Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 17 Oct 2019, 13:46
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Bionicpup64 8.0 CE
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 42 of 67 [1002 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, ..., 65, 66, 67 Next
Author Message
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 12730
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Fri 22 Feb 2019, 18:07    Post subject:  

ITSMERSH wrote:
oui wrote:
Hi Rainer

ITSMERSH wrote:
Quote:
Xenialpup64 7.9.8

Where to download? Wink


look at the signature of 666philb Wink

7.9.8? Wink

There is no Xenialpup 7.9.8.
I made a mistake and typed Xenialpup when a meant to type Bionicpup.

_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer) http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107601
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ITSMERSH

Joined: 02 May 2018
Posts: 911

PostPosted: Fri 22 Feb 2019, 19:56    Post subject:  

Fresh install booted into ram only (pfix=ram).

Confused

Grub4DOS Boot Menu Entry wrote:
title Puppy Testing (RAM) \n Originalversion
find --set-root --ignore-floppies /PupTest/initrd.gz
kernel /PupTest/vmlinuz plang=de_DE.UTF-8 pkeys=de psubdir=PupTest pmedia=atahd pfix=ram
initrd /PupTest/initrd.gz
Screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   114.44 KB
 Viewed   599 Time(s)

Screenshot.jpg


_________________
RSH

Beware of the Dog ähem nic007! Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
666philb


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 3491
Location: wales

PostPosted: Fri 22 Feb 2019, 21:29    Post subject:  

ITSMERSH wrote:
Fresh install booted into ram only (pfix=ram).

Confused

Grub4DOS Boot Menu Entry wrote:
title Puppy Testing (RAM) \n Originalversion
find --set-root --ignore-floppies /PupTest/initrd.gz
kernel /PupTest/vmlinuz plang=de_DE.UTF-8 pkeys=de psubdir=PupTest pmedia=atahd pfix=ram
initrd /PupTest/initrd.gz


hi ITSMERSH ,

do you still get the problem if you boot without the German settings?
Code:
kernel /PupTest/vmlinuz psubdir=PupTest pmedia=atahd pfix=ram

_________________
Bionicpup64 built with bionic beaver packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=114311
Xenialpup64, built with xenial xerus packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107331
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ITSMERSH

Joined: 02 May 2018
Posts: 911

PostPosted: Sat 23 Feb 2019, 03:26    Post subject:  

Quote:
do you still get the problem if you boot without the German settings?

No.
Everything's fine then.

But would be cool if it would work with those German settings, as I need them in the kernel line booting into RAM only in general.
Screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   137.2 KB
 Viewed   517 Time(s)

Screenshot.jpg


_________________
RSH

Beware of the Dog ähem nic007! Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
666philb


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 3491
Location: wales

PostPosted: Sat 23 Feb 2019, 05:59    Post subject:  

ITSMERSH wrote:
Quote:
do you still get the problem if you boot without the German settings?

No.
Everything's fine then.

But would be cool if it would work with those German settings, as I need them in the kernel line booting into RAM only in general.


before i raise an issue on woofce, does it affect any other applications or just pmount?

_________________
Bionicpup64 built with bionic beaver packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=114311
Xenialpup64, built with xenial xerus packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107331
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
RedQuine

Joined: 20 Mar 2015
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Sat 23 Feb 2019, 06:34    Post subject:  

Two issues with the upgrade, although one of them is minor:

1. On first boot, I was unable to configure my trackpad with flSynclient. A dialog box popped up, but it only had an exclamation mark in it (no text), and when I clicked OK, flSynclient closed. Once I'd created a fresh pupsave and rebooted, it worked perfectly - so this one's definitely just a minor issue. Smile

2. I decided to be sensible and boot into RAM as suggested. I then created a new pupsave and rebooted.

At this point, I would normally open my old pupsave and copy across my favourite tweaks and quirks to the new one. Unfortunately, this time, the old one appears to have been wiped; all it contains is a broken symlink to /initrd/mnt/tmpfs/pup_rw

Should I have copied everything off it before I rebooted with the new pupsave? I've never had to do that before; unless I upgraded it, the old one was left untouched. Not a disaster as I had a recent backup, but worth mentioning nonetheless.

