Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 22 Nov 2019, 07:02
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Engineering/Science/Simulation
freecad app.image
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [15 Posts]  
Author Message
Revolverve


Joined: 08 Nov 2008
Posts: 247
Location: 45°17'28.8"N 72°16'08.8"W_avatar/ mira.ca

PostPosted: Tue 05 Feb 2019, 10:36    Post subject:  freecad app.image
Subject description: All puppy's (&fatdog) only 64bits? stable+dev(0.19)
 

Learned a lot making freecad sfs.
New app.image bring it all .
(app.image...freecad)

Will i be nostalgic? not at all

here testing
FreeCAD_0.18.15780_Conda_Py3Qt5_glibc2.12-x86_64
in bionicpup64
... enjoy evolution!

I cannot find a 32bit freecad appimage...none exist,if you find,ask devs for one,let it know!
more testing needed indeed...in
-tahrpup64 , need libgstreamer1.0-0_1.2.4-0ubuntu1.1_amd64+libgstreamer-plugins-base1.0-0_1.2.4-1~ubuntu2.1_amd64

-Fatdog64 800,nothing is missing but there is an openbox not investigared something of a glitch,share it if you find it!
Screenshot.png
 Description   bionicpup64
 Filesize   219.43 KB
 Viewed   726 Time(s)

Screenshot.png


_________________
Help mira.ca

Last edited by Revolverve on Sat 22 Jun 2019, 08:36; edited 10 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rockedge


Joined: 11 Apr 2012
Posts: 1282
Location: Connecticut, United States

PostPosted: Wed 06 Feb 2019, 16:53    Post subject:  

using FreeCAD_0.18.15780.glibc2.17-x86_64.AppImage at the moment !!

nice program
Screenshots(1).png
 Description   
 Filesize   194.06 KB
 Viewed   667 Time(s)

Screenshots(1).png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Revolverve


Joined: 08 Nov 2008
Posts: 247
Location: 45°17'28.8"N 72°16'08.8"W_avatar/ mira.ca

PostPosted: Fri 08 Feb 2019, 11:17    Post subject:  

I will try to resume tested puppy's results in first post..please test&post your favorites tested ones ,32 & 64 bits.
(edit...oups,cannot find a 32 bits one...)

Are app.image be less sensible to break libs/system instead of sfs/layer(mount/unmount) when used in ¨already included libs¨ system?
of what i read,it should.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rockedge


Joined: 11 Apr 2012
Posts: 1282
Location: Connecticut, United States

PostPosted: Sat 09 Feb 2019, 11:08    Post subject:  

using FreeCAD_0.18.15780.glibc2.17-x86_64.AppImage on a Bionicpup64 7.9.8 CE RC system.

it seems to be running 100%
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Hesse James


Joined: 08 Feb 2010
Posts: 96

PostPosted: Mon 01 Apr 2019, 15:45    Post subject:  

Hello
At the weekend I discovered a new version of FreeCAD 0.19 which was built with qt5 (FreeCAD_0.19.16207_Conda_Py3Qt5_glibc2.12-x86_64). It weights 279 MB.
I could not resist and investigated if the large size of this appimage could be reduced.
As a first step I removed the accompanying qt5.6.2 and added some missing qt5.9.5 libs of Puppy Bionic. Using the higher compression ration of the sfs file reduced also the size. Finally I ended up with a file size of 188 MB.
With respect to Bionicpup64 8.0 CE, a lot of other libs could have been removed because of they are already included in Bionic64, but I left it as it is.
So far I did not notice any new strange behavoir because of the replacement, but who knows...

https://www.mediafire.com/file/dq23nb22llrykkg/FreeCAD_0.19.16207_Conda_Py3Qt5_glibc2.12-x86_64.sfs

Regards
Christian
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Revolverve


Joined: 08 Nov 2008
Posts: 247
Location: 45°17'28.8"N 72°16'08.8"W_avatar/ mira.ca

PostPosted: Wed 03 Apr 2019, 09:23    Post subject:  

Hesse James wrote:
Hello
At the weekend I discovered a new version of FreeCAD 0.19 which was built with qt5 (FreeCAD_0.19.16207_Conda_Py3Qt5_glibc2.12-x86_64). It weights 279 MB.
Christian

Link to app.image from their wiki 0.19 seems broken...
this link alive
Have not test your 0.19 , their seems to fully work .
Removing doc alone could shrink of 50-60mb...if size matter.

