Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 19 Oct 2019, 14:30
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Browsers and Internet
Firefox Quantum portable with apulse All-in
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 7 of 14 [205 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, ..., 12, 13, 14 Next
Author Message
Semme


Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 8021
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Sat 09 Feb 2019, 17:20    Post subject:  

No doubt my post is *now* too late.
_________________
>>> Living with the immediacy of death helps you sort out your priorities. It helps you live a life less trivial <<<
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 5482
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Thu 14 Feb 2019, 12:42    Post subject:  

@ Fred/all:-

Following a reply to a thread from linuxwannabe about updating his Slacko 570's elderly FF 17 ESR (and following my own experience with putting a 'portable' PaleMoon together), here's a couple of 'portable' packages for the latest Extended Support Release, FF 60.5.1 esr.

These work exactly the same as Fred's packages. Untar, and place the resulting firefox32/firefox64 directory anywhere you want. Fire 'er up by clicking on the 'ff' script inside the directory, which creates your profile internally, too.

I copied my profile over from the 'mainline' Quantum-portable, and aside from needing to re-enable my extensions, all went very smoothly.

32-bit version available HERE.

64-bit version available HERE.

Posting from the 32-bit version now. Curiously, in some ways it seems more stable than recent releases of 'mainline' Quantum; NetFlix performance has been 'patchy', to say the least. It'll be working fine, then an update comes along, and then the tab will crash every time you try to watch summat. Along comes another update, and the inbuilt DRM player starts behaving itself again.....and NetFlix is usable once more. Which kinda makes me believe Mozilla must keep updating the DRM stuff with every release, as well.....

I may well stick with this for a while; NetFlix is on its best behaviour with this one, at the moment..! Laughing

Anyways; enjoy, y'all!


Mike. Wink

_________________
MY 'PUPPY' PACKAGES

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kuman11

Joined: 26 Dec 2017
Posts: 206

PostPosted: Tue 19 Feb 2019, 22:02    Post subject:  

Mike,

I put my Firefox in the /opt dir. Does it occupy Puppy space when u run XSlacko in RAM?

I might try this one too.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 5482
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Wed 20 Feb 2019, 06:34    Post subject:  

kuman11 wrote:
Mike,

I put my Firefox in the /opt dir. Does it occupy Puppy space when u run XSlacko in RAM?

I might try this one too.


Anything that is placed anywhere inside the 'standard' file-system will occupy 'Puppy-space', yes.

There's only two places where it won't. One is /mnt/home - the same 'level' as your save-file/folder, and hence not inside it - and the other would be on an external drive. Which is quite feasible for these 'portables', since they're perfectly happy to run like that...


Mike. Wink

_________________
MY 'PUPPY' PACKAGES

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 5482
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Wed 06 Mar 2019, 18:52    Post subject:  

@ Fred :-

Following a few wee 'niggles' I've had this last few days , I'm beginning to wonder quite how 'portable' these portable Mozilla-based browsers, etc., really are. Let me expand.....

I've spent the last 3 or 4 days doing what I've been meaning to do for a long time; setting up the ultimate, fully self-contained, take-anywhere Puppy. I treated myself to a 128 GB Sandisk Cruzer 'Blade' flashdrive; I've been using these things for years, but never in this kind of size before. I wanted not only Puppy itself, 'fully-stocked', but also a second, large, FAT32 data partition, complete with all my documents, downloaded stuff, and 'personal' directory.....along with a fairly good selection of movies, too!

Now, this is where we're getting to the point of this post. On my main system, the big old Compaq desktop, I run around a dozen Pups, okay? I have a large, primary 'data' partition, with a 'mirror' of the main file-system, and no end of stuff on here that's sym-linked into and shared among all the Puppies. With me so far?

I chose Micko's Slacko 5.6.0 as the Pup for this set-up. I've always liked 570, for instance, for its rock-solid stability, and ability to cope with absolutely anything you can throw at it.....but since installing 560 around 18 months ago, I find myself using it even more. It's an amazing Pup, it really is.

Anyway; essentially, I copied the entire 560 install across from the Compaq, complete with 12 GB save-file (don't ask!), and have spent the last couple of days tracking down all the sym-linked stuff and replacing it with 'proper' copies. (It's surprising how much stuff I had sym-linked, too; way more than I'd realized.)

