Hmmmm.....

I stare at the VM Easy and make a bet with myself: not possible Barry's Containers aregoing to either open and/or run (again, given (as stated earlier) the limited memory of this little laptop).

But, was I wrong. Way wrong. In sum, Barry, I opened up Seamonkey in Container, it started right up (like on all my bigger machines), and the next thing I know I am surfing in Seamonkey in a Container which all is inside the VM and it is just incredible..... I'm watching Youtube videos, downloading stuff, just having a blast, and everything is working (even sound!).

Out of all the pups I tried, your Easy was the only one who could even do this (run this well) in a Boxes VM, and the killer thing is (to me at least) your pre-included Seamonkey Containerized is itself running well. It is what I was surfing around in, watching Youtube in, downloading in, etc, etc.

I still can't figure out how and/or what your doing to get this to work like this and yet nearly all other pups struggle inside with one thing or two in Boxes. Anyhow, I just wanted to let you know. Below a pic of the Fedora 29 desktop, with Easy loaded inside Boxes and the Container-ized Seamonkey open and running well. Just amazing to me.....two-levels of Containers, even two levels of firewalls running (Fedora's firewalld, set to strict "Public" rule settings and then Easy's Alienbob's firewall running inside Boxes) and still----nothing, not a single thing---- is messing up and/or not running. Very Happy All on this under-powered, low ram laptop. I cannot even get old pups and/or especially slackos (32 and/or 64 bit) to do this inside a Fedora Boxes' VM, and I've been trying at least 20 different ones the past two days. They run, sometimes ok, but not like what Easy is doing.
Easy-0.9.10-64bit-in-Boxes-in-Fedora-29.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   93.96 KB
 Viewed   1103 Time(s)

Easy-0.9.10-64bit-in-Boxes-in-Fedora-29.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rufwoof


Joined: 24 Feb 2014
Posts: 3624

PostPosted: Sat 15 Dec 2018, 12:11    Post subject:  

belham2 wrote:
Well, as I am staring at this VM of Easy-0.9.10 in Boxes, I am thinking there is no way on this Earth that there was enough ram allocated to this VM for me to do anything, even move the mouse. After all, I am running Fedora, the latest, Fedora 29, and it can be a ram hog at times.

I then start clicking around in the Boxes' Easy VM, the mouse is moving and little stuff seems to work. Hmmmm.....

I stare at the VM Easy and make a bet with myself: not possible Barry's Containers are going to either open and/or run (again, given (as stated earlier) the limited memory of this little laptop).

But, was I wrong. Way wrong. In sum, Barry, I opened up Seamonkey in Container, it started right up (like on all my bigger machines), and the next thing I know I am surfing in Seamonkey in a Container which all is inside the VM and it is just incredible..... I'm watching Youtube videos, downloading stuff, just having a blast, and everything is working (even sound!).

A simplistic picture of a container is to take the main ro sfs ... that is already loaded (main session), and add its own save folder on top of that. So unsurprising that it worked as there's extremely low overheads involved (excepting if its save folder size grows considerably) as its just pointers (very low overhead). Qemu is pretty good at maintaining graphical speeds, as is Barry's use of X - as the X session inside a container that is using xorg is just another X window added into the current X session. Be mindful however that the seamonkey container uses the same X as the main session, is just another xorg window, so even though its 'contained' its extremely easy to elevate to the main systems root. Running a container under Xephyr (such as how the Easy desktop container does) negates that (is more secure), as that in effect creates a new X session just for the container. Even then however there's the option for a contained session to potentially read things out of memory and it you have hyperthreading enabled as you will have in order to run boxes then that opens you up the likes of Spectre/Meltdown type attacks.

