Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 22 Dec 2014, 16:06
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Can I add apps to live CD without putting them in ISO?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 2 [25 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Author Message
velcro
Guest


PostPosted: Mon 22 Aug 2005, 09:04    Post subject:  

Quote:
"You can always download the pupget package of openoffice here:
http://ftp.nluug.nl/ftp/pub/os/Linux/distr/puppylinux/pupget_packages-1/

and then install it using pupget.

You create an entry in /root/.packages/packages.txt for the new package, download the package somewhere local, then fire up PupGet and it will be listed. Highlight it and click 'Add'. Then when asked where to download the package, choose 'local'. It can then also be uninstalled."


First I tried Lobster's suggestion. It didn't work for me, but I probably made some dumb mistake. It was late. Then this morning I tried Puppian's suggestion. I retrieved the openoffice_CUTDOWN-1.1.4.tar.gz file and the other openoffice things they had at the pupget site, and put them on sda1 (does it matter where?--I'm not clear on what you mean by "download the package somewhere local.) At this point I realized I was flummoxed. I did figure out how to reveal the hidden .packages folder, but the packages.txt document is empty and seemingly unwritable.

So I tried PupGet anyway. My Cutdown version of OOo was in /mnt/home/home/joel. I got: There was an error expanding package openoffice_CUTDOWN-1.1.4. Either the file is corrupted, or has not expanded into its own directory with name of openoffice_cutdown-1.1.4 (which is how most packages expand).

I went into that directory, erased what I found there, and tried again. That time it worked, but it turned out that what I had installed was useless--a wrong file choice. I removed it with PupGet and, in the course of looking around, found that there was already an OpenOffice folder on the LiveCD. It's links are broken, but inside a folder called "program" there is a OOo_1.9.122_LinuxIntel_install.tar.gz file. (I was pleased as I prefer OOo 1.9.122 to the earlier releases.) So I tried to install that with PupGet and got an "error expanding package" message much like the one in the paragraph above.

I rebooted and looked in the .packages directory. OOo_1.9.122_LinuxIntel_install.tar.gz is already there, as well as in the aforementioned OpenOffice/program directory. I tried PupGet one more time with no luck. Same package expansion error. On the chance that the file was corrupted, I deleted the one in the OpenOffice directory and copied the one in the .packages directory back in, then tried that one. No luck.

Any advice? If not, I'll download my own copy of OOo 1.9.x, transfer it via usb key, and try pupget on that.

Upon a re-reading of Lobster's earlier comments, I notice that he said that beta wouldn't work. Lobster, if you're around, were you referring to a beta version of OOo rather than (as I assumed) a beta puppy? Is this my problem? Seems like Blade put that OOo 1.9 in for a reason, though.

Thanks for any and all help. One more thing--if someone could direct me as to how to examine my partitions and free space, that would be great.

Thanks.
Back to top
puppian


Joined: 18 Jul 2005
Posts: 538
Location: PuppyLand

PostPosted: Mon 22 Aug 2005, 09:07    Post subject:  

"how can I replace image.gz, syslinux.cfg or any other file in a Puppy multisession cd ? is it possible ?

and about manually adding new files to the iso ? what command line I have to use ?"

Would this help?

http://www.goosee.com/puppy/config-puppy.htm

Under "How to make changes to image.gz"

_________________
Puppylinux.org - Community home page of Puppy Linux hosted by Barry (creator of Puppy), created and maintained by the Puppy Linux Foundation since 2005
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Guest
Guest


PostPosted: Mon 22 Aug 2005, 09:47    Post subject:  

"but the packages.txt document is empty and seemingly unwritable"

I guess you need to open the Pupget package manage at least one time and then close it, in order to create the packages.txt that has entries in it.

Then, add an entry to it like this:

"abiword-2.2.7" "abiword-2.2.7: Wordprocessor" on "GTK2APPS 7960K" \

For openoffice it would be something like this:

"filename of your tar file" "filename of your tar file: Wordprocessor" on "GTK2APPS XXXK(size of your tar file)" \

After adding this line to packages.txt, open Pupget package manager again, you should now see the entry you added on the left pane.

Click on a package to highlight it -> click on the "Add" button -> highlighted package moves to the right pane -> click "OK"

Then you'll be asked from where do you want to download the file, click on the "Local" button.
Then choose the location where you've the file (I usually put it in /root).

That's all I know...hope it helps
Very Happy
Back to top
puppian


Joined: 18 Jul 2005
Posts: 538
Location: PuppyLand

PostPosted: Mon 22 Aug 2005, 09:54    Post subject:  

it's me above Smile
_________________
Puppylinux.org - Community home page of Puppy Linux hosted by Barry (creator of Puppy), created and maintained by the Puppy Linux Foundation since 2005
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
velcro
Guest


PostPosted: Mon 22 Aug 2005, 10:02    Post subject:  

Thanks again, Puppian.

