Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 30 Oct 2014, 13:09
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Problems & questions with using Puppy as my sole OS
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 2 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Author Message
mike


Joined: 13 Aug 2005
Posts: 75
Location: Bowser

PostPosted: Mon 15 Aug 2005, 15:08    Post_subject:  

open office is available as a pup-get package. go start menu, setup, pupget package manager, then install from the database (not the website.

the reb/broken f-prot will be fixed once you install f-prot - look for that option in the start menu as well, it's there somewhere.

i hope this is some use to you
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
paullecorde


Joined: 17 Jun 2005
Posts: 62
Location: Lexington, KY USA

PostPosted: Tue 16 Aug 2005, 13:33    Post_subject:  

In trying to use Puppy as the sole OS on this computer, here is where I'm at.

I have used the debian installation disk to create the three partitions and install a GRUB bootloader. (I had GRUB working at one point but after subsequent installs and reinstalls I have not been able to reproduce that.) So I have an ext2, ext3, Linux style harddrive with a partion for the MBR. I have been using Puppy from the CD and have installed DotPup packages and even a couple of alien programs. However, I don't think
Puppy is running the way I would like it to. Since I haven't got the bootloader working I guess I'm still running from the CD and have not correctly installed Puppy to the hard drive. Last night, I tried to install the full OpenOffice using OO's installer. It kept telling me that there's not enough room on the device. Puppy and the few DotPup packages are the only things on the hard drive. I am assuming that Puppy is still working on the principle that it only has the pup001 file to work with. I tried increasing the size of pup001 but still got the not enough room message.

So, what I want to do is install Puppy to the hard drive and not run in RAM, I want Puppy to know that it has the whole hard drive - so I don't have to keep mounting /mnt/data, etc., everytime I reboot and I want to be able to install programs/packages to the hard drive and use those with Puppy. I have read about using option 2 to install Puppy to the hard drive. Does this option 2 choice really install Puppy to the hard drive so that it doesn't have to run in RAM? Also, I already have a Linux
partioned hard drive, so I don't want to use the install MSDOS option. This option 2-is it part of Puppy's boot from the CD or do I go to it from the Start menu? If I have a boot partition can I simply delete everything from the current GRUB file and install the GRUB file from this forum or should I keep trying to update the list in the current version of GRUB? The final question is this... if you are getting ready to change Puppy to be based on Vector instead of Mandrake, so I just install Vector as the primary OS? Will updating to a newer version of Puppy after I have installed to the hard drive cause problems with all the programs/packages I install now?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message YIM 
mike


Joined: 13 Aug 2005
Posts: 75
Location: Bowser

PostPosted: Tue 16 Aug 2005, 15:01    Post_subject:  

you should choose the install puppy to hard drive option from the start menu. choose option 2. follow the prompts. you get a full installation, just like any other distro, only it only takes about 2 minutes.

yes, puppy will no longer run completely from ram.

which partition do you have the current grub files stored on?

you probably will not be able to install the complete open office -

i repeat, though, Oo is available through pup-get! alot of other things as well!

if you choose to install grub during the install of puppy to hard drive, and need help setting up so that other OS's are recognized, kust ask and we will help you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
paullecorde


Joined: 17 Jun 2005
Posts: 62
Location: Lexington, KY USA

PostPosted: Wed 17 Aug 2005, 13:59    Post_subject:  

I just wanted to thank Klhrevolutionist for helping me (walking me through) install Puppy to the hard drive and helping answer my questions about that process. Puppy is happily inhabiting the hard drive as the sole OS.

Thank you to everyone who gave me answers, comments and suggestions in this forum!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message YIM 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0473s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0040s) ][ GZIP on ]