(OLD) (ARCHIVED) Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index (OLD) (ARCHIVED) Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info

This forum can also be accessed as http://oldforum.puppylinux.com
It is now read-only and serves only as archives.

Please register over the NEW forum
https://forum.puppylinux.com
and continue your work there. Thank you.

 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups    
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 28 Nov 2020, 10:03
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
BusterDog + build system (no-systemd)
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 11 of 24 [360 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, ..., 22, 23, 24 Next
Author Message
enrique

Joined: 09 Nov 2019
Posts: 601
Location: Planet Earth

PostPosted: Sat 21 Dec 2019, 02:19    Post subject:  

mauros thanks. I only want to see how the driver for wlan0 behaves with no ipv6. Understood VPN may fail, understandable as the use your IPv6 and https information to identify your uniqueness in the web. You can try to hide but will never do. I remember old times when we did reset our routers so that we could obtain a new IP address. No https at the time mean we were a new user. Not really this days.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Diogenes08

Joined: 18 Sep 2017
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Fri 27 Dec 2019, 22:31    Post subject:  

I am not sure if I am doing something wrong, but when I try to build using the mklive build script with a config file, it fails to download the desktop specific configs, and from what I can tell always downloads the default with pcman, lxpanel, etc regardless of the preset I used to make the config. (In my case, if it matters, the ddog preset.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fredx181


Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 4481
Location: holland

PostPosted: Sat 28 Dec 2019, 07:41    Post subject:  

Diogenes08 wrote:
I am not sure if I am doing something wrong, but when I try to build using the mklive build script with a config file, it fails to download the desktop specific configs, and from what I can tell always downloads the default with pcman, lxpanel, etc regardless of the preset I used to make the config. (In my case, if it matters, the ddog preset.)

Yes, looks like you found a bug, I guess you did similar as this ??:
Code:
./mklive-buster -gui ddog.conf

I could reproduce that it doesn't create a full DDog as it should, but not that it's downloading pcmanfm, lxpanel, so not sure what you did exactly, please tell me.
To explain about the bug: The thing is that when running just:
Code:
./mklive-buster -gui

Then there's choice of Desktop environments and the variable DE_CONFIG will be set.
In case what you probably did, the variable DE_CONFIG is not set and it fails to download and extract the module https://debiandog.github.io/MakeLive/modules-buster/ddog/zz_openbox_xfce-jwm.squashfs (in case of ddog.conf (and DE_CONFIG="DDog")
I fixed that now by adding DE_CONFIG= to most configs (where required) here:
https://debiandog.github.io/MakeLive/configs-buster/
And from what I tested it works as expected now.

So... what you can do is download ddog.conf from above url and rebuild using that, or:
Add: DE_CONFIG="DDog" to your existing ddog.conf and rebuild, or:
Download "zz_openbox_xfce-jwm.squashfs" and put it in the live folder of your current (incomplete) build .

Hope this helps.

Fred

_________________
Dog Linux website
Tinylinux blog by wiak
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fredx181


Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 4481
Location: holland

PostPosted: Sat 28 Dec 2019, 15:21    Post subject:  

New BusterDog-openbox_jwm ISO'S version: 2019-12-28

Changes and Fixes:
- Fixed the annoying delay of the openbox menu display.
- Some other small changes/fixes for menu(s)
- Upgraded Palemoon to latest and upgraded other software (apt upgrade)
- Added some more applications.

Download here:
https://github.com/DebianDog/BusterDog/blob/master/README.md

Fred

_________________
Dog Linux website
Tinylinux blog by wiak
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
keniv

Joined: 06 Oct 2009
Posts: 607
Location: Scotland

PostPosted: Sat 28 Dec 2019, 18:29    Post subject:  

Hi Fred,
Have installed new version with clean save folder. All seems to be working. The menu appearance is now much faster. Have not had much time to play but have noticed the addition of you transtray program.

Regards,

Ken.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fredx181


Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 4481
Location: holland

PostPosted: Sun 29 Dec 2019, 12:14    Post subject:  

BusterDog-openbox_jwm-2019-12-29 version:
Made a small mistake yesterday, one change:
- Set timezone to (default) UTC (forgot earlier)
No big deal really, IMHO the default should be UTC.
But when there's an internet connection at boot, it will be set to your location anyway (automatically detected).

Download:
https://github.com/DebianDog/BusterDog/blob/master/README.md

Fred

_________________
Dog Linux website
Tinylinux blog by wiak
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jbv

Joined: 31 Dec 2010
Posts: 179

PostPosted: Sun 29 Dec 2019, 23:44    Post subject:  

Hi,

Does anyone know why the package gnome-disk-utility (gnome-disks) does not start, and is there a simple fix?

