Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 22 Sep 2019, 03:43
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Bionicpup64 8.0 CE
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 38 of 66 [978 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, ..., 64, 65, 66 Next
Author Message
melon688

Joined: 24 Oct 2011
Posts: 39
Location: Taiwan

PostPosted: Tue 22 Jan 2019, 08:34    Post subject:  

HDMI TV sound has no problem

my setup:
acer NB 5920g + nvidia driver + hdmi TV

sound has no problem:

check IEC958
(setup > Sound > Adjust levels)

Choose sound card
(setup > Sound > Multiple cards)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 12581
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Thu 24 Jan 2019, 00:41    Post subject:  

CPU temperature monitor for 64-bit Pups
I see someone has uploaded pmcpucurt64.pet to the ibiblio.org site for bionicpup64 pet packages.
http://distro.ibiblio.org/puppylinux/pet_packages-bionic64/
This pet package is missing the /root/.config/autostart/pmcpucurt.desktop

So, when the pet is installed. Nothing is put into the autostart directory to make the program load. Thus it is not running and no temp is displayed in the tray.

Here is the needed file to be put in /root/.config/autostart
pmcpucurt.desktop.gz
Description  Had to add .gz to name so it will post in forum
Remove .gz to turn file into correct name.
gz

 Download 
Filename  pmcpucurt.desktop.gz 
Filesize  94 Bytes 
Downloaded  56 Time(s) 

_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer) http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107601

Last edited by bigpup on Thu 24 Jan 2019, 14:38; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 12581
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Thu 24 Jan 2019, 07:05    Post subject:  

Bionicpup64 7.9.8
Fresh frugal install
Only added installed program is Wine.

Installed Wine using Quickpet>Useful>Wine

None of the menu entries for Wine will work.
There are many of them in menu>Utilities

Example:
Wine Configure (winecfg) in a console gives these errors.
Quote:
root# winecfg
wine: failed to initialize: /usr/lib64/wine/ntdll.dll.so: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
0009:err:process:start_wineboot failed to start wineboot, err 1359
0009:fixme:actctx:parse_depend_manifests Could not find dependent assembly L"Microsoft.Windows.Common-Controls" (6.0.0.0)
Wine cannot find the ncurses library (libncurses.so.5).
Wine cannot find the FreeType font library. To enable Wine to
use TrueType fonts please install a version of FreeType greater than
or equal to 2.0.5.
http://www.freetype.org
wine: failed to initialize: /usr/lib64/wine/ntdll.dll.so: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
wine: failed to initialize: /usr/lib64/wine/ntdll.dll.so: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
0009:err:winecfg:WinMain failed to restart 64-bit L"C:\\windows\\system32\\winecfg.exe", err 1359
0009:err:winediag:nodrv_CreateWindow Application tried to create a window, but no driver could be loaded.
0009:err:winediag:nodrv_CreateWindow The explorer process failed to start.

_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer) http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107601
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
puppy_apprentice


Joined: 07 Feb 2012
Posts: 300

PostPosted: Fri 25 Jan 2019, 16:20    Post subject:  

PupSysInfo doesn't show speed for both cores separate.

Screenshot and report files you will find there:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=1016445#1016445
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
666philb


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 3477
Location: wales

PostPosted: Fri 25 Jan 2019, 16:31    Post subject:  

puppy_apprentice wrote:
PupSysInfo doesn't show speed for both cores separate.

Screenshot and report files you will find there:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=1016445#1016445


hi puppy_apprentice,

it does show the info for me here, it could be the kernels compatibility with your computer. maybe try some other kernels and test ... quickpet >> change kernels

_________________
Bionicpup64 built with bionic beaver packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=114311
Xenialpup64, built with xenial xerus packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107331
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
666philb


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 3477
Location: wales

PostPosted: Fri 25 Jan 2019, 16:34    Post subject:  

666philb wrote:
puppy_apprentice wrote:
PupSysInfo doesn't show speed for both cores separate.

