Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 20 Jul 2019, 18:16
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Network
TeamViewer packages for Puppy.....
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 4 of 4 [59 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4
Author Message
RedQuine

Joined: 20 Mar 2015
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Fri 17 May 2019, 04:15    Post subject:  

In that case, you might need to add the repo manually. Which Puppy are you using, and is it 32- or 64-bit?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jp734

Joined: 29 Mar 2014
Posts: 104

PostPosted: Fri 17 May 2019, 07:04    Post subject:  

Xenial 7.5 64 bit
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
RedQuine

Joined: 20 Mar 2015
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Sat 18 May 2019, 08:15    Post subject:  

I've now tried installing it in Xenial, but without success. Sorry!

On closer inspection, Teamviewer 14 isn't working properly in Bionic either. I can't sign in, so I can't access the secure connections I've set up for friends and family members (which is why I use it in the first place).

I'll keep rummaging for solutions and let you know if I get anywhere.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jp734

Joined: 29 Mar 2014
Posts: 104

PostPosted: Sat 18 May 2019, 18:38    Post subject:  

Thanks. Appreciate you taking the trouble. Maybe I'll try BionicPup64 and see how it goes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gjuhasz


Joined: 29 Sep 2008
Posts: 386

PostPosted: Sun 19 May 2019, 17:47    Post subject: TeamViewer web plugin  

RedQuine wrote:
Teamviewer 14 isn't working properly in Bionic either.
I'll keep rummaging for solutions and let you know if I get anywhere.


Did you try the chrome web plugin?

https://chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/teamviewer/oooiobdokpcfdlahlmcddobejikcmkfo

Version 14.0.47319. Works with many chromium-based browsers.

Have fun!

Regards,

gjuhasz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jp734

Joined: 29 Mar 2014
Posts: 104

PostPosted: Sun 19 May 2019, 20:56    Post subject:  

I've heard of the chrome remote desktop plugin but honestly haven't tried. Maybe one day. It's just hard to introduce new programs to people who are not computer savvy and start training from the beginning. With TV, they are already familiar with everything.

Anyways, tried bionicpup today and got teamviewer installed and working. The only thing though is, it is version 14.1.3399. We use 14.2.8352 and wasn't sure if it will work, so I extracted the installation file downloaded from teamviewer website and saved in a folder. Created a script and....IT WORKED!

So I went from no TV working to having two versions. Smile ---- Plus all the SFS and other programs I used in Xenial 7.5 including Brother printer/scanner work. Safe to say I'm going to be a BionicPup user for a good while and it has that CLASSIC jwm UI.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
RedQuine

Joined: 20 Mar 2015
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Mon 20 May 2019, 14:25    Post subject: Re: TeamViewer web plugin  

gjuhasz wrote:


Did you try the chrome web plugin?

https://chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/teamviewer/oooiobdokpcfdlahlmcddobejikcmkfo

Version 14.0.47319. Works with many chromium-based browsers.



I'd forgotten about the Chrome plugin. Thanks for the reminder, gjuhasz!

The only thing I couldn't do with the desktop version was sign in to access saved PCs. Using the web plugin with Iron, I was able to access them no problem. It's also a fair bit lighter than the desktop version as it doesn't require all those dependencies (although it's still quite hefty for a web app).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 5156
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Thu 23 May 2019, 13:36    Post subject:  

@ gjuhasz:-

Thanks for the info about the web-app. I wasn't even aware this existed; it's a far easier way, for those of us who are regular Chrome/Chromium/Iron/Slimjet users, of getting TeamViewer running.....without all the messing about with Qt5.

And of course, this one'll keep itself up-to-date!

I've done my usual workaround, of turning it into a 'standalone' desktop app, by using the unique Chrome app 'code' in a script in /root/my-applications/bin, accessed via a .desktop entry to give me a standard Menu entry.

Click on the MenuEntry, and seconds later, the 'web-app' fires-up by itself on the desktop:-

[Click to enlarge]





Nice one. Cheers, gjuhasz!


Mike. Wink

_________________
MY 'PUPPY' PACKAGES

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fredx181


Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 3987
Location: holland

PostPosted: Thu 23 May 2019, 14:43    Post subject:  

Hi Mike,

Off-topic question, how you get the small image in your post and the "click to enlarge" thing ?
Is that a feature available from postimg.cc or could it be possible also when adding a "[img]" link to a https address from e.g. google-drive or dropbox ?

Thanks, Fred

_________________
Dog Linux website
Tinylinux blog by wiak
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 5156
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Thu 23 May 2019, 17:53    Post subject:  

Hallo, Fred!

Actually, that's rufwoof's doing ('discovery', I suppose you could call it).

I always used to use Imgur for my image-sharing. Just over a year ago, they decided to 'upgrade' the front-page, and nothing was working properly.....at all. Much of the time, the site was completely unresponsive. It went on for so long that I got fed-up waiting for things to return to normal, so I looked around for another image host.....and switched to PostImage.

rufwoof posted a reply to a thread I'm participating in, earlier on today, and used one of these 'clickable' thumbnails. I, too, was curious as to how he'd managed it, so I clicked on the 'Quote' button to bring up the text of his post, in order to take a gander at the URL 'code'. I realised it was PostImage as soon as I clicked on it to see it in more detail, and thought'A-HA. I like this...!'