Rather than shrink/repack the appimage i would look in the update option,if you need recent version and you can get somewhere with AppImageUpdate-x86 or appimageupdatetool-x86_64.AppImage .

_________________
Help mira.ca
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Revolverve


Joined: 08 Nov 2008
Posts: 247
Location: 45°17'28.8"N 72°16'08.8"W_avatar/ mira.ca

PostPosted: Sat 22 Jun 2019, 08:35    Post subject:  

Link to app-image on first post lead to freecadweb.org/wiki/Appimage#Modifying_AppImages

that page include link to stable or daily dev app-image.

_________________
Help mira.ca
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Revolverve


Joined: 08 Nov 2008
Posts: 247
Location: 45°17'28.8"N 72°16'08.8"W_avatar/ mira.ca

PostPosted: Tue 15 Oct 2019, 22:10    Post subject:  

link to Freecad0.19 appimage
https://github.com/FreeCAD/FreeCAD/releases

FreeCAD_0.19-18522-Linux-Conda_Py3Qt5_glibc2.12-x86_64.AppImage

Edit;0.19 pre appimage link in this post wont start ,
funky error that need investigation
- ERROR:zygote_host_impl_linux.cc(89)] Running as root without --no-sandbox is not supported. See https://crbug.com/638180.
Script completed hit RETURN to close window.

hmm...link to chromium error...

_________________
Help mira.ca

Last edited by Revolverve on Mon 28 Oct 2019, 10:27; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Revolverve


Joined: 08 Nov 2008
Posts: 247
Location: 45°17'28.8"N 72°16'08.8"W_avatar/ mira.ca

PostPosted: Mon 28 Oct 2019, 10:26    Post subject:  

Link post to dev fc.appimage....404 error.. are update as pre-dev-build are...as state in fc wiki;Development happens daily and rapidly, the link for the most up-to-date AppImage is a moving target.But find stable / dev link to appimage here...
so i'll remove those links to keep things ¨clean¨...

_________________
Help mira.ca
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Revolverve


Joined: 08 Nov 2008
Posts: 247
Location: 45°17'28.8"N 72°16'08.8"W_avatar/ mira.ca

PostPosted: Wed 30 Oct 2019, 12:46    Post subject:  

About AppImageUpdater-**git-latest**-x86_64.AppImage simple gui/drag-drop as suggest in FreeCad-wiki
in bionicpup64 you need to install;
-appstream_0.12.0 and dependencies
-gpgv2_2.2.4 and dependencies.
----works for me---
That fc utility is a must considering the size of it!well,of both!!
AppImageUpdater-9b4000e-x86_64.AppImage=8mb
FreeCad ApImage=360-520mb

By the way,UExtract does ¨unpack¨ appimage!!!
If needed..

_________________
Help mira.ca
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Revolverve


Joined: 08 Nov 2008
Posts: 247
Location: 45°17'28.8"N 72°16'08.8"W_avatar/ mira.ca

PostPosted: Thu 31 Oct 2019, 14:34    Post subject:  

Edit ;posted below a new solution.
Got latest fc dev to load using this modified google-chrome run-as-spot script on extracted*(caution-,371mb appimage=1220mb extracted) appimage; test on bionicpup64.
***a test here..100% no warranty***
_____
-so get freecad 0.19 latest dev appimage
-extract it(UExtract does it)
-download and edit the script to your need
-make it executable
-run it

your .freacad.conf there:
/root/spot/.config/FreeCAD
your user.cfg there;
/root/spot/.FreeCAD
know bug;
-saving files outside spot folder get exception error