Other than that, everything's looking great so far. Many thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
666philb


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 3491
Location: wales

PostPosted: Sat 23 Feb 2019, 06:49    Post subject:  

RedQuine wrote:
Two issues with the upgrade, although one of them is minor:

1. On first boot, I was unable to configure my trackpad with flSynclient. A dialog box popped up, but it only had an exclamation mark in it (no text), and when I clicked OK, flSynclient closed. Once I'd created a fresh pupsave and rebooted, it worked perfectly - so this one's definitely just a minor issue. Smile

2. I decided to be sensible and boot into RAM as suggested. I then created a new pupsave and rebooted.

At this point, I would normally open my old pupsave and copy across my favourite tweaks and quirks to the new one. Unfortunately, this time, the old one appears to have been wiped; all it contains is a broken symlink to /initrd/mnt/tmpfs/pup_rw

Should I have copied everything off it before I rebooted with the new pupsave? I've never had to do that before; unless I upgraded it, the old one was left untouched. Not a disaster as I had a recent backup, but worth mentioning nonetheless.

Other than that, everything's looking great so far. Many thanks!


there's been a lot of changes in woofce during bionicpupos development and using old savefiles from the betas isn't recommended and is known to cause problems

_________________
Bionicpup64 built with bionic beaver packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=114311
Xenialpup64, built with xenial xerus packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107331
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
artsown

Joined: 12 Sep 2012
Posts: 348

PostPosted: Sat 23 Feb 2019, 08:12    Post subject:  

Fresh "from scratch" frugal to hard drive of 8.0 using a core i5 and 4 gig
ram desktop. Installation of all my usual stuff was uneventful. It seems that
8.0 is noticeably faster than the 7.9.8 rc.

I noticed that 8.0 has the same old HTOP version 1.0.3 that xenialpup64
version 7.5 has. Ram useage reports are now much lower than they
are on bio 7.9.8 rc with its version 2.0.2 version HTOP. In fact, the
ram useage reports are comparable to xenialpup64. I wonder why
you chose the old and outdated version of HTOP for the 8.0 release?

Anyway, your bionicpup64 is by far the best pup for my purposes, and
I thank you again for it!

Art
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
RedQuine

Joined: 20 Mar 2015
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Sat 23 Feb 2019, 09:28    Post subject:  

666philb wrote:
RedQuine wrote:

At this point, I would normally open my old pupsave and copy across my favourite tweaks and quirks to the new one. Unfortunately, this time, the old one appears to have been wiped; all it contains is a broken symlink to /initrd/mnt/tmpfs/pup_rw



there's been a lot of changes in woofce during bionicpupos development and using old savefiles from the betas isn't recommended and is known to cause problems


I appreciate the reasons for the change and I'm absolutely fine with them. However, there were icons and application settings in there which shouldn't have caused any problems with woofce, and I appear to have lost them all permanently. As I say, I have a backup so it's not a disaster. I was just wondering why the old pupsave was wiped during the upgrade.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
666philb


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 3491
Location: wales

PostPosted: Sat 23 Feb 2019, 10:18    Post subject:  

artsown wrote:
Fresh "from scratch" frugal to hard drive of 8.0 using a core i5 and 4 gig
ram desktop. Installation of all my usual stuff was uneventful. It seems that
8.0 is noticeably faster than the 7.9.8 rc.

I noticed that 8.0 has the same old HTOP version 1.0.3 that xenialpup64
version 7.5 has. Ram useage reports are now much lower than they
are on bio 7.9.8 rc with its version 2.0.2 version HTOP. In fact, the
ram useage reports are comparable to xenialpup64. I wonder why
you chose the old and outdated version of HTOP for the 8.0 release?

Anyway, your bionicpup64 is by far the best pup for my purposes, and
I thank you again for it!

Art
believe it or not this wasn't deliberate & i've just spent the last 40mins trying to figure this out. Htop has always been a .pet in bionic and when building with woof it looks for the .pet in allocated repos. in bionicpup it looks in this order.
Packages-puppy-bionic-official
Packages-puppy-noarch-official
Packages-puppy-xenial64-official
Packages-puppy-tahr64-official
Packages-puppy-common64-official
i built htop 2.10 for bionicpup but never added to bionicpups repo as it didn't render properly in urxvt with its default settings.
so woof not finding htop in bionicpup repo should next look in noarch not find it there,and then xenial where it does find it.
in this build this is what it has done and grabbed xenials htop 1.0.3.

unusually in older builds, it skipped the htop in xenials repo and grabbed htop 2.0.2 from tahrpups repo. (no idea why this htop-2.0.2 never got used in tahr or xenial, was possibly added for tahr6.0.6 which never materialised)

anyway i'm currently re-uploading the iso & devx as i missed a printing bug fix, so i also added htop 2.0.2 as i think it shows a more realistic memory usage.

thanks for pointing this out.

