Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 11 Nov 2019, 19:19
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Bionicpup64 8.0 CE
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 50 of 69 [1022 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, ..., 67, 68, 69 Next
Author Message
Revolverve


Joined: 08 Nov 2008
Posts: 245
Location: 45°17'28.8"N 72°16'08.8"W_avatar/ mira.ca

PostPosted: Mon 18 Mar 2019, 10:32    Post subject:  

Switch from chromium to gg-chrome.
Update google-chrome option work but need restartx,for cache clearing or something? would adding an "in script warning" worth it ?

_________________
Help mira.ca
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
westwest

Joined: 10 Apr 2015
Posts: 71

PostPosted: Wed 20 Mar 2019, 22:49    Post subject: firefox  

Firefox will not play audio in BionicPup64 8.0.
All is well in earlier versions.

Strangely enough, Fred's latest DevuanDog has the exact same issue.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 12824
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Wed 20 Mar 2019, 23:24    Post subject:  

What version of Firefox?
Where are you getting it to install?
Is it the Firefox offered in Quickpet?

_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer) http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107601
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dancytron

Joined: 18 Jul 2012
Posts: 1387

PostPosted: Wed 20 Mar 2019, 23:43    Post subject:  

666philb wrote:
dancytron wrote:
I attempted to do a remaster and while it successfully created the /mnt/home/puppylivecd directory with all of the correct stuff just like I wanted, it did not create the *.iso file. There were no errors that I could see.

I've attached a screenshot showing that there is no *.iso file where there should be and also a "readme.txt" file that outlines exactly what I was trying to do.

I am guessing that there is some package that creates the iso file that is missing???????


hi dancytron,

i just tried a remaster and it worked for me. is this bionicpup64-8.0? also are you using an old savefile from the betas? as there was an issue with remastering in older bionicpups.


Sorry it took so long to get back.

My bad. Apparently it didn't like how I changed the label for the CD when it asked.

If I don't change the label, it works fine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
westwest

Joined: 10 Apr 2015
Posts: 71

PostPosted: Thu 21 Mar 2019, 00:02    Post subject: firefox  

So the quickpet version of Firefox has no sound issue, thanks.
Does this mean that Fred's portable version is not considered an option?
It is after all very useful.

Also, the Mouse Input problem has been fixed,
but now it seems the settings are simply not saved at all.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 12824
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Thu 21 Mar 2019, 00:34    Post subject:  

Let's see!
You think I can provide help if you ask questions about the questions I asked. Rolling Eyes
Do you think we ask questions just to ask questions!
You simply answering the questions I asked, will tell me much of what I need to know, to help you!!

Ok I will play your game.
The firefox offered in Quickpet, sound should work.
Does for me.

_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer) http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107601
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 12824
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Thu 21 Mar 2019, 00:43    Post subject:  

Quote:
Also, the Mouse Input problem has been fixed,
but now it seems the settings are simply not saved at all.

If Bionicpup is a live install or a frugal install, you need a save file or folder made to save settings.
Have you made one?

_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer) http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107601
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
westwest

Joined: 10 Apr 2015
Posts: 71

PostPosted: Thu 21 Mar 2019, 02:13    Post subject: firefox et al  

Ah, well i was in fact reporting that the quickpet version of Firefox in BionicPup64 8.0 CE has no sound problem whatsoever, having tried it, of course. And thank you.

And that while using a savefile, the Mouse Input wizard that erstwhile froze the touchpad now seems, but only seems, to register no change of settings, unless said settings revert to the original configuration everytime the wizard is run. That is, not accross reboots.

I would also be curious to know whether the portable version of Firefox floating around on this forum will be or will not be an option for BionicPup64 at some point. This out of sheer curiosity.

And, once again, no xorg.0.log appears in PupSysInfo.

I can only hope that my middling concerns about sundry details in this distro may improve it by a half iota.

