Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 24 Apr 2014, 03:42
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
HSF/HCF softmodem dotpups available for testing
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 4 [51 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4 Next

Has any of these drivers worked for anyone?
Yes
0%
 0%  [ 0 ]
No
0%
 0%  [ 0 ]
Still Trying
100%
 100%  [ 3 ]
Total Votes : 3

Author Message
Johnny Reb


Joined: 05 Aug 2005
Posts: 132
Location: The Confederate States of America (occupied)

PostPosted: Fri 19 Aug 2005, 01:51    Post subject:  

Johnny Reb wrote:
Deleted by Flash. (Duplicate of previous post.)

Incidentally, the originator of a post can edit it at any time.


Thanks for deleting that Flash. It was so late when I made that post that it didn't occure to me that I could delete it.

_________________
He who dares not offend cannot be honest.
~ Thomas Paine
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger 
ICQ Number 
jcoder24


Joined: 06 May 2005
Posts: 601
Location: Barbados

PostPosted: Fri 19 Aug 2005, 06:53    Post subject:  

Unfortunately my monitor has also suffered a melt down and my power supply decided to follow it so I can't produce the new .pup which hopefully should make things easier for people trying to install the hcf modem.

~~~~

After you install the .pup, change to the root directory and extract the files. hcfpciconfig would be on the PATH and should be found when you try to run it. Also hcfpciconfig would be able to find the config files in /etc/hcfpci/.

cd /
tar xvfz $PATH-TO-FILE/hcf-extra.tar.gz

you should now have

/bin/hcfpciconfig
/bin/hcfpcistop
/etc/hcfpci/config
/etc/hcfpci/current.cty
/etc/hcfpci/current.inf
/etc/hcfpci/inf/hcfv90_lan_linux.inf
/etc/hcfpci/inf/hcfv90_linux.inf
/etc/hcfpci/inf/hcfv92_linux.inf
/etc/hcfpci/inf/hcfv92_riptide_linux.inf
/etc/hcfpci/inf/hcf_linux.cty
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Johnny Reb


Joined: 05 Aug 2005
Posts: 132
Location: The Confederate States of America (occupied)

PostPosted: Thu 25 Aug 2005, 02:09    Post subject:  

jcoder24 wrote:

After you install the .pup, change to the root directory and extract the files. hcfpciconfig would be on the PATH and should be found when you try to run it. Also hcfpciconfig would be able to find the config files in /etc/hcfpci/.

cd /
tar xvfz $PATH-TO-FILE/hcf-extra.tar.gz

jcoder,

I've not had any luck yet, but I've got an idea what the problem *might* be. When I run the .pup it places the files in the /lib/modules/2.4.29/hsfmodem directory and not the /lib/modules/2.4.29/hcfmodem directory. I copied the output from my last attempt at installing, and will paste it in below so maybe that will be of some assistance in diagnosing what is going on.

bash-3.00# tar xvfz /lib/modules/2.4.29/hsfmodem/hcf-extra.tar.gz
tar (child): /lib/modules/2.4.29/hsfmodem/hcf-extra.tar.gz: Cannot open: No such file or directory
tar (child): Error is not recoverable: exiting now
tar: Child returned status 2
tar: Error exit delayed from previous errors

_________________
He who dares not offend cannot be honest.
~ Thomas Paine
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger 
ICQ Number 
jcoder24


Joined: 06 May 2005
Posts: 601
Location: Barbados

PostPosted: Fri 26 Aug 2005, 22:26    Post subject:  

*** modified ***

Uploaded a new HCF dotpup package. This is the only file you'll need.

Please download from Page 1. http://www.murga.org/~puppy/viewtopic.php?t=1625

Note you will have to run the run the "HSF/HCF modem setup" from the setup menu each time you restart puppy.

Last edited by jcoder24 on Sun 28 Aug 2005, 08:38; edited 5 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Johnny Reb


Joined: 05 Aug 2005
Posts: 132
Location: The Confederate States of America (occupied)

PostPosted: Sun 28 Aug 2005, 05:03    Post subject:  

jcoder24 wrote:
Uploaded a new HCF dotpup package. This is the only file you'll need.

Download link -- http://www.murga.org/~puppy/download.php?id=457

Note you will have to run the run the "HSF/HCF modem setup" from the setup menu each time you restart puppy.


jcoder, I hate to have to tell you this, but you put the hsf modem files in this dotpup instead of the hcf modem files, either that or you uploaded the wrong dotpup.

