Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 23 Oct 2019, 17:52
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
BionicDog (updated: 2018-06-04)
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 51 of 56 [839 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56 Next
Author Message
fredx181


Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 4125
Location: holland

PostPosted: Thu 14 Mar 2019, 14:52    Post subject:  

Ether wrote:
This is not intended to be snarky or unappreciative, by why wasn't "pulseaudio" included in the ISO? Are there other known missing pieces I should install in order to be more fully binary compatible with Ubuntu Bionic universe repo?


Yes, ok, well.. I'd say in fact the Ubuntu maintainers should have made pulseaudio a dependency of Firefox, apparently they assume that pulseaudio is already installed.
I didn't include in the ISO because of trying to keep it as small as possible (and I don't like pulseaudio very much personally)

Not sure if you really need pulseaudio, if not, the easiest is to install again the 'firefox-apulse" package.
It can update itself to the latest version (currently 65.0.1).
(but needs libatomic1 installed, see my above post)

Or keep the Ubuntu universe Firefox and run it with apulse,(just tested and sound works).
Therefore you need to reinstall the apulse package:
Code:
apt-get install --reinstall apulse

And then run Firefox this way:
Code:
apulse firefox


Also then you may need to edit the firefox launcher in /usr/share/applications, find the line with "Exec=" and change to:
Code:
Exec=apulse firefox %u


Fred

_________________
Dog Linux website
Tinylinux blog by wiak
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Ether

Joined: 21 Aug 2013
Posts: 202

PostPosted: Thu 14 Mar 2019, 21:08    Post subject: BionicDog32 no sound  

fredx181 wrote:
I'd say in fact the Ubuntu maintainers should have made pulseaudio a dependency of Firefox, apparently they assume that pulseaudio is already installed.


That thought occurred to me after posting my question

Quote:
I didn't include in the ISO because of trying to keep it as small as possible


I was thinking that was probably the reason.

Out of curiousity, how many of these close-call decisions does a dog-linux developer have to make? Is it a handful, or scores, or hundreds... ?


Quote:
(and I don't like pulseaudio very much personally)


May I ask why?


Quote:
Not sure if you really need pulseaudio, if not, the easiest is to install again the 'firefox-apulse" package.
It can update itself to the latest version (currently 65.0.1).
(but needs libatomic1 installed, see my above post)


Quote:
Or keep the Ubuntu universe Firefox and run it with apulse,(just tested and sound works).
Therefore you need to reinstall the apulse package:
Code:
apt-get install --reinstall apulse

And then run Firefox this way:
Code:
apulse firefox


After trying both the above, and other variations (like starting with a fresh install), I could not get Firefox in BionicDog32 to play sound.

DebDog Jessie works. XenialPup works. BionicPup works. But I can't get BionicDog32 (which is the one I want) to work.

I've attached several screenshots showing a fresh install. If you could make some additional suggestions how to proceed from there I will try them:
which_update_link.jpg
Description 
jpg

 Download 
Filename  which_update_link.jpg 
Filesize  61.25 KB 
Downloaded  57 Time(s) 
firefox-apulse (first run).jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   18.89 KB
 Viewed   581 Time(s)

firefox-apulse (first run).jpg

menu.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   7.54 KB
 Viewed   575 Time(s)

menu.jpg

firefox (as puppy).jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   22.9 KB
 Viewed   575 Time(s)

firefox (as puppy).jpg

firefox (as puppy).jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   22.9 KB
 Viewed   599 Time(s)

firefox (as puppy).jpg

firefox-apulse.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   20.52 KB
 Viewed   599 Time(s)

firefox-apulse.jpg

apps.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   13.48 KB
 Viewed   580 Time(s)

apps.jpg

synaptic_libatomic1.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   20.55 KB
 Viewed   606 Time(s)

synaptic_libatomic1.jpg

synaptic_apulse.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   12.79 KB
 Viewed   602 Time(s)

synaptic_apulse.jpg

synaptic_firefox.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   17.95 KB
 Viewed   578 Time(s)

synaptic_firefox.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fredx181


Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 4125
Location: holland

PostPosted: Fri 15 Mar 2019, 03:30    Post subject:  

