Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 18 Dec 2014, 19:09
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Announcements
WakePup2 v0.2 - Floppy boot disk (or boot CD) for Puppy2
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 6 [81 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 Next
Author Message
pakt


Joined: 04 Jun 2005
Posts: 1089
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Fri 02 Feb 2007, 10:08    Post subject: Re: Wake-Pup has Given life to my Puppy options
Subject description: Video options
 

marc66thomas wrote:
Wake pup have given life to my Old Laptop.

Great Smile
marc66thomas wrote:
Can you suggest if I can control the load of FB800x600 so the video will work with the Dell Latitude LM? specifically, Is there a way to allow a user option on the menu for Frame buffering of video?

First off, which Puppy version are you using? There were fb problems with 2.12 which Barry fixed in 3.13-final.

See for example http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=14068
marc66thomas wrote:
It appears that the video selection has been coded in the Wake pup ISO and files.

No, WakePup doesn't append any video boot options.

However, if your running WakePup from floppy, you can edit autoexec.bat (IIRC) and add any boot options you want.

Paul

_________________
Testing Puppy since v0.9.2 - my desktop OS since v1.0.7
Running SlaxerPup-4.12 - Puppy with a Slackware 12.2 heart Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4833
Location: GB

PostPosted: Fri 02 Feb 2007, 11:24    Post subject:  

Some feedback. Was only able to makedisk from within a DOS window under W98. The resulting boot disk appears to have an ASPI driver and apparently seeks scsi drives, but then fails to continue whatever it does to scsi about halfway through? Any chance of including scsi HDs, please?
Can it be extended to seek ext2/3 drives?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pakt


Joined: 04 Jun 2005
Posts: 1089
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Fri 02 Feb 2007, 14:08    Post subject:  

Sage wrote:
Some feedback.

Thanks Smile
Sage wrote:
The resulting boot disk appears to have an ASPI driver and apparently seeks scsi drives, but then fails to continue whatever it does to scsi about halfway through? Any chance of including scsi HDs, please?

Yes, WakePup uses Adaptec's v4.01b ASPI disk driver to map ASPI mass storage devices to DOS drive letters.

I haven't really worked much with SCSI drives, but I do remember that there were *many* different SCSI DOS drivers from different companies that more or less worked with certain brands of drive (did I remember that correctly?). A real mess IOW.

It may be possible to add a SCSI hard disk driver to WakePup, but you would have to give me the details and driver for the drive you're interested in. This, I assume, would have to run before the above mentioned ASPI disk driver that maps the device to a drive letter.

Sage, if your DOS knowledge is up to snuff, you could try modifying WakePup to boot from SCSI yourself. I don't have any such hardware so it would be difficult for me to test.
Sage wrote:
Can it be extended to seek ext2/3 drives?

Nope, not that I know of - we're talking DOS here, even if it is FreeDOS (there's not a single line of MS code in WakePup Wink)

Paul

_________________
Testing Puppy since v0.9.2 - my desktop OS since v1.0.7
Running SlaxerPup-4.12 - Puppy with a Slackware 12.2 heart Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4833
Location: GB

PostPosted: Fri 02 Feb 2007, 14:34    Post subject:  

I am not a SW person! I fiddle a lot with the HW and suffer miserably where SW is concerned! This:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=9377
may be relevant?
As you know, W98 has generic ASPI drivers from Adaptec in the initial detection & booting phase. Not sure how this helps?
As you'll see from the live thread above, we have discovered that the 2.6 kernel used in P2.13 contains a wide selection of PCI scsi drivers, as does DSL. Not sure how useful/relevant his might be in the present context? In complete ignorance, I would suspect that some generic-type drivers that suit a range of Adaptec, Advansys, initio, Symbios, etc cards should hit the mark?
Testing your hard work may be the limit of my ability. So, Paul, whatever you might be able to accomplish will be gratefully received!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
marc66thomas

Joined: 26 Jan 2007
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Fri 02 Feb 2007, 15:41    Post subject: Re: Wake-Pup has Given life to my Puppy options
Subject description: Video options
 

See for example http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=14068
marc66thomas wrote:
It appears that the video selection has been coded in the Wake pup ISO and files.

No, WakePup doesn't append any video boot options.

However, if your running WakePup from floppy, you can edit autoexec.bat (IIRC) and add any boot options you want.

