Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 16 Sep 2014, 11:32
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Type 1 HD install cannot find usr_cram.fs (Solved, sorta)
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [3 Posts]  
Author Message
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5257
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Thu 18 Aug 2005, 12:09    Post subject:  Type 1 HD install cannot find usr_cram.fs (Solved, sorta)  

I have made a PuppyUnleashed version which I want to boot from HD, type 1 (compressed). I chose to put usr_cram.fs inside image.gz and this will bootup successfully using LILO, but I have to specify "ramdisk_size=63488" as a boot parameter ... and this takes a very long time to boot.

So I made PuppyUnleashed again, keeping usr_cram.fs separate. But now the boot sequence cannot find usr_cram.fs which is on the same partition as image.gz (hda2). I think that part of the problem is that I am not using a pupfile - my lilo.conf includes "PFILE=no". I think if I use a pupfile then usr_cram.fs can be found if it's in the same location.

... but I don't want to use a pupfile ... because I want to run Puppy completely in ram and spin down the hard drive.

Can I modify one of the boot scripts (rc.sysinit?) to clearly define the location of usr_cram.fs?

Craig S
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Bruce B


Joined: 18 May 2005
Posts: 11108
Location: The Peoples Republic of California

PostPosted: Thu 18 Aug 2005, 12:58    Post subject:  

Naturally I don't know specifics about your unleashed setup.

In my experience, put usr_cram.fs in the same place as pupxxx file is supposed to be as the default behavior of Puppy.

It would be nice to be able to specify its location.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5257
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sun 21 Aug 2005, 23:31    Post subject:  

Well I worked it out. I added this code at line 922 of rc.sysinit -

# mount partition with usr_cram.fs
mount -t ext3 -o rw /dev/hda2 /mnt/home
# copy usr_cram.fs to ramdisk, then unmount partition
cp /mnt/home/usr_cram.fs /usr_cram.fs
sync
losetup /dev/loop0 /usr_cram.fs
mount -r -t ${COMPRFS} /dev/loop0 /usr
umount /mnt/home
# OR, access usr_cram.fs from partition (uses less ram) but partition must remain mounted
## losetup /dev/loop0 /mnt/home/usr_cram.fs
## mount -r -t ${COMPRFS} -o noatime /dev/loop0 /usr

Not exactly an elegant solution, because I have "hard-coded" the system to work a particular way from a particular partition.
And ironically, I think I now prefer the original "large image.gz" approach.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [3 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0404s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0032s) ][ GZIP on ]