Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 30 Sep 2014, 15:54
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
2.15 CE boot fails **SOLVED**
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [12 Posts]  
Author Message
msumner

Joined: 04 Jan 2007
Posts: 205
Location: Lincolnshire, England.

PostPosted: Fri 09 Mar 2007, 09:41    Post subject:  2.15 CE boot fails **SOLVED**
Subject description: Fails at loading kernel modules
 

2.15 CE has been running faultlessly on my laptop, and I am definately smitten...Congratulations to all who were involved, I am looking forward to the final version. Very Happy .

BUT, I have been unable to ever boot puppy on my old desktop. I stumbled across a thread started by josjl in the Developer Forum which suggested 2.14 (therefore also 2.15) had been modified and should boot ok if failure occurs at loading kernel modules. Dougal said " if you still have problems, let us know." Well, that forum is now read only so I have posted here.

I tried using debug and this was the output just before it hung:
Loading kernel modules...ISO 9660 Extensions: RRIP_1991A
sis630_smbus 0000:00:02.0: SIS630 comp. bus not detected, module not inserted.

The PC SPECS are:
MSI MS-6561 mobo
Chipset SIS745 CPU to PCI Bridge
AMD Athlon XP1800+ processor.

Cheers, Mike

Last edited by msumner on Sat 24 Mar 2007, 10:48; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
richard.a


Joined: 15 Aug 2006
Posts: 510
Location: Adelaide, South Australia

PostPosted: Fri 09 Mar 2007, 23:40    Post subject:  

What are your machine specs, msumner?

[Edit - I must be blind, sorry, just saw them at bottom of your post, lol]

You say "old" desktop; I have several old ones, I'd like to try to reproduce this.

I'm still playing with it as a live distribution, and I'm so impressed, absolutely marvellous job the guys have done Smile Very Happy

Richard in steenking hot Adelaide

_________________
Have you noticed editing is always needed for the inevitable typos that weren't there when you hit the "post" button?


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
msumner

Joined: 04 Jan 2007
Posts: 205
Location: Lincolnshire, England.

PostPosted: Sat 10 Mar 2007, 04:24    Post subject:  

By old, I mean 2002....maybe thats not old by some peoples standards.
Has someone moved this post?
Could have sworn it was in beginners help Confused
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Dougal


Joined: 19 Oct 2005
Posts: 2505
Location: Hell more grotesque than any medieval woodcut

PostPosted: Sun 11 Mar 2007, 15:34    Post subject:  

Ok, lets try and see if we can figure thise out...

Get the file I've got here. gunzip it:
Code:
gunzip init-test.sh.gz

then copy it onto one of your HD partitions (remember which!).

Then boot Puppy like this:
Code:
puppy debug init=/bin/sh

("debug" is optional-- just so you can see if the kernel complains about anything)
This will leave you at a commandline.
now mount the /proc directory:
Code:
mount -t proc none /proc

now mount the partition with the script on (say it's hda1):
Code:
mount /dev/hda1 /mnt/data

Now run the script:
Code:
/mnt/data/init-test.sh


This will load the modules and tell you before each one which it is...
This way we'll know exactly where the problem is.
If the script finishes with no errors, we'll know the problem is later. In such a case you can always try
Code:
exec /sbin/init
to see if the init script will (for some reason) run... (be sure to unmount the partition first: umount /mnt/data)

Note: you can also try booting an older Puppy -- 2.02 or earlier (maybe also a 1. Puppy) to see if the problem isn't specific to newer kernels.
init-test.sh.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  init-test.sh.gz 
Filesize  1.77 KB 
Downloaded  572 Time(s) 

_________________
What's the ugliest part of your body?
Some say your nose
Some say your toes
But I think it's your mind
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
msumner

Joined: 04 Jan 2007
Posts: 205
Location: Lincolnshire, England.

PostPosted: Sun 11 Mar 2007, 20:56    Post subject:  

Hi Dougal, does the partition for the script need to be ext2 or 3? The partition I am using is fat32.
Error msgs:

VFS: Can't find ext3 filesystem on dev hda3

FAT: codepage cp437 not found

mount: Mounting /dev/hda3 on /mnt failed: Invalid argument


When I try to mount it, it appears to be expecting ext2 or some linux partition I guess. Should I make an ext2 partition and try again?