_________________
( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°) :wq
Fatdog multi-session usb

echo url|sed -e 's/^/(c/' -e 's/$/ hashbang.sh)/'|sh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 9069
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sat 15 Dec 2018, 21:48    Post subject:  

belham2 wrote:
Hi Barry,

Thought you'd get a kick out of this:

So, I install the latest Fedora 29, which comes stock with a container program, basically a QEMU-frontend GUI, called Boxes. Boxes leans heavily on virt-manager, but with everything automated except the hitting of the start button for a vm session of whatever ISO chosen.

I figure what the heck. I downloaded Easy-0.9.10 into the downloads folder, clicked open with "Boxes" and sat back watching what would happen as Boxes set everything up for me automatically, from ram, to disk space, etc, etc.

To my astonishment, things went fast and the next thing I know I am staring at a Boxes-session VM of Easy-0.9.10.


Wow, I have to try that too!

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 9069
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sat 15 Dec 2018, 21:52    Post subject:  

Billtoo wrote:
Google-Earth for Xenialpup64 runs well in Bionicpup64 (and is available in Bionic64 quickpet.


There is some discussion here about Google Earth, from a quick read, seems it doesn't work anymore:

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=111081

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 3680
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Sat 15 Dec 2018, 22:23    Post subject: EasyOS Pyro 0.9.10, December 5, 2018  

BarryK wrote:
Billtoo wrote:
Google-Earth for Xenialpup64 runs well in Bionicpup64 (and is available in Bionic64 quickpet.


There is some discussion here about Google Earth, from a quick read, seems it doesn't work anymore:

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=111081


It's working great on my 11 year old HP running Bionicpup64 Beta 7.9.7

I downloaded the pet from the Xenialpup64 repository on ibiblio and installed it a the xenialpup container of my Easy 9.9 install, it ran but not 100%, streetview worked fine but the menus were missing, just showed as a white block.

The screenshot shows downtown Perth (I guess Smile ) running on the HP.

EDIT: The HP has a newer (5 or 6 year old radeon card), also have GEpro installed on a faster dual core with an older nvidia card.

When you get into the sub menus not everything works, some things need flash installed or other things.
The processor can get working hard on a dual core machine.

It would take a very long time to explore all the sub menus Smile
GEpro-nvidia.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   125.84 KB
 Viewed   946 Time(s)

GEpro-nvidia.jpg

GEpro.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   93.51 KB
 Viewed   1003 Time(s)

GEpro.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 9069
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sun 16 Dec 2018, 06:55    Post subject:  

I am going into battle against the kernel developers:

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=114921

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
foxpup


Joined: 29 Jul 2016
Posts: 962
Location: europa near northsea

PostPosted: Sun 16 Dec 2018, 09:45    Post subject:  

BarryK wrote:
I am going into battle against the kernel developers:

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=114921
That's the spirit of small dogs. Smile Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
spotted

Joined: 25 Jan 2018
Posts: 39

PostPosted: Sun 16 Dec 2018, 11:57    Post subject: easy 0.9.3 on Pi B3+
Subject description: Howto make it work
 

For anyone with a Pi B3+
http://bkhome.org/news/201809/easyos-0963-64-bit-on-raspberry-pi.html
easy.0.9.3 arm works if you change
rpi-3-b.dtb to rpi-3-b-useless.dtb
so that you can change
rpi-3-b+ to rpi-3-b.dtb
to trick BK into thinking he is booting his mark 1 Pi3. But that by its self dont work, you have to get all the other "exec's" from "berryboot" them with the cog wheel, and plonk them in there replacing the original.
Not been anywhere near them shipen containers yet. That comes later before I go online.
Firefox 60 works so far, but not been online to test it, only needed to get one "lib" file, any firefox over 52 not supposed to work on arm.
force turbo=1 works great, geany goes from about 3 secs to under a sec, about the same time as my 4 core amd 2 ghz laptop.
In /usr anything alsa is BROKEN as said in the release notes. No acceleration what ever that is, so I dont know what I am missing.
I tried that precompiled VLC that BK mentioned in his blog, I think I got precompiled mixed up with preconfigured, had to get divx to finish installing. Started make, it rolled on for a while then exited, missing dvbxxx.h file, end of experiment. A faint inkling a .h file might be a header file, whats a header file.
I could not get berryboot to make an image of it, probably dont know what to do with q.sfs. Quirky 6 arm converts to berryboot ok. Love to have them both on the one micro sd card.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 9069
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Mon 17 Dec 2018, 06:59    Post subject: Re: Loading existing sfs
Subject description: With Boot Manager?
 

