Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 28 Jul 2014, 20:46
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking » Ethernet
No driver in Puppy for my smc ethernet card? (Solved)
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [8 Posts]  
Author Message
user12

Joined: 02 Apr 2007
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Mon 02 Apr 2007, 01:05    Post subject:  No driver in Puppy for my smc ethernet card? (Solved)  

Hi, new to linux here. I just burnt damn small and puppy linux to cd's tonight. Anyways I cant seem to find a driver on puppy that works with my ethernet card. Damn small worked from the get go but Im not sure how to check what driver its using. I also have beos on my slave drive and it says its using a realtek driver. I know the ethernet card is a smc ez card smc1211tx. Anyways can someone give me some advice on how to get this working?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Bruce B


Joined: 18 May 2005
Posts: 11080
Location: The Peoples Republic of California

PostPosted: Mon 02 Apr 2007, 01:15    Post subject:  

I have a question: Have you ran Puppy's network wizard yet?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
user12

Joined: 02 Apr 2007
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Mon 02 Apr 2007, 01:25    Post subject:  

If your talking about the wizard that loads different drivers, then yes. I tried loading many manually and I also used the tool that let it identify potential drivers.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
user12

Joined: 02 Apr 2007
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Mon 02 Apr 2007, 01:45    Post subject:  

Thanks for the help I got it working.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Bruce B


Joined: 18 May 2005
Posts: 11080
Location: The Peoples Republic of California

PostPosted: Mon 02 Apr 2007, 02:14    Post subject:  

I guess the wizard did it?

I've got a dlink ethernet card. As far as I know Puppy also sees it as a realtec. I figured it was probably the chipset.

It works fine until it burns out the card, but that's only about every three weeks. So no big deal.

Just joking, its been working fine for years.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
user12

Joined: 02 Apr 2007
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Mon 02 Apr 2007, 04:16    Post subject:  

Yeah the wizard said to look for animated image that I never saw but I tried it anyway and it worked. I have another quick question. How can I use beos's bootman to boot puppy linux. I dont want to install grub when I already have a bootmanager. I have already formated part of my master drive with partition magic and installed puppy on it. I went into bootman and added the partition that I installed puppy on but when I try to boot it it says boot sector not found. Thanks for the help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Bruce B


Joined: 18 May 2005
Posts: 11080
Location: The Peoples Republic of California

PostPosted: Mon 02 Apr 2007, 04:39    Post subject:  

user12 wrote:
Yeah the wizard said to look for animated image that I never saw but I tried it anyway and it worked. I have another quick question. How can I use beos's bootman to boot puppy linux. I dont want to install grub when I already have a bootmanager. I have already formated part of my master drive with partition magic and installed puppy on it. I went into bootman and added the partition that I installed puppy on but when I try to boot it it says boot sector not found. Thanks for the help.


Like yourself, I prefer having only one boot manager. Unlike you, I know nothing about BEOS or its boot manager.

The last sentence of your posts causes me to think your boot manager is looking to boot off the partition's boot sector. The Linux bootsector is not bootable unless you made it that way. I wonder if you installed GRUB to the superblock of that partition, if it would do the trick?

I can't say for sure. It's worth a try, the worst that could happen is you destroy everything Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
user12

Joined: 02 Apr 2007
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Mon 02 Apr 2007, 12:07    Post subject:  

HaHa, success. Actually I finished it at like 6 in the morning. I appreciate all the help Bruce. Now Im off to figure out how to set up the swap file, see if I can load fluxbox, and maybe a firewall if I need one with linux.....
Thanks alot
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [8 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking » Ethernet
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0510s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0031s) ][ GZIP on ]