Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 18 Dec 2014, 08:29
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Puppy 2.15CE RC3 Clean Up
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 2 of 4 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Author Message
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15122
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Sat 31 Mar 2007, 21:52    Post_subject:  

RC has been updated to RC3a
http://puppylinux.org/wikka/Puppy215Downloads

use broadband and wget (in Puppy) and RW-DVD's (you can re-record many times on the same disk)

If you record using multmedia / burnISO2CD burner in Puppy it auto blanks the disk (even though it asks for a blank disk)

you can then test and offer suggestions. We are offering a Puppy Final for Good Friday

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
WhoDo


Joined: 11 Jul 2006
Posts: 4441
Location: Lake Macquarie NSW Australia

PostPosted: Sat 31 Mar 2007, 23:10    Post_subject:  

cthisbear wrote:
So unfortunately when things go wrong we come back to my post

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=16582&start=15
"
Once again I ask why just about the majority of releases of Puppy not originating from Barry himself.... do not run Xvesa when it is selected...and then annoyingly goes back to the prompt.
Barrys 2.16E still runs Xvesa with no hiccups. Hail to the chief.
I loathe Xorg and only choose it for laptops."...[snip]...
So still no Xvesa. ..........And all of this below.
...[snip]...So still no Xvesa. ..........And all of the above.
Though my sound worked and right click is back....[snip]...
I believe you are nearly over the finishing line.
The goal should not be how quickly you finished, but that you finish to the best of your abilities.

Chris, you did you see my update to your post?
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=16582&start=34
The Xvesa problem was resolved AFAIK. Are you telling me it's back? Oh, poop! I just checked and those files are missing again!

There is something screwy going on here with Dougal's enhanced remaster script. It seems some changes I've made are not being added when the ISO is remastered. I'll keep my eye on the next release to make sure those changes are in the release before uploading. At least it lets me edit /etc before burning. *sheesh* - as if this wasn't hard enough already!

Cheers, and thanks for the heads up! On the question of release date, that is now out of my hands. There is another official release waiting in the wings and CE is holding that up. I have given my word, in good faith, that Puppy 2.15CE will release by Good Friday. From now until Wednesday is wart removal time!

_________________
Actions speak louder than words ... and they usually work when words don't!
SIP:whodo@proxy01.sipphone.com; whodo@realsip.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Previously known as Guest


Joined: 28 Sep 2005
Posts: 240

PostPosted: Sat 31 Mar 2007, 23:16    Post_subject:  

Just noticed with feedback from Lobster, xara wasn't working & maybe other progarns if they were installed before mounting an .sfs file.

In a clean boot up, it seems ro work, Question
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
WhoDo


Joined: 11 Jul 2006
Posts: 4441
Location: Lake Macquarie NSW Australia

PostPosted: Sat 31 Mar 2007, 23:19    Post_subject:  

Previously known as Guest wrote:
Just noticed with feedback from Lobster, xara wasn't working & maybe other progarns if they were installed before mounting an .sfs file.

In a clean boot up, it seems ro work, Question

That can be checked by doing "which progname" in a console. It will tell you which one it is pointing to. Running from a console should give the sfs version. Did Lobster try running it from the console?

Cheers

_________________
Actions speak louder than words ... and they usually work when words don't!
SIP:whodo@proxy01.sipphone.com; whodo@realsip.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Previously known as Guest


Joined: 28 Sep 2005
Posts: 240

PostPosted: Sat 31 Mar 2007, 23:31    Post_subject:  

WhoDo wrote:
Previously known as Guest wrote:
Just noticed with feedback from Lobster, xara wasn't working & maybe other progarns if they were installed before mounting an .sfs file.

In a clean boot up, it seems ro work, Question

That can be checked by doing "which progname" in a console. It will tell you which one it is pointing to. Running from a console should give the sfs version. Did Lobster try running it from the console?

Cheers


Not sure yet & reading my post, I kant spel. Rolling Eyes
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15122
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Sun 01 Apr 2007, 00:18    Post_subject:  

what do I type in at the console? xara does not hack it. More testers required . . .

Download RC3a + the sfs package with xara . . .

