Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 20 Mar 2019, 19:30
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Does it hurt to have both a swap file and swap partition?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [8 Posts]  
Author Message
jeffneedle

Joined: 20 Sep 2013
Posts: 165

PostPosted: Wed 20 Feb 2019, 02:15    Post subject:  Does it hurt to have both a swap file and swap partition?  

Okay, so I generally create a swap partition using gparted before installing Puppy. Now, Puppy Tahr offers to create a swap file for you at the end of the install. Does it hurt to have both? Can I eliminate the creation of a swap partition in gparted in the future? Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Burn_IT


Joined: 12 Aug 2006
Posts: 3426
Location: Tamworth UK

PostPosted: Wed 20 Feb 2019, 06:24    Post subject:  

Both is fine.
I always create a linux swap partition in that tiny bit of free space on disks that won't get used by any other partition.

_________________
"Just think of it as leaving early to avoid the rush" - T Pratchett
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jeffneedle

Joined: 20 Sep 2013
Posts: 165

PostPosted: Wed 20 Feb 2019, 17:11    Post subject:  

Thanks. I appreciate the response.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 4729
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Wed 20 Feb 2019, 17:43    Post subject:  

I think I've got a total of around 17 GB of swap space.

Like Burn_IT, I usually stick 'swap' areas in all those odd places, too. The main internal WD 500 GB HDD has some. The small internal SSD I use has one. The large Seagate external desktop drive I use has quite a large chunk, too.

If Puppy wants it, it's there - it all gets detected. If it doesn't need it, it's not hurting anything.


Mike. Wink

_________________
My 'Puppy' Packages
--------------------------------------

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
musher0

Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 13730
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Wed 20 Feb 2019, 18:42    Post subject:  

Hi, Mike_Walsh

I think you made a typo: 17 Gb fo swap space? You meant 1.7 Gb, surely.
(Everybody makes typos, so please do not be offended that I picked it up.)

BFN.

_________________
musher0
~~~~~~~~~~
Je suis né pour aimer et non pas pour haïr. (Sophocle) /
I was born to love and not to hate. (Sophocles)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 4729
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Wed 20 Feb 2019, 19:20    Post subject:  

musher0 wrote:
Hi, Mike_Walsh

I think you made a typo: 17 Gb fo swap space? You meant 1.7 Gb, surely.
(Everybody makes typos, so please do not be offended that I picked it up.)

BFN.


Nope.

6 GB on the main internal.

2 GB on the small internal SSD.

And 9 GB on the end of the 3 TB external desktop drive. (Less than 0.003 % of the total space available...)

Total = 17 GB. i've got way more space than I'm ever going to need, musher. What harm's a few GB of swap space gonna do, hmm..? Like Burn_IT said above, there's always odd spaces you can't do much else with. We all get 'em.

I follow the old 'rule-of-thumb' which says you need twice the amount of swap as you have RAM. I have 3 GB of RAM in the Compaq desktop. And I often 'suspend' a 'busy' Puppy with nearly all that RAM in use.....

I certainly didn't go to all the trouble of modifying the 'Puppy Logout GUI' to include a nice big 'Suspend' button, setting up udev rules so Pup's habit of re-mounting external drives at different mount-points didn't interfere with pre-existing sym-links, and modifying quite a number of other related bits & pieces, just to shut all my apps down between sessions..... That was the very thing I didn't want to have to do, y'know!

But then, we all run our boxes differently. And Pup lets you do that.


Mike. Wink

_________________
My 'Puppy' Packages
--------------------------------------

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 13200
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Wed 20 Feb 2019, 22:05    Post subject:  

I have no swap space at all. I have no hard disk drive. I keep a flash drive plugged into a USB port, but with 16 GB of RAM I can't imagine I'd ever need more memory, virtual or otherwise.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
oui

Joined: 20 May 2005
Posts: 3309
Location: near Woof (Germany) :-) - 3 PC's: DELL SX280 750 MB Pentium4, Acer emachines 2 GB AMD64. DELL XPS15

PostPosted: Thu 21 Feb 2019, 04:51    Post subject:  

correct, I agree... Puppy includes own technics for RAM control and it is enough. What does swap: If RAM is already occupied (often by precedent taks) it stores those precedent data so that the ACTUAL running app has all the AWAITING RAM quantity to work and does not crashes because of wrong data. it is not an areal for intensive data movements. for that reason, the recommendation if possible same number of SWAP as number of RAM. more can never be used as a real SWAP... SWAP as separate partition has the advantage of the fixed address room to work faster using a mechanical access to data like on HD (the heads have to go into position and come back or continue to an other position: this requires time!). for those having no HD but a lot of memory (chips, USB memory banks etc.) where no mechanical position setting is needing, the use of a SWAP file within the unique working room (probably a real partition) can be absolutely equivalent depending of reactions time of the memory units as the swaping is not an often OS operation: it is only needing in case the actual full RAM number would be required!

new RAM hungry app's (for ex. geographic data, such OPENSTREETMAPS etc)., organize themself their swapping. swapping is only one reduced kind of the old design of memory splitted in layers and shields. It is equivalent but commanded by the application.,..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [8 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0514s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0081s) ][ GZIP on ]