Paul[/quote]

Paul thank you for the post. I'm encouraged That I'm on the right track but need to find the right commands and syntax for them.

I'm trying to boot meanpup 2.02 to load with Wakepup2 http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=15109 is the WakePup questions that list my issue. (i didn't want to hijack your thread)

I'll look around the post some more to see if I can glean the fb command.
all searched were cold (i didn't find any)

Thanks for the hints. on the autoexec.bat IIRC. What is the IIRC part?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dsulmon

Joined: 04 Mar 2007
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Mon 05 Mar 2007, 18:31    Post subject:  Using WakePup for subdirectories  

I'm trying to use wakepup to launch a puppy saved in a subdirectory. I've been able to modify the autoexec file saved on the disk so that wakepup is able to locate the idehd and start linux. However, soon afterwards, the program reports that it is unable to locate puppy.
Is there an easy way to fix this?

Thanks for the help
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pakt


Joined: 04 Jun 2005
Posts: 1089
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Tue 06 Mar 2007, 02:59    Post subject: Re: Using WakePup for subdirectories  

dsulmon wrote:
I'm trying to use wakepup to launch a puppy saved in a subdirectory.

This isn't an issue with wakepup but with Puppy. Puppy can only find files that are in the top directory. However there is a thread where someone (sunburnt?) has modified Puppy to look in subdirectories. You'll have to search the forum for more info.

Paul

_________________
Testing Puppy since v0.9.2 - my desktop OS since v1.0.7
Running SlaxerPup-4.12 - Puppy with a Slackware 12.2 heart Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
msumner

Joined: 04 Jan 2007
Posts: 205
Location: Lincolnshire, England.

PostPosted: Fri 16 Mar 2007, 07:15    Post subject: Wakepup problem with old P2 box.  

Hi Guys, I am trying to boot an old P2 box with a wakepup floppy but it has thrown this at me:

Unable to open ASPI Manager!
ASPIDISK. SYS is not installed.
Invalid Opcode at 00C3 235B 0A03 80AF 1295 1295 1285 AAAA AAAA AAAA AAAA BFBF BFBF
Bad or missing command interpreter: A:\command.com A:\ /E:1024/F /MSG /P=A:\AUTOEXEC.BAT
Enter the full shell command line:

Does anyone know what I need to put in here? Thanks.
Cheers, Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pakt


Joined: 04 Jun 2005
Posts: 1089
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Sat 17 Mar 2007, 03:21    Post subject: Re: Wakepup problem with old P2 box.  

msumner wrote:
Hi Guys, I am trying to boot an old P2 box with a wakepup floppy but it has thrown this at me:

Unable to open ASPI Manager!
ASPIDISK. SYS is not installed.
Invalid Opcode at 00C3 235B 0A03 80AF 1295 1295 1285 AAAA AAAA AAAA AAAA BFBF BFBF
Bad or missing command interpreter: A:\command.com A:\ /E:1024/F /MSG /P=A:\AUTOEXEC.BAT
Enter the full shell command line:

Does anyone know what I need to put in here? Thanks.
Cheers, Mike

Sounds like you've got corrupt files on your floppy. Try again with a new floppy disk - see if you get better results.

Paul

_________________
Testing Puppy since v0.9.2 - my desktop OS since v1.0.7
Running SlaxerPup-4.12 - Puppy with a Slackware 12.2 heart Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
msumner

Joined: 04 Jan 2007
Posts: 205
Location: Lincolnshire, England.

PostPosted: Sun 18 Mar 2007, 06:48    Post subject:  

Thanks Paul, I wrote a new floppy and this time it got started properly but still didn't manage to force a boot from the cd, the flash or the hard drive.
I did manage to get it up and running though, by putting the hard drive into another box that boots from cd and set up a type 2 full install. When I swopped the drive back to the old box, it booted fine. Very Happy It is ok with stuff like abiword but painfully slow with anything more resource hungry. It appears to only have about 28mb of RAM and I don't know the processor speed, so I made a swap partition of 250mb.

Is there a way of getting the system specs from the command line, like processor speed, motherboad and size of RAM?
Cheers, Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pakt


Joined: 04 Jun 2005
Posts: 1089
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Sun 18 Mar 2007, 07:21    Post subject:  

msumner wrote:
Is there a way of getting the system specs from the command line, like processor speed, motherboad and size of RAM?
Cheers, Mike

This will give you some info on the cpu
# cat /proc/cpuinfo

For RAM size, you can use
# free
look under Total - Mem:

Paul

_________________
Testing Puppy since v0.9.2 - my desktop OS since v1.0.7
Running SlaxerPup-4.12 - Puppy with a Slackware 12.2 heart Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
msumner

Joined: 04 Jan 2007
Posts: 205
Location: Lincolnshire, England.

