Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 30 Jul 2014, 21:40
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Audio
How to get sound working on Acer Aspire 5610?
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [3 Posts]  
Author Message
olivertreend

Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Tue 03 Apr 2007, 17:51    Post subject:  How to get sound working on Acer Aspire 5610?  

Could anyone help me install the sound driver for my laptop?
I have an Acer Aspire 5610 laptop, but I'm not really sure which sound card I have. I think it has something to do with Sound Blaster Pro, but I'm not really 100% sure!
Puppy Linux doesn't find any sound devices at all. But I know my sound card is working because Windows XP see it and can use it.

Thanks in advance,
Oliver
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
paulh177


Joined: 22 Aug 2006
Posts: 875
Location: ST862228

PostPosted: Wed 04 Apr 2007, 17:03    Post subject:  

hi again oliver.
I'm going to assume you have the same HDA realtek sound card as my 5610 does, but if I'm wrong then I hope someone else may be able to help. Don't forget to search the forum thoroughly first before posting as loads of questions have been asked/answered before (including this one).

Boot puppy.
Open a console window and type
Code:
modprobe snd_hda_intel
this will load the appropriate driver (I hope)
Then (in the same window) type
Code:
alsaconf
and follow the prompts to setup ALSA sound.
The console window will close,so open another and type
Code:
alsamixer
and setup your volumes and levels for various i/o options -- navigate using the arrow keys (and hitting "m" will mute, as I finally discovered)
<Esc>ape out of that and then
Code:
alsactl store

Reboot, and all should be well.

paul
paul
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
olivertreend

Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Wed 04 Apr 2007, 18:45    Post subject:  

Thank you.
You are right - I didn't check for similar posts before starting this one, but I will remember this for next time. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [3 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Audio
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0430s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0032s) ][ GZIP on ]