I can't speak for anyone else, but I really appriciate the effort you are putting into this.

_________________
He who dares not offend cannot be honest.
~ Thomas Paine
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger 
ICQ Number 
jcoder24


Joined: 06 May 2005
Posts: 601
Location: Barbados

PostPosted: Sun 28 Aug 2005, 08:26    Post subject:  

Download the file hcfmodem.pup package from Page 1. That is the correct file.

http://www.murga.org/~puppy/viewtopic.php?t=1625

Page 1 also contains instructions for installing and using the driver.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Johnny Reb


Joined: 05 Aug 2005
Posts: 132
Location: The Confederate States of America (occupied)

PostPosted: Mon 29 Aug 2005, 03:50    Post subject:  

jcoder24 wrote:
Download the file hcfmodem.pup package from Page 1. That is the correct file.[/b]


Thanks jcoder, I got it downloaded, and will be trying it out tomorrow for sure (tonight if I have time). I'll let you know ASAP if it works (ASAP may be a few days if this hurricane takes down the power, even though I'm located a long way inland they are still predicting high winds, and power outages).

_________________
He who dares not offend cannot be honest.
~ Thomas Paine
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger 
ICQ Number 
Johnny Reb


Joined: 05 Aug 2005
Posts: 132
Location: The Confederate States of America (occupied)

PostPosted: Tue 30 Aug 2005, 03:24    Post subject:  

jcoder, I got the modem installed! However, I've not got it to actually work yet. None of the dialer programs will work with it. WvDial does recognize that it's there, but returns with an error message which unfortunatly I will be unable to read until my new monitor arrives (working with a monitor that does not dispaly red at all really sucks). After trying the dialer programs, I tried the terminal, and got some results, which may give someone with more knowlege an idea about what's going on. The results are:

See pppd(Cool for more options.
# pppd modem
~ÿ}#À!}!}!} }4}"}&} } } } }%}&º˜K&}'}"}(}"Sˆ~~ÿ}#À!}!}!} }4}"}&} } } } }%}&º˜K&}'}"}(}"Sˆ~~ÿ}#À!}!}!} }4}"}&} } } } }%}&º˜K&}'}"}(}"Sˆ~~ÿ}#À!}!}!} }4}"}&} } } } }%}&º˜K&}'}"}(}"Sˆ~~ÿ}#À!}!}!} }4}"}&} } } } }%}&º˜K&}'}"}(}"Sˆ~~ÿ}#À!}!}!} }4}"}&} } } } }%}&º˜K&}'}"}(}"Sˆ~~ÿ}#À!}!}!} }4}"}&} } } } }%}&º˜K&}'}"}(}"Sˆ~~ÿ}#À!}!}!} }4}"}&} } } } }%}&º˜K&}'}"}(}"Sˆ~~ÿ}#À!}!}!} }4}"}&} } } } }%}&º˜K&}'}"}(}"Sˆ~~ÿ}#À!}!}!} }4}"}&} } } } }%}&º˜K&}'}"}(}"Sˆ~
# pppd crtscts modem
~ÿ}#À!}!}!} }4}"}&} } } } }%}&Z}(A(}'}"}(}"Òë~~ÿ}#À!}!}!} }4}"}&} } } } }%}&Z}(A(}'}"}(}"Òë~~ÿ}#À!}!}!} }4}"}&} } } } }%}&Z}(A(}'}"}(}"Òë~~ÿ}#À!}!}!} }4}"}&} } } } }%}&Z}(A(}'}"}(}"Òë~~ÿ}#À!}!}!} }4}"}&} } } } }%}&Z}(A(}'}"}(}"Òë~~ÿ}#À!}!}!} }4}"}&} } } } }%}&Z}(A(}'}"}(}"Òë~~ÿ}#À!}!}!} }4}"}&} } } } }%}&Z}(A(}'}"}(}"Òë~~ÿ}#À!}!}!} }4}"}&} } } } }%}&Z}(A(}'}"}(}"Òë~~ÿ}#À!}!}!} }4}"}&} } } } }%}&Z}(A(}'}"}(}"Òë~~ÿ}#À!}!}!} }4}"}&} } } } }%}&Z}(A(}'}"}(}"Òë~
# pppd crtscts mru n modem
Segmentation fault
# pppd mru n
Segmentation fault
#

Note: the modem never made any sound at all, but as you can see there was some communication with it.

I hope that will be enough for you to diagnose what the problem is, and if it's not please let me know any additional info that you need. Thanks.

_________________
He who dares not offend cannot be honest.
~ Thomas Paine
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger 
ICQ Number 
jcoder24


Joined: 06 May 2005
Posts: 601
Location: Barbados

PostPosted: Wed 31 Aug 2005, 00:57    Post subject:  

Glad to see you made it thru the hurricane! I hope you weren't too negatively affected.

According to the pppd howto http://www.tldp.org/HOWTO/PPP-HOWTO/x314.html you can try wvdial from the console
as follows:

run wvdialconf /etc/wvdial.conf
edit /etc/wvdial.conf
uncomment (delete the semicolon at the beginning of the line) the phone, username and password lines and enter your ISP dialup number, your username and your password respectively.
note the time and then run wvdial

this should allow you to see what errors are showing up.

if it still fails to dial your isp check the lines of /var/log/messages for anything after the time you start wvdial and attach it to your next post. There may also be a /etc/ppp/connect-errors, you can attach that as well.