Cool

The very powerful and the very stupid have one thing in common. They don't alter their views to fit the facts. They alter the facts to fit their views. Which can be uncomfortable . . . if you happen to be one of the facts that needs altering" The Fourth Doctor Who

http://tmxxine.com/Wikka/wikka.php?wakka=HomePage
New Dr Who started in UK - wot do you mean irrelevant?

oh well . . . Embarassed

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Previously known as Guest


Joined: 28 Sep 2005
Posts: 240

PostPosted: Sun 01 Apr 2007, 01:59    Post_subject:  

Lobster wrote:
what do I type in at the console? xara does not hack it. More testers required . . .

Download RC3a + the sfs package with xara . . .

Cool

The very powerful and the very stupid have one thing in common. They don't alter their views to fit the facts. They alter the facts to fit their views. Which can be uncomfortable . . . if you happen to be one of the facts that needs altering" The Fourth Doctor Who

http://tmxxine.com/Wikka/wikka.php?wakka=HomePage
New Dr Who started in UK - wot do you mean irrelevant?

oh well . . . Embarassed


Xara works for me in a fresh 2.13, 2.15 install, can't comment otherwise, more testing & feedback required!! If the pgs_215.sfs doesn't work, it will be withdrawn. Question
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Previously known as Guest


Joined: 28 Sep 2005
Posts: 240

PostPosted: Sun 01 Apr 2007, 02:21    Post_subject:  

In the pgs_215 addition, xara-gtk shoud be in the menu after running fixmenus, otherwise try xaralx-gtk from console. Please give feedback.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
WhoDo


Joined: 11 Jul 2006
Posts: 4441
Location: Lake Macquarie NSW Australia

PostPosted: Sun 01 Apr 2007, 03:15    Post_subject:  

Previously known as Guest wrote:
In the pgs_215 addition, xara-gtk shoud be in the menu after running fixmenus, otherwise try xaralx-gtk from console. Please give feedback.

On my system it shows as xaraLX0.7 and boots as Xara Xtreme Linux Edition and seems to run fine.

Running from the console should expose any missing dependencies. Please post any errors here. I get the following errors when running from the console:
Code:
(xaralx:28767): Gdk-CRITICAL **: gdk_window_get_origin: assertion `GDK_IS_WINDOW (window)' failed

(xaralx:28767): Gdk-CRITICAL **: gdk_window_get_origin: assertion `GDK_IS_WINDOW (window)' failed

(xaralx:28767): Gdk-CRITICAL **: gdk_window_get_origin: assertion `GDK_IS_WINDOW (window)' failed
IS_WINDOW (window)' failedAL **: gdk_window_get_origin: assertion `GDK_
sh: syntax error near unexpected token `:'
sh-3.00#
sh-3.00# (xaralx:28767): Gdk-CRITICAL **: gdk_window_get_origin: assertion `GDK_IS_WINDOW (window)' failed
sh: syntax error near unexpected token `:'
Doesn't seem to prevent it from running though.

Hope that helps.

Cheers

_________________
Actions speak louder than words ... and they usually work when words don't!
SIP:whodo@proxy01.sipphone.com; whodo@realsip.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
WhoDo


Joined: 11 Jul 2006
Posts: 4441
Location: Lake Macquarie NSW Australia

PostPosted: Sun 01 Apr 2007, 04:17    Post_subject: Re: Puppy 2.15CE RC3 Clean Up
Sub_title: ... things to fix before Final - no NEW features please!
 

WhoDo wrote:
4. Problem with Dougal's Enhanced Remaster script no longer runs as called from menu - runs ok in console.

Problem relates to Rox 2.5 passing backdrop mouse clicks to the window manager instead of the script. When I uncheck that option under Compatability in Rox 2.5, Dougal's script runs as normal. Problem is we lose the ability to click on the backdrop to bring up the Icewm menu. *sigh*

WhoDo wrote:
5. Inadvertant personal settings to be cleaned out - eg WhoDo's login for wiki is back in RC2. Haven't checked RC3 yet. *SIGH*

Have cleaned out all cookies, etc. Hopefully that will resolve.

WhoDo wrote:
8. Leafpad no longer runs from menu - segmentation fault when run at CLI - may be version specific and require regression to fix - Geany set as default in RC3

Have regressed Leafpad to v0.8.1 for Final. Program now runs normally.