Off to bed now as it's 1 am.
Cheers, Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Dougal


Joined: 19 Oct 2005
Posts: 2505
Location: Hell more grotesque than any medieval woodcut

PostPosted: Mon 12 Mar 2007, 09:15    Post subject:  

There is a chance that the fs has to be ext2/3, but the kernel is compiled with vfat support built in, so I don't see why...

You should first try
Code:
mount -t vfat /dev/hda3 /mnt/data


You can also try having the script on a floppy -- you can always format it as ext2...

_________________
What's the ugliest part of your body?
Some say your nose
Some say your toes
But I think it's your mind
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
msumner

Joined: 04 Jan 2007
Posts: 205
Location: Lincolnshire, England.

PostPosted: Mon 12 Mar 2007, 12:28    Post subject:  

Hi Dougal, no joy yet. Tried everything so far suggested except the floppy. Only got win xp on this machine and its the only one with a floppy. Will try formatting floppy with mepis later using live cd.

Tried meanpup 2.02 with puppy debug on. It got to:
Now executing /etc/rc.d/rc.sysinit...
Mounting /proc:
Mounting devpts:
mounting /sys:

and then hangs with flashing cursor.
Don't know if this is diagnostic?
Will post results of floppy attempt later.
Cheers, Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
msumner

Joined: 04 Jan 2007
Posts: 205
Location: Lincolnshire, England.

PostPosted: Tue 13 Mar 2007, 08:04    Post subject:  

Hi Dougal, not having much luck. Can't seem to format the floppy with mepis, and even if I could, I can't find a way to mount sda3 to retreive the file. Everything seems so much easier using puppy!

I dont know if it is significant but during boot, I saw several error msgs relating to mounting partitions like:
EXT3-fs warning: mounting fs with errors, running e2fsck is recommended

Cheers, Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
msumner

Joined: 04 Jan 2007
Posts: 205
Location: Lincolnshire, England.

PostPosted: Tue 13 Mar 2007, 20:47    Post subject:  

Dougal, partial success Very Happy I managed to get grafpup 1.0.4 running ok so maybe you can tell from that where things are going wrong with the later versions?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
msumner

Joined: 04 Jan 2007
Posts: 205
Location: Lincolnshire, England.

PostPosted: Wed 14 Mar 2007, 08:38    Post subject:  

I have made a new ext2 prtition with just the file in it and nothing else. This time it got further, maybe completed? Last message was :
# usb 2-1: configuration #2 chosen from 2 choices

EDIT: Ok......tried to carry on with exec /sbin/init, which seemed to go normally until a screen came on with the MSI logo which normally appears during the early few seconds after power on, about the time you would get into the bios. It is broken into vertical bars and appears an abnormal colour. Confused Hangs at this point. Could it be something to do with the video card?

Any ideas?

Cheers, mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Dougal


Joined: 19 Oct 2005
Posts: 2505
Location: Hell more grotesque than any medieval woodcut

PostPosted: Fri 16 Mar 2007, 10:51    Post subject:  

msumner wrote:
I have made a new ext2 prtition with just the file in it and nothing else. This time it got further, maybe completed? Last message was :
# usb 2-1: configuration #2 chosen from 2 choices


When did you get this? when running my script (after haing mounted the ext2 partition)? or are you talking about a kernel debug message?

Note that Grafpup-1.4 is (I think) based on Puppy1, which has the 2.4 kernel -- so that might give us a hint.
As for MeanPup, you actually got past the init script and it froze in the rc.sysinit, so I don't know what causes that...

Oh, sorry I didn't get back earlier... Barry's forum is a better place to find me.

_________________
What's the ugliest part of your body?
Some say your nose
Some say your toes
But I think it's your mind
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
msumner

Joined: 04 Jan 2007
Posts: 205
Location: Lincolnshire, England.

PostPosted: Sat 24 Mar 2007, 10:53    Post subject:  

Hi Dougal, I have managed to get the latest Grafpup 2 (alpha 4) iso installed out of the box. Very Happy
This seems to show that the difficulty with all the 2 series puppies I tried and failed with, was something to do with the kernel or unionfs/aufs, which have both been upgraded for Grafpup. The kernel used is 2.6.20.2. Maybe when these get into Puppy, that will solve the problem.
Cheers, Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [12 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0976s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0285s) ][ GZIP on ]