PostPosted: Sun 18 Mar 2007, 08:57    Post subject:  

Thanks Paul, that will be useful
Cheers, Mike.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
whittycat

Joined: 20 Apr 2007
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Fri 20 Apr 2007, 15:00    Post subject: wakepup2 doesn't find USBFLASH  

I have a laptop with a dodgy hard disk so it seemed a good idea to run puppy on a USB pendrive and use wakepup to start it. I read the instructions carefully and

1 d/l the puppy iso and copied it to the Windows XP disk
2 d/l isobuster and copied that to the Windows disk
3 fire up Windows XP and format the pen drive; I had a choice of FAT32 or FAT and I chose FAT
4 unpack the iso and copy the files to the pen drive, which now has
vmlinuz initrd.gz pup_200.sfs
5 fire up linux, mount the pen drive and touch USBFLASH
6 d/l wakepup2.gz, unzip it and do
dd if=WKPUP202.IMG of=/dev/fd0 bs=1440k
7 leave the floppy in and reboot

What happens is

" ASPI device ID:0 LUN:0=Kingston Data Traveller ...
Installed ASPI manager

Checking any USB driver for marker USBFLASH

Checking IDE ....

No device found with marker (or something like that)"

but the marker is really there !!

Wakepup2 leaves you with a DOS prompt so I typed A:, B:, C: etc and found that E: recognized a device with a volume label but NO FILES (DIR said 'file not found').

What am I doing wrong? It does work with a pen drive? Or is it only Compact Flash? Is there something odd about the Kingston drive? Why does wakepup tell me the drive is empty when I can mount the drive and see them loud and clear.

whittycat
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sit Heel Speak


Joined: 30 Mar 2006
Posts: 2595
Location: downwind

PostPosted: Fri 20 Apr 2007, 16:12    Post subject:  

First of all, don't use Puppy 2.01 with an ntfs hard drive...only in 2.02 did Puppy gain ntfs read-write capability...better if you use 2.10 or higher.

I'm using wkpup2x to boot 2.15CE on a 2GB USB stick through a USB 2 port, and can also boot with wkpup2x through a USB 2 PCMCIA adapter. However if in a USB 1 port, then use the earlier wakeusb 0.1.

What menu options (e.g. acpi on? Off?) are you choosing?

Also, copy your usb stick's boot configuration file, linld.cfg, as a reply.

Also, filename case matters. Post here a directory listing of the stick, like from a Windows command-line window.

HTH,
SHS
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
whittycat

Joined: 20 Apr 2007
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Sun 22 Apr 2007, 06:10    Post subject: wakepup2 doesn't find USBFLASH  

> First of all, don't use Puppy 2.01 with an ntfs hard drive.

I don't have a ntfs drive anywhere.

> I'm using wkpup2x to boot 2.15CE on a 2GB USB stick through a USB 2 port

I have USB 2 ports on the PC I am testing this with.(Later the idea is to
use it on a laptop which will have USB 1.) What is wkpup2x? Is that the
same as wkpup202? I tried putting the pup215CE files on the stick but the
result was the same.

> What menu options (e.g. acpi on? Off?) are you choosing?

in the BIOS ACPI and S1 are enabled but USB(S3) not.

> Also, copy your usb stick's boot configuration file, linld.cfg

I can't find this file anywhere. Where do I look?

> Also, filename case matters. Post here a directory listing of the stick,
like from a Windows command-line window.

fdisk says that the partition on the stick is FAT16 and the filenames are
only one case surely. Should it be VFAT? The listing is (pup215CE):

boot.cat
boot.msg
initrd.gz
isolinux.bin
isolinux.cfg
pup_215.sfs
usbflash
vmlinuz
zdrv_215.sfs

(the file usbflash was created with 'touch USBFLASH' but they are all one case)

If you can do this then I am sure I can too, eventually. Whether it will
transfer to the old laptop I don't know but when it works on this PC
I'l try it.

whittycat
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 6 [81 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Announcements
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0963s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0052s) ][ GZIP on ]