Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 18 Aug 2019, 09:53
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Audio
No sound from Bionic Pup 32 on Toshiba
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 2 [29 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Author Message
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 12442
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sun 04 Aug 2019, 21:08    Post subject:  

In the recent Puppy versions. The PCM in Retrovol is set to on and does not have a way to turn it off.
It is always needed, so no need to be able to turn it off.

You should be able to adjust PCM in Retrovol mixer.
So make sure it is turned up.

So, I do not think that is your problem unless the mixer PCM slider is turned down.

_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer) http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107601
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
geo_c

Joined: 15 Nov 2010
Posts: 110

PostPosted: Thu 08 Aug 2019, 05:56    Post subject:  

Thanks bigpup.

Definitely not the problem.I was hopeful about the IRQ thing, but it seems like that is solved, and so now I'm at a loss.

I am also running my pups on another machine which is a Dell with only one CPU, it's not even dual core. That machine miraculously runs Win10, but painfully slow. Still the pups run well enough, though I wouldn't say snappy. I have sound from upup on that machine. Those are frugals on a windows partition, whereas the Toshiba are frugals on a linux partition, and that's totally the way to go. Blazing fast and versatile!

It's difficult to ever want to run windows. Though I still have difficulty with certain applications in puppy and studio1337, in particular Musescore, which is necessary to my line of work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 12442
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Thu 08 Aug 2019, 08:10    Post subject:  

Quote:
ALSA Sound Wizard>Multiple Cards
There are not multiple soundcards, just analog and digital outs on the card itself. Hw0 and Hw1, and I have the analog one selected.

Selecting analog and using it is usually the fix.

Here is something you can try.

Navigate in Rox file manager to /etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base.conf file.
Left click on alsa-base.conf to open in a text editor.
add this at the end of the file. Do not modify anything else in this file!
Code:
options snd-hda-intel model=generic

Save change.
Reboot to get changes into the save and to get the new change used.

If no help.
Can try using one of these. Only use one at a time replacing, what did not work.
Code:
options snd-hda-intel model=auto

options snd-hda-intel model=auto, enable_msi=1

options snd-hda-intel model=3stack

_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer) http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107601
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
geo_c

Joined: 15 Nov 2010
Posts: 110

PostPosted: Thu 08 Aug 2019, 09:39    Post subject:  

Thanks again. No-go with those lines though. The hardware all shows up in the mixers, both retrovol, and ALSA, just no sound.

There is a curious thing in the retrovol config that looks like this:
retrovol-config.png
Description  I mean the soundcard "Pro Mask" controls, when chosen and applied they always end up back on the unused controls side of the window. Maybe they are normal, but I don't know what they are.
png

 Download 
Filename  retrovol-config.png 
Filesize  108.65 KB 
Downloaded  24 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 12442
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Fri 09 Aug 2019, 15:40    Post subject:  

That hardware setup part of Retrovol Configure has bugs and never has really worked that well.
The developer of the Retrovol program is no longer around and no one has really tried to fix the minor bugs.
Retrovol usually just works and selects what is needed.

I know you said you are using the analog device when you look in menu>Setup>ALSA Sound Wizard>Multiple Cards

Can you post an image of what it shows..

Example of mine. It uses the same driver and works:
Screenshot(1).png
 Description   
 Filesize   33.8 KB
 Viewed   156 Time(s)

Screenshot(1).png


_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer) http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107601
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 12442
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Fri 09 Aug 2019, 15:50    Post subject:  

If this is a laptop computer.

Sure it does not have a manual switch to turn speakers off/on?
Most do.
Something like FN+some other key.

_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer) http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107601
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 12442
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Fri 09 Aug 2019, 15:59    Post subject:  

Note:

When you post images.
Edit them in MtPaint.
Image>Scale Canvas
Set width no more than 700.

That will post to forum as an image and not a download image.

_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer) http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107601
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Smithy


Joined: 12 Dec 2011
Posts: 1040

PostPosted: Fri 09 Aug 2019, 19:03    Post subject:  

Maybe you could try a 3.1, 3.3 version of Puppy Studio.
Failing that, maybe one of Fred's Dogs, maybe an older one.
Can't think of much more, Puppy should just pick it up and play, with a bit of tears in the older retrovol thing, but fine these days.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Terry H

Joined: 29 Mar 2009
Posts: 645
Location: The Heart of Muskoka, ON Canada

PostPosted: Fri 09 Aug 2019, 21:08    Post subject:  

If you don't have a file /etc/asound.conf , create one containing the following contents, to see if that helps.
Code:
defaults.pcm.card 1
defaults.pcm.device 0
defaults.ctl.card 1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mtzlplex


Joined: 21 Nov 2013
Posts: 59

PostPosted: Sat 10 Aug 2019, 21:22    Post subject:  

I`ll probably get chastised for this suggestion since it is not based on troubleshooting the os. What I did after spending a month trying to troubleshoot a sound issue on a Puppy distro I loved was to purchase a external usb virtual 7.1 channel 3D audio sound card. Purchased off ebay cost 5 or 6 US dollars free shipping, took 4 or 5 days to receive. Plug and Play. Something to consider if all else fails. Good luck.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
geo_c

Joined: 15 Nov 2010
Posts: 110

PostPosted: Tue 13 Aug 2019, 10:46    Post subject:  

Thanks everyone!

bigpup, my soundcard looks the same as yours, with just one hdmi option and analog is chosen. I have worked with all the hardware switches, fn key, and so forth.

Smithy, I already tried Studio1337 v4, and same thing. No sound.

But not to worry, it's funny that I was one step ahead of mtzplex. I decided to use this machine, which has a nice display and runs very fast, as a media computer for my stereo - a system involving a nice Carver pre-amp, an ART stereo USB interface, and some Klipsch Forte speakers. Runs great in that setup. Sound works well through USB, dual booting BionicPup and Studio 1337 from the hard drive. It's a sweet deal, especially running the 1337 jack software, multi-track recording and so forth, of which I do a lot.

So I'm typing this from a tiny Toshiba with a single celeron 1.3ghz processor and 2mg of Ram, triple booting Win10, BionicPup, and Studio1337. It's not fast, but adequate for daily business.

I appreciate, really appreciate all the help on this forum. And I love these distros, I got into them just as Lupu5.1 came out. They've come a long way!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mtzlplex


Joined: 21 Nov 2013
Posts: 59

PostPosted: Tue 13 Aug 2019, 11:04    Post subject:  

Glad to hear everything worked out for you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 12442
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Wed 14 Aug 2019, 00:22    Post subject:  

I am using Bionicpup64 8.0 on my computer that sound works.
This is the 64 bit version of Bionicpup 8.0

Wonder how Bionicpup64 8.0 would work on yours. Idea

_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer) http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107601
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
geo_c

Joined: 15 Nov 2010
Posts: 110

PostPosted: Thu 15 Aug 2019, 09:23    Post subject:  

Well this machine is 32bit. It came with winXP. I actually tried booting 64bit from the live CD when I first tried Bionic. It returned a message and said it can't run on that machine, so I downloaded 32 bit.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 2 [29 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Audio
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0478s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0046s) ][ GZIP on ]