Thanks again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 12824
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Thu 21 Mar 2019, 12:50    Post subject:  

Some of your problems are the classic result of just a bad install of Bionicpup64 8.0 or any Puppy version.
It can happen.

A bad iso download.
A bad initial install of the iso contents.

If installing to a partition formatted fat32 or ntfs.
Best to start with a partition freshly formatted or defraged and checked using Windows defrag and chkdsk programs.

A download of the iso, placed in a fragmented file system, can do strange things to the iso, before you even use it.
The iso download gets written in a fragmented state.

Fat32 and ntfs formats can fragment.

A fresh new download of the iso and a fresh clean install, can fix some strange problems.

If you tried to use a save from an older version of Bionicpup64.
Not sure that really works, with this new issue of using a old save, when a newer version of the Woof-CE was used to make the newer Puppy version.

So far, I have seen no issues from using a older save in Bionicpup64 8.0. But the warning is there about not doing it.
Maybe the change from Bionicpup64 7.9.8 to 8.0 was not big enough Idea .
Screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   61.76 KB
 Viewed   436 Time(s)

Screenshot.jpg


_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer) http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107601
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 12824
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Thu 21 Mar 2019, 13:06    Post subject:  

Quote:
I would also be curious to know whether the portable version of Firefox floating around on this forum will be or will not be an option for BionicPup64 at some point. This out of sheer curiosity.

That is an issue you need to ask in the portable Firefox topic.
I assume you are talking about this one:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=112376

Maybe the apulse stuff, in this portable Firefox, is conflicting with the Apulse stuff, already in Bionicpup64 8.0 Idea

The Firefox, from Quickpet, seems to work with the apulse stuff, already in Bionicpup64 8.0

_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer) http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107601
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 3680
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Thu 21 Mar 2019, 15:36    Post subject: Bionicpup64 8.0 CE  

I did a manual frugal install to the hard drive:
Installed the proprietary Nvidia driver.
VIDEO REPORT: bionicpup64, version 8.0
Actual rendering on monitor:
Resolution: 1920x1080 pixels (602x343 millimeters)
Depth: 24 planes

direct rendering: Yes
server glx vendor string: NVIDIA Corporation
server glx version string: 1.4
OpenGL vendor string: NVIDIA Corporation
OpenGL renderer string: GeForce GT 430/PCIe/SSE2
OpenGL core profile version string: 4.6.0 NVIDIA 390.116

Works good so far,
Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
westwest

Joined: 10 Apr 2015
Posts: 71

PostPosted: Thu 21 Mar 2019, 18:16    Post subject: biopup  

Using GktHash, the MD5 and SHA256 of my iso are identical to the ones from where i downloaded it,
namely http://distro.ibiblio.org/puppylinux/puppy-bionic/bionicpup64/...

I did a manual frugal install, on ext4 partition alongside other pups,
and started a fresh savefile.

Perhaps there are other aspects of the downloading and install that need be addressed?

One more struggle is that X Keyboard properties also resets periodically
and stubbornly to the default values (delay=660, rate=25). This just happened right now,
as i was checking for details.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
westwest

Joined: 10 Apr 2015
Posts: 71

PostPosted: Thu 21 Mar 2019, 18:24    Post subject: biopup  

On the upside, specifying the driver in Xorg.conf instead of letting the system figure it out now gives a xorg.0.log in PupSysInfo.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
westwest

Joined: 10 Apr 2015
Posts: 71

PostPosted: Thu 21 Mar 2019, 18:26    Post subject: biopup  

As for Firefox, the same behaviour occured with a download direct from Mozilla, which does not include Apulse, unless i am mistaken.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 12824
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Thu 21 Mar 2019, 20:28    Post subject:  

Now you know why software has to be compiled for specific Linux operating systems.

Use the Firefox offered in Quickpet.

The Firefox in Quickpet has a few extra files that make it work in Bionicpup64 8.0

_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer) http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107601
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 50 of 69 [1022 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, ..., 67, 68, 69 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1031s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0537s) ][ GZIP on ]