Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 17 Apr 2014, 14:07
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Printers
HooRah, Success HP Deskjet D1320
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [9 Posts]  
Author Message
Fiberflinger


Joined: 12 Feb 2007
Posts: 223

PostPosted: Thu 22 Mar 2007, 18:07    Post subject:  HooRah, Success HP Deskjet D1320  

Did anyont happen to mention that the htplip-1.7.2 and the ppd needed to be placed in Root? not in usr/share/applications.

Anyway got it. I am eggs-austed.

Thanks everyone for your time. Sorry I am such a slow learner. I am retarded you know, I mean retired.

Fiberflinger Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
MikeLockmoore


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 43
Location: Near Detroit

PostPosted: Sun 08 Apr 2007, 14:41    Post subject:  

I've been trying to build and install the HPLIP driver for my new HP Photosmart C5180 All-in-One. It seems HP wants me to have around 600 MB of stuff just to print and be able to pop up a GUI to do a few maintenance tasks. I've downloaded the dependency source packages, built, and installed a lot of them, but two things are still tripping me up:

1) There is a dependency on the "Linux Standard Base - Support" (package name "lsb" in some of the major-distro repositories). I have not found a "source" package for this. Maybe I should not be surprised. LSB support is likely to be achieved by certain files and directories being where they are specified with certain names, so the LSB support might need to be done with a bunch of symlinks and copies of things. Wonder if there is a script that would LSB-ize puppy enough for the HP stuff to work?

2) PyQt 3.(something) won't get through its configure.py script, even through I have compiled and installed Qt 3.3.(something). I might not need this if I forgo the GUI tools for printer, but I'd like to get this working at some point.

It seems the "custom/manual installation" instructions put together for HPLIP still assumes you will be using a lot of prepared packages, such as used by package-management tools like yum or apt-get. I've not done much with these tools in other Linuxes, and I don't know how feasible it is to install software in Puppy directly from the package files like this. Any suggestions?

Anyone else slogged through this process to get HPLIP built and working? I probably have more problems than what is listed above, but those two should help get me further along. Thanks for any good ideas or guidelines you might have.

_________________
Mike Lockmoore
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Fiberflinger


Joined: 12 Feb 2007
Posts: 223

PostPosted: Mon 09 Apr 2007, 16:08    Post subject:  

Don't know. I placed hplip-1.7.3 in root, along with deskjet D1300-hpitjs.ppd installed cups and went through the dance about 3 times before cups recognized the ppd was there. I verrified that the printer was where it was supposed to be the menu list. Other than that Hopefully some here will help you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
trapster


Joined: 28 Nov 2005
Posts: 1997
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Mon 09 Apr 2007, 16:42    Post subject:  

Some info Here on HPLIP
_________________
trapster
Maine, USA

Asus eeepc 1005HA PU1X-BK
Frugal install: Puppeee4.31 + 1.0, Puppy4.10 + Lupu52
Currently using Slacko AND lupu52 w/ fluxbox
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Billwho?


Joined: 06 Dec 2005
Posts: 570
Location: still "In The Dog House" East Coast Oz Trialing 4.20

PostPosted: Tue 10 Apr 2007, 04:26    Post subject:  

MikeLockmoore wrote:

2) PyQt 3.(something) won't get through its configure.py script, even through I have compiled and installed Qt 3.3.(something). I might not need this if I forgo the GUI tools for printer, but I'd like to get this working at some point.


Its been quite a while now but from memory i was having the same problem compiling PyQt4.0.1 which is what my version of HPLIP requires. It seems that the python packages I downloaded from the Grafpup site was missing some components ( may have been fixed now from what I saw on another post the other night). After I compiled my own version of python 2.4.3 the only source file I am still having trouble with is HPLIP itself. although I still cant access the GUI tools even with a Slackware HPLIP package installed.

Hope this helps
Bill

_________________
Linux = Learning through doing Shocked Confused Very Happy
The learning curve may be steep but there is a light at the end of the tunnel.
You just have to pass the occasional oncoming train to get there.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MikeLockmoore


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 43
Location: Near Detroit

PostPosted: Wed 11 Apr 2007, 21:12    Post subject:  

Trapster: Thanks for pointing that out. I had skimmed through that post before, so I have some hope I can get at least the command-line printing to work. I'd be very nice to get the Puppy printing from inside apps like Abiword and Seamonkey, too.

Quote:
After I compiled my own version of python 2.4.3 the only source file I am still having trouble with is HPLIP itself. although I still cant access the GUI tools even with a Slackware HPLIP package installed.


