Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 01 Sep 2014, 11:02
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
My mouse dont work right
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [9 Posts]  
Author Message
lalo

Joined: 22 Aug 2005
Posts: 2
Location: Uruguay

PostPosted: Mon 22 Aug 2005, 11:45    Post subject:  My mouse dont work right  

Hello, I use Linux since 1999 and I considere my self as an experienced linux user.
I think that Puppy is the greatest distro i ever probed, but I have one problem, my mouse cant drag anyobject,and when I hold a button it clicks multiple times. It is a saftware problem because the mouse works properly in other distros. I have unselected the whell button and made some configuration tricks with the mother but the problem persist.
Its like the mouse is interfered by another dispositive.
That is the problem, I hold a button and move an object and the cursor clicks multiple times. For example,I cant make a square in Sodipodi or copy in Rox Filer.
My mouse is a Genious Netmouse Serial conected to /dev/ttyS0,y have a modem conected to the mother )/dev/ttyS1) but Iam not using it.
Please help me ,I really wont touse Puppy.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
mike


Joined: 13 Aug 2005
Posts: 75
Location: Bowser

PostPosted: Mon 22 Aug 2005, 12:14    Post subject:  

Is it possible that you answered the mouse configuration question improperly?
Just a thought, might be worth asking yourself.

If you rename pup001 to pup001old, or something, than puppy will create a new pup001 file on your computer, and you can go through the short configuration process again.

Hope that helps, not sure what else it could be Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
lalo

Joined: 22 Aug 2005
Posts: 2
Location: Uruguay

PostPosted: Mon 22 Aug 2005, 12:18    Post subject:  

Options are: Mouse type serial
and the port is OK
I dont know what is happening,maybe an IRQ or DMA conflict,I will see /proc
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
Ian
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 1237
Location: Queensland

PostPosted: Mon 22 Aug 2005, 19:21    Post subject:  

You could try disconnecting the modem, also by using the Ctl+Alt+backspace keys you can go to a terminal and redo the mouse settings, just follow the instructions.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Guest
Guest


PostPosted: Sun 28 Aug 2005, 01:50    Post subject:  

there are no intructions man?

when u go to ctrl alt and backspace .. u type help and there is limited commands and stuff

what do u do to fix the mouse cuz i installed it wrongly cuz i wasnt able to use \ <-- for some reason
Back to top
Rich

Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 278
Location: Middlesbrough - UK

PostPosted: Sun 28 Aug 2005, 05:55    Post subject:  

Quote:
there are no intructions man?


Start/Setup/Mouse and Keyboard Wizard Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Guest
Guest


PostPosted: Sun 28 Aug 2005, 06:03    Post subject:  

dude that doesnt work if i not all the keys work in busybox

also i cant MOVE my mouse like i said

iv done something wrong and i dont know how to fix it
Back to top
danleff


Joined: 08 May 2005
Posts: 294
Location: Albany, NY

PostPosted: Sun 28 Aug 2005, 10:27    Post subject:  

When you do the Ctl+Alt+backspace command, you will be dropped into a shell. Read the text message.

Type in rm /etc/mousedevice (hit the enter key)

Make sure there is a space between rm and /etc/mousedevice.

This should just return to the prompt.

Once this is done, type in xwin

You will then be brought back to the mouse config. tool and you can then try to set up the mouse connection again, by following the prompts, as you did when you first set up Puppy.

_________________
I love it when a plan comes together

--Hannibal Smith
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Guest
Guest


PostPosted: Sun 28 Aug 2005, 11:02    Post subject:  

ok woop.. that worked

got the mouse working Smile

thanks
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [9 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0537s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0039s) ][ GZIP on ]