These are the PostImage sharing options:-





Normally, I use 'Direct link', and ensure the image is the right size for the forum before I post it. The URL for this image in 'clickable thumbnail' mode looks like this:-

Code:
[url=https://postimg.cc/t17D7NpB][img]https://i.postimg.cc/t17D7NpB/image-97.png[/img][/url]


.....which when put to use, gives this result (this is the 'Thumbnail for forums' option, for the image shown in the options above):-

[Click to enlarge]





It works just as well with GIFs as it does with static images.

Whether it's specific to PostImage, I don't know. I haven't used Imgur for ages, but I vaguely recall they had a whole bunch of similar options.....though whether the URL layout was the same, I can't say. I suspect this kinda thing ought to work with most image hosts, whatever the provider's usual method of delivery.


Mike. Wink

_________________
MY 'PUPPY' PACKAGES


Last edited by Mike Walsh on Thu 23 May 2019, 18:08; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
RedQuine

Joined: 20 Mar 2015
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Thu 23 May 2019, 17:58    Post subject:  

Mike Walsh wrote:
@ gjuhasz:-

I've done my usual workaround, of turning it into a 'standalone' desktop app, by using the unique Chrome app 'code' in a script in /root/my-applications/bin, accessed via a .desktop entry to give me a standard Menu entry.



Fantastic idea, Mike! Could I beg you for the script, or instructions on how to do it myself please? Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 5156
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Thu 23 May 2019, 18:32    Post subject:  

@ RedQuine:-

RedQuine wrote:
Fantastic idea, Mike! Could I beg you for the script, or instructions on how to do it myself please? Smile


You can have both, mate. Here's the actual 'launch' script, which runs from /root/my-applications/bin:-

Code:
#!/bin/sh
#
# Fire up TeamViewer web app
#
/usr/share/iron/chrome --user-data-dir=/usr/share/.config/iron --no-sandbox --profile-directory=Default --app-id=oooiobdokpcfdlahlmcddobejikcmkfo --disable-infobars


(Don't take the above directory locations literally; I run a 'shared' copy of Iron 69 from a remote partition, which is located in/sym-linked to /usr/share. The .config directory is also in the same directory.....I use a load of non-standard locations for a whole range of things..!

Suffice it to say you need to call the executable and specify the 'user-data-dir', just as you would with any Chromium-based browser's wrapper-script.)

For details/instructions, see this thread from around 18 months back, when I was first exploring the wonderful world of Chrome 'web-apps', and the process for creating your own.

Chrome itself will no longer permit you to do this, but that's Google's limitation; the Chromium browser (where Google get Chrome's code from), and all the Chromium 'clones', still allow the process. The 'formula' for how to put it all together and get the 'launcher script' created is, I think, about 6-7 posts in. The thing to remember is that every 'web-app' created will have its own, unique, 32-character 'identifier' (the 'app-id').....but that 'identifier' will remain the same, regardless of which browser 'clone' you actually use to open it with.

Hope that helps.


Mike. Wink

_________________
MY 'PUPPY' PACKAGES


Last edited by Mike Walsh on Fri 24 May 2019, 20:03; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fredx181


Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 3987
Location: holland

PostPosted: Fri 24 May 2019, 12:23    Post subject:  

Mike Walsh wrote:
rufwoof posted a reply to a thread I'm participating in, earlier on today, and used one of these 'clickable' thumbnails. I, too, was curious as to how he'd managed it, so I clicked on the 'Quote' button to bring up the text of his post, in order to take a gander at the URL 'code'. I realised it was PostImage as soon as I clicked on it to see it in more detail, and thought'A-HA. I like this...!'


Ah, thumbnail, feature from postimg.cc, thanks Mike, looks like it's not possible with a dropbox link, although I didn't really investigate (yet).

Fred

_________________
Dog Linux website
Tinylinux blog by wiak
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
RedQuine

Joined: 20 Mar 2015
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Fri 24 May 2019, 16:06    Post subject:  

Mike Walsh wrote:


/usr/share/iron/chrome --user-data-dir=/usr/share/.config/iron --no-sandbox --profile-directory=Default --app-id=oooiobdokpcfdlahlmcddobejikcmkfo --disable-infobars


Ah....! Suddenly, it all makes sense. Very Happy

That seems to work beautifully. I still can't access my Computers & Contacts the way I used to (with a clickable list of the PCs I'd already set up), but I can do that on the management console in the browser when required. Meanwhile, the desktop app provides a great quick fix for quick fixes (or at least a quick way to find out what the other person's squealing about).

Cheers for that! I'm off to play with the rest of my Chrome apps now. I may be some time........
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 4 of 4 [59 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Network
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0672s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0184s) ][ GZIP on ]