**well,having fc appimage extracted/¨unsquash¨ load very fast**
**in data field consumption;371mb appimage=1220mb extracted---woooo... and you have to keep both if you intend to use AppImage update tool**


anybody know who create this script for chrome??
Any help,hints ,suggestion is thankfully welcome
freecadstart.sh.tar.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  freecadstart.sh.tar.gz 
Filesize  628 Bytes 
Downloaded  13 Time(s) 

_________________
Help mira.ca

Last edited by Revolverve on Thu 07 Nov 2019, 23:37; edited 3 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Revolverve


Joined: 08 Nov 2008
Posts: 247
Location: 45°17'28.8"N 72°16'08.8"W_avatar/ mira.ca

PostPosted: Tue 05 Nov 2019, 09:44    Post subject:  

Oops...edited suggested script in post : Thu 31 Oct 2019, 15:34 ...fix typo errors.
_________________
Help mira.ca
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Revolverve


Joined: 08 Nov 2008
Posts: 247
Location: 45°17'28.8"N 72°16'08.8"W_avatar/ mira.ca

PostPosted: Thu 07 Nov 2019, 23:19    Post subject:  

Thanks to Freecad appimage devs patience...
There is another short and sweet solution to the root(more sandboxing) glitch for latest 0.19 appimage.

- From extracted appimage
- Edit the AppRun ,add one line:
export QTWEBENGINE_DISABLE_SANDBOX=1
-----------------
run it
-----------------
repack the appimage if you can ...i have not succeeded that yet..
as i posted,its faster to run fc appimage ¨extracted¨ anyway.

Any help,hints ,suggestion comments are thankfully welcome

_________________
Help mira.ca
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Revolverve


Joined: 08 Nov 2008
Posts: 247
Location: 45°17'28.8"N 72°16'08.8"W_avatar/ mira.ca

PostPosted: Fri 08 Nov 2019, 12:27    Post subject:  

In bionicpup64 ,using appimagetool-x86_64.AppImage finally succeeded at recreating the appimage.

Beware** you need plenty of ram to execute this inside e.g. /tmp
4gb here was not enough....
The easiest way(..less console use as possible...could have been novice user way..):
-install gnupg2 + dependencies
-rename your extacted appimage to squash-root
-get the appimagetool-x86_64.AppImage ,
save it to;e.g./tmp assuming your ¨renamed target¨ is in /tmp/squashfs-root
-give executable permissions to appimagetool-x86_64.AppImage
-terminal here(e.g.;/tmp)
./appimagetool-x86_64.AppImage squashfs-root

----------------------
you should end up with an executable ¨rebuild appimage¨
e.g. here in /tmp/FreeCAD_Conda-x86_64.AppImage

May i will edit first post eventually to include the hints/solutions ..
if ever this topic get to something different then a talk to myself..

of topic note;often ask myself;should i post it in lets say
---House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)26624 Topics--888pages of it!!!
or
-- HOWTO ( Solutions ) [1803 Topics]
choose to post links to ¨my projects/interest¨ here and there in related topics trying to keep forum concise & searchable as possible..it is getting big..no wonder after 15 years of it..
no offence here to anybody but , i still have a hard time using forum search engine!!!
Anyhow ,long live to puppies and variants!!!!

_________________
Help mira.ca
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Revolverve


Joined: 08 Nov 2008
Posts: 247
Location: 45°17'28.8"N 72°16'08.8"W_avatar/ mira.ca

PostPosted: Sat 09 Nov 2019, 10:55    Post subject:  

Lets throw some more sand in the box about the above posts...

As ;
-its not recommended to disable sandboxing,
in the name of security,if your insecure here!!!
- that disabling sandboxing with the last solution save your .FreeCAD user directory in /root
-that using run-as-spot script save those in /root/spot,which,tell me if i am wrong here,be see as a more secure practice...

You could use both solutions, on extracted appimage...
That way,if you ever use Freecad webengine to pay your online bills!!!!,
or be the funny one to do a 3D replicate of your credit card!!?*!!²¤$!!
you will feel a little more secure Smile

_________________
Help mira.ca
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [15 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Engineering/Science/Simulation
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0585s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0124s) ][ GZIP on ]