Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 06 Apr 2020, 14:39
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
EasyOS version 2.2.16, April 6, 2020
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 159 of 162 [2416 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 157, 158, 159, 160, 161, 162 Next
Author Message
jesudia

Joined: 22 Jan 2009
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Mon 23 Mar 2020, 03:24    Post subject: Ryzen5  

barry if you do a version of your easypup for install with Lick from windows you will much more users please do it. is very dificult avoid problems with laptops without csm mode. i love your work
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 9310
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Mon 23 Mar 2020, 05:16    Post subject: Re: Ryzen5  

jesudia wrote:
barry if you do a version of your easypup for install with Lick from windows you will much more users please do it. is very dificult avoid problems with laptops without csm mode. i love your work


This is the THIRD post you have done, exactly the same text. In future, please only post once.

I replied to your other post:

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=118389

_________________
https://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 9310
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Mon 23 Mar 2020, 05:28    Post subject:  

plinej wrote:
Before installing my printer drivers, I had to create a directory that for some reason couldn't be created with dpkg.

Code:
mkdir -p /var/spool/lpd


I downloaded the printer drivers from Brother's website and followed the install instructions. I then had to modify my connection address in the CUPS web interface to:

Code:
ipp://192.168.1.78


Of course you'll need to enter your printer's IP address and not mine.

WiFi printing seems to work fine for me.


Thanks for reporting that. I have pre-created /var/spool/lpd in WoofQ, so it will already exist in a running EasyOS/Pup.

_________________
https://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 9310
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Tue 24 Mar 2020, 19:44    Post subject:  

plinej wrote:
Barry, can you rebuild gtkdialog with libvte support? Some of my applications require that i.e. fftag...


Done, see blog post and link to PET:

https://bkhome.org/news/202003/gtkdialog-recompiled-with-libvte.html

And it will be in the next release of Easy.

_________________
https://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 9310
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Tue 24 Mar 2020, 20:10    Post subject:  

Caneri wrote:
My usb stick failed on boot saying "no bootable device". Bios doesn't like this stick. Now I'm quite sure it's not EasyOS but a wonky usb stick and will remove the stick from rotation.


I have also got a usb-stick that recently did the same thing. I think that that stick had an error several months ago, but after rewriting the EasyOS image to it, the problem went away.
So when it happened recently, I wrote in red on the stick so I would know this stick is going bad. I then rewrote the Easy image file to the stick, and it worked.

I am not sure exactly how the bad-blocks circuitry works inside the stick. I think that when a block is written, its checksum is checked, and if fail then the block is marked bad and the data is written to another block.

However, it seems that if the block is on the verge of going bad, it might read incorrectly later. Which is what I think happened in my case.

Next time data is written to that block, it will likely fail the checksum, and be marked as bad. So my stick is now appearing to be OK, but it will gradually be losing blocks.

This is my guess how the internal circuitry works. I suppose if the failure occurs once, that is an indication the stick is on the way out. But then, I did once have it happen to a brand new stick.

My guess also is that the circuitry in SSDs does much more rigorous finding of bad blocks and automatically marking them bad, so you won't even know if the drive is failing, except that the size of the drive will decrease.

_________________
https://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 9310
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Tue 24 Mar 2020, 20:25    Post subject: Re: usb-sticks
Subject description: quality; unclean shutdown; ext4
 

lp-dolittle wrote:
@ Barry

Hi Barry,

thank you for paying attention to the quality of usb-sticks and for further optimising the use of external storage media!

What about the following questions?:

Do all your comments and remarks on usb-sticks also apply to sd-cards?

What are the first symptoms which indicate that an ssd-drive's quality is worsening or definitely corrupted?

Does easydd correct errors or simply circumvent them?

kind regards


@lp-dolittle,
See above post.

I am not an expert on how the management circuitry inside a usb-stick, SSD or sd-card works.

I presume that sd-cards also have some kind of automatic marking of bad-blocks.