BarryK wrote:
davids45 wrote:
Boot Manager problem
I'm trying to load some sfs of various things (games, pwidgets, printer driver) I've copied to the indicated directory but nothing seems to be loading on re-booting (screenshot). Is there a new type of sfs required?


sfs files placed under the 'sfs' folder are supposed to be created with special meta-data inside them. The way to re-make an existing sfs is to open it up and use 'dir2sfs' -- there is a blog post on that.

However, traditional sfs files can be loaded, place them in /mnt/wkg/releases/easy-0.9.10, then run the menu Filesystem --> Easy BootManager and you can select them.

It requires a reboot. Not supporting load-on-the-fly, as when a change in sfs layers, there is special checking done in 'initrd' before the layers get loaded.


I am remembering more about the decisions I made when originally designing this...

SFSs placed in /mnt/wkg/releases/easy-0.9.10 will NOT be recognised by the BootManager, only those under the 'sfs' folder -- and they must be built with 'dir2sfs' to have the required meta-data.

If you really want to use one of your SFSs, place it in /mnt/wkg/releases/easy-0.9.10 and manually edit /mnt/wkg/releases/easy-0.9.10/configuration, insert a variable

EASY_LAYER_RO1=name-of-the-sfs-here

Then reboot.

However, I do not recommend doing this. Well, you can, with caution.
SFS's should really be compiled for the host system in which they are going to run, with matching folders.

For example, your ace-of-penguins has /usr/lib64 folder, however, easy.sfs has /usr/lib64 as a symlink to /usr/lib. So does Xenialpup.

Easy does not have /usr/lib/X86_64-linux-gnu, Xenialpup has it as a symlink to /usr/lib -- so, if ace-of-penguins SFS is a layer above easy.sfs or xenialpup.sfs, it could totally mess things up.

Although it might seem to work, it will break other apps. For example, some apps are hardcoded to look in /usr/lib64 or /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu, and their files will no longer be there.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 9069
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Mon 17 Dec 2018, 07:02    Post subject:  

There have been a couple reports about the background sometimes getting scrambled in containers.

I have tweaked some delays, which might fix this.

The next release will be 0.9.13, probably out tomorrow.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 9069
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Tue 18 Dec 2018, 07:29    Post subject:  

It became 0.9.14, do to testing of version upgrading and fixing a few things.

Release announcement:

http://bkhome.org/news/201812/easyos-version-0914-released.html

And a new tutorial on upgrading:

https://easyos.org/user/easy-version-upgrade-and-downgrade.html

Though, it might be best not to upgrade any current installation, treat 0.9.14 as new install. After that, should be good for upgrading.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 3680
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Tue 18 Dec 2018, 07:53    Post subject: EasyOS Pyro 0.9.14, December 18, 2018  

I installed to a 32gb usb-3.0 flash drive with easydd, pc is an Acer laptop.
So far have installed Kodi.
Screeny doesn't work properly for me, I installed tas and it works fine.

I need sleep so will test more later.
Thanks.
screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   71.75 KB
 Viewed   615 Time(s)

screenshot.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 5498
Location: GB

PostPosted: Tue 18 Dec 2018, 07:59    Post subject:  

0.9.14: no issues - works perfectly, 16Mb USB/GF video card.
[I prefer to extract the .img.gz as an intermediate step for integrity checking and burn through an old 1.1USB port, kept for the purpose, which gives a much slower burn rate and less burn errors.]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 79 of 133 [1992 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, ..., 131, 132, 133 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0954s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0275s) ][ GZIP on ]