I've got the portable Palemoon I put together. Also the portable Thunderbird, and the portable FF60esr, along with your portable Quantum. (You can never have too many browsers, mate; they all have their specific uses, too.)

Palemoon started up with no problem. But Thunderbird, Quantum & FF60esr simply wouldn't have it.....at all. In every case, I was getting a warning message, saying:-

Quote:
"Your xxxxxxx (insert relative app here) profile cannot be loaded. It may be missing or inaccessible..."


To cut a long story short, and after much research, and to-ing and fro-ing between multiple sites, it turns out that the way these portables work isn't quite like we thought. Even though your script tells them to create their own, internal profile directory, to put the profile in there, and to use it every time, there's a 'catch' to all this.

If Thunderbird can't find the hidden .thunderbird directory in /root, it won't start.

If Firefox can't find the hidden .mozilla directory in /root, it won't start.

And, although it didn't happen on this occasion, I'll bet a pound to a pinch of snuff that if Palemoon can't find the hidden .moonchild productions directory in /root, then it won't start either.

It seems that the profile in there, along with the 'profiles.ini' file it contains, serves as a 'backup' as far as the devs are concerned.....and if T-Bird, Quantum or Palemoon don't find this hidden directory first, before they use any other profile you may specify, then they'll dig their heels in and refuse to play ball. I rather think they're 'hard-coded' to look in the 'user' directory first, despite you telling them otherwise....

Most of us aren't going to have that problem, I suspect, because old profile directories tend to get overlooked when you move from one browser to another. I doubt many of us are quite 'anal' enough to religiously clear every last little bit of remnants out of the way.....especially when they're 'hidden' in normal operation.....!


Mike. Wink

_________________
MY 'PUPPY' PACKAGES

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tlchost

Joined: 05 Aug 2007
Posts: 2111
Location: Baltimore, Maryland USA

PostPosted: Wed 06 Mar 2019, 23:47    Post subject:  

Mike Walsh wrote:


Palemoon started up with no problem. But Thunderbird, Quantum & FF60esr simply wouldn't have it.....at all. In every case, I was getting a warning message, saying:-

Quote:
"Your xxxxxxx (insert relative app here) profile cannot be loaded. It may be missing or inaccessible..."




Could you use a dreaded symlink from root to where ever for the profile?

WOrks here with puppy on a fat32 usb drive with all sorts of apps that I don't have in the savefile....and many puppies can share the same apps.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
fredx181


Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 4124
Location: holland

PostPosted: Thu 07 Mar 2019, 04:18    Post subject:  

Hi Mike,

Quote:
It seems that the profile in there, along with the 'profiles.ini' file it contains, serves as a 'backup' as far as the devs are concerned.....and if T-Bird, Quantum or Palemoon don't find this hidden directory first, before they use any other profile you may specify, then they'll dig their heels in and refuse to play ball. I rather think they're 'hard-coded' to look in the 'user' directory first, despite you telling them otherwise....


Weird... I cannot reproduce that. Without the ~/.mozilla dir existing, the portable works fine for me (using the "profile" dir inside).
I tested on Slacko 6.9.9. (first needed to install gtk+3)
What I do notice is that the ~/.mozilla dir is created (with some empty folders inside) when running the portable Quantum. Similar with portable Thunderbird, btw (~/.thunderbird dir is created)

Maybe there's difference in Slacko 5.6, can you add one line at the bottom of the ff script, to see what's the output when running ff from terminal ?:
Code:
echo "launchdir=$LAUNCHDIR"

If that doesn't output the correct directory, there's something wrong/different maybe with the readlink command included in your Slacko, and explains why the profile dir is not found (just guessing, btw).

Fred

_________________
Dog Linux website
Tinylinux blog by wiak
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 5482
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Thu 07 Mar 2019, 08:04    Post subject:  

Mornin', Fred.

Okay. Added that line to the 'ff' script, like so:-

Code:
#!/bin/sh

#LAUNCHDIR="$(cd "$(dirname "$0")"; pwd)"
LAUNCHDIR="$(dirname "$(readlink -f "$0")")"
mkdir "$LAUNCHDIR/profile" 2> /dev/null
LD_LIBRARY_PATH=$LAUNCHDIR/:$LAUNCHDIR/extralibs${LD_LIBRARY_PATH:+:$LD_LIBRARY_PATH} "$LAUNCHDIR/firefox" "$@" -profile "$LAUNCHDIR/profile"
echo "launchdir=$LAUNCHDIR"


The output I get is the usual GTK 'warning' stuff.....plus the final line.....which I think is the one you want.

