(OLD) (ARCHIVED) Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index (OLD) (ARCHIVED) Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info

This forum can also be accessed as http://oldforum.puppylinux.com
It is now read-only and serves only as archives.

Please register over the NEW forum
https://forum.puppylinux.com
and continue your work there. Thank you.

 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups    
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 30 Sep 2020, 12:41
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Fatdog64-810 Final [17 Jan 2020]
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 9 of 19 [277 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, ..., 17, 18, 19 Next
Author Message
rufwoof


Joined: 24 Feb 2014
Posts: 3725

PostPosted: Thu 16 Jan 2020, 18:30    Post subject: Re: inconsistent popups at startup  

artsown wrote:
I've never seen persistent popups that I need to close. In my case, when they occur, I see two different popups in sequence that automatically close. The first closes before the second one starts. Again, I guess that the second one activates during ntpd-boot (fetching time). Now that I want to capture screen images to document what I see, the popups refuse to occur, of course Smile

Ditto, got it to popup - but it disappeared before I could do a screenshot, so just my impatience (has a longer popup period than the first).

_________________
( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°) :wq
Fatdog multi-session usb

echo url|sed -e 's/^/(c/' -e 's/$/ hashbang.sh)/'|sh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
artsown

Joined: 12 Sep 2012
Posts: 403

PostPosted: Thu 16 Jan 2020, 20:38    Post subject: Re: inconsistent popups at startup  

rufwoof wrote:
artsown wrote:
I've never seen persistent popups that I need to close. In my case, when they occur, I see two different popups in sequence that automatically close. The first closes before the second one starts. Again, I guess that the second one activates during ntpd-boot (fetching time). Now that I want to capture screen images to document what I see, the popups refuse to occur, of course Smile

Ditto, got it to popup - but it disappeared before I could do a screenshot, so just my impatience (has a longer popup period than the first).


I have a printscreen key on my Dell keyboard that I managed to use to
capture the second popup:
http://home.ptd.net/~artnpeg/popup2.png

The first popup is a smaller image saying "Network Tool" and "Connection
to network established"

Art
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fatdog

Joined: 16 Apr 2013
Posts: 104

PostPosted: Fri 17 Jan 2020, 11:09    Post subject:  

Fatdog 810 Final has been released. Please see first post.
_________________
-= The Fatdog Team (kirk, jamesbond, SFR and step) =-
Contributed Fatdog64 packages thread
This account is used for announcements only. Send PM directly to members' handle.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
watchdog

Joined: 28 Sep 2012
Posts: 2022
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Fri 17 Jan 2020, 15:38    Post subject:  

I have it! Installed and working ok. I run all applications as root so I did some customizations. Why fatdog's excessive care about spot? Leave a choice to run as root... Or am I at risk? Never had problems with puppies running as root.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
LateAdopter

Joined: 27 May 2011
Posts: 362
Location: Reading UK

PostPosted: Fri 17 Jan 2020, 16:13    Post subject:  

Hello jamesbond kirk et al.

Thank you for this.

I have it up and running on my new Athlon 3000G system.

Since I am NOT going to update G4D on this hard disk I took fd64.sfs out of the initrd and put the blank kernel-modules.sfs in. That only took a minute.

I booted it with a 5.4.3 kernel that I compiled a few days ago.

I didn't make any mistakes, like I usually do, editing the menu.lst, so it all worked straight away.

Everything looks normal. Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
p310don

Joined: 19 May 2009
Posts: 1502
Location: Brisbane, Australia

PostPosted: Fri 17 Jan 2020, 18:15    Post subject:  

Watchdog wrote:

Quote:
Leave a choice to run as root...


Open control panel, click on "Desktop" tab, the very last entry is "Run Internet Apps as Root". This tool changes apps to root versions, like browsers etc.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
corvus


Joined: 12 Jun 2015
Posts: 156
Location: In the peninsula shaped like a boot.

PostPosted: Fri 17 Jan 2020, 19:28    Post subject:    

Hi Fatdog team, excellent work as always, I just installed it on a usb stick and it works perfectly on my ASUS X555LB laptop. My printer, a Samsung ML-1670, now works even without having to install ghostscript.
Best regards

_________________
We are waves of the same sea, leaves of the same tree, flowers of the same garden.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 3108

PostPosted: Sat 18 Jan 2020, 04:02    Post subject:  

Congratulations!
Excellent work in MacBookPro integration too!!!

However, I had a couple of annoying glitches
On first boot a network tool message kept popping up every 10 sec (see pic).
Disappeared after connected to WiFi network

Latter while editing and saving some files with geany the enclosing folder disappeared from the ROX window (pic). Closing and opening the window did not help. Restarting X did. At the time devx and kernel sources were loaded (in case it makes a difference)

BTW, please include TAS by default. To capture a flashing message with mtpaint screenshot needs major calculations Laughing
net_tool.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   31.24 KB
 Viewed   794 Time(s)

net_tool.jpg

ROX.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   70.66 KB
 Viewed   792 Time(s)

ROX.jpg


_________________
== Here is how to solve your Linux problems fast ==
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
LateAdopter

Joined: 27 May 2011
Posts: 362
Location: Reading UK

PostPosted: Sat 18 Jan 2020, 11:54    Post subject:  

Having searched on pdftoraster to find out what is going on with linux printing, I decided to try my printer on linux for the first time in a few years.

