Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 21 Sep 2014, 08:09
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Is 200 MHz fast enough for an internet terminal?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [9 Posts]  
Author Message
Twill

Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed 24 Aug 2005, 13:11    Post subject:  Is 200 MHz fast enough for an internet terminal?  

Hey folks,

I'm trying to set up a puppy install which will run only a CSS capable browser.

I was reading the min specs are 200mhz but would that be enough to run only puppy or firefox or otherwise as well? It will also need to be able to print from the web browser and obviously access the internet (ehternet or wireless).

Thanks for your time, any suggestions on streamlining puppy for just this purpose to get as much speed out of the thing as possible would be greatly appreciated.

Have a great day
Twill
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 11068
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Wed 24 Aug 2005, 13:44    Post subject:  

If that's all you want, 200 MHz should be fine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Bruce B


Joined: 18 May 2005
Posts: 11108
Location: The Peoples Republic of California

PostPosted: Wed 24 Aug 2005, 15:46    Post subject:  

The problem you will run into is not so much data transfer speed, as that doesn't require much very much CPU to accomplish.

The bottleneck will be in rendering the transfered data in a GUI browser. Use a fast browser as the best compromise if it the big browsers seem too slow for your liking.

Streamlining Puppy won't help much I don't think. However, you didn't say how much RAM you have. If you don't have sufficent RAM and are running Puppy on a swap file or partition, then maybe some changes are in order.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Guest
Guest


PostPosted: Wed 24 Aug 2005, 16:57    Post subject:  

What would the fastest browser be for a very low graphics website? (firefox or otherwise?)

I dont know how much ram, I was looking at about 64mb-128mb

Thanks guys
Back to top
Bruce B


Joined: 18 May 2005
Posts: 11108
Location: The Peoples Republic of California

PostPosted: Wed 24 Aug 2005, 21:17    Post subject:  

For speed and over all use I prefer Links

Dillo gets more notice and discussion in this forum, so I guess it is more popular, maybe?

Either are fast graphic browsers.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
raffy

Joined: 25 May 2005
Posts: 4765
Location: Manila

PostPosted: Thu 25 Aug 2005, 05:19    Post subject: Opera  

I tend to agree with a recent post that Opera can be very speedy. Version 5.12 installation, I remember, fits a floppy.
_________________
Puppy user since Oct 2004. Want FreeOffice? Get the sfs (English only).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Twill

Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Thu 25 Aug 2005, 15:03    Post subject:  

Thanks for all the help so far folks.

Just another quick question...If running a comp with no HDD, will I run into problems or will all the essentials load into memory and just not save personal settings?

Thanks again

Twill
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
acklan


Joined: 22 Aug 2005
Posts: 45
Location: Baton Rouge, Louisiana

PostPosted: Fri 26 Aug 2005, 23:30    Post subject:  

One problem you may run into is the HX and the TX chipset is limited to 64 meg of RAM. I had this problem on an HP machine. I could be wrong but I do believe there is a 64meg bottle neck. The LX, BX and later 810 chipset should be fine, although they stopped making the 200mhz chip by the time the BX chipset was introducted I'm pretty sure.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger 
ICQ Number 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Fri 26 Aug 2005, 23:41    Post subject:  

Twill wrote:
Thanks for all the help so far folks.

Just another quick question...If running a comp with no HDD, will I run into problems or will all the essentials load into memory and just not save personal settings?

Thanks again

Twill


You can run Puppy from CD, CD/RW or flash ram devices.
The easiest and most convenient is CD
With no HD you could save to flash or just lose your settings each time you boot . . .
You could of course use the developing Unleashed and Open Sourcer to create your own customised (including settings)

http://www.goosee.com/puppy/development/puppyfromscratch.htm

Go Puppy GO! Woosh . . .

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [9 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0641s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0038s) ][ GZIP on ]