Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 06 Apr 2020, 13:56
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
How to switch between virtual desktops by keyboard?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [8 Posts]  
Author Message
aldeon

Joined: 23 Mar 2020
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Wed 25 Mar 2020, 07:49    Post subject:  How to switch between virtual desktops by keyboard?  

I wonder if I could switch between virtual keyboards by keyboard or not. If there is no hotkey for it, maybe setting one could be possible?

I'm using Bionicpup64 8.0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gychang


Joined: 29 Nov 2008
Posts: 382
Location: San Diego, CA

PostPosted: Wed 25 Mar 2020, 08:38    Post subject: Re: How to switch between virtual desktops by keyboard?  

aldeon wrote:
I wonder if I could switch between virtual keyboards by keyboard or not. If there is no hotkey for it, maybe setting one could be possible?

I'm using Bionicpup64 8.0


1) geany ~/root/.jwm/jwm-personal from terminal
2) add these lines under <!-- Keybindings -->
<Key mask="CS" key="Right">rdesktop</Key>
<Key mask="CS" key="Left">ldesktop</Key>
<Key mask="CS" key="#">desktop#</Key>
3) restartwm

now pressing Ctrl-Shift+? should work.

_________________
---
trying to learn puppylinux... Very Happy
---
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
aldeon

Joined: 23 Mar 2020
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Wed 25 Mar 2020, 09:13    Post subject: Re: How to switch between virtual desktops by keyboard?  

gychang wrote:
aldeon wrote:
I wonder if I could switch between virtual keyboards by keyboard or not. If there is no hotkey for it, maybe setting one could be possible?

I'm using Bionicpup64 8.0


1) geany ~/root/.jwm/jwm-personal from terminal
2) add these lines under <!-- Keybindings -->
<Key mask="CS" key="Right">rdesktop</Key>
<Key mask="CS" key="Left">ldesktop</Key>
<Key mask="CS" key="#">desktop#</Key>
3) restartwm

now pressing Ctrl-Shift+? should work.


Thanks a lot. It was perfect.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 13518
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Wed 25 Mar 2020, 10:02    Post subject:  

entered in error
_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
williams2

Joined: 14 Dec 2018
Posts: 310

PostPosted: Thu 26 Mar 2020, 14:09    Post subject:  

I think the default hotkeys to switch the jwm virtual desktops are:

alt+1
alt+2
alt+3
etc
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tallboy


Joined: 21 Sep 2010
Posts: 1646
Location: Drøbak, Norway

PostPosted: Fri 27 Mar 2020, 20:35    Post subject:  

williams2 is absolutely correct. Funny thing is that when you refer to a virtual desktop in a script, the count starts at 0, not 1. Very Happy

I would also recommend reading the good'ol GNU/Linux Command-Line Tools Summary at the old The Linux Documentation Project. Even seasoned Linux users have some aha-experiences there! Very Happy
Just remember that some of the commands are not available in BusyBox, which is the lightweight version used in most Puppys, instead of the full Linux utilities.

_________________
True freedom is a live Puppy on a multisession CD/DVD.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gychang


Joined: 29 Nov 2008
Posts: 382
Location: San Diego, CA

PostPosted: Sat 28 Mar 2020, 11:14    Post subject:  

delete
_________________
---
trying to learn puppylinux... Very Happy
---
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ndujoe1

Joined: 04 Dec 2005
Posts: 843

PostPosted: Sun 29 Mar 2020, 09:51    Post subject:  

The default Alt+1, etc, is correct.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [8 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0440s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0092s) ][ GZIP on ]