Request ISO mount

Requests go here. If you fill a request, give it a new thread in the appropriate category and then link to it in the request thread.
Post Reply
Message
Author
SolusUmbra
Posts: 120
Joined: Thu 11 May 2017, 13:42

Request ISO mount

#1 Post by SolusUmbra »

I'm looking for a .pet I can use to mount ISO files and use. Kind of like Virtual CloneDrive or MagicISO;
http://www.magiciso.com/tutorials/miso- ... erview.htm
Right now I'm using Dpup Stretch 7.5 (32bit)

User avatar
a_salty_dogg
Posts: 180
Joined: Sun 15 Dec 2013, 19:08

#2 Post by a_salty_dogg »

You simply navigate to the ISO in your file-manager of choice, then single click on its icon to "mount" it.

A new window opens and you can then copy over any or all of its contents as you wish, to a different folder, in the normal way.

Then, when you're done, you must once again click on the ISO icon to "unmount" it, which closes the new window.


Is this what you were looking to do?

SolusUmbra
Posts: 120
Joined: Thu 11 May 2017, 13:42

#3 Post by SolusUmbra »

What if I don’t want to copy it but run it?

User avatar
fredx181
Posts: 4448
Joined: Wed 11 Dec 2013, 12:37
Location: holland

#4 Post by fredx181 »

SolusUmbra wrote:What if I don’t want to copy it but run it?
If you mean that you want to boot directly from the ISO, look at Isobooter

EDIT: Or use something like virtualbox to run the ISO from inside the OS you are using.

Fred

User avatar
rcrsn51
Posts: 13096
Joined: Tue 05 Sep 2006, 13:50
Location: Stratford, Ontario

#5 Post by rcrsn51 »

Or do you want to run a program inside the ISO, like the auto-run feature for CD's in Windows?

SolusUmbra
Posts: 120
Joined: Thu 11 May 2017, 13:42

#6 Post by SolusUmbra »

When I clicked to mount it, it says it’s failed.
I found a programs called AcetoneISO and it worked to mount and open th iso file. I’ve been told that it might say iso but might not be a real iso file..... and that some day I might want to see if there is a way to convert it to a real iso so Linux can use it without a secondary problem.

User avatar
rcrsn51
Posts: 13096
Joined: Tue 05 Sep 2006, 13:50
Location: Stratford, Ontario

#7 Post by rcrsn51 »

SolusUmbra wrote:I’ve been told that it might say iso but might not be a real iso file
Run: file xxx.iso

This might identify the actual type.

SolusUmbra
Posts: 120
Joined: Thu 11 May 2017, 13:42

#8 Post by SolusUmbra »

Tried that it just said data.

User avatar
rcrsn51
Posts: 13096
Joined: Tue 05 Sep 2006, 13:50
Location: Stratford, Ontario

#9 Post by rcrsn51 »

It should say "ISO", so there is definitely something wrong with the file. Does it have the right icon for an ISO file?

SolusUmbra
Posts: 120
Joined: Thu 11 May 2017, 13:42

#10 Post by SolusUmbra »

What should the icon look like?

ITSMERSH

#11 Post by ITSMERSH »

Like a CD.

SolusUmbra
Posts: 120
Joined: Thu 11 May 2017, 13:42

#12 Post by SolusUmbra »

Yes it looks like a white/silver cd. I created it with imgburn, and acetoneISO will accept and run it, so it must be some kind of iso. Imgburn says the file system is ISO09660, Jolie. I have no idea what it all means but there it is. Haha

User avatar
fredx181
Posts: 4448
Joined: Wed 11 Dec 2013, 12:37
Location: holland

#13 Post by fredx181 »

You can try from command-line in terminal, something like:

Code: Select all

mkdir -p /root/isomount
mount -t iso9660 -o loop "/path/to/name.iso" /root/isomount
(change "/path/to/name.iso" to what it is in reality for you)

If it doesn't work, there should be some error message.
EDIT: To unmount:

Code: Select all

umount /root/isomount
Fred

SolusUmbra
Posts: 120
Joined: Thu 11 May 2017, 13:42

#14 Post by SolusUmbra »

Ok here is what I got;
mount-FULL: wrong fs type, bad option, bad superblock on /dev/loop4,
missing codepage or helper program, or other error

In some cases useful info is found in syslog - try
dmesg | tail or so.
#
# dmesg | tail
wlan0: RX AssocResp from ec:1a:59:b1:b8:64 (capab=0x411 status=0 aid=5)
wlan0: associated
ip_tables: (C) 2000-2006 Netfilter Core Team
8021q: 802.1Q VLAN Support v1.8
nf_conntrack version 0.5.0 (7746 buckets, 30984 max)
cpufreq: ondemand governor failed, too long transition latency of HW, fallback to performance governor
sky2 0000:02:00.0 eth0: enabling interface
aufs au_warn_loopback:122:kworker/u5:5[2053]: you may want to try another patch for loopback file on ext4(0xef53) branch
ISOFS: Unable to identify CD-ROM format.
ISOFS: Unable to identify CD-ROM format.

User avatar
fredx181
Posts: 4448
Joined: Wed 11 Dec 2013, 12:37
Location: holland

#15 Post by fredx181 »

Mmm.. strange, looks like there's something special about this iso, maybe try without specifying the type:

Code: Select all

mkdir -p /root/isomount
mount -o loop "/path/to/name.iso" /root/isomount
Or specify "-t auto":

Code: Select all

mkdir -p /root/isomount
mount -t auto -o loop "/path/to/name.iso" /root/isomount
If none works, I'm out of ideas.

Fred

jamesbond
Posts: 3433
Joined: Mon 26 Feb 2007, 05:02
Location: The Blue Marble

#16 Post by jamesbond »

Methinks it's not an ISO file. The fact that "file" command returns "data" is a clue.

There are many "cdimage" formats which aren't iso, e.g. BIN/CUE format, NRG format, and many others. These format may contain an ISO inside (e.g. a BIN/CUE image may be contain an ISO image inside), but as far as "mount" is concerned, it is __NOT__ an ISO.

There is a way to handle these non-ISO formats, but each requires specialised programs.
Fatdog64 forum links: [url=http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=117546]Latest version[/url] | [url=https://cutt.ly/ke8sn5H]Contributed packages[/url] | [url=https://cutt.ly/se8scrb]ISO builder[/url]

SolusUmbra
Posts: 120
Joined: Thu 11 May 2017, 13:42

#17 Post by SolusUmbra »

NTFS signature is missing.
Failed to mount '/dev/loop5': Invalid argument
The device '/dev/loop5' doesn't seem to have a valid NTFS.
Maybe the wrong device is used? Or the whole disk instead of a
partition (e.g. /dev/sda, not /dev/sda1)? Or the other way around?

Post Reply