~~~~~~~~

As for using pppd from the command line, that is a bit more involved.

The mru n you specified for the last two commands is incorrect. n is a number between 128 and 1500.
You can omit the mru option.

The crtscts option turns on hardware handshaking. Since the modem is a winmodem I'm not sure how this affects connecting.

In order to use pppd from the console you need to have a couple of other files setup. Below is my summary of the manual configuration adapted from the PPP HOWTO and my four-years-old memories of pppd on unix.

Files to be created/edited

1. /etc/resolv.conf
contains the addresses of your nameservers

2. /etc/ppp/pap-secrets or /etc/ppp/chap-secrets
contains username and password information for authentication

3. /etc/ppp/options
"Provides both login information and also certain hardware information about your modem"

4. /usr/sbin/ppp-on, /usr/sbin/ppp-on-dialer and /usr/sbin/ppp-off
scripts to start and stop the connection




1. Edit /etc/resolv.conf and add your isp name servers to the bottom of the file like below
nameserver 1.2.3.4
nameserver 1.2.3.5


2. Typically you only need one of the following files depending on which authentication your isp uses. If you're unsure you can create both of them.

example /etc/ppp/pap-secrets

# Secrets for authentication using PAP
# client server secret acceptable local IP addresses
username * password



example /etc/ppp/chap-secrets

# Secrets for authentication using CHAP
# client server secret acceptable local IP addresses
username * password
* username password


3. Puppy has an /etc/ppp/options file already. If the connection fails with this default file refer to http://www.tldp.org/HOWTO/PPP-HOWTO/options.html#AEN964


4. The following three scripts should be made executable after creating/editing them by issuing the chmod +x command:

example ppp-on script (This script has been adapted from the PPP HOWTO and has not been tested.)

#!/bin/sh
#
#
# Script to initiate a PPP connection. This is the first part of the
# pair of scripts. This is not a secure pair of scripts as the codes
# are visible with the 'ps' command. However, it is simple.
#
# These are the parameters. Change as needed.

TELEPHONE=555-1212 # The telephone number for the connection
LOCAL_IP=0.0.0.0 # Local IP address if known. Dynamic = 0.0.0.0
REMOTE_IP=0.0.0.0 # Remote IP address if desired. Normally 0.0.0.0

export TELEPHONE

DIALER_SCRIPT=/etc/ppp/ppp-on-dialer

#--- Initiate the connection
exec /usr/sbin/pppd debug /dev/modem 38400 \
$LOCAL_IP:$REMOTE_IP \
connect $DIALER_SCRIPT



example ppp-on-dialer script (This script was taken from PPP HOWTO and has not been personally tested)