Hi Ether, I'm in a hurry, so keeping it short .
Well... yes, I can imagine it's all very confusing, but the solution is very simple
From a fresh install of BD:
- install libatomic1
- update firefox from Help > About (after ran just "Firefox" from menu, not Firefox as puppy)
As it is described here:
https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/update-firefox-latest-version

Gotta think about a less confusing setup, probably later I'll make a new firefox-apulse package (v65) with correct dependencies (libatomic1, apulse)

Fred

_________________
Dog Linux website
Tinylinux blog by wiak
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Ether

Joined: 21 Aug 2013
Posts: 202

PostPosted: Fri 15 Mar 2019, 11:36    Post subject: BionicDog32 no sound  

fredx181 wrote:

From a fresh install of BD:
- install libatomic1
- update firefox from Help > About (after ran just "Firefox" from menu, not Firefox as puppy)
As it is described here:
https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/update-firefox-latest-version


Still no sound. Bummer. See attachments.

I will provide whatever info you request and do any tests that might be helpful if you are willing to pursue this.

Audio:
Card-1: Intel 82801G AC97
Audio driver: snd_intel8x0 v: kernel bus ID: 00:1e.2
chip ID: 8086:27de
Sound Server: ALSA v: k4.15.0-22-generic
synaptic libatomic1 ready to download.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   29.28 KB
 Viewed   571 Time(s)

synaptic libatomic1 ready to download.jpg

synaptic libatomic1 changes applied.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   25.27 KB
 Viewed   544 Time(s)

synaptic libatomic1 changes applied.jpg

synaptic libatomic1 shows installed.jpg
Description 
jpg

 Download 
Filename  synaptic libatomic1 shows installed.jpg 
Filesize  48.73 KB 
Downloaded  53 Time(s) 
firefox_65.0.1 (32 bit).jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   27.85 KB
 Viewed   518 Time(s)

firefox_65.0.1 (32 bit).jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fredx181


Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 4125
Location: holland

PostPosted: Fri 15 Mar 2019, 13:32    Post subject:  

Hi Ether, I wonder, from a pristine install of BD, sound does work for you ? (with firefox or with any other application, e.g. mplayer or mpv)
If not, there's a problem you have that I don't understand.
You do have adjusted alsamixer to maximum ?
To clarify about libatomic1, it has not to do with sound, just without it the newest firefox wouldn't run.
Is apulse in PATH ?, check with:
Code:
which apulse


Fred

_________________
Dog Linux website
Tinylinux blog by wiak
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Ether

Joined: 21 Aug 2013
Posts: 202

PostPosted: Fri 15 Mar 2019, 15:41    Post subject:  

fredx181 wrote:
from a pristine install of BD, sound does work for you ? (with firefox...


No.

fredx181 wrote:
... or with any other application, e.g. mplayer or mpv)


No. I tried to play WAV and MP3 files on my hard disk using each of the audio apps in the "audio" category of the "start"menu. No sound. See attachments

fredx181 wrote:

You do have adjusted alsamixer to maximum ?


I don't know. I've never used it, Where would I find that? There's a mixer icon in the task bar (see attachment) but it doesn't work (nothing happens when I click on it or use the scroll wheel on the mouse)


fredx181 wrote:

Is apulse in PATH ?, check with:
Code:
which apulse


See attachment.

.
which apulse.png
 Description   
 Filesize   16.15 KB
 Viewed   470 Time(s)

which apulse.png

mixer task bar icon.png
 Description   
 Filesize   44.02 KB
 Viewed   474 Time(s)

mixer task bar icon.png

audio menu.png
 Description   
 Filesize   59.32 KB
 Viewed   472 Time(s)

audio menu.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fredx181


Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 4125
Location: holland

PostPosted: Fri 15 Mar 2019, 16:40    Post subject:  

Hi Ether,
Quote:
fredx181 wrote:
... or with any other application, e.g. mplayer or mpv)


No. I tried to play WAV and MP3 files on my hard disk using each of the audio apps in the "audio" category of the "start"menu. No sound. See attachments


Aha, that's a whole different issue, no sound at all, I thought you had no sound with firefox only.

What you could try:
From terminal:
Code:
audio-setup

It will run "alsactl init" and should display alsamixer then
Or, if that doesn't work as expected: from Menu > System > Sound Card Selector , to select your soundcard, maybe that's required.