But perhaps if you do get a read error once, even if reinstalling Easy on the media seems to have fixed it, perhaps it is a warning that the media is on the way out.

easydd doesn't correct any errors. It simply reads back what it has written, and verifies a successful write. However, the circuitry inside the media has probably taken care of that anyway, automatically bypassing any failed blocks. However, reading it back and checking is probably still a worthwhile exercise.

_________________
https://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
lp-dolittle

Joined: 25 Apr 2016
Posts: 140

PostPosted: Thu 26 Mar 2020, 06:26    Post subject: 8 TB HD
Subject description: backups
 

@ Barry

Hi Barry,

thank you for your comments on data handling mechanisms on flash-sticks, sd-cards and SSD-drives!

In view of the impressive 8 TB HD in your new Lenovo desktop, it would be interesting to know how you prevent potential fatal data loss, in the case of a physical HD-crash. Supposing that you scarcely are fond of cloud options, I ask myself which might be your preferred backup strategy for the 'indispensable' data which are now all on one and the same drive. Do you store your backups (e.g. one backup per working partition) on smaller external HDs?

kind regards!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 9310
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Thu 26 Mar 2020, 08:48    Post subject: Re: 8 TB HD
Subject description: backups
 

lp-dolittle wrote:
@ Barry

Hi Barry,

thank you for your comments on data handling mechanisms on flash-sticks, sd-cards and SSD-drives!

In view of the impressive 8 TB HD in your new Lenovo desktop, it would be interesting to know how you prevent potential fatal data loss, in the case of a physical HD-crash. Supposing that you scarcely are fond of cloud options, I ask myself which might be your preferred backup strategy for the 'indispensable' data which are now all on one and the same drive. Do you store your backups (e.g. one backup per working partition) on smaller external HDs?

kind regards!


Yes, I have a collection of external usb drives, biggest is 4TB HDD, one 2TB HDD, three 1TB HDDs and two 500GB SSDs.

I have custom scripts using rsync to backup.

My projects are all under one folder named 'bk', that I keep under 500GB, and regularly rsync that with the external SSDs.

Everything else is dispensible, but does get backed up, with less priority.

_________________
https://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 9310
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Thu 26 Mar 2020, 08:53    Post subject:  

Bluetooth management is looking good. Have bumped to the latest version:

https://bkhome.org/news/202003/blueman-version-212-compiled.html

_________________
https://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
wdt

Joined: 27 Dec 2011
Posts: 62

PostPosted: Thu 26 Mar 2020, 12:55    Post subject:  

@lp-dolittle
You have NO IDEA what the controller is doing in a flash drive
&,, sorry to say, often firmware is poorly written
In order to sell large drives cheaply, often TLC is the writing method
The cells are all the same,, to explain,,
SLC, 0 or 1,,,MLC 0, 1/2, 1,,,,TLC 0, 1/3, 2/3, 1
I think you can see the problem
AND when stick is "optimised for fat",, often means that 1st M is SLC,
so fat table is reliable
Best just to get high quality flash
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 9310
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Thu 26 Mar 2020, 23:21    Post subject:  

Yay, 2.2.14 is out! See blog post:

https://bkhome.org/news/202003/easyos-version-2214-released.html

There is one known bug:

Two new apps are SFR's PackIt and UExtract. They will show up in the right-click-on-afile-or-folder, however only the latter does.

If right-click on a *.tar.gz for example, UExtract is in the menu.

If right-click on a file or folder, PackIt is supposed to be in the menu, but isn't. It can still be run from the Utility menu. It was working when originally tested, so overlooked something in the pet.

_________________
https://bkhome.org/news/

Last edited by BarryK on Fri 27 Mar 2020, 06:39; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 5529
Location: GB

PostPosted: Fri 27 Mar 2020, 05:58    Post subject:  

2.2.14: works for me, thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
plinej

Joined: 13 Aug 2006
Posts: 1697

PostPosted: Fri 27 Mar 2020, 18:28    Post subject:  

@Barry, I think I screwed up something in my /root folder because when I reboot I get a command prompt that says:

Code:

EASYPC23551 login: root (automatic login)
#


I can just type startx and it loads but do you have any idea why it would do that?