Screenshot and report files you will find there:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=1016445#1016445


hi puppy_apprentice,

it does show the info for me here, it could be the kernels compatibility with your computer. maybe try some other kernels and test ... quickpet >> change kernels


also maybe try lm-sensors from the PPM

_________________
Bionicpup64 built with bionic beaver packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=114311
Xenialpup64, built with xenial xerus packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107331
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Hesse James


Joined: 08 Feb 2010
Posts: 96

PostPosted: Fri 25 Jan 2019, 16:47    Post subject:  

Hello Phil
I owe you an answer to your questions about mounting SD-cards, smartphones and ebook-readers.
1.) Mount SD-cards: I compared in test Slacko64, Xenial64 7.5 and Bionic64 7.9.8.
Pmount is always necessary: Slacko64 could mount with pmount, showed drive icon on desktop afterwards, Xenial64 could mount but did not show an icon afterwards; in Bionic64 the SD-card is not detected by pmount (same 7.9.7).
Bionic64 fstab is empty (others not) but this has no effect on device recognition.

2.) Mount ebook-reader: I compared in test Slacko64, Xenial64 7.5 and Bionic64 7.9.8.
Pmount of Slacko64 and Bionic64 could not detect device, Xenial64 could mount it with pmount.
As I wrote the last time all devices could be mounted manually on all Puppies. So it's uncritical (icing).

3.) Android Smartphones. After tests it turned out that connection to Android 5, 6, 7 works more or less reliable (depends on Android version). It turned out to be important to
- first connect the device
- then switch to MTP (at the phone)
- then to press the ok of MTP Device program (which opens automatically) ->vaild for Andriod 6.0.

Additional information: I solved my sound issue by adding
options snd-hda-intel model=generic
to the alsa-base.conf in /etc/modprobe.d
I needed HDMI-sound with HDA-Intel-sound (NUC has only HDMI output) but I did not manage to switch the default sound device with the multiple sound card wizard from analog output (first card, first device, standard) to digital (HDMI, first card, second device). Its change of the configuration was ignored by alsa. With this alsa-base entry, everything worked as it should. I could switch to HDMI and Palemoon and Firefox work from now on perfectly (sandbox entry not necessary).

What shall I do now with the tons of posts about alsa problems I downloaded and red in the last 3 month ? Laughing

Christian
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ITSMERSH

Joined: 02 May 2018
Posts: 911

PostPosted: Fri 25 Jan 2019, 17:13    Post subject:  

Quote:
What shall I do now with the tons of posts about alsa problems I downloaded and red in the last 3 month ? Laughing

Rewrite them from memory (or copy and paste) and create its own topic in this here forum? Wink

_________________
RSH

Beware of the Dog ähem nic007! Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Hesse James


Joined: 08 Feb 2010
Posts: 96

PostPosted: Sat 26 Jan 2019, 04:11    Post subject:  

Concerning the Nvidia-HDMI sound issue...
I took my old computer with a Nforce chipset. With the multiple sound card wizard and installed Nvidia-driver 340.107 I could switch to and use analog output and digital output (via S/PDIF).
Selecting HDMI was again not considered by alsa as the standard device. No sound output with Palemoon. Then I applied the same as above:

options snd-hda-intel model=generic

in alsa-base.conf and after a reboot my selection in the multiple sound card wizard was now considered by alsa. Sound in Palemoon worked.
This might help you too.

Regards.
Christian
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 12581
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sat 26 Jan 2019, 05:04    Post subject:  

666philb wrote:
666philb wrote:
puppy_apprentice wrote:
PupSysInfo doesn't show speed for both cores separate.

Screenshot and report files you will find there:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=1016445#1016445


hi puppy_apprentice,

it does show the info for me here, it could be the kernels compatibility with your computer. maybe try some other kernels and test ... quickpet >> change kernels


also maybe try lm-sensors from the PPM


I too see this doesn't show speed for both cores separate.

lm-sensors from the PPM no help.

I tried using the older 2.7.3 version of Pup-Sysinfo.
It shows each CPU core frequency.

So, seems to be a bug in the newer versions of Pup-Sysinfo.

