Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 15 Sep 2019, 01:30
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Xenialpup64 7.5-UEFI install
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [8 Posts]  
Author Message
LeithR

Joined: 24 Jan 2011
Posts: 312
Location: Kemnay, Aberdeenshire/Scotland

PostPosted: Tue 05 Feb 2019, 05:47    Post subject:  Xenialpup64 7.5-UEFI install  

I'm trying to install a copy of xenial64 7.5 UEFI on a Sony SVE151E11M laptop which had a copy of win 8.1 on it. In BIOS it does not allow me access to change Secure Boot, I have changed the boot mode to Legacy and set the Boot priority to boot from the External Device.

Xenial64 boots up perfectly and I have repartitioned the HDD for a single 1T partition Ext3. Using puppy installer the OS copies to the HD, set up as a boot partition. Remove the CD after loading the OS, when rebooting the machine I get a message No operating system found. All pretty standard for non UEFI installation

I'm clearly doing something wrong or missing something but do not have any experience with UEFI, this is my first time exploring it.

What steps do I need to take to get this to work please?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 12627
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Tue 05 Feb 2019, 06:41    Post subject:  

Did you install a bootloader, like Grub4Dos?

Originally, the hard drive was probably structured as GPT. Did you switch it back to MS-DOS when you re-formatted it?

In Gparted, look under the Device tab.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
LeithR

Joined: 24 Jan 2011
Posts: 312
Location: Kemnay, Aberdeenshire/Scotland

PostPosted: Tue 05 Feb 2019, 07:20    Post subject:  

Hi Bill,
Yes, I originally set up Grub4Dos but got nowhere with that approach. I subsequently removed the HDD from the machine and set it up on a non-UEFI laptop, thats how it is currently. I can now set it up as GPT if necessary.

What do you suggest?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 12557
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Tue 05 Feb 2019, 07:35    Post subject:  

Grub4dos will not work on a GPT partition table setup.
There is no place to put the Grub4dos files.

To be a little clearer.
When you partitioned the drive using Gparted program that is in Xenialpup64 7.5.
Start by making it use a msdos partition table.
Gparted>Device>Create Partition Table>msdos

Now partition the unallocated space as you did before.
Make sure to flag the partition boot.

Now do the install of Xenialpup64 7.5

Strongly suggest you do a frugal install not a full install.
It is still the complete Xenialpup on the drive.
Frugal name is about how it uses space on the drive.
Some features of Puppy Linux only work with a frugal install.

Now you need a boot loader installed to boot it.
Run Grub4dos Bootloader Config.
Select the hard drive as the device to install to.
Select search only within this device.
All the other settings are good as is.
OK.
OK.
OK.
Done.

Now you should have XEnialpup64 7.5 installed and a boot loader to boot it.
Now try booting with the hard drive selected as the boot device.

Note:
Usually if the UEFI bios only has option to disable or enable legacy boot.
When you enable legacy boot it also disables secure boot.
Enable legacy boot should allow an OS, other than Windows, to run on the computer.

_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer) http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107601
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 12557
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Tue 05 Feb 2019, 07:47    Post subject:  

Did you originally do a full install of Xenialpup?
If yes.

The Puppy Universal Installer does something that Grub4dos has a problem with on some computers.
At the end of the install, the Universal Installer gives you a boot menu entry all figured out.
Copy that entry and paste it into the Grub4dos menu.lst file.

Frugal installs should be setup with no problem using the Grub4dos Bootloader Config program.

_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer) http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107601
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeslr


Joined: 16 Jun 2008
Posts: 3314
Location: 500 seconds from Sol

PostPosted: Tue 05 Feb 2019, 10:28    Post subject:  

Ditto what bigpup wrote. And while Xenialpup's included grub4dos seems to be functioning for you, it wouldn't hurt to install shinobar's recent update, the first in several years, http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=1004943#1004943 in the Puppy you are using before configuring the hard-drive on which it is to be used.

Even though you are working from a CD, you can update the grub4dos it will use without having to remaster. Just download and and install the pet, Although the new version of grub4dos will then only exist in RAM, restarting-x causes Xenialpup to re-catalog what applications exist and where they are located. So, it will use the new version.

Of course, unless you remaster or are using a SaveFile/Folder or can Save the changes back to your CD, everything in RAM is cleared on shut-down the new version will 'evaporate'.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
LeithR

Joined: 24 Jan 2011
Posts: 312
Location: Kemnay, Aberdeenshire/Scotland

PostPosted: Tue 05 Feb 2019, 11:26    Post subject: Sorted  

@bigpup, No I always install frugal.
Thanks to Bill's help its all up and running. Thanks to bigpup and mikesir.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
foxpup


Joined: 29 Jul 2016
Posts: 933
Location: europa near northsea

PostPosted: Tue 05 Feb 2019, 15:46    Post subject:    

Doing this, should the machine be safe from the Lojax UEFI rootkit, or any other UEFI virus?
I guess not.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [8 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0497s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0120s) ][ GZIP on ]