#!/bin/sh
#
# This is part 2 of the ppp-on script. It will perform the connection
# protocol for the desired connection.
#
exec /usr/sbin/chat -v \
TIMEOUT 3 \
ABORT '\nBUSY\r' \
ABORT '\nNO ANSWER\r' \
ABORT '\nRINGING\r\n\r\nRINGING\r' \
'' \rAT \
'OK-+++\c-OK' ATH0 \
TIMEOUT 30 \
OK ATDT$TELEPHONE \
CONNECT '' \



example ppp-off script (This script was taken from PPP HOWTO and has not been personally tested)

#!/bin/sh
######################################################################
#
# Determine the device to be terminated.
#
if [ "$1" = "" ]; then
DEVICE=ppp0
else
DEVICE=$1
fi

######################################################################
#
# If the ppp0 pid file is present then the program is running. Stop it.
if [ -r /var/run/$DEVICE.pid ]; then
kill -INT `cat /var/run/$DEVICE.pid`
#
# If the kill did not work then there is no process running for this
# pid. It may also mean that the lock file will be left. You may wish
# to delete the lock file at the same time.
if [ ! "$?" = "0" ]; then
rm -f /var/run/$DEVICE.pid
echo "ERROR: Removed stale pid file"
exit 1
fi
#
# Success. Let pppd clean up its own junk.
echo "PPP link to $DEVICE terminated."
exit 0
fi
#
# The ppp process is not running for ppp0
echo "ERROR: PPP link is not active on $DEVICE"
exit 1

Last edited by jcoder24 on Sun 23 Oct 2005, 13:51; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Guest
Guest


PostPosted: Wed 31 Aug 2005, 22:50    Post subject: Problem with Conexant HCF modem  

I`m a linux newbie and the happy owner of Conexant HCF 56K Data/Fax/Voice/Spkp modem.
I installed hcfmodem.pup (the one that was posted on 2005/08/26), then rebooted the system and run cnxtcg in Rxvt .
After that the scrip does not recognize my modem any way I followed all the steps..
In This step What should I do?

1) /etc/hcfpci/inf/hcfv90_lan_linux.inf
2) /etc/hcfpci/inf/hcfv90_linux.inf
3) /etc/hcfpci/inf/hcfv92_linux.inf
4) /etc/hcfpci/inf/hcfv92_riptide_linux.inf
5) None of the above

Which INF file would you like to use with your HCF modem? (1-5) 2

I choose number 2 ( My modem was bought in 2000 and I think it is not V92)

Finally the scrip says the modem is correctly instaled.

But when I try to open the Dialer It say that my modem is not present.

My question is : Did I do all things well? What I missed?

Thanks in advance...
Regards from Argentina
Back to top
Johnny Reb


Joined: 05 Aug 2005
Posts: 132
Location: The Confederate States of America (occupied)

PostPosted: Thu 01 Sep 2005, 00:26    Post subject: Re: Problem with Conexant HCF modem  

Anonymous wrote:
I`m a linux newbie and the happy owner of Conexant HCF 56K Data/Fax/Voice/Spkp modem.


Heh, well at least I ain't the only one! I hope you have better luck getting it to work than I have.

_________________
He who dares not offend cannot be honest.
~ Thomas Paine
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger 
ICQ Number 
Johnny Reb


Joined: 05 Aug 2005
Posts: 132
Location: The Confederate States of America (occupied)

PostPosted: Thu 01 Sep 2005, 01:04    Post subject:  

jcoder24 wrote:
Glad to see you made it thru the hurricane! I hope you weren't too negatively affected.