-Joel
Back to top
velcro
Guest


PostPosted: Mon 22 Aug 2005, 10:27    Post subject:  

Puppian, I hope you're not getting too tired of my voice. So to speak.

Well, I opened PupGet, clicked on Install or remove pkgs, closed it, and went to .packages. There is no packages.txt. As I have tried installing Abiword (the installation seemed successful, but now when I start it I just get a brief grey box in the center of the screen), there is an alienpackages.txt file. There is also a livepackages.txt file. Each seems to be completely empty, and open only in leafpad, which isn't letting me write a thing.

So I wasn't able to try writing in my own packages entry per your suggestion. I'm dyin' ovah heah. I even looked at Portable OpenOffice to run off my usb, but that's for Windows only. It's a puzzler. I've got 1.3 gig formatted as Linux ext3 in my primary partition, so I don't think space is the problem. (Am I right to think that these packages will install to the hard drive, perhaps as a part of the pup file?)

Anything else to offer, Puppian? Anyone? If not, will someone please come here in person, hand me my first cigarette in a month, then shoot me? Thanks.

-Joel
Back to top
puppian


Joined: 18 Jul 2005
Posts: 538
Location: PuppyLand

PostPosted: Mon 22 Aug 2005, 23:47    Post subject:  

Look like your PupGet package manager is not working as it should.

Is it possible for you to start with a new pupXXX file? Just delete (or rename, if you want a backup) the old one in the hard drive and reboot and a new one will be created. However, this will erase ALL you settings (and files you saved) since you first run Puppy. So do this only if you know what you're doing.

Lobster's suggestion is worth a second try. And from my understanding you DO NOT need PupGet to install the self installing OO (yes, it says 'self-installing'). I don't have OO installed, so please correct me if I'm wrong.

http://www.murga.org/~puppy/viewtopic.php?p=4132#4132
http://www.murga.org/%7Epuppy/viewtopic.php?p=293#293

Btw, you can do a search in this forum with keywords such as open, office and see what you get.

_________________
Puppylinux.org - Community home page of Puppy Linux hosted by Barry (creator of Puppy), created and maintained by the Puppy Linux Foundation since 2005
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
velcro
Guest


PostPosted: Tue 23 Aug 2005, 08:18    Post subject:  

Ah--I'll try that. Thanks. This is a good example of the innumerable little pieces of ignorance that one erases only with time: I thought that "self-installing" just meant that PupGet could do it because it was a tar.gz file as opposed to a collection of files to be manually copied and registered.

Thanks again.
Back to top
velcro
Guest


PostPosted: Tue 23 Aug 2005, 10:15    Post subject: Hey, Puppian! Lobster!  

You two were the ones to help me, so I wanted to let you know from whence my problems sprang. Blade's framebuffer puppy does not have screwed-up OOo, as I earlier claimed. My previous attempts to install various distros left a full harddrive which cfdisk apparently does not clear when it repartitions. So, I had all kinds of program remnants sitting around. I finally figured out that /mnt/home is what I think of as "c:", so I deleted everything in there and rebooted. This time abiword is there. I'm guessing I'll have no trouble installing OOo as per your suggestions now.

Note: Many newbies (such as myself) probably think that cfdisk and fdisk erase their hard drives the same way format c: does in dos. This may be a repeated misconception. To grab forum searches, then:
delete hard drive erase format cfdisk fdisk disk space

Thanks muchly.

-Joel
Back to top
Johnny Reb


Joined: 05 Aug 2005
Posts: 132
Location: The Confederate States of America (occupied)

PostPosted: Mon 29 Aug 2005, 05:03    Post subject: Re: Hey, Puppian! Lobster!  

velcro wrote:
Note: Many newbies (such as myself) probably think that cfdisk and fdisk erase their hard drives the same way format c: does in dos. This may be a repeated misconception. To grab forum searches, then:
delete hard drive erase format cfdisk fdisk disk space


Formating don't get rid of the data either, it's still there on your hard drive and there are various data recovery programs you can get to recover it even after a format (or several formats even). If you really want to clean your drive of old programs before installing a new OS, or especially if your going to sell the computer/hard drive go to http://sourceforge.net/projects/dban and get the utility there. It's free, and it will overwrite everything on your drive as many times as you want, and there are several different options for overwriting. It's one drawback is it's slow. Not too long ago I wiped a hard drive for my brother, it was a 20Gb drive, and it literally took 2 days to completly wipe it. It probably wouldn't have taken nearly that long if I had chosen a less secure method of wiping the drive, but I always go for overkill on something like that.

_________________
He who dares not offend cannot be honest.
~ Thomas Paine
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger 
ICQ Number 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 2 [25 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0760s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0037s) ][ GZIP on ]