I am reporting this in the Pup-Sysinfo topic.
Screenshot.jpg
 Description   Pup-Sysinfo 2.8.1 that is in Bionicpup64
 Filesize   50.36 KB
 Viewed   627 Time(s)

Screenshot.jpg

Screenshot(1).jpg
 Description   Pup-Sysinfo 2.7.3
 Filesize   40.48 KB
 Viewed   635 Time(s)

Screenshot(1).jpg


_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer) http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107601
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Revolverve


Joined: 08 Nov 2008
Posts: 228
Location: 45°17'28.8"N 72°16'08.8"W_avatar/ mira.ca

PostPosted: Sat 26 Jan 2019, 12:58    Post subject:
Subject description: HDMI
 

Fresh picked from trash and repaired,an old hd tv with hdmi ports ,i can now test that tablet untried video port.
"multiples monitor settings" works !
"multiples sound card" too!
Even zarfy-64.pet from fatdog64 800 repo works! nice options in there.
Resolution between monitor is a pain with touchscreen..

Note: beloved addictive Easystroke do not like dual monitor,a known bug..
if it can help a user not to search all over for the problem as i did...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gyro

Joined: 28 Oct 2008
Posts: 1632
Location: Brisbane, Australia

PostPosted: Sun 27 Jan 2019, 00:00    Post subject:  

puppy_apprentice wrote:
PupSysInfo doesn't show speed for both cores separate.
When I boot Bionicpup64 7.9.8 CE RC with the boot parameter "intel_pstate=disable", PupSysInfo shows the speed of each core.
When I boot Bionicpup64 7.9.8 CE RC without the boot parameter "intel_pstate=disable", PupSysInfo does not show the speed of each core.

gyro
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 12581
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sun 27 Jan 2019, 04:18    Post subject:  

There is more this helps.

With Intel CPU's

Used the boot parameter
Code:
intel_pstate=disable
, so this scaling driver is not usable or loaded.

The CPU Frequency Scaling Tool will now use scaling driver acpi-cpufreq and not intel_pstate.

This change seems to allow many more options to work in CPU Frequency Scaling Tool.
So far all the now possible changes seem to work OK.

perdido found this topic about intel_pstate and the issue in Xenialpup 7.5
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=112683

Update:
Nothing is ever a simple answer with computers.
Found more info on this.
intel_pstate offers only two governors: powersave and performance.

Quote:
1. intel_pstate can be disabled at boot-time with intel_pstate=disable or compile it out
2. the old problem with ondemand (and conservative) governors is and was, that they don't know the specific capabilities of the cpu
3. executing some tasks with highest-frequency possible is consuming less power, than taking more time with lower frequency e.g. arithmetic stuff
4. this is not true for all tasks e.g. loading something from main-memory
5. here comes intel_pstate: it knows how the specific cpu works and does it job better than a generic solution, also it seems to handle "boost" better
6. furthermore intel_pstate offers only two governors: powersave and performance
even "powersave" is faster than the generic acpi based approach with "performance" (maybe handles "boost" better)
also "performance" doesn't enforce the default frequency as "lower limit", like the old generic approch, but performance is anyway only ~ 1% faster

_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer) http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107601

Last edited by bigpup on Sun 27 Jan 2019, 18:48; edited 3 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 12581
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sun 27 Jan 2019, 04:23    Post subject:  

Radky is working on some code changes to Pup-Sysinfo to fix CPU info.
He has made a change to the func file that seems to work.
You can see what is being done here:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=73101&start=105

_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer) http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107601
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
RimsOnAToaster

Joined: 25 Jan 2019
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Sun 27 Jan 2019, 16:55    Post subject:  

I hope this isn't in the wrong spot...

I can't get BionicPup64 to boot on my hardware. The system is powered by an ASRock J4105-ITX board which has an embedded Gemini Lake- family Celeron J4105 processor, 2x 4GB of some spare 2666 MHz DDR4 memory, and a flash-based save drive connected via the board's USB 3.0 header. The system also includes an onboard M.2 E-key slot for a Wi-Fi card, which I have populated with an Intel 9260.

To my knowledge, ASrock has gotten rid of the legacy BIOS boot option for this family of hardware, thereby pushing UEFI-only boot options. I have disabled secure boot from within the UEFI menu and prepped a live USB with build 7.9.8 using Rufus 3.3. At this point I'm not too sure what steps to take.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 38 of 66 [978 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, ..., 64, 65, 66 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1186s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0568s) ][ GZIP on ]