_________________
You can also download many of my packages at:
https://archive.org/download/python3-git-2019-10-10-x86_64
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
belham2

Joined: 15 Aug 2016
Posts: 1734

PostPosted: Sat 28 Mar 2020, 05:43    Post subject:  

I inadvetantly put this (below) in the EasyPup thread. For others, if needed, to reference here it is the link to that specific part of the thread:

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=1053850#1053850

belham2 wrote:
2) Second question:
I updated Petget, and all the 'Debian' repos updated.

I then installed the latest Firefox-ESR-68.4.0.

Firefox-ESR installed easily and runs great.

I then rebooted (always do this after installing something).

I then go to EasyOS Main Menu, click-->Filesystem-->EasyContainerManagement, and select "Simple".

I wanted to create a 'Container' for this Firefox-ESR install.

But, nowhere under the "Simple" Easy Container Management" menu, is the selection for Firefox even available.

In EasyOS 2.2.14, is it still not possible to put something, or in fact, anything???, in a Container after it has been installed via PETget Package Manager??


Look in /usr/share/applications/firefox.desktop

What does the "Exec=" line look like?

It should be just "Exec=firefox", no path and no parameters after.

This is an, admittedly annoying, restriction, that can cause the app to be left out of the drop-down list.

I am not sure, but maybe the names should match, that is "firefox.desktop" and "Exec=firefox"

Also, don't select anything in the "Security options" frame, it will use the default.



Thanks, Barry, am trying what you wrote now. Was actually trying something like this. Also tried to trick the existing "www" container into firing Firefox if I placed Firefox as the default web browser (which I did). Still no luck. So I'll look at the "Exec..." line and see if it will go.

Otherwise, EasyOS is running great. Thanks!




P.S. Not to change the subject, but I've got several old spinning platter 250-500GB + 1TB-2TB SATA hard drives lying around. Normally I salvage the magnets out of them and use the magnets for all sorts of thing. But I got to wondering: could using DD to install EasyOS 2.2.14 across all 500Gb or 1 or 2TB go without problems? I know it might be a waste of hard drive space. Still I was just curious if the #.gz EasyOS file and using DD could expand this much space and work without problems?
?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
lvds


Joined: 23 Jan 2007
Posts: 340
Location: Near the window

PostPosted: Sat 28 Mar 2020, 09:00    Post subject: upgrades  

BarryK wrote:
Yay, 2.2.14 is out! See blog post:

https://bkhome.org/news/202003/easyos-version-2214-released.html



Hi Barry and all,

I'm using EasyOs previous release and I could not find in the blog
https://bkhome.org/news/202003/easyos-version-2214-released.html
how to upgrade inside EasyOs. Did I miss something or do we have to re-install each time ? In case there is a tools to easy upgrade, I think it would be great to have it explained into the installation help.

Also, I would like to know if the SFS and PET I have in Puppy BionicPup64 8.0 can be used in EasyOs ?

My own words, because I've read your writtings in the blog about the largest size of the distribution: for having work long years with office tools with friends, we found gnumeric, abiword, mtpaint useless. They may be lighter than LibreOffice and gimp, but they are buggy and useless. It would be a much better choice to simply remove them and let the user download SFS files (LibreOffice, GIMP, or even Abiword and Gnumeric if someone really want them...)

Moreover, because of the epidemic confinments, many people rely on distant work, work at home, and RDP seems not be useable for internet connections so people need easy to connect internet tools like Teamviewer. I think it is urgent to build a Teamviewer SFS file with the latest release (if someone more capable than me is willing to do it, please kindly explain how you did as I would like to learn very much).

Many thanks for your hard work, Barry and all, you're the bests ! Smile

Laurent

Last edited by lvds on Sat 28 Mar 2020, 09:22; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 159 of 162 [2416 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 157, 158, 159, 160, 161, 162 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0996s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0329s) ][ GZIP on ]