Btw, updated package firefox-apulse to v65, install from Synaptic and upgrade apulse, or from terminal with apt-get:
Code:
apt-get update
apt-get install firefox-apulse
apt-get install apulse


Fred

_________________
Dog Linux website
Tinylinux blog by wiak
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Ether

Joined: 21 Aug 2013
Posts: 202

PostPosted: Fri 15 Mar 2019, 20:46    Post subject:  

fredx181 wrote:
Aha, that's a whole different issue, no sound at all, I thought you had no sound with firefox only.

Sorry, I didn't realize that until you suggested I try playing some local audio files.

fredx181 wrote:
What you could try:
From terminal:
Code:
audio-setup

root@live:~# audio-setup
+ alsactl init
Found hardware: "ICH4" "Analog Devices AD1981B" "AC97a:41445374" "0x1028" "0x01ad"
Hardware is initialized using a generic method
+ alsamixer
cannot open mixer: No such file or directory
root@live:~#

root@live:~# inxi -A
Audio: Card-1: Intel 82801G AC97 Audio driver: snd_intel8x0
Sound Server: ALSA v: k4.15.0-22-generic
root@live:~#


fredx181 wrote:
Or, if that doesn't work as expected: from Menu > System > Sound Card Selector

See attachment

fredx181 wrote:
Btw, updated package firefox-apulse to v65, install from Synaptic and upgrade apulse, or from terminal with apt-get:
Code:
apt-get update
apt-get install firefox-apulse
apt-get install apulse


Ran that, Firefox was updated to 65.0.2, still no sound

.
sound card selector.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   23.64 KB
 Viewed   425 Time(s)

sound card selector.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 12748
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 16 Mar 2019, 11:00    Post subject:  

@Ether: In Sound Card Selector, does the drop-down list of available cards ONLY show Card 1?

Have you used the Select and Edit buttons to set that card as the default audio output?

What does your /root/.asound.rc file currently contain?

You can verify that you have the right card by running "alsamixer" from the command line.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Ether

Joined: 21 Aug 2013
Posts: 202

PostPosted: Sat 16 Mar 2019, 16:12    Post subject: BionicDog no sound FIXED  

@fredx181 & @rcrsn51

Sound is working now.

Thanks for hanging in there and helping me.

/root/.asound.rc file was missing.

.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 12748
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 16 Mar 2019, 16:18    Post subject: Re: BionicDog no sound FIXED  

Ether wrote:
/root/.asound.rc file was missing.

It would have been useful if you had answered my questions.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fredx181


Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 4125
Location: holland

PostPosted: Sat 16 Mar 2019, 16:32    Post subject: Re: BionicDog no sound FIXED  

Ether wrote:
@fredx181 & @rcrsn51

Sound is working now.

Thanks for hanging in there and helping me.

/root/.asound.rc file was missing.

.


How exactly did you solve it then ?

_________________
Dog Linux website
Tinylinux blog by wiak
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Ether

Joined: 21 Aug 2013
Posts: 202

PostPosted: Sat 16 Mar 2019, 16:33    Post subject: Re: BionicDog no sound FIXED  

rcrsn51 wrote:
Ether wrote:
/root/.asound.rc file was missing.

It would have been useful if you had answered my questions.


Yes

Yes

The file was missing.

.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Ether

Joined: 21 Aug 2013
Posts: 202

PostPosted: Sat 16 Mar 2019, 16:35    Post subject: Re: BionicDog no sound FIXED  

fredx181 wrote:
How exactly did you solve it then ?


I created the file /root/.asound.rc and put the following contents in it:

defaults.pcm.card 1
defaults.pcm.device 4
defaults.ctl.card 1

.

Thank you both. It's working now.

.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Ether

Joined: 21 Aug 2013
Posts: 202

PostPosted: Sat 16 Mar 2019, 16:44    Post subject: Re: BionicDog no sound FIXED  

Ether wrote:
Thank you both. It's working now.


If it would be helpful, I can start with a fresh install and take detailed notes and screenshots.

If there is a specific sequence of steps and/or screenshots you would prefer let me know and I will do that.

.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 51 of 56 [839 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1157s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0554s) ][ GZIP on ]