I had to modprobe lp to get the parallel port working. In the FAQ it says:
Quote:
If the modules are not required during boot time, don't use this parameter. Put the module names in /etc/modules (one line at a time), or load the manually by adding the appropriate command to /etc/rc.d/rc.local instead.

but /etc/modules is a directory... It comes from the kernel-modules SFS created by the kernel kit.

Please tell me the correct place to put a modules file with lp in it.

I'll need to fix the gutenprint configuration to get the proper print density, but I can remember that from last time.

Edit: the modprobe.d manpage said that it is /etc/modprobe.conf, but that didn't work either. I have used rc.local.

Last edited by LateAdopter on Sat 18 Jan 2020, 13:50; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 5524
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 18 Jan 2020, 13:33    Post subject:  

mavrothal wrote:

BTW, please include TAS by default. To capture a flashing message with mtpaint screenshot needs major calculations Laughing


James built in a screen capture program as explained here...

https://lightofdawn.org/wiki/wiki.cgi/Xscreenshot

Keyboard shortcuts

Quote:
PrintScreen --- Toggle screen-capture mode. Right click to size capture area, release button to capture.

______________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 5524
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 18 Jan 2020, 13:36    Post subject:  

fooling around I found the best way to make a zip file from a folder is
Code:

zip -r /root/output  *

Result is output.zip
______________________________
Another tip:
A yaf-splash process screen....

Code:
yaf-splash -bg orange -fg black -bd black  -bw 4 -outline 0 -margin 5 -text "$(gettext 'Please wait for completion...')"  & PID=$!
...
...
...
...
kill $PID


Not sure how to control the appearance of font??
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 3108

PostPosted: Sat 18 Jan 2020, 14:17    Post subject:  

don570 wrote:

James built in a screen capture program as explained here...

https://lightofdawn.org/wiki/wiki.cgi/Xscreenshot

Thanks!
Please include TAS by default (... Shocked )

_________________
== Here is how to solve your Linux problems fast ==
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rufwoof


Joined: 24 Feb 2014
Posts: 3725

PostPosted: Sat 18 Jan 2020, 15:05    Post subject:  

mavrothal wrote:
To capture a flashing message with mtpaint screenshot needs major calculations Laughing

Use the standard Print Screen method.

You have to press it a second time to deactivate it, but once print screen has been pressed the cursor changes to a crosshair, move it to the start point (top left corner or whatever), left mouse press and drag to the end point and then whenever the mouse is released that is what will be captured. Usually once the mouse is released you press Print Screen again to deactivate it, otherwise it will continue to enable captures to be made all over again.

That way the snapshot timing is controlled (by releasing the mousepress) and can be visually aligned to something 'flashing up'.

EDIT : Opps! That's what Don also suggested Embarassed

_________________
( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°) :wq
Fatdog multi-session usb

echo url|sed -e 's/^/(c/' -e 's/$/ hashbang.sh)/'|sh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
step

Joined: 04 May 2012
Posts: 1352

PostPosted: Sat 18 Jan 2020, 17:25    Post subject:  

I like TAS too.

Adding to Don's and rufwoof's comments, the print screen is mentioned somewhat deep inside the help file (the circled question mark icon on the desktop). Click the icon, enter "keyboard" (no quotes) in the search field and press ENTER. Click "Basic keyboard shortcuts" in the results. Scroll down to read
Quote:

Shift-PrintScreen
Wait 5 seconds and then capture snapshot of screen.
Result is saved in HOME directory.

PrintScreen
Toggle screen-capture mode.
Left click to capture entire screen.
Left click and drag to size capture area, release button to capture. Right click during drag to cancel.
Result is saved in HOME directory.


@mavrothal, the annoying network tool popup you got would likely indicate that there was an active access point/router in range of your mbp ready to offer Wi-fi Protected Setup connections. That could be the factory setting of your broadband router, a neighbour's router, etc.

Next time you see a folder disappear please run dmesg in a terminal, and near the end of the list look for messages indicating disc or kernel problems. Thank you.

Out of curiosity, have you tried using your mbp's webcam without the driver you compiled loaded? On a mbp mid 2012 the driver doesn't seem to be needed.

_________________
Fatdog64-810|+Packages|Kodi|gtkmenuplus
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 3108

PostPosted: Sat 18 Jan 2020, 18:15    Post subject:  

step wrote:
the annoying network tool popup you got would likely indicate that there was an active access point/router in range of your mbp ready to offer Wi-fi Protected Setup connections

Correct, but is the flashing that is the annoyance.
Maybe have it on till user dismissed?


step wrote:
Out of curiosity, have you tried using your mbp's webcam without the driver you compiled loaded? On a mbp mid 2012 the driver doesn't seem to be needed.

I actually did. No luck

_________________
== Here is how to solve your Linux problems fast ==
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 9 of 19 [277 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, ..., 17, 18, 19 Next
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.5229s ][ Queries: 13 (0.3124s) ][ GZIP on ]