Bear in mind this is sym-linked from another directory inside /mnt/home (except it's not called /mnt/home, because I'm using jafadmin's udev-rules thing for USB mounting.....to make certain the 3 partitions on this stick - /boot, /mnt/home & DATA - are permanent mount-points in its own file system). The path is, however, correct:-

Code:
# /opt/firefox32/ff

(firefox:21365): GLib-GObject-WARNING **: g_object_get_valist: object class `GtkSettings' has no property named `gtk-decoration-layout'

(/SanDisk/SanDisk-2/SYSTEM/Apps/Browsers/FF-Quantum/firefox32/firefox-bin:22005): GLib-GObject-WARNING **: g_object_get_valist: object class `GtkSettings' has no property named `gtk-decoration-layout'

(/SanDisk/SanDisk-2/SYSTEM/Apps/Browsers/FF-Quantum/firefox32/firefox-bin:22188): GLib-GObject-WARNING **: g_object_get_valist: object class `GtkSettings' has no property named `gtk-decoration-layout'
launchdir=/SanDisk/SanDisk-2/SYSTEM/Apps/Browsers/FF-Quantum/firefox32
#


Looks like 560's 'read-link' is working correctly, doesn't it? (BTW, lots of stuff here is sym-linked from the 'SYSTEM' directory, just in case I decide to add a second Puppy at some point; that way I can share apps, settings, configs, etc.)

It's not a big issue, because it's a self-contained install on a stick with lots & lots of spare space. If I have to have 'redundant', 'spare' profiles sitting around for things to work, so be it; it's a 'fix', and it works for me. I thought it was worth mentioning, however; didn't know if it was just my install, or whether it was affecting others as well.


Mike. Wink

_________________
MY 'PUPPY' PACKAGES

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fredx181


Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 4124
Location: holland

PostPosted: Thu 07 Mar 2019, 13:13    Post subject:  

Thanks Mike,
Quote:
Looks like 560's 'read-link' is working correctly, doesn't it?...... .....


Yes, everything should be ok looking at your output, it's a mystery for me why you're having the issue you mentioned.

Fred

_________________
Dog Linux website
Tinylinux blog by wiak
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MrDuckGuy


Joined: 31 Jan 2019
Posts: 106
Location: Hermosa Beach, CA, USA

PostPosted: Mon 11 Mar 2019, 11:08    Post subject: Re: Firefox Quantum (64.0.2) portable with apulse All-in
Subject description: Extract and run "ff" script inside folder
 

Mike Walsh wrote:
... here's a couple of 'portable' packages for the latest Extended
Support Release, FF 60.5.1 esr ...

32-bit version available HERE.

64-bit version available HERE.

... the 32-bit version ... it seems more stable than recent releases
of 'mainline' Quantum ... I may well stick with this for a while ...
Hello. I have loaded this into a fresh frugal install of
Tahr64v.6.0.5 without any updates. I am posting this from the
'portable' folder's browser, FFv.60.5.1esr (64-bit).

The portable folder with the browser is isolated in an
otherwise blank USB flash media device.

I initialized FireFox by clicking on the "firefox" entry in the
portable folder. It's running and as I stated, I am posting this
from the very same FireFox 'portable' installation, it seems
to work fine.

There is still no sound when
accessing the YouTube website
.

When accessing the exact, same URL from
PaleMoon64v.25.8.1, which is native to Tahrpup64v.6.0.5
(I suppose?) there is sound, although it suffers from the
HTML5 compatibility warning when trying to access links
within the YouTube site. Sometimes the link must be
reloaded several times before the HTML5 warning
resolves and then the video plays. Other times the
video will not load at all, and the HTML5 warning remains.
PaleMoon does this, but FireFox avoids it. If I could get
the sound to work in FireFox, it would be nice.

I have successfully been using older versions of
FireFox, v.32 and v.45 without sound issues, but these
suffer from the HTML5 warnings periodically.

As a side issue (probably user error) the 32-bit version that I
downloaded has the same filename and megabyte size as the
64-bit version? Maybe I didn't click on it correctly?