Billwho? Thanks for replying. I was able to build the 2.5 version of Python no problem, but maybe that causes a conflict with the 3.x (3.3? I'm not on my Puppy system at the moment) version of PyQt? Qt version 3.3 itself built OK. I had first tried the current version of Qt (4.1?) but after it burned up all of my personal file (>700M) in the make process, I wiped it out and went back to the last release of the 3 series. I wonder how much space Qt 4 needs to build? I know that a bunch of that space can be reclaimed later by removing the .o files and such, but a GUI toolkit that big seems to go against the spirit of Barry's OS.

Billwho?, another thing: how did you install Slackware packages?

_________________
Mike Lockmoore
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billwho?


Joined: 06 Dec 2005
Posts: 570
Location: still "In The Dog House" East Coast Oz Trialing 4.20

PostPosted: Thu 12 Apr 2007, 05:59    Post subject:  

Hi Mike
Once you get HPLIP working printing from within the apps mentioned does work.

To avoid burning through all my save file while compiling I do it in a virtual partition of just under 2Gb.

I created this by first creating an new pup_save file and resizing it to 2Gb or as close as I could get it. Then renamed it to puppy_data.. Once I had it made and renamed I booted up my usual pup_save file opened a terminal and mounted puppy_data.
Code:
 mount -o loop /mnt/home/puppy_data /mnt/data

Changed directory to the root of puppy_data. Double, triple and quadruple checked I was in the correct directory and entered the second most deadly command I know.
Code:
 rm -rf ./

Warning to all newbies reading this
Make sure that you have typed dot / this will delete everything in puppy_data. If you forget the dot you will lose your entire file system including any mounted partitions. (the most deadly command I know)
A safer command would be
Code:
rm -rf /mnt/data/


I have added the mount command above to /etc/rc.d/rc.local and the virtual partition is always available.
It is also a good idea to add
Code:
umount /mnt/data
to /etc/rc.d/rc.shutdown

To install slackware packages what I usually do is
1 Untar the package.
2 One of the directories unpacked is named "install" I simply delete this directory
3 Make a directory named whatever I want the whole package to be called.
4 Move everything else into the new directory.
5 Create a new tarball from this directory with exacly the same name as thie directory.
6 Install as an alien package with Petget.

You may find that Qt 4* is needed for the curent slackware version HPLIP.

Good luck[/code]

_________________
Linux = Learning through doing Shocked Confused Very Happy
The learning curve may be steep but there is a light at the end of the tunnel.
You just have to pass the occasional oncoming train to get there.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MikeLockmoore


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 43
Location: Near Detroit

PostPosted: Fri 13 Apr 2007, 23:29    Post subject: My Photosmart C5180 is Printing!!!  

YESSS! I decided to focus on just getting the HPIJS running with CUPS, and it now works! I can print from within AbiWord and SeaMonkey, as well as send text files from the BASH prompt.

I think I am going to summarize my steps in the new thread by jeff44 who is trying to set up an HP C3180 http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=110319#110319 , because I'm sure it will be a similar situation for him. There were a few non-obvious things I needed to do, since my printer is connected to my wireless AP/router.

But now I can print from my wireless Puppy laptop. Cool So cool...

Maybe sometime (say, between next weekend and never), I'll try again to get the HP Printer GUI working properly. I'd also like to get the scanner function, but that requires SANE, and I'm running a bit short of sanity tonight. Smile

Thanks everyone who pitched in with advice and moral support!

_________________
Mike Lockmoore
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billwho?


Joined: 06 Dec 2005
Posts: 570
Location: still "In The Dog House" East Coast Oz Trialing 4.20

PostPosted: Sun 15 Apr 2007, 04:31    Post subject:  

MikeLockmoore wrote:
I've been trying to build and install the HPLIP driver for my new HP Photosmart C5180 All-in-One. It seems HP wants me to have around 600 MB of stuff just to print and be able to pop up a GUI to do a few maintenance tasks. I've downloaded the dependency source packages, built, and installed a lot of them, but two things are still tripping me up:

1) There is a dependency on the "Linux Standard Base - Support" (package name "lsb" in some of the major-distro repositories). I have not found a "source" package for this. Maybe I should not be surprised. LSB support is likely to be achieved by certain files and directories being where they are specified with certain names, so the LSB support might need to be done with a bunch of symlinks and copies of things. Wonder if there is a script that would LSB-ize puppy enough for the HP stuff to work?

Hi Mike
I have only glanced at these pages so far but they look like they may be the official project site and have what we are after although I'm not sure there is any source code available.
http://www.linux-foundation.org/spec/
http://www.linux-foundation.org/download/
Good luck
Bill

_________________
Linux = Learning through doing Shocked Confused Very Happy
The learning curve may be steep but there is a light at the end of the tunnel.
You just have to pass the occasional oncoming train to get there.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [9 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Printers
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0745s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0130s) ][ GZIP on ]