Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 06 Apr 2020, 15:10
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
How to remove icons from the right side tray?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [13 Posts]  
Author Message
fjd


Joined: 03 Mar 2020
Posts: 47
Location: Sydney, Australia

PostPosted: Sun 22 Mar 2020, 19:56    Post subject:  How to remove icons from the right side tray?  

Hiyall,
There are several icons on the right side of the tray that I want to remove. Where do I do it?

_________________
2011 ASUS Eee PC, 1011PX, 32-bit, Atom N455, 1667MHz, 2Gb RAM, 240Gb SSD - BionicPup 32-bit frugal install
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gychang


Joined: 29 Nov 2008
Posts: 382
Location: San Diego, CA

PostPosted: Wed 25 Mar 2020, 09:57    Post subject: Re: How to remove icons from the right side tray?  

fjd wrote:
Hiyall,
There are several icons on the right side of the tray that I want to remove. Where do I do it?


take a look at ~/Starup and ~/.config/autostart folders and remove apps u don't want to run on boot in the .Trash folder to see if that works.

_________________
---
trying to learn puppylinux... Very Happy
---
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tallboy


Joined: 21 Sep 2010
Posts: 1646
Location: Drøbak, Norway

PostPosted: Wed 25 Mar 2020, 20:40    Post subject:  

fjd, I hope you don't get mad because I mention it, but it seems you are trying hard to make your Puppy Linux act and look like Windoze, with all it's restrictions. Confused
May I suggest, that you instead adapt yourself to the new times, and let the power of Puppy guide you into the Linux freedom of software. Very Happy
At the top of this page, there is a link to http://puppylinux.com/. There you'll find the Puppy Linux Wiki.

_________________
True freedom is a live Puppy on a multisession CD/DVD.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
davids45


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 1286
Location: Chatswood, NSW

PostPosted: Wed 25 Mar 2020, 21:09    Post subject: Try FbBox window manager
Subject description: i button stays in JWMDesk
 

G'day Peter,

I think you're using the latest version of DPupStretch - RC5.

I've found an earlier version of radky's DPupStretch which doesn't have the annoying-for-you 'i' button at the right bottom corner of the systemtray or systray - if I've finally found that bit of the desktop's proper name Rolling Eyes .

And this 'i' is the only button you cannot remove.

Something to try?
Back to RC5, DPupStretch has two window managers: JWM and FbBox. The default is JWM.

In the 'Desktop' right-click menu there is a 'WM switcher' or 'Switch desktop manager' toggle.
Click that to go into FbBox - the desktop will change slightly as this happens.

In the new right-click menu, about halfway down, there is a black&white icon called 'FbBox Control Centre'. Click that to bring up its dialog box (screenshot attached).

Select 'Fbpanel Config'.

A new dialog box appears (next screenshot) - select 'Plugins'

Change the 'Sysinfo menu' in 'System Information' from 'true' to 'false'.

'Apply' this change.

Hopefully the 'i' button will disappear.

The could-be-bad news (for me who prefers JWM - but doesn't notice these buttons on my large monitor) is, if you switch/toggle back to JWM, that 'i' button comes back. Makes me think it was 'hard-coded' somewhere during the development of DPupStretch as I haven't noticed it in any other Puppy and an earler DPupStretch (RC2?) seems to not have it.

In JWM, apart from the digital clock, I suspect you can just drag other buttons off the system/systray that you find annoying. I don't know how to put any back Embarassed .

There may be a way to shrink the tray buttons or bar size so there's more space on your Atom's screen.

David S.
fbox-windowmanager-menu.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   28.27 KB
 Viewed   122 Time(s)

fbox-windowmanager-menu.jpg

sysinfo-in-system-set-to-false.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   48.77 KB
 Viewed   122 Time(s)

sysinfo-in-system-set-to-false.jpg

edited-fbox-windowmanager-now-no-ibutton.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   23.78 KB
 Viewed   123 Time(s)

edited-fbox-windowmanager-now-no-ibutton.jpg

with-jwm-windowmanager-ibutton-persists.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   25.34 KB
 Viewed   122 Time(s)

with-jwm-windowmanager-ibutton-persists.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fjd


Joined: 03 Mar 2020
Posts: 47
Location: Sydney, Australia

PostPosted: Wed 25 Mar 2020, 21:31    Post subject:  

Dave,
Thanx for your effort. I'm actually running 7.5 which is the latest. Your post says that after a lot of effort, the desktop still probably won't change to my satisfaction. So what you're suggesting is wasted effort for you and me. I'll probably just move to another OS as I want a 64-bit OS anyway. Yours is the dog in armour. Do you know whether its tray icons can be moved/deleted? If not; what about some of the other ones you have?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Fossil


Joined: 13 Dec 2005
Posts: 1170
Location: Gloucestershire, UK.

PostPosted: Thu 26 Mar 2020, 03:59    Post subject:  

JWM. If you can live without the tray, only bringing it to the fore when required, why not just 'autohide' using, ptray-tray options?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 13518
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Thu 26 Mar 2020, 04:21    Post subject:  

I to suggest you stop trying to make Puppy Linux look and work like Windows.

Those icons in the tray are there for some good reasons.
They tell you information you will find is useful in many ways.
Plus, they give you quick access to programs that you will find yourself wanting access to, many times.

For example:
In the images that davids45 posted.
I can easily see he has the firewall turned off.
Not a very good way to run, when using the internet Exclamation

_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 13048
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 26 Mar 2020, 05:19    Post subject:  

Quote:
I can easily see he has the firewall turned off.
Not a very good way to run, when using the internet

Evidence please.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Dry Falls

Joined: 16 Dec 2014
Posts: 613
Location: Upper Columbia

PostPosted: Thu 26 Mar 2020, 05:23    Post subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
Quote:
I can easily see he has the firewall turned off.
Not a very good way to run, when using the internet

Evidence please.
icon for firewallstate is red.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 13048
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 26 Mar 2020, 05:26    Post subject:  

No. I want some evidence that running without a firewall is a bad thing.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 13518
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Thu 26 Mar 2020, 06:24    Post subject:  

Run the tests here:
https://www.grc.com/shieldsup

_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer)

Last edited by bigpup on Thu 26 Mar 2020, 06:36; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 13048
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 26 Mar 2020, 06:27    Post subject:  

Puppy and its firewall apps have been around for a long time now.

I want to see the statistical evidence that Puppy users who run WITHOUT a firewall suffer more damage than those who run WITH a firewall.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 13518
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Thu 26 Mar 2020, 06:36    Post subject:  

Who tries to keep track of this stuff.
I sure do not.
I just check to see if it is doing anything or not.

True the router you have may have a firewall.
So, the firewall in Puppy, is not really doing anything more than is already being done, by the router firewall.

_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [13 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0633s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0127s) ][ GZIP on ]