Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 22 Sep 2014, 00:33
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
printing problem - xpdq says complete but no print (Solved)
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
sulemasc

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 69
Location: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Tue 23 Aug 2005, 22:53    Post_subject:  printing problem - xpdq says complete but no print (Solved)  

I reinstalled Puppy 1.0.4 and ran the printer wizard again in the same manner as before (I was printing fine with gnumeric hours before) and now printing isn't working. Printer is epson stylus photo 700.

I removed all printers listed in xpdq, reran the printing wizard, chose a name (test), then set "test" as the default printer, tried a test print and nothing comes out, although xpdq does go through some steps and eventaully says finished for the job. Now I'm really confused - Help! What can I do?
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Guest
Guest


PostPosted: Tue 23 Aug 2005, 23:12    Post_subject:  

When you say you reinstalled Puppy what did you do exactly.

When you set the printer up what settings did you use.
Back to top
sulemasc

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 69
Location: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Tue 23 Aug 2005, 23:22    Post_subject: printing problem - xpdq says complete but no print  

the re-install was install puppy hard-drive, where it reformatted the partition and then re-installed

the settings I chose were the ijs-escp2-700 file in the add printer in xpdq, and for the printer wizard I chose all the defaults except for local port
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
sulemasc

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 69
Location: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Wed 24 Aug 2005, 00:28    Post_subject: printing problem - xpdq says complete but no print  

I found out what I did wrong.. this thread should be called "proper device name in add printer wizard isn't the name of the printer"

because I was rushing through the add printer wizard, the second last screen which prompts for device name was the issue - I setup the printer several weeks ago and didn't remember this step.

On this second last dialog of the wizard, I was clicking fast with mouse, typing in "test" or whatever I named the printer.
After going through the wizard slowly, after a break, I realize that if you hover the mouse over the field a pop-up menu tells me that I should be typing in /dev/.../lp0 So that's where my error was.

I guess a suggestion from this would be to put that pop-up info right on the dialog box in plain view as if you click the field with the mouse and then move it away from the field the pop-up menu doesn't show. Maybe this could help other newbies, or at least I can laugh at myself ... sometimes;)
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0422s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0039s) ][ GZIP on ]