According to the pppd howto http://www.tldp.org/HOWTO/PPP-HOWTO/x314.html you can try wvdial from the console
as follows:

run wvdialconf /etc/wvdial.conf
edit /etc/wvdial.conf
uncomment (delete the semicolon at the beginning of the line) the phone, username and password lines and enter your ISP dialup number, your username and your password respectively.
note the time and then run wvdial

this should allow you to see what errors are showing up.

if it still fails to dial your isp check the lines of /var/log/messages for anything after the time you start wvdial and attach it to your next post. There may also be a /etc/ppp/connect-errors, you can attach that as well.

~~~~~~~~

As for using pppd from the command line, that is a bit more involved.

The mru n you specified for the last two commands is incorrect. n is a number between 128 and 1500.
You can omit the mru option.

The crtscts option turns on hardware handshaking. Since the modem is a winmodem I'm not sure how this affects connecting.

In order to use pppd from the console you need to have a couple of other files setup. Below is my summary of the manual configuration adapted from the PPP HOWTO and my four-years-old memories of pppd unix.


Thanks, I wasn't too worried about the hurricane, except for the power going out because I'm up near the Tennessee border. Fortunatly we never lost power at all, which came as a real suprise because the power usualy goes out here whenever a bad cloud comes up...rain or not. The only real negitive effects felt were felt by my tomato plants, which didn't fare too well, but even they made it through it better than I thought they would given the high winds we got.

I'll try the wvdial through the console & pppd suggestions you made and see what happens. It may be a day or two before I get any results for you because I'm working on getting an old install of Peanut Linux to working, as well as Puppy. I had Peanut installed, and was booting via floppy. I don't think I had it up for a full month before the floppy controller on my motherbord died, and it's just been sitting there for I guess a year. Puppy inspired me to download the .iso (when I first installed it I just downloaded the zip file) so that I could boot off the cd. I've now got it booting, but have run into problems with it too. The primary problem is that in order to get some things working on it I'm going to have to recompile the kernel. I've read several howtos on it and was ready to give it a try the other night, and when I entered make menuconfig into the terminal I got the error message unknown command make or something to that effect. There is a gcc compiler installed, but for some reason it's not working. I've since downloaded the compiler from the Peanut 9.5 archives, and installed it again, and tried to install another program that would require compiling, and got this: ~/install-programs/torsmo-0.18# ./configure
loading cache ./config.cache
checking for a BSD compatible install... /usr/bin/install -c
checking whether build environment is sane... yes
checking whether make sets ${MAKE}... no
checking for working aclocal-1.4... missing
checking for working autoconf... missing
checking for working automake-1.4... missing
checking for working autoheader... missing
checking for working makeinfo... missing
checking for gcc... gcc
checking whether the C compiler (gcc -Os -mcpu=i386 -fno-strength-reduce ) works... no
configure: error: installation or configuration problem: C compiler cannot create executables.
CSA3:~/install-programs/torsmo-0.18#

I know that's kind of off topic, but if you have any suggestions I'd sure appriciate them.

_________________
He who dares not offend cannot be honest.
~ Thomas Paine

Last edited by Johnny Reb on Thu 01 Sep 2005, 01:42; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger 
ICQ Number 
Johnny Reb


Joined: 05 Aug 2005
Posts: 132
Location: The Confederate States of America (occupied)

PostPosted: Thu 01 Sep 2005, 01:08    Post subject:  

jcoder, I forgot to mention in my previous post that what I was trying with pppd was just a shot in the dark. I've never attempted to connect through the command line before, and was just entering commands I got after trying pppd --help.
_________________
He who dares not offend cannot be honest.
~ Thomas Paine
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger 
ICQ Number 
jcoder24


Joined: 06 May 2005
Posts: 601
Location: Barbados

PostPosted: Sat 03 Sep 2005, 00:16    Post subject: Re: Problem with Conexant HCF modem  

Anonymous wrote:

My question is : Did I do all things well? What I missed?

Thanks in advance...
Regards from Argentina


Looks like you did everything right. These are beta drivers and may not work for everyone. I would suggest selecting an inf in the order of 2,3,1,4. If all of these fails then you post the contents of /var/log/messages that relates to configuring the modem and setting up the dialer.

Note that you will have to restart puppy to try each new inf.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jcoder24


Joined: 06 May 2005
Posts: 601
Location: Barbados

PostPosted: Sat 03 Sep 2005, 00:22    Post subject:  

Johnny Reb wrote:

I know that's kind of off topic, but if you have any suggestions I'd sure appriciate them.


I'm no where near a 'compilation' pro but from your post it seems like a problem with gcc. Maybe it's broken. You could prob try an older version of GCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 4 [51 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1251s ][ Queries: 15 (0.0165s) ][ GZIP on ]