Another one that has me stumped, when booting into:
"Devuan-live-boot-3 in RAM persistence"
Keyboard and Mouse don't work (Logitech wireless kb/mouse)
same kb/mouse work fine in the "(no save)" boot menu option, and all other boot variants

Advance thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fredx181


Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 4481
Location: holland

PostPosted: Mon 30 Dec 2019, 08:01    Post subject:  

jbv wrote:
Does anyone know why the package gnome-disk-utility (gnome-disks) does not start, and is there a simple fix?


For some mysterious reason the package "libpolkit-gobject-1-0" is not properly installed (on 64-bit Busterdog), so, I've found that gnome-disk-utility should work when reinstalling libpolkit-gobject-1-0 :
Code:
apt update # if required
apt install --reinstall libpolkit-gobject-1-0


Re-uploaded latest 64-bit ISO version including that fix:
https://github.com/DebianDog/BusterDog/releases/download/v0.1/BusterDog-openbox_jwm-2019-12-29_64-bit.iso

Regarding your other question, I have no clue.

Fred

_________________
Dog Linux website
Tinylinux blog by wiak
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jbv

Joined: 31 Dec 2010
Posts: 179

PostPosted: Wed 01 Jan 2020, 01:56    Post subject:  

Hi Fred, that fixed it thanks.

I have almost worked out what is locking up when I try to boot "Devuan-live-boot-3 in RAM persistence".

It is something to do with the copy to ram option. I'm not sure what it is and I'm not going to bother any more as it seems that the persistence works differently than I am used to anyway, as the *cow directory is always empty, so all of my scripts are useless. It is definately not a memory thing, as the machine has 16Gb of RAM, but it also has 26 discs and that may be giving it grief.

Interestingly none of the Devuan Boot options seem to get a dynamic IP and the only way to get a static IP is to put it on the kernel append line (after you've setup everything else.
This may be a side-effect of having Frizbee and the other network modules, although I am pretty sure I've got most of them turned off.
Once again, not something I intend to persue.

There was one little glitch with the new ISO you made.
It requires a "changes.dat" file in /live, without it, the system won't load and hangs. Fortunately an empty file is enough to get it going.

I have one more issue that I can't work out, and would appreciate some assistance with if you don't mind. It seems that the aufs filesystem is not working in the Porteus Boot(s) - either one.

No matter what I've tried, I can't get an aufs overlay to work.
It works fine with the Devuan live boots.

I have tried adding "union=aufs" to the boot line as follows, without any joy.
Code:
label My Buster (save changes /live/changes.dat)
kernel /live/vmlinuz1
append initrd=/live/initrd1.xz noauto from=/ copy2ram changes=/live/changes.dat union=aufs


I have created a simple script that can quickly and easily show the issue:
Code:

#!/bin/bash
Pause ()
{
  read -n1 -r -p "Press any key to Continue ..."
}

mkdir /tmp/test1
mkdir /tmp/test2
mkdir /tmp/merged
mount -t aufs -o dirs=/tmp/test1:/tmp/test2 none /tmp/merged

echo "***"
echo "*** in a moment /tmp/merged will be empty"
echo "***"
sleep 5
ls -al /tmp/merged
Pause

date > /tmp/test1/file1
date > /tmp/test2/file2
echo "***"
echo "*** in a moment /tmp/merged will contain files from /tmp/test1 and /tmp/test2"
echo "***"
sleep 5
ls -al /tmp/merged
Pause

umount /tmp/merged
rm -f -r /tmp/test1
rm -f -r /tmp/test2
rm -f -r /tmp/merged
sync
sync
sync
sleep 5


The above works perfectly with either of the Devuan-live boots.
What am I missing?
How do I get aufs to work properly with the Porteus boot?

Thanks and Regards, Brenton
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fredx181


Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 4481
Location: holland

PostPosted: Wed 01 Jan 2020, 11:27    Post subject:  

Hello Brenton,

Quote:
What am I missing?
How do I get aufs to work properly with the Porteus boot?


As far as I know, on the 'virtual' filesystem it doesn't work, you need to do it on an 'actual' filesystem or on tmpfs, this should work ( you may want to change the "MNTDIR" variable):

Code:
#!/bin/bash

#  change as desired, must be an 'actual' filesystem (e.g. /mnt/sda2) or tmpfs e.g. /mnt/live/tmp
MNTDIR=/mnt/live/tmp       

Pause ()
{
  read -n1 -r -p "Press any key to Continue ..."

}

mkdir -p $MNTDIR/test1
mkdir -p $MNTDIR/test2
mkdir -p $MNTDIR/merged

mount -t aufs -o dirs=$MNTDIR/test1:$MNTDIR/test2 none $MNTDIR/merged
echo "***"
echo "*** in a moment $MNTDIR/merged will be empty"
echo "***"
sleep 5
ls -al $MNTDIR/merged
echo "***"
Pause

date > $MNTDIR/test1/file1
date > $MNTDIR/test2/file2
echo "***"
echo "*** in a moment $MNTDIR/merged will contain files from $MNTDIR/test1 and $MNTDIR/test2"
echo "***"

sleep 10   # increased to 10
ls -al $MNTDIR/merged
echo "***"
Pause

umount $MNTDIR/merged
rm -f -r $MNTDIR/test1
rm -f -r $MNTDIR/test2
rm -f -r $MNTDIR/merged
sync
sync
sync
sleep 5


The directory /tmp is not a tmpfs filesystem (it used to be in earlier Debian versions but not anymore)
I had to increase the second sleep to 10, otherwise (on my system) the "ls -al $MNTDIR/merged" command doesn't show the files.