Thanks in advance, Kelikaku B'H.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fredx181


Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 4124
Location: holland

PostPosted: Mon 11 Mar 2019, 12:51    Post subject:  

MrDuckGuy wrote:
I initialized FireFox by clicking on the "firefox" entry in the
portable folder. It's running and as I stated, I am posting this
from the very same FireFox 'portable' installation, it seems
to work fine.

There is still no sound when
accessing the YouTube website.


To have sound, you must run the "ff"script in the portable folder.
That will also create your profile inside ("profile" folder) instead of in /root/.mozilla

Fred

_________________
Dog Linux website
Tinylinux blog by wiak
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MrDuckGuy


Joined: 31 Jan 2019
Posts: 106
Location: Hermosa Beach, CA, USA

PostPosted: Mon 11 Mar 2019, 13:43    Post subject:  Re: Firefox Quantum (64.0.2) portable with apulse All-in
Subject description: Extract and run "ff" script inside folder
 

fredx181 wrote:
... To have sound, you must run the "ff"script in the
portable folder ... Fred
Embarassed Embarassed Embarassed
I believe that's exactly what the title description of
this particular thread actually says in plain English.

If only I could read properly! Thank you so very much.
Another prime example of user error on my part.

Now, for some reason, I do have sound
while browsing within FireFox64v.60.5.2esr Exclamation Exclamation

Screenshot of a Commodore64 motherboard below.

-Kelikaku B'H.
FireFoxIcon.png
 Description   I made an oddball Firefox icon for this
application. B'H.
 Filesize   13.12 KB
 Viewed   553 Time(s)

FireFoxIcon.png

2019-03-11-12-commodore64Mboard01.png
 Description   For absolutely no reason, here is a Commodore64 motherboard. B'H.
 Filesize   125.7 KB
 Viewed   579 Time(s)

2019-03-11-12-commodore64Mboard01.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MrDuckGuy


Joined: 31 Jan 2019
Posts: 106
Location: Hermosa Beach, CA, USA

PostPosted: Tue 12 Mar 2019, 11:33    Post subject: Re: Firefox Quantum (64.0.2) portable with apulse All-in
Subject description: Extract and run "ff" script inside folder
 

SOLVED - another user tried this. The "ff" script will work to enable
the sound in the later version of FireFox (v65). Hope this helps. B'H.

============================================
fredx181 wrote:
... To have sound, you must run the "ff"script in
the portable folder. ... create your profile inside ("profile" folder)
instead of in /root/.mozilla ... Fred
Will the same "ff" script
work with the new version (v65) that's not "esr?"

As always, thanks in advance, Kelikaku B'H.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fredx181


Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 4124
Location: holland

PostPosted: Tue 12 Mar 2019, 11:49    Post subject: Re: Firefox Quantum (64.0.2) portable with apulse All-in
Subject description: Extract and run "ff" script inside folder
 

MrDuckGuy wrote:
SOLVED - another user tried this. The "ff" script will work to enable
the sound in the later version of FireFox (v65). Hope this helps. B'H.

============================================
fredx181 wrote:
... To have sound, you must run the "ff"script in
the portable folder. ... create your profile inside ("profile" folder)
instead of in /root/.mozilla ... Fred
Will the same "ff" script
work with the new version (v65) that's not "esr?"

As always, thanks in advance, Kelikaku B'H.


Assuming you download and extract newest Firefox from here https://www.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/new/
Then only copying the "ff" script to the directory is not enough, also required is the "extralibs" folder to have inside the directory, otherwise sound doesn't work.
So, yes, you can copy these from Mike's ESR version and it should work OK with v65.


Fred

_________________
Dog Linux website
Tinylinux blog by wiak
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
soniabu


Joined: 01 Feb 2018
Posts: 85
Location: Paris

PostPosted: Fri 15 Mar 2019, 15:05    Post subject:  

Mike Walsh wrote:
@ Fred/all:-


32-bit version available HERE.

64-bit version available HERE.

Anyways; enjoy, y'all!
Mike. Wink


fantastic, everything works; thanks you have taken me out of a big jam!
sonia Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 7 of 14 [205 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, ..., 12, 13, 14 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Browsers and Internet
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0772s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0101s) ][ GZIP on ]