Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 12 Nov 2019, 09:57
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » System
swapfile manager
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 5 of 5 [70 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
Author Message
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 12825
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Mon 21 Jan 2019, 03:18    Post subject:  

Are you sure you actually have a swap file?
Sure you are not talking about the xenialpup64save being made 4GB?
That is not a swap file. Something totally different.

A true swap file.
The file should be named swapfile.
It should be located in /mnt/home/

If it is there as swapfile for the name.

The swapfile manager will just replace it with whatever you make it in swapfile manager.
It makes a swap file named swapfile.
It overwrites the old swapfile with the new one.
So, that changes the size.

If the original swap file is named something other than swapfile.
You will end up with two swap files.

If you only want one swap file.
In the Swapfile Manager turn off swap.
In a file manager (Rox)
Delete the old swap file, so you only have the new one.
In Swapfile Manager turn swap back on.
Done.

_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer) http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107601
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
d_vineet


Joined: 06 Aug 2018
Posts: 116
Location: Bharat

PostPosted: Mon 21 Jan 2019, 03:34    Post subject:  

Sure I am talking about swapfile (while doing frugal install initially, I was asked reg swap file by the installer; I had specified size for that; don't exactly remember size 4 or 2 GiB).

Now I can see 2 related files in /mnt/home/
1) pupswap.swp (4GiB),
2) swapfile (w/o any file extension) (2GiB).

As you had mentioned, "swapfile" must have been created by the puppy installer initially.
But from where came the pupswap.swp, I don't know.

Should I delete both of these files and create a fresh one by using swapfile manager?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 12825
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Mon 21 Jan 2019, 03:58    Post subject:  

pupswap.swp probably was made by the installer you used.
What installer did you use?

Quote:
Should I delete both of these files and create a fresh one by using swapfile manager?

You could do that or just delete the pupswap.swp.
Probably will need to turn swap off in Swapfile Manger to be able to delete.

Whatever you do in the Swapfile Manager will just overwrite the one named swapfile.

Just remember in Swapfile Manager to turn swap back on when you get done.

_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer) http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107601
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
d_vineet


Joined: 06 Aug 2018
Posts: 116
Location: Bharat

PostPosted: Mon 21 Jan 2019, 04:17    Post subject:  

bigpup wrote:
pupswap.swp probably was made by the installer you used.
What installer did you use?
While shutting down puppy for 1st time, it asked me whether to save, then I followed the instructions, did frugal install. So not sure reg the name of installer.
Quote:

Quote:
Should I delete both of these files and create a fresh one by using swapfile manager?

You could do that or just delete the pupswap.swp.
Probably will need to turn swap off in Swapfile Manger to be able to delete.
Whatever you do in the Swapfile Manager will just overwrite the one named swapfile.
Just remember in Swapfile Manager to turn swap back on when you get done.
OK. thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
d_vineet


Joined: 06 Aug 2018
Posts: 116
Location: Bharat

PostPosted: Mon 21 Jan 2019, 05:42    Post subject:  

Firsly did "swap off".
Then tried to delete file /mnt/home/pupswap.swp using ROX-Filer by rgt-clk.
1) message "ERROR: Operation not permitted".
2) After a few seconds, OS halted with a message flash of "RAM remaining is 0. Pl. consider reboot...".

I then made "swap on". OS again working OK.
It's maybe that we are not supposed to delete pupswap file?

However, I can delete swapfile from ROX-Filer w/o any error, but it doesn't appear in trash. Then re-created another one by using "swapfile - Manager".

EDIT:-
Upon inspecting with "htop", swap is shown to be 6143GiB.
Means addition of pupswap.swp(4GiB) + swapfile(2GiB)
Screenshot is attached.
Can't understand this puzzle!
htop_screenshot.png
Description 
png

 Download 
Filename  htop_screenshot.png 
Filesize  186.15 KB 
Downloaded  181 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 12825
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Mon 21 Jan 2019, 11:24    Post subject:  

When you delete something in Rox it is deleted, gone.

To put something in trash. You have to drag and drop it into the trash desktop icon.
Some Puppies have trash in the Rox right click menu.

Htop shows you have 4GB of memory.
Is that correct??
Turning off swap should have no affect with that much memory.
It also shows using swap and only using 297mb of ram.
That is strange.
Swap should not even be used with that much ram.
Not sure what that indicates.

Quote:
Then tried to delete file /mnt/home/pupswap.swp using ROX-Filer by rgt-clk.
1) message "ERROR: Operation not permitted".

This file seems to be setup to not let it easily be deleted.
There is a command you can use in a terminal to delete.
But before I tell you.
From what you say happened when swap was turned off, maybe you should just keep pupswap.swp

I would post about this issue on the Xenialpup64 7.5 topic so the developer of Xenialpup can see it.
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107331

_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer) http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107601
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
d_vineet


Joined: 06 Aug 2018
Posts: 116
Location: Bharat

PostPosted: Mon 21 Jan 2019, 23:30    Post subject:  

bigpup wrote:
I would post about this issue on the Xenialpup64 7.5 topic so the developer of Xenialpup can see it.
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107331
Not able to see this post in that thread. Maybe the url is incorrect?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 12825
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Tue 22 Jan 2019, 01:59    Post subject:  

No.
I am saying that is the topic for Xenialpup64 7.5

You need to post in it about your problem with this pupswap.swp

Does your computer have 4 GB of memory??

_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer) http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107601
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
d_vineet


Joined: 06 Aug 2018
Posts: 116
Location: Bharat

PostPosted: Tue 22 Jan 2019, 04:09    Post subject:  

bigpup wrote:
No.
I am saying that is the topic for Xenialpup64 7.5
You need to post in it about your problem with this pupswap.swp
Got that. I will post it there. Thanks.
Quote:
Does your computer have 4 GB of memory??
Yes. My laptop has 4GB memory (physical RAM)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
666philb


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 3495
Location: wales

PostPosted: Wed 13 Feb 2019, 07:49    Post subject:  

hi d_vineet,

you can check the location and info on swaps using this command
Code:
cat /proc/swaps

the output of this for me is
Code:
Filename                               Type      Size   Used   Priority
/initrd/mnt/dev_save/pupswap.swp        file      8388604   0   -2

to turn the swap off (note that you can only turn off a swap that isn't being actively used)
Code:
swapoff /initrd/mnt/dev_save/pupswap.swp

once the swap is off you can can safely delete it with the file manager (if it's a swapfile)
then create a new swap file of your desired size
Code:
pupswap

_________________
Bionicpup64 built with bionic beaver packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=114311
Xenialpup64, built with xenial xerus packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107331
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 5 of 5 [70 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » System
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0810s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0398s) ][ GZIP on ]