Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 18 Oct 2019, 14:35
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
How to install Puppy/Dog distros on a GPT hard drive system
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [6 Posts]  
Author Message
mikeslr


Joined: 16 Jun 2008
Posts: 3405
Location: 500 seconds from Sol

PostPosted: Sat 22 Dec 2018, 15:24    Post subject:  How to install Puppy/Dog distros on a GPT hard drive system  

rcrsn51 has provided a recipe here: http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=1013650#1013650
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 12726
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 22 Dec 2018, 15:30    Post subject:  

Your URL is missing the first "h".

[Edit] Since Mike hasn't fixed it, the correct link is here.

------------------

Last edited by rcrsn51 on Sun 23 Dec 2018, 11:36; edited 3 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
watchdog

Joined: 28 Sep 2012
Posts: 1925
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Sun 23 Dec 2018, 03:45    Post subject:  

I haven't a GPT partitioned hd at the moment and so I can't experiment. Would grub2 work to boot puppy on GPT partitioned hd? I would use menuentries in grub.cfg or /etc/grub.d/40_custom of the following samples:

Code:
menuentry "Puppy bionic beaver 18.05+22 (sda1/ubbpup)" {
search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root xxxyyyzzz
linux /ubbpup/vmlinuz net.ifnames=0 pmedia=atahd psubdir=ubbpup pfix=fsck
initrd /ubbpup/initrd.gz
}
 
menuentry "Puppy bionic beaver 18.05+22 ISO (sda1/ubbpup)" {
search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root xxxyyyzzz
loopback loop /upupbb-18.05+22.iso
linux (loop)/vmlinuz net.ifnames=0 pmedia=atahd psubdir=ubbpup pfix=fsck
initrd (loop)/initrd.gz
}

menuentry "BionicDog64 (sda1/casper)"
search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root xxxyyyzzz
linux /casper/vmlinuz noauto from=/ changes=/casper/
initrd /casper/initrd1.xz
}


Where xxxyyyzzz is the uuid of sda1 or of the partition where puppy is. You can get the right uuid running blkid in console. Grub2 could be the one provided by ubuntu or by a puppy live after installing grub2 by ppm and installing it by:

Code:
mkdir -p /mnt/sda1
mount /dev/sda1 /mnt/sda1
grub-install --force --no-floppy --target=i386-pc --recheck --debug --boot-directory=/mnt/sda1/boot /dev/sda
grub-mkconfig -o /mnt/sda1/boot/grub/grub.cfg


Would this work?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 12726
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sun 23 Dec 2018, 08:53    Post subject:  

The whole point of this project is to put Puppy/Dogs in a GPT environment WITHOUT having to use GRUB2.

Quote:
But it boots with legacy GRUB (not Grub4Dos) so you can continue to use your favourite menu.lst syntax.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fredx181


Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 4123
Location: holland

PostPosted: Sun 23 Dec 2018, 13:32    Post subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
The whole point of this project is to put Puppy/Dogs in a GPT environment WITHOUT having to use GRUB2.


So do I understand well that grub-legacy and GRUB2 will work in a GPT environment but not grub4dos, syslinux or extlinux ?

Fred

_________________
Dog Linux website
Tinylinux blog by wiak
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 12726
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sun 23 Dec 2018, 13:45    Post subject:  

I can only comment on grub4dos. Here is my understanding of the issue:

G4D's "stage1" code is more complicated than Legacy GRUB, so it occupies some of the unused space between the MBR and the start of the first partition.

But that space is now being used by the GPT system. So there is a conflict.

But Legacy GRUB's stage1 only needs the first ~400 bytes of the MBR and a GPT system doesn't use the first 512 byte sector of the drive at all. So there is no conflict.

Also, my system doesn't rely on Legacy GRUB stage1.5. So it doesn't need to be shoe-horned into an area used by the GPT.

Regarding syslinux/extlinux: If you wrote the standard MS-DOS boot record onto the MBR (like mbr.bin) and flagged a partition as bootable, then you might be able to get them to work too.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [6 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0337s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0033s) ][ GZIP on ]