Cheers

_________________
Actions speak louder than words ... and they usually work when words don't!
SIP:whodo@proxy01.sipphone.com; whodo@realsip.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Previously known as Guest


Joined: 28 Sep 2005
Posts: 240

PostPosted: Sun 01 Apr 2007, 04:52    Post_subject:  

WhoDo wrote:
Previously known as Guest wrote:
In the pgs_215 addition, xara-gtk shoud be in the menu after running fixmenus, otherwise try xaralx-gtk from console. Please give feedback.

On my system it shows as xaraLX0.7 and boots as Xara Xtreme Linux Edition and seems to run fine.

Running from the console should expose any missing dependencies. Please post any errors here. I get the following errors when running from the console:
Code:
(xaralx:28767): Gdk-CRITICAL **: gdk_window_get_origin: assertion `GDK_IS_WINDOW (window)' failed

(xaralx:28767): Gdk-CRITICAL **: gdk_window_get_origin: assertion `GDK_IS_WINDOW (window)' failed

(xaralx:28767): Gdk-CRITICAL **: gdk_window_get_origin: assertion `GDK_IS_WINDOW (window)' failed
IS_WINDOW (window)' failedAL **: gdk_window_get_origin: assertion `GDK_
sh: syntax error near unexpected token `:'
sh-3.00#
sh-3.00# (xaralx:28767): Gdk-CRITICAL **: gdk_window_get_origin: assertion `GDK_IS_WINDOW (window)' failed
sh: syntax error near unexpected token `:'
Doesn't seem to prevent it from running though.

Hope that helps.

Cheers


Duplicated same errors on a fresh bootup. Seems to work OK though otherwise... I'll try to look into it in the next couple of days.

If run from console, run xaralx-gtk, not xaralx.

Thanks for the feedback.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
cthisbear

Joined: 29 Jan 2006
Posts: 3468
Location: Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Sun 01 Apr 2007, 08:11    Post_subject:  

" The Xvesa problem was resolved AFAIK. Are you telling me it's back? Oh, poop! I just checked and those files are missing again!

There is something screwy going on here with Dougal's enhanced remaster script. It seems some changes I've made are not being added when the ISO is remastered. I'll keep my eye on the next release to make sure those changes are in the release before uploading. At least it lets me edit /etc before burning. *sheesh* - as if this wasn't hard enough already "

Fair enough...it is April Fools Day after all...look on the bright side,
Chris
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
raffy

Joined: 25 May 2005
Posts: 4798
Location: Manila

PostPosted: Sun 01 Apr 2007, 09:47    Post_subject: almost complete  

It's almost complete - things are looking good.

1. There are missing icons in the menu, specifically in desktop, setup, utility, multimedia.

2. The browser font size seems one size too large; am able to do "CTRL -" and the font in my 800x600 screen looks just right.

3. What happened to the Flash icon and link in the help file - is it not required by the inclusion of the Flash Player plugin?

4. There is the "not found" message when xorg is activated at first boot - this is a first boot so perhaps that should not happen?

5. In 800x600 screen, the write, calendar, calc and help icons are stacked on top of each other at the top right corner. Same with trash and install at the bottom right corner. (For info only, may not be important if the default screen is really 1024x768.)

6. As the JWM config changer does not work, why not just remove the options and just leave the default? It's in /root/.jwm/themes.

7. The browser history is copied to the ISO. Perhaps clear the history before copying the browser profile to the remaster.

About the sfs add-ons, perhaps more polishing can come after the main release is done? Else there could be too much work in too short time.

Cheers!

_________________
Puppy user since Oct 2004. Want FreeOffice? Get the sfs (English only).
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15122
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Sun 01 Apr 2007, 13:32    Post_subject:  

I am happy with the offline web page, spent a few hours today simplifying

So unless anyone changes it quickly - there is still time, this is ready for inclusion in RC4 (Wednesday) and Final Friday
http://puppylinux.org/wikka/Puppy215WebPage

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
markst

Joined: 28 Aug 2006
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Sun 01 Apr 2007, 22:32    Post_subject: Flash and Opera 9.10 in RC3
Sub_title: Bug- Opera and Flash 9 in RC3
 

When running the flash test from Adobe's site in Puppy 2.15 rc3 using Opera 9.10....I get a gray box and nothing else. Same test displays find in Firefox under RC3.

Take care
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 4 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0985s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0049s) ][ GZIP on ]