_________________
Bionicpup64 built with bionic beaver packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=114311
Xenialpup64, built with xenial xerus packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107331
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
666philb


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 3491
Location: wales

PostPosted: Sat 23 Feb 2019, 10:26    Post subject:  

RedQuine wrote:
666philb wrote:
RedQuine wrote:

At this point, I would normally open my old pupsave and copy across my favourite tweaks and quirks to the new one. Unfortunately, this time, the old one appears to have been wiped; all it contains is a broken symlink to /initrd/mnt/tmpfs/pup_rw



there's been a lot of changes in woofce during bionicpupos development and using old savefiles from the betas isn't recommended and is known to cause problems


I appreciate the reasons for the change and I'm absolutely fine with them. However, there were icons and application settings in there which shouldn't have caused any problems with woofce, and I appear to have lost them all permanently. As I say, I have a backup so it's not a disaster. I was just wondering why the old pupsave was wiped during the upgrade.


hi RedQuine,

i've just tested and seen what you mean. i've taken down the iso and will raise an issue on woofce

thankyou for reporting

_________________
Bionicpup64 built with bionic beaver packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=114311
Xenialpup64, built with xenial xerus packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107331
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ITSMERSH

Joined: 02 May 2018
Posts: 911

PostPosted: Sat 23 Feb 2019, 11:14    Post subject:  

Quote:
before i raise an issue on woofce, does it affect any other applications or just pmount?

I don't know.

Is there any other applications that could be affected?

_________________
RSH

Beware of the Dog ähem nic007! Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 12730
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sat 23 Feb 2019, 12:00    Post subject:  

The first Bionicpup64 8.0
Fresh Frugal, using save folder

Before or while you are rebuilding.

I need to use pmcpucurt64 for my temp readout on the tray.

I see you have a pet for it in the Bionicpup64 repository.

In PPM did a search for pmcpucurt64.
The results are it is already installed.

Did a search for it in Pfind.
It says it could not find it Shocked

Not sure what is going on here.

From a earlier post. Not sure if this is corrected yet.
Quote:
CPU temperature monitor for 64-bit Pups
I see someone has uploaded pmcpucurt64.pet to the ibiblio.org site for bionicpup64 pet packages.
http://distro.ibiblio.org/puppylinux/pet_packages-bionic64/
This pet package is missing the /root/.config/autostart/pmcpucurt.desktop

So, when the pet is installed. Nothing is put into the autostart directory to make the program load. Thus it is not running and no temp is displayed in the tray.


Here is the topic for pmcpucurt64
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=114502

Update:
I went to the pmcpucurt64 topic and downloaded and installed the pmcpucurt64.pet.
I also needed the sensors64x.pet.
Now have a working temp indicator in the tray.
Screenshot.png
 Description   
 Filesize   52.34 KB
 Viewed   332 Time(s)

Screenshot.png

Screenshot(1).png
 Description   
 Filesize   32.67 KB
 Viewed   332 Time(s)

Screenshot(1).png

Screenshot(2).png
 Description   
 Filesize   31.55 KB
 Viewed   332 Time(s)

Screenshot(2).png


_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer) http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107601
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 3067

PostPosted: Sat 23 Feb 2019, 12:27    Post subject:  

No major complains Smile
I was surprised at first with these automatic connections on startup but I realised is because of all these scripts in the Startup folder.

Here is the proprietary "wl" broadcom wifi driver and the Facetime broadcom 1570 PCIe webcam driver for the Bionicpup64 8.0 CE, if anyone needs them.

_________________
== Here is how to solve your Linux problems fast ==
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rockedge


Joined: 11 Apr 2012
Posts: 1262
Location: Connecticut, United States

PostPosted: Sat 23 Feb 2019, 13:08    Post subject:  

when will the ISO and devx be avialable for download again?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 42 of 67 [1002 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, ..., 65, 66, 67 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1219s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0602s) ][ GZIP on ]