EDIT: Strange that your code works with live-boot and not with porteus-boot, the reason may be that with live-boot you're booting with "overlayfs" rather than aufs, then it's a different case and aufs may work mounting in /tmp (not sure, I didn't test)

Fred

_________________
Dog Linux website
Tinylinux blog by wiak
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fredx181


Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 4481
Location: holland

PostPosted: Wed 01 Jan 2020, 15:43    Post subject:  

Hi again Brenton, tested with "live-boot" now, to check the differences.

fredx181 wrote:
The directory /tmp is not a tmpfs filesystem (it used to be in earlier Debian versions but not anymore)

Gotta correct myself, when booting with live-boot, /tmp is a tmpfs filesystem (it is not with porteus boot).
Quote:
EDIT: Strange that your code works with live-boot and not with porteus-boot, the reason may be that with live-boot you're booting with "overlayfs" rather than aufs, then it's a different case and aufs may work mounting in /tmp (not sure, I didn't test)

So, as /tmp is a tmpfs filesystem, that explains it. (booted with live-boot "union=aufs" and your script works).

Quote:
as the *cow directory is always empty,

When a "persistence" save file is mounted and used, the /live/cow directory is filled.

Fred

_________________
Dog Linux website
Tinylinux blog by wiak
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jbv

Joined: 31 Dec 2010
Posts: 179

PostPosted: Thu 02 Jan 2020, 03:18    Post subject:  

Hi Fred,

Thanks for the response. I checked and you are correct about the /tmp directory with porteus and live. Strange thing is that in porteus, aufs won't overlay any of my physical hdd's either.

I spent some time today playing with all of the hdd's and controller unplugged, as the startup time with everything is quite a while when you're doing a lot of reboots. I've worked out where live keeps the *cow folder, and I've got some of my *cow scripts running with live.

Can't work out how to rebuild initrd.img which is a bit of a pain.
Right now, I'm not sure if it is coming together, or I'm getting more confused Smile

Thanks again, Brenton
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
enrique

Joined: 09 Nov 2019
Posts: 601
Location: Planet Earth

PostPosted: Mon 13 Jan 2020, 01:22    Post subject:  

Hello fredx181. I have no post here since last year.

Listen I been using my android wifi host-spot as source of internet. But I want to use the USB tethering instead. I can confirm that "usb0" adapter show up. But I have not found the way to tell it to become a DHCP Client. What will be our BusterDog App to do this? In the past I used Peasy Wifi. I did try use Ethernet Tab in Peasy Wifi with usb0 adapter but no luck. Maybe rcrsn51 can help us?

I know that if I install "isc-dhcp-client" from debian I can make it work by manually running some commands. But I was wondering if we do have a default app to do usb tethering? As always thanks ahead.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 13129
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Mon 13 Jan 2020, 09:20    Post subject:  

1. Open the Ethernet section and click Names.
2. Assign "usb0" to "ETH0"
3. Restart PWF and open the Ethernet section.
4. Select the new usb0 interface for DHCP and click Configure.
5. Click Check. You should see a dummy file named "usb0.dhcp".
6. Click Reconnect.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
enrique

Joined: 09 Nov 2019
Posts: 601
Location: Planet Earth

PostPosted: Mon 13 Jan 2020, 13:27    Post subject:  

I did follow your instructions on a new change.dat. I works perfect. Thanks. But I do not want to lose eth0, as in fact do have a real eth0 adapter. I will asume I can do this magic with eth1 instead. Will try next.

Now just to report, may or not be important.
On my original change.dat previous of me asking here. I did try almost all step that rcrsn51 except the [Names] rename of the port. And I even try to manually change/edit configs. So I did failed. Last I did install "isc-dhcp-client".

For reasons I do not understand, peasywifi files were deleted from:
./share/pixmaps/peasywifi-24.png
./share/pixmaps/peasywifi-48.png
./share/applications/peasywifi.desktop
./local/bin/peasywifi
./local/peasywifi
./local/peasywifi/green.rc
./local/peasywifi/peasywifi

and most of /etc/pwf. Yesl like if an unistall was performed. One that I did not do? What had cause such a situation?

Edit: I did try with ETH1 and works too. I did reinstall peasywifi_4.6-3_amd64.deb.

Last edited by enrique on Mon 13 Jan 2020, 16:47; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 11 of 24 [360 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, ..., 22, 23, 24 Next
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.2014s ][ Queries: 13 (0.1381s) ][ GZIP on ]