(OLD) (ARCHIVED) Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index (OLD) (ARCHIVED) Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info

This forum can also be accessed as http://oldforum.puppylinux.com
It is now read-only and serves only as archives.

Please register over the NEW forum
https://forum.puppylinux.com
and continue your work there. Thank you.

 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups    
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 23 Sep 2020, 13:36
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
What is Bionicpup 64 root password?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [9 Posts]  
Author Message
LoboGrande

Joined: 07 Aug 2009
Posts: 62

PostPosted: Sat 23 Nov 2019, 12:26    Post subject:  What is Bionicpup 64 root password?  

I'm trying to install Dissenter Browser .rpm in Bionic64 and it's asking me for a 'root password'. I tried 'inux', the password from the old days but it failed. Should I be using .rpm of .deb for Bionic64?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rockedge


Joined: 11 Apr 2012
Posts: 1874
Location: Connecticut, United States

PostPosted: Sat 23 Nov 2019, 12:42    Post subject:  

root password should be "woofwoof"

to change it open a terminal and type:
Code:
passwd


you should use .deb for Bionic32 and Bionic64. Although rpm could also work. Just download the .deb file and click on it, petget should install it.

also possible to open the Puppy Package Manager and do a search and see if the package is available there. This would be the overall best way to install it.

Do not forget to update the repos for puppy package manager before you search and install!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
OscarTalks


Joined: 05 Feb 2012
Posts: 2202
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Sat 23 Nov 2019, 14:39    Post subject:  

Here is Dissenter Browser 0.70.122 running as root with --no-sandbox in XenialPup64 so should also be OK in Bionic64. I extracted the .deb and just ran it with my own tweaked script.
dissenter.jpg
 Description   Dissenter Browser
 Filesize   31.5 KB
 Viewed   429 Time(s)

dissenter.jpg


_________________
Oscar in England

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
LoboGrande

Joined: 07 Aug 2009
Posts: 62

PostPosted: Sat 23 Nov 2019, 17:13    Post subject: Thanks !
Subject description: reasons
 

Thanks a bunch! I'm trying to de-Google-fy myself after having one of my credit cards cloned. Pretty sure it happened while at work. I work for a major university and the withdrawals came from a convenience store just off campus that I've never used. Moving to Dissenter and trying to get a VPN up and going.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
perdido


Joined: 09 Dec 2013
Posts: 1601
Location: ¿Altair IV , Just north of Eeyore Junction.?

PostPosted: Sat 23 Nov 2019, 17:59    Post subject: Re: Thanks !
Subject description: reasons
 

LoboGrande wrote:
Thanks a bunch! I'm trying to de-Google-fy myself after having one of my credit cards cloned. Pretty sure it happened while at work. I work for a major university and the withdrawals came from a convenience store just off campus that I've never used. Moving to Dissenter and trying to get a VPN up and going.


Interesting browser, this Dissenter.
https://www.producthunt.com/posts/dissenter-browser/reviews

Just the fact that both google & firefox kicked their addon out of their stores - due to Dissenter
allowing people to do what we are allowed to do - makes it worth investigating.

.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 13981
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sat 23 Nov 2019, 20:16    Post subject:  

OscarTalks,

Got a link to the download of Dissenter you used?
What is this script you talk about?

_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
perdido


Joined: 09 Dec 2013
Posts: 1601
Location: ¿Altair IV , Just north of Eeyore Junction.?

PostPosted: Sat 23 Nov 2019, 23:48    Post subject:  

bigpup wrote:
OscarTalks,

Got a link to the download of Dissenter you used?
What is this script you talk about?


Download page, choose your poison
https://dissenter.com/download?ref=producthunt

I clicked on the deb and it installed fine in bionicpup64

started it in console using
Code:
dissenter-browser-stable --no-sandbox

The console window will show a bunch of errors & other stuff but it runs ok.
I put the new command line in the Dissenter Web Browser.desktop file and dragged it to desktop, now it starts fine with a mouse click and no garbage from the terminal.
Browser launch warns you are running using an unsupported command line flag --no-sandbox

This will be interesting to play with. You can read the comments from other dissenter users without any special account, to post comments you need to register.

Have fun Smile

.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 13981
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sun 24 Nov 2019, 04:42    Post subject:  

Thanks perdido!

Still wonder what this script is, OscarTalks is talking about.

_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
OscarTalks


Joined: 05 Feb 2012
Posts: 2202
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Sun 24 Nov 2019, 06:35    Post subject:  

bigpup
It was essentially just a case of putting in the --no-sandbox argument as perdido said, but there are various ways of achieving the same thing.

Personally I opted to put a script at /usr/bin/dissenter
Code:
#!/bin/sh
/opt/dissenter.com/dissenter/dissenter --no-sandbox "$@"
This allows my Exec line in .desktop file to just call dissenter with no arguments
Also means that the browser launches from terminal with just "dissenter"

I allowed the path of the main browser directory to remain as /opt/dissenter.com/dissenter (in case anything related to this path is hard-coded).
Note that inside this, there is an executable binary named dissenter and a wrapper script named dissenter-browser
I found that calling the binary displays the dark theme whereas calling the wrapper script does not (not sure why this is).
I didn't test any further. It may be that you can run it as spot with sandbox allowed.

_________________
Oscar in England

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [9 Posts]  
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0796s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0416s) ][ GZIP on ]