Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 16 Jul 2019, 06:46
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Getting gamepads to work in Precise(and probably XenialPup)?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [5 Posts]  
Author Message
Makoto


Joined: 03 Sep 2009
Posts: 2206
Location: Out wandering... maybe.

PostPosted: Wed 03 Jul 2019, 02:06    Post subject:  Getting gamepads to work in Precise(and probably XenialPup)?  

I've got a pair of Logitech gamepads I'd like to use under Precise (and XenialPup, I guess, though I spend most of the time in Precise): a Logitech Precision pad, and the F310 pad.

I was - and still am, on those occasions when I boot back into 4.3.1 - using the Precision with Puppy 4.3.1. I don't remember all that I may have installed or modified to get it to the point, where to get the gamepad to work, I just had to enter
Code:
modprobe usbhid
...in a terminal window.

Trying that in Precise just fails:
Code:
# modprobe usbhid
FATAL: Module usbhid not found.

_________________
[ Puppy 4.3.1 JP, Frugal install | 1GB RAM | 1.3GB swap ] * [ Puppy Precise 5.7.1 JP, Frugal install ] * [XenialPup 64 7.5, Frugal install]
In memory of our beloved American Eskimo puppy (1995-2010) and black Lab puppy (1997-2011).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Makoto


Joined: 03 Sep 2009
Posts: 2206
Location: Out wandering... maybe.

PostPosted: Fri 12 Jul 2019, 06:00    Post subject:  

...anyone?
_________________
[ Puppy 4.3.1 JP, Frugal install | 1GB RAM | 1.3GB swap ] * [ Puppy Precise 5.7.1 JP, Frugal install ] * [XenialPup 64 7.5, Frugal install]
In memory of our beloved American Eskimo puppy (1995-2010) and black Lab puppy (1997-2011).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 12318
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Fri 12 Jul 2019, 07:37    Post subject:  

Usually the usbhid is a module in the Linux kernel.
So,
Code:
modprobe usbhid
should load it.
Well, if the module was compiled into the kernel, when the kernel was compiled.

Check this.
Not exactly sure where it is in the Precise menu, usually under System.
Run Boot Manager>Modules
Two places to check.

Under Add new Module
See if usbhid is listed as not loaded and try loading it.

Under Blacklist Module
See if it may be blacklisted and can be un-blacklisted.

Have you tried it in Xenialpup?

_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer) http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107601
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 12318
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Fri 12 Jul 2019, 08:03    Post subject:  

If no module is found.

Try a search for usbhid in the Puppy Package Manager.
Maybe it will find a lib package for installing it.
Maybe something like libusbhid-something-something.

_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer) http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107601
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Makoto


Joined: 03 Sep 2009
Posts: 2206
Location: Out wandering... maybe.

PostPosted: Fri 12 Jul 2019, 20:42    Post subject:  

bigpup wrote:
Usually the usbhid is a module in the Linux kernel.
So,
Code:
modprobe usbhid
should load it.
Well, if the module was compiled into the kernel, when the kernel was compiled.

Check this.
Not exactly sure where it is in the Precise menu, usually under System.
Run Boot Manager>Modules
Two places to check.

Under Add new Module
See if usbhid is listed as not loaded and try loading it.




No luck, unfortunately.

Quote:
Under Blacklist Module
See if it may be blacklisted and can be un-blacklisted.




Nor here. Sad

Quote:
Have you tried it in Xenialpup?


Not yet. Embarassed I spend 99% of my time in Precise, so that's why I've been putting effort into trying to get it to work there.

bigpup wrote:
If no module is found.

Try a search for usbhid in the Puppy Package Manager.
Maybe it will find a lib package for installing it.
Maybe something like libusbhid-something-something.


That was the first thing I'd tried. Sad


_________________
[ Puppy 4.3.1 JP, Frugal install | 1GB RAM | 1.3GB swap ] * [ Puppy Precise 5.7.1 JP, Frugal install ] * [XenialPup 64 7.5, Frugal install]
In memory of our beloved American Eskimo puppy (1995-2010) and black Lab puppy (1997-2011).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [5 